Yonkers - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Homemade Arepas

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is pretty much the recipe from the cornmeal product container. Having said that... you can't really beat it. Sometimes, if only seving as a vessel for salsa, I 'll add some seasoning to the batter, but it is totally not necessary. Easy, fast and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Beth's Meat Loaf

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Easy and totally delicious. This is the very best meat loaf I have ever made. Followed the recipe and made no changes. An absolute winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

John's Quiche Lorraine

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Totally loved it. I used a 10" quiche pan, and used a recipe for a two crust (oil, pat in) for the single crust, 1/2 baking it before filling it. It was absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Paroo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Libitina72

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This was great. I made it as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libitina72

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made three different soda bread recipes this year. This is by far the best off the three. I used about 1/3C white sugar and would keep it that way. Next time I will also add raisins and caraway seeds to this base recipe for more of an "American" Irish soda bread. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Brennan's Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I found the flavor very good but the texture seemed off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Good flavor but I found the texture a little bit unconventional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Individual Baked Eggs

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Awesome cooking method! When I go camping breakfast eggs take forever, for twelve people. This is my new caming breakfast recipe. I used ham slices for a little easier cup design. I love this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Bill Wood's Juicy Pigs

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Threw the whole works into the crockpot on high for six hours. Let it cool, strained the fat off, shredded the meat and put it back into the juices to reheat. Everyone agreed that this was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Awesome! Would not hesitate to try different fillings. I found the "cake" part of this recipe absolutely, absurdly moist and delicious. Like a lighter, fluffier coffee cake. Thanks, this one is a true gem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

French Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I think the method is great, and produces a great loaf if you allow the yeast to proof first with the warm water and a teaspoon or two of sugar. I also add just a touch of olive oil or melted butter, seems to make dough more "workable" when rolling out. Make sure you have good yeast, and make sure to allow for full rising time, this is how you ensure you do not get a "dense" loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Healthier Easy Baked Tilapia

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Tried it tonight. My husband and I loved it. Yummy!!! The taste from the lemon is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnav

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moo Goo Gai Pan II

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I follow this minus the chicken. I like it with just veggies. People keep commenting that this has no flavor, yet they leave out main ingredients. Bok choy is essential to the flavor of this dish, don't leave it out. I also add about a teaspoon of oyster sauce to the sauce mixture for more depth of Asian flavor. I also use sherry, instead of white wine. With my changes it's five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Easy Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I agree with the others, 3 cups of chips is too much, half as much is enough. You can also add any other kind of beans to this dish like black beans or pinto beans like I did! I also added corn to the meat while it was cooking! For a vegetarian take on it substitute the chips for brown rice and substitute the meat for diced portobello mushrooms. Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I found this delicious but I thought it needed more spice, if you can believe that. My cookies came out a little thin, but not too bad. They are tasty (I added about 1/4 cup more raisins, just because we love them) but slightly bland. The sweetness is right on, but next time I will add more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Chicken Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Really good. Added more spices, as we like more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Adeni Tea

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
OMG. This could become addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Dessert Crepes

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This recipe was EXCELLENT! I tried another recipe previously and the results were disastrous! I took other users advice and poured from the outside, as well as adding vanilla extract. I filled my crepes with cream cheese and bananas and drizzled with pancake syrup. It was perfect! Culinary even!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandiChristine

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

Pesto

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I agree with naples31402 that the garlic should be reduced by half. I'm a cheese lover so I kept the amount as is. My biggest alteration was adding a single Thai Pepper. Wow! If you like hot this will work for you. I wouldn't add more than one pepper. You can use a fresh Cayenne Pepper in place of the Thai Pepper which should be slightly less hotter. BEATLEFAN1964 has an excellent point using a few drops of fresh lemon juice to mitigate the oxidation of the fresh basil. I made fresh linguini pasta for this dish which was a great idea. Just remember to keep about 1/4 cup of the pasta water and mix that with the pesto sauce to help bind it to the pasta. Buon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Mahopac, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Libitina72

Simple But Awesome Lemon Pepper Pork Chops

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libitina72

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States