Poughkeepsie, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Wow, this is a delicious recipe. I will definitely be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
My family loved it! You all don't know us, so it's tough to understand what a miracle this really is. I made a couple of simple changes only because of what was on hand. I used uncooked chicken tenders in place of the breast so cooking time was much, much less. I also used that crazy named cream cheese wanna be that is 1/3 the fat. Finally, I sauteed and onion and some mushrooms at the end of cooking time and tossed them into the mix. We served it over penne pasta and there are zero leftovers. I repeat - ZERO LEFTOVERS!!! Can you hear the angels singing? Great recipe! Will absolutely make it again. Thanks Judi Ann! You are now in the Will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Grilled Garlic Parmesan Zucchini

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Winter here in NYS and my grill is closed up at the moment. Baked for 10 min. at 400* and then broiled for 5 min. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chilly Day Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I love this chili, it's perfect as is. Put everything in my crock pot and let it cook for a couple hours and it came out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

Smoky Grilled Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Loved the flavor, just a little salty for me. Will definitely reduce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
86 the margarine. Use 2/3 c melted butter instead. Granny Smith apples or Fuji apples usually work best. Place apples in greased pan. In a bowl mix dry ingredients with egg to make crumbly topping, pour over apples evenly. Add melted butter, drizzled over top. Sprinkle with cinnamon. Best if NOT refrigerated a after cooking, even if it sits overnight (makes crumbles chewy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Garlic Shrimp

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Excellent! I love how Chef John says not to call it garlic shrimp if you use less than 6 cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I used brown rice which needed to cook longer. Near the end of the cooking time I placed fresh green beans on top and just let them steam. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
It was ok. I used butter instead of oil to cook onions, shrimp and mushrooms. I used butter to make the rue too. I added salt, pepper and paprika to the flour mixture. I added salt, pepper, and parm cheese to the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie Childs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti With Marinara Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I needed to use up some fresh tomatoes so I used them in place of the canned crushed and diced. Needed to add a little paste to thicken it up at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Luscious Sweet Potato Burritos - with chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe, despite its simplicity, is a lot of work. So it's not for the faint of heart! It's truly worth all the effort though for two reasons. 1 - it's delicious! and 2 - it makes enough to save for the week ahead. I'm not sure why anyone had trouble mashing the beans as you warm them; I didn't find it much of an effort. I did, however, add chicken to each burrito (some baked chicken tenders which were easy to shred). The result was excellent. I ran into a bit of trouble, though, because I was unable to portion out the sweet potatoes evenly, so the last burrito had a double portion of beans in it. I also had some leftover beans that I saved in a plastic bag that I will use as a side dish some other night. Karena - Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spinkster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe, despite its simplicity, is a lot of work. So it's not for the faint of heart! It's truly worth all the effort though for two reasons. 1 - it's delicious! and 2 - it makes enough to save for the week ahead. I'm not sure why anyone had trouble mashing the beans as you warm them; I didn't find it much of an effort. I did, however, add chicken to each burrito (some baked chicken tenders which were easy to shred). The result was excellent. I ran into a bit of trouble, though, because I was unable to portion out the sweet potatoes evenly, so the last burrito had a double portion of beans in it. I also had some leftover beans that I saved in a plastic bag that I will use as a side dish some other night. Karena - Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spinkster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

Quinoa Pilaf with Shredded Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This recipe is sumptuous! Like many of the other reviewers, I did not have coconut oil so I substituted olive oil. It made so much we had it the next day too! Warning: It dries out a bit in the fridge, so I added some water to it when I warmed it back up. Still delicious! This recipe even works with fried tofu in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spinkster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

Southwestern Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Delicious base recipe. I used more cumin than suggested, added sweet baby ray's bbq sauce, and loaded it with curry as well. I also uped the amount of beans and spinach to make it a bit healthier. I did not fry these, just baked em as others have commented about. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Definitely as good as everyone says. I baked them instead of frying them. Delicious with a slice of cheese on top too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

Harvest Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Very nice salad for spur of the moment. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have never made a pie in my life but my future mother-in-law asked me to make one for Thanksgiving and, well, you just don't say no to the mother-in-law! I wanted it to be perfect so I chose this recipe as it was so positively reviewed. I made a "test pie" (because I had to know if it would be okay to take to the in-laws) yesterday and we've been swooning over it since. I used a mixture of apples I had on hand and instead of making a lattice and pouring the syrup over the top (I was afraid a lattice would be too advanced), I just poured the syrup over the apples in a large mixing bowl, folded it all together and then mounded it in the prepared crust (I brushed the bottom crust with egg white per some review suggestions). I put a full crust on top, cut some vents in it, brushed it with an egg wash, and baked it (again, as per some reviews, I used a lower temp, for longer, to avoid overbrowning before the apples were cooked- 350 for about an hour, until the top was golden and the syrup was bubbling). It came out perfect- the crust was flaky, and the apples had a rich, caramel-y flavor. We can't stop eating it- the one for my in-laws is in the oven now. I will always think of Grandma Ople when I make this pie and be thankful that she saved me at Thanksgiving and helped me make a good impression!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Fail Pie Crust I

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have never made pie crust from scratch before and was totally intimidated by the concept. I read a variety of recipes and discussions on what fat to use, water vs vinegar, etc, and finally settled on this one as it was the most straightforward. I made it as written except I used half shortening and half butter, and I put the fats in the freezer for an hour before cutting them into the flour and salt. The crust was amazing- very flaky and light, yet sturdy enough to stand up to a hearty apple pie recipe. I will use this as my go-to crust for sweet AND savory pies from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
try adding walnuts that realy does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobzee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Very delicious. Just be careful on the salt. Lemon pepper spice has salt in it. :) Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States