Poughkeepsie, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spaghetti With Marinara Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I needed to use up some fresh tomatoes so I used them in place of the canned crushed and diced. Needed to add a little paste to thicken it up at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Luscious Sweet Potato Burritos - with chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe, despite its simplicity, is a lot of work. So it's not for the faint of heart! It's truly worth all the effort though for two reasons. 1 - it's delicious! and 2 - it makes enough to save for the week ahead. I'm not sure why anyone had trouble mashing the beans as you warm them; I didn't find it much of an effort. I did, however, add chicken to each burrito (some baked chicken tenders which were easy to shred). The result was excellent. I ran into a bit of trouble, though, because I was unable to portion out the sweet potatoes evenly, so the last burrito had a double portion of beans in it. I also had some leftover beans that I saved in a plastic bag that I will use as a side dish some other night. Karena - Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spinkster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe, despite its simplicity, is a lot of work. So it's not for the faint of heart! It's truly worth all the effort though for two reasons. 1 - it's delicious! and 2 - it makes enough to save for the week ahead. I'm not sure why anyone had trouble mashing the beans as you warm them; I didn't find it much of an effort. I did, however, add chicken to each burrito (some baked chicken tenders which were easy to shred). The result was excellent. I ran into a bit of trouble, though, because I was unable to portion out the sweet potatoes evenly, so the last burrito had a double portion of beans in it. I also had some leftover beans that I saved in a plastic bag that I will use as a side dish some other night. Karena - Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spinkster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Pilaf with Shredded Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This recipe is sumptuous! Like many of the other reviewers, I did not have coconut oil so I substituted olive oil. It made so much we had it the next day too! Warning: It dries out a bit in the fridge, so I added some water to it when I warmed it back up. Still delicious! This recipe even works with fried tofu in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spinkster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwestern Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Delicious base recipe. I used more cumin than suggested, added sweet baby ray's bbq sauce, and loaded it with curry as well. I also uped the amount of beans and spinach to make it a bit healthier. I did not fry these, just baked em as others have commented about. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Definitely as good as everyone says. I baked them instead of frying them. Delicious with a slice of cheese on top too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

Harvest Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Very nice salad for spur of the moment. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have never made a pie in my life but my future mother-in-law asked me to make one for Thanksgiving and, well, you just don't say no to the mother-in-law! I wanted it to be perfect so I chose this recipe as it was so positively reviewed. I made a "test pie" (because I had to know if it would be okay to take to the in-laws) yesterday and we've been swooning over it since. I used a mixture of apples I had on hand and instead of making a lattice and pouring the syrup over the top (I was afraid a lattice would be too advanced), I just poured the syrup over the apples in a large mixing bowl, folded it all together and then mounded it in the prepared crust (I brushed the bottom crust with egg white per some review suggestions). I put a full crust on top, cut some vents in it, brushed it with an egg wash, and baked it (again, as per some reviews, I used a lower temp, for longer, to avoid overbrowning before the apples were cooked- 350 for about an hour, until the top was golden and the syrup was bubbling). It came out perfect- the crust was flaky, and the apples had a rich, caramel-y flavor. We can't stop eating it- the one for my in-laws is in the oven now. I will always think of Grandma Ople when I make this pie and be thankful that she saved me at Thanksgiving and helped me make a good impression!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Fail Pie Crust I

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have never made pie crust from scratch before and was totally intimidated by the concept. I read a variety of recipes and discussions on what fat to use, water vs vinegar, etc, and finally settled on this one as it was the most straightforward. I made it as written except I used half shortening and half butter, and I put the fats in the freezer for an hour before cutting them into the flour and salt. The crust was amazing- very flaky and light, yet sturdy enough to stand up to a hearty apple pie recipe. I will use this as my go-to crust for sweet AND savory pies from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
try adding walnuts that realy does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobzee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Very delicious. Just be careful on the salt. Lemon pepper spice has salt in it. :) Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

PHILLY Bavarian Apple Torte

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This was so good and really easy too! I used a 9 inch tart pan. Added a 1/2 teaspoon almond extract to the filling. That alone brought it to a higher level. It is very important to thinly slice the apples to make sure then get cooked. Also, I saw by the pictures that some, if not most, arrange the apples on the top. I was not so careful. Just kind of dumped them on the top and smoothed them out , then sprinkled with almonds. Very pleased with the results. Bakery quality, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA

Canadian Maple Scones

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I used this recipe my very first time making scones and they came out perfect- they had that light scone texture and were slightly sweet and maple-y! Very easy recipe to follow and delicious with no modifications! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soul Smothered Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
as written, I probably would not make this chicken again. "Medium-high" was much too high a temperature to brown my chicken- it quickly browned the butter, then burned the flour on the chicken and in the pan instead of producing flavorful browned bits on my chicken (I should have listened to my instincts). Also, I had to add more butter than was called for to cook the veggies until they were "softened". This dish is similar to other ones I have made- if I'd followed this recipe as a guideline for flavors while using my own cooking knowledge, it would have been a more successful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp and Asparagus

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
A wonderfully EASY and very tasty recipe. Use it as a base and change up the pasta, and the vegetables and even the sprinkling of cheese. The sky is the limit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Absolutely wonderful as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
THE BEST! Don't worry about those uncooked noodles...they will cook to perfection. I have the 6qt. oval pot and it cooked in less than 4 hours. PICTURE PERFECT LASAGNA!! I will never go back to the oven...EVER. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Champ

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Yummy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Onion Soup Mix

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I will never buy another one of those packets again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Polish Noodles (Cottage Cheese and Noodles)

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very nice recipe. Simple and tasty. Comfort food in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States