Pennsylvania - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This recipe is great! The only changes I made was to add more ham only because I like it chunky. If you do add more ham I would suggest doing away with the extra salt added as the ham will salt it up on it's own. I made it a second time using scallions instead of onions, for my daughter's sake and added a pack of mushrooms. It was really good. this soup is very flexible and very good. Can't go wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Lehr

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

G.G.'s Chocolate Sheet Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This cake is very good. Donut double the icing like I did. It's way too much. Lol. You'll get the sugar sweats. The cake is moist. I used a 9x13 pan and had to bake for an additional 15. Came out GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Christina

Mediterranean Fried Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Made this for Recipe Group...DELICIOUS! I used brown rice to make it a bit healthier. Great flavor! I did add a bit of salt per our tastes, and sprinkled the feta on top of each portion b/c my little guy doesn't care for it. We eat rice every week, so this was a nice change from the usual, and is definitely going into the rotation~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Marinated Flank Steak

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Poached Cod

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was a pretty good recipe even though I messed it up horribly at first. FYI: Fish sauce is NOT a substitution for soy sauce. Holy salty! I guess that's why you should never mess with a recipe! Still, the taste was really good and the texture of the fish was perfect. Even my toddlers loved it. I'll definitely try it again, but with soy sauce next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salami and Tomato Folds

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This is my quick & easy go-to recipe for appetizers. Always a hit at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spanikopita

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Great recipe, my first time making spanikopita and a huge success! Delicious, easy to assemble and look fantastic to serve! The phyllo dough is a little tricky to work with, especially after you brush it with the butter but the results are more than worth the time and attention!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina

Spicy Hummus!

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
LOVED this! I did add a bit of salt, but other than that, this was perfect for us! Instead of using water to get the right consistency, I used the reserved liquid from the chickpeas b/c that's how I always do it. Really, REALLY great flavor! I will absolutely be using this recipe often~YUM, YUM, YUM!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Christina

Spicy Jalapeno Hummus

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
WOW, this is delicious! It's SPICY, but it was so tasty that I couldn't quit eating it, lol. Hubby LOVED it! I did 1/2 the cayenne, and am glad I did b/c I think it would've been too much spice for me, but that was my only change. Really great combination of flavors! I will be making this often~YUM, YUM, YUM!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Stuffed Manicotti

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Very good, but next time I will use jarred spaghetti sauce. I found the tomato sauce a bit bitter, my 5-year old ate some after I scraped off the sauce. I also added ricotta cheese to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This was really really good and super easy. I used 2.5 Lbs of chicken so I doubled the sauce recipe. I also put the chicken in a bag and coated it with some flour like others mentioned. I used ginger seasoning instead of fresh and for the hot sauce I used 3 tbspn of regular redhot and 1 tbspn of habanero hot sauce..so pretty spicy but really good! Def sweet/spicy and sticky. Served with rice which helped with the hotness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Holiday Pumpkin Cake with Rum-Cream Cheese Glaze

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Ironically, I've never made this cake. However, I love the glaze! I reworked the amounts to use as a drizzle over my famous pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poorbachelorguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dry Rub for Ribs

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I really like how easy this is. I actually use it for stew meat for a soup I make. However, I don't put brown sugar in. It gives the soup just the right amount of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poorbachelorguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
There's only 1 reason this isn't a 5 star recipe to me: way too much cilantro! The 2nd time I made this, I cut the original amount in half and still felt it was too much. Maybe I'm overly sensitive to cilantro (I don't think so), but I think I'll try this without cilantro at all- I like everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poorbachelorguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Lentil Barley Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I'm a big fan of this soup. I like to add stew meat. I also really like how simple this is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poorbachelorguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Best Chicken Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rambob64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prospect Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha

Mater's Adult Butterbeer

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This is REALLY yummy! I made the "potent grog" from the footnotes, and I'm very pleased with the flavor. This is good without the ice cream, but I really think the ice cream makes it. It froths up a whole lot, so be ready with a straw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by FrackFamily5

Zesty Lime Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Modified this based off lutzflcat's review. I scaled the recipe to half. Used only lime juice- no orange so I doubled it. Lime zest. No herbs de Provence so I subbed mrs dash herb and garlic. Shook it in a ball jar and it was darn tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Chinese Chicken Salad III

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This was so good. I had an issue with the wontons burning in the allotted time. I only needed to keep the next batch in for 7 minutes. I also dressed the lettuce with a lime vinaigrette. The brown sauce is pretty thick and isn't quite a dressing. It's super tasty but not a dressing. I pan fried the chicken in peanut oil with salt and pepper. I subbed radish for he carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by FrackFamily5

Hot and Sour Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This was a winner!! I loved it. I had to use cider vinegar and it tasted great. Next time I'll add even more heat. yay!' Thank you for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States