Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spinach Tomato Tortellini

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2015
This was great and not to mention super easy to make! I only made minor changes.. I used a cup and a half of chopped spinach. Next time I'll use 2 cups for sure . I also added the additional seasonings of garlic salt & Italian season. Next time I'll add onions to the tomatoe mixture.. Chopped fresh mushrooms would taste good here too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2015
Wow. This was great!! I sprayed a dish with coconut oil and powdered it with cocoa powder. The cake released beautifully. Subbed butterscotch morsels instead of chocolate chips. Dusted with powdered sugar. TASTED LIKE A MOLTEN CHOCOLATE CAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by TRAILINDAWG

Slammin' Salmon

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2015
simple and delicious. Did not have any peanut oil or green onions but I don't even know if it needed it. Marinated for two hours and then put on a fiery hot grill for four minutes per side. Could have probably used one more minute. But it was really delicious and will definitely make again. It is right up there with the all recipes firecracker Alaskan salmon. Used the leftovers for a nice salad for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAILINDAWG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Mustard-Glazed Broiled Salmon

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2015
I really loved the simplicity of this recipe. I made exactly as written. It wasn't our favorite however I love the back story on the food wishes blog. Thanks chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Tennessee Tea

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2015
Hubby LOVED it! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2015
Made just as described. Yum! My 5 year old is a fan and he can bring these in his lunches this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Johnny Marzetti V

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2015
This was great. I made I exactly as written. I heavily salted and peppered the meat mixture and I thought it was far from bland. Super delicious. A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Beef Stroganoff with Noodles

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2015
Omit the bacon and salt, there's plenty of salt in the beef broth. Between all that bacon, bacon fat and seasoned salt it's enough to give one a heart attack. As written this recipe is inedible for anyone who cares about sodium and fat intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Michele Beers

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2015
Delicious!!! I made one with Splenda & one with sugar!!! Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Beers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelayres, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Parmesan II

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2015
Made using all tips in most helpful review and it is perfect! I make this often and I always hear this is the BEST eggplant parm they've ever had - even better than from any restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

Shredded Barbeque Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
The recipe looked wonderful and due to all the positive reviews, I decided to give it a try. I was pretty dissapointed with the taste. Did add a bit of cayenne, brown sugar and used Sweet Baby Rays. To me, it had an artificial taste to it. Nothing authentic or fresh. My sons liked it but I think I will take the extra time and look for an authentic from scratch recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliza Crespin Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels

Classic Chicken and Rice Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
I had a chicken carcass left over from dinner last night, and a bunch of white rice left over from the night before that...so chicken & rice soup for dinner today. I simmered my chicken carcass with some diced onions for 4 hours then removed the bones and picked off all the meat, returning it to the pot. I added a bit of broth to fill the pot more, then the peas, parsley, and some freshly sliced carrots. Lots of salt & pepper, and voila! Thanks for a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels

Chef John's Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
Perfect. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by Alana Kadas

Quick and Easy Witches' Brew

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
I made this for a themed movie night with my kids and it was a big hit! I used Sprite and lime flavored sherbet. The lime sherbet that I found was disappointingly white, so I added a few drops of green food coloring to the brew and it instantly turned it from boring to creepy! I loved the way it bubbled up and so did my boys! It was really easy to make such a fun treat for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana Kadas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Photo by Alana Kadas

Meringue Bones

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
I made these super fun treats for a themed movie night with my kids. I think I should have beaten the egg whites a little longer for more stiffness, but overall, these turned out pretty cute and they were really tasty! My kids were so excited to eat these "bones" and loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana Kadas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Photo by Christina

Funnel Cake Waffles

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
These waffles are so easy to put together and DELICIOUS, but I wouldn't mistake them for funnel cakes, IMO. I did wish they were a bit crispier on the outside, but the flavor more than makes up for that. I did check the original recipe from the submitter's personal file, and I noticed that she listed oil in the ingredients, but butter in the directions, so I'm wondering if you were to use oil in the batter if that would make them crispier? Also, keep an eye on them, as they did not take 10 minutes to cook. In any case, the family LOVED these and I will def be making them again~YUM!!!! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Scott K

Scott's Grilled Salmon

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
I loved this recipe. The sauce was the key component. It is amazing! I don't like salmon, but my son does. So I made this for him and ended up eating half of his plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.

Salsa Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
This soup was just ok to me. It came together very quickly which was great. I felt it needed more spice. It was a little bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA

Slow Cooker Broccoli Beef

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
Used reduced sodium soy sauce and it was still salty. One-year-old wasn't a fan, but the other three of us were. Will likely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
This is a good meatloaf recipe if your in the mood for a basic meatloaf. After reading the reviews used about 1/2 the milk and it was just the right texture for us, held together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States