Yonkers - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Raspberry Habanero Jam

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Wasn't sure about the vinegar, surprised that you don't really taste it. I used only red pepper and six habanero peppers. I like it hot. I'm trying to reproduce a sauce made by a home-show cookware company. This was not exact, but delish regardless. Their product ingredients state "Apple cider vinegar", but I followed this and used white vinegar. Never canned before, but googled it and it's easier than I thought. I'll b making this again, in smaller jars to give as gifts. Thank you for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Wouldn't change a thing. These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This is great, as is. It's spectacular with mushrooms, and/or diced potatoes. The one thing I do differently, regardless, is to mix veggies/chicken together with gravy before pouring into crust to incorporate everything first. Everyone in my family loves this. I also use the cooking liquid as my broth.... why waste it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Beef Teriyaki

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I just made this dish and I loved it. It was tasty and easy to make. Yummmm... I did however add fresh garlic, a hint of ground ginger and because I didn't have corn starch I substituted it with flour. I will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCharmz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

Beer Brats

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Yum, yum, friggin' YUM!!!! I've never been a huge fan of brats, but prepared like these, served with sauerkraut and spicy mustard on hoagie rolls..... these are amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made as directed the first time. Very good, but better without garlic salt, and way too much grease. Teriyaki sauce is salty enough. Cut butter down to about a teaspoon and splash of EVOO, Subbed garlic powder the second time and much better. Also tripled the red wine (used GOOD wine) the second time, when it sautes down with teriyaki sauce it compliments mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Holy Cow!!! Loved this. Scaled it down to one loaf, wish like heck that I hadn't. Super moist, super delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Smoky Grilled Pork Chops

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
These were really, REALLY good! I think the seasoning would be great on chicken or fish too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Shanghai Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Excellent. The only suggestion I have is to double the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Paroo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Simple Oven Barbequed Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Totally loved it, so easy, and tastes like the real outdoor thing. Two comments -1) sprinkle a bit of oil on the chicken breasts before covering 2) VERY loosely with the foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Paroo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zuppa Di Pesce Fra Di Avolo

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
OMG. Just as good as our local restaurant. I halved the recipe, but kept the tomato sauce the same, to have enough to submerge all the seafood otherwise the mussels and clams kind of sat on top and didn't "simmer". Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. My picky 15 year old daughter ate 3 helpings, then went back for more calamari. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Tzatziki Sauce I

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I used the Greek Yogurt for this (Fage). It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Falcone Daquino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Pretty darned good. I, too, thought it was a little sweet but since we are using it mainly to top off some tangy pulled pork sandwiches it adds a nice flavour. If I were making this a strictly a side salad, I would cut back just a little on the sugar and perhaps add a little more vinegar. But this recipe DOES deliver as advertised.... tasted like popular restaurant coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Homemade Arepas

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is pretty much the recipe from the cornmeal product container. Having said that... you can't really beat it. Sometimes, if only seving as a vessel for salsa, I 'll add some seasoning to the batter, but it is totally not necessary. Easy, fast and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Beth's Meat Loaf

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Easy and totally delicious. This is the very best meat loaf I have ever made. Followed the recipe and made no changes. An absolute winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Bonem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

John's Quiche Lorraine

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Totally loved it. I used a 10" quiche pan, and used a recipe for a two crust (oil, pat in) for the single crust, 1/2 baking it before filling it. It was absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Paroo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Libitina72

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This was great. I made it as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libitina72

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made three different soda bread recipes this year. This is by far the best off the three. I used about 1/3C white sugar and would keep it that way. Next time I will also add raisins and caraway seeds to this base recipe for more of an "American" Irish soda bread. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Brennan's Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I found the flavor very good but the texture seemed off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Good flavor but I found the texture a little bit unconventional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States