Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
this was ok. I only used 1/2 stick butter. the chicken wasn't very flavorful and wasn't as crispy as I thought it would be. quick and easy, will make again with my own tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Horan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Finleyville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
because this was for the 'little ones' too, I used cubed boneless pork western ribs. only change to the sauce: less ketchup, more chili sauce and I used apple cider vinegar. Next time I'll also add some smoke flavoring. Everyone loved this, from the kids all the way to Gramps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels

Baked Ziti with Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
As others have stated, this dish is labor intensive. In my opinion, the final outcome wasn't worth all the work, as we thought this meal was just okay. My husband stated that he wished it had meat in it. I did like the flavor combo of the bechamel and red sauces - but because this took so many pans on the stove at the same time, plus the baking dish, I don't think this is something that will make it into our dinner rotation very often. The only change I made was to cover the top in additional cheese layer with the bread crumbs to entice the kids to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Basil Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
We love this. I don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This is my new go-to recipe for baked beans...AWESOMELY FANTASTIC!!!!!! I did halve the recipe, using 2 cans of pinto beans, drained and rinsed. These were super simple to make and the house smelled soooo good while these were baking. I always get baked beans from a local market that we always considered 'the best' baked beans, but these surpass those, and are waaaaay cheaper to make than those ones are to buy, so that's a bonus. I did measure all of the liquid ingredients and brown sugar, but I did eyeball the onions and red pepper, and I'm sure I used more of those than the recipe called for. If I could give these beans more stars, I would...these are wonderful~YUM, YUM, YUM!!!!! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Coconut Date Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hungarian Mushroom Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Sour Cream Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
tried this recipe twice. second time altered recipe by upping sour cream by 1/2 cup, adding another can of chilies and a teaspoon of emeril's seasoning. i am not a fan of cilantro so i crushed some coriander and a bit of celery seed and added that to the cooking rice. also i think 30 min. baking is a bit too long. 25 min. with a couple of minutes under the broiler to brown the cheese is plenty. got rave reviews from family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I have made this several times and it tastes simply fantastic. The first time I made it I didn't have thyme so I subbed rosemary. It was great. Later I bought thyme just to make this recipe, but even though I did try it, I liked the rosemary better. This works for me without being dry. My 6 children stand around snitching bites while I cut this up. This recipe is a total winner at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Divide, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cake and Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I did not add the additional sugar. Mine turned out chunkier than I like, it could be my blender. The taste was great. Next time I would make this without the ice, I think I would like it a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Excellent flavor! I have to say I was skeptical about the ingredients for the marinade, but Chef John nailed it! My steak marinated for about 10 hours. Once I put the steak on the grill I sauted some sliced mushrooms in butter and then added leftover marinade and reduced it for about 10 minutes to top the steak. Thanks Chef John! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Frosting

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Yummy! I love whipped cream frosting and this fit the bill. It was also easy enough for my 12 yo daughter to make on her own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina

Cornbread Muffins with Cheddar Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
These are pretty basic, which is fine, if that's what you're looking for. We thought these were missing something...maybe more sugar? Sort of bland and we really couldn't detect the cheese, even though I topped them with extra cheese before baking. I also topped some w/ a slice of jalapeno from my garden, and that added a kick, which was nice. I don't know that I would be making these again, but Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Spicy Shrimp and Red Bean Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I wanted to make a spicy shrimp soup, so this seemed like the best thing to try. I followed the recipe closely except I added a 10oz package chopped mushrooms and an extra can of beans and a can of corn to make it thicker. I ate my concoction the same night I made it, and it was bland- but the flavor is about 2x more pronounced now the next day. I am almost certain you'll be disappointed if you do not let the soup rest for at least 12 hours in your fridge. All in all, I liked it a lot, and there's a lot of wiggle-room for personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I found this recipe to be okay. I did have to change it up a bit though. First, I cut up the chicken into bites. Second, I found out at the last minute that I didnt have dry onion soup mix.. im sure it would have tasted better that way. I seasoned my chicken with salt, pepper, onion & garlic powder. I also cut up a green pepper and added it to the simmering mix. Per reviews, I saved the pineapple juice from the can which equaled almost one cup. I added half a cup of water to that and put it in the skillet. Also, I mixed in some low sodium soy sauce. Lastly, I used manadarin oranges. I served this over brown rice. The sauce wasn't thick and I didnt have corn starch to thicken. I basically created an entire new recipe but still used this as my base and cooking times. This was an easy recipe, but the chicken was bland, even with the spices that i added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlanaKadas

Elbows Mac and Cheese with Tuscan Herb Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I liked this. I made it exactly as written. My kids really loved it, so I will probably make it again, but I thought it was missing something that I couldn't put my finger on. It is something different from your usual Mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlanaKadas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frozen Peanut Butter Pudding Squares

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Kiddos loved these!! Super easy to make too. I made these a week late for RECIPE GROUP :(. Nice recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies

Top Ramen® Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Simple salad to put together, but, very flavorful. The topping of ramen noodles, sesame seeds, & almonds gave it a nice crunch. The only thing I didn't like was that it was slightly oily. Other than that a very tasty salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Grilled Asian Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I liked that the chicken did not need to marinade all day, so, I thought I would give this recipe a try. It was ok, but, nothing special. It seemed slightly bitter and salty to me. It didn't seemed to have a great balance of flavor for us. There are so many really good Asian marinade recipes out there that I don't think I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States