Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sauteed Apples

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I make this recipe for breakfast many mornings and put on oatmeal. I also add 1 tsp of vanilla as a tweak. I put steel cut oatmeal in the breakfast bowl, add some sauteed apple mixture and drench it with some nice cold milk. Not that 2% stuff either, that stuff reminds me of what was left after we washed out the milkers on the farm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr Ed

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Italian Mini Meat Loaves

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I loved this Italian twist on meatloaf! I used fresh minced garlic, and I baked them with a tip I learned when making meatballs. I baked the mini meat loaves on a cooling rack sprayed with olive oil Pam and placed it inside a baking sheet so the excess fat drains off while they cook! This recipe was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Orzo

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Butter overload- next time, I'd use a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetgrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Stuffed Zucchini

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I used lean pork loin which I ground myself. Used half of panko crumbs and one egg plus freshly ground parm cheese and salt free seasoning. Used two medium zucchini cut in half and scoped seeds out with a spoon. Didn't use the seeds. Was ready to add sauce and didn't have any. I had two cans of ravioli and added both one pound cans. Covered for one hour. Took out and topped with the mozzarella. OMG was it good! Zucchini was a little firm but we like it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RWC4520

Jewish Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This was excellent! I used a cherry and blueberry filling in the middle and the streusel on top. The filling sank a good bit, so next time I will put about 2/3 of the batter in before the filling. I used a cup of nonfat Greek yogurt and added a half cup of lowfat sour cream. The cake was done in about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Chicken Stroganoff I

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I used a can of cream of mushroom and roasted garlic soup and replaced the heavy cream with chicken stock...it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Baked Mushroom and Onion Risotto

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Love this and hubby loves this, too! I've tried making risotto the other way - NEVER AGAIN! This is oodles easier and DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars II

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Absolutely delicious. We couldn't stop eating them until they were gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Bake Fish

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I enjoyed this! I rarely make salmon, so this was a stretch for me. Trying to make more fish (husband's request). He and I both enjoyed it, but our picky 8 year old could barely choke it down. He is VERY sensitive to what he calls "spicy" foods - but really, he just prefers things very bland. Our go-to dinner rescue for him is to let him use ketchup on whatever he likes, but even the ketchup didn't help this for him. I enjoyed the robust flavor of this - I think it's mostly from the mustard - but beware supertasters or parents of supertasters - it's a strong flavor, so not for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Tasted great, easy to use for decorating cupcakes with a piping bag and tip. Would use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough + Cupcake = The BEST Cupcake. Ever.

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
These were just okay for me. I have never met a cupcake I DIDN'T like. ;) But these weren't my favorite - I was hoping for more "Wow!" especially when my guests tried them (and I let the chocolate chip part be a surprise) - but nobody even remarked that they were especially tasty. A little disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This was very tasty and had great flavor, but the meat was a little dry. I will probably marinate it before cooking next time, and I may try slow-cooking the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is my first time making meatballs. I wasn't a HUGE fan to begin with (in my family, we always had meat sauce instead of meatballs with spaghetti). But my husband requested meatballs, and I usually love Chef John's recipes, so I tried this - but it was just okay. I probably wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Shepherd's Pie-Leslie's alterations

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
even JONAH liked it. Served with beef gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Pickled Little Smokies

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Loved...This...recipe! Great F****** Job!!!! (BUT I Digress)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Christina

Sassy Freezer Slaw

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Made this for Recipe Group...If you like slaw in any form, you're gonna LOVE this! I like that this is made and ready to go in the freezer for a quick side. I halved the recipe and used one 16oz. bag of coleslaw mix (YES, I'm lazy, lol), and that worked perfectly. The dressing is SOOOOO GOOD! Thanks, sass, this is a keeper~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Lbaldt

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I made this cake last night... 2 Layers... I used the Recipe for Buttercream Frosting which actually consisted of no Butter at all... It called for Shortening... I got a lot of Positive Reviews on this cake & the frosting... Me personally I thought it was a little too sweet... But I had several people request it as one of their Birthday Cakes... I think it stood up well, wasn't too soft, so it would probably stack well... It was all in all a fun cake to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbaldt

Cooking Level: Expert

Carrot Pineapple Cupcakes

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I had a bunch of icing left over but other than that they came out great. Light and fluffy and I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Thai Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I didn't have peanuts so I I used a combo of pecans and walnuts, and served it with grilled pork tenderloin seasoned with garlic powder, onion powder, black pepper and seasoning salt. Yum Yum Yum the favors complimented each other amazingly!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMKALMERTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pine River, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Manhattan Style Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe for Manhattan clam chowder (red) over the New England clam chowder (white)! I threw in a bunch of frozen veggies I had in the freezer, and because I am from the East Coast, I added in a few teaspoons of Old Bay. I served it with some French bread crusty rolls to sop up the soup…oh my it was Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States