Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pittsburgh Steeler Super Bowl® Sampler

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This was a quick meal for supper, this would be good on a winters day in a roaster pan for a tailgate party. I used ball park franks and andouille sausage, it's what i had on hand & worked great, I just grilled them first then added to my pot of noodles, cabbage, and small red potatoes that i par boiled first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

Chicken Broccoli Ca - Unieng's Style

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I followed the advice of other reviewers and tripled the soy sauce and oyster sauce, used chicken broth in place of the water, and cut way down on the pepper. I also added a generous tablespoon of sriracha sauce, so it was nice and spicy. It was a little salty but still really tasty. And so easy - I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Fast, simple and Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brunch Egg Bake

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Very good! You could do so many things with this breakfast bake. I just like the fact that it's not a bread base - all eggs and veggies and cheese. Yum! Oh, and I made it the night before and it turned out totally fine when I baked it in the morning. I was a little worried since there was no bread how that would turn out but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I think it was my honey and the sauce I used - Heinz 57. Made my husband and I gag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Veronica's Hot Spinach, Artichoke and Chile Dip

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is the BEST recipe yet! I made it exactly how it said and YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Easy, quick and delicious! I followed the recipe with the exception of the dill weed because I was out of it. I'll try it with the dill weed next time. I served it with rice and asparagus. This would be a great dish for company. Looks like you fussed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmaronic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
My new favorite bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Butchko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Herbed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Made this tonight for dinner. The pork chops were good and tender. Followed the advice about baking them for an hour. Made them super tender. Next time I will only use 1/2 tsp of pepper instead of 1 tsp. A little to peppery for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Lumley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies

Strip Steak with Red Wine Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Boy, everyone seemed to love this, but, it was not a hit with my family. Previous reviewers had issues with thickening their sauce, however, mine was very thick. I ended up having to add more beef broth and it was still too thick. The submitter just said to add two red onions and doesn't give measurements, so, maybe my onions were larger. We also thought the sauce was very heavy and seemed overwhelming for the steak. I think using a cup of cream was just too much. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies

Squash and Green Bean Saute Side Dish

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
We really enjoyed this dish! It was a great combination of vegetables and the lemon juice gave it a bright flavor. The coriander was a nice touch and everyone loved it. The only thing I did differently was to use fresh parsley instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Chicken Enchilada Casserole II

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Great recipe, but I did not follow it exactly. First I didn't cut the tortillas into strips, now I know why it suggests to do so. The problem I had was cutting through to cut actual pieces. So next time I will definitely cut up the tortillas. I also omitted the chili beans because my daughter would not have eaten it. I also used 1 small can of red enchilada sauce and put half of it in the mixture with the cream of chicken soup, salsa and sour cream. I did however cut back the sour cream because I used the enchilada sauce. Then I used the rest of the enchilada sauce on the top with cheese. It was delicious! Big hit in my house. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno-Blue Cheese Burgers

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
We LOVED these! I only had a little over 3/4 pound of ground beef, so I adjusted the ingredients accordingly. I got 3 nice burgers out of it. These had great flavor, and I didn't find them too spicy at all (I was using the end of the garden jalapenos, so they may not have been as hot). I really liked the blue cheese in this...we topped them w/ the swiss and served them on whole wheat sandwich thins along w/ onion, tomato and pickles...Nice! I will def make these again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Kielbasa and Cabbage

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
10 stars! This was too good for words. I was making it at night to take to my moms and my boyfriend and I ate at least half it! We couldn't get enough. I did brown the meat, add a potato and cut the caraway seed in half. This is the new football half-time favorite! Thanks for the recipe that reminds me of my Gram!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbypa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The recipe calls for 8 oz. not a BOX of macaroni; my mistake but that's why it was dry and others rate it the same. I pureed the cottage cheese with 1/2 cup milk but it still wasn't creamy; probably because I used a box of macaroni and not 8 oz. I will try this recipe again but want others to read and rate this recipe accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fire-Roasted Tomato and Spinach Pasta

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Used two overly ripe tomatoes and a jar of pickled jalapeno juice, dried onion powder, and dried garlic powder; simmered then added the box of creamed spinach. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I added 1 tsp. vanilla. I poured the batter into a 12 cupcake pan. I baked it at 325 for approximately 30 minutes. Good but not sweet enough for our liking. Perhaps a brown sugar topping would make it five stars?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Omit the salt otherwise too salty. One time I added 1 cup cheddar cheese to the green bean/sour cream mixture; the other time I didn't. Cheddar + green bean and sour cream mixture = no leftovers; the other time, the beans didn't look creamy so there were plenty of leftovers. I always use canned green beans not the French style. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Bean Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I used homemade Italian dressing; I didn't have a bottle on hand. I omitted the jalapenos since I didn't have any on hand and used garlic powder vs. salt. Marinated overnight. Received compliments but not sure I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cilantro-Lime Yogurt Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I love traditional cilantro cream sauce made with sour cream, so, I thought this lighter version would be a great option. Unfortunately, we did not like it at all. The combination of the Greek yogurt and lime juice was extremely tangy. The recipe does not give a specific measurement for the lime juice, so, it could be that my lime produced more juice than was intended for the recipe. I think I would prefer light sour cream to the Greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States