Niagara Falls, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Maharaja Curry

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Awesome dish!! I love curry but live in a house full of more traditional eaters. Made the recipe as stated with the only change being I used canned peeled whole tomatoes instead of fresh. Everyone even my 12 year old grandson ate it up. This is a keeper !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ntoosh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This ziti is my favorite dinner in the world. My fiancée'a favorite dinner as well. I don't even like ground beef, or sauce, but wow do I love this ziti. The only change I made was, instead of sour cream, I usually toss the ziti in ricotta cheese (mixed with a bit of fresh chopped parsley and an egg). I've tried this recipe with sour cream as well though and I loved that too. Five stars, thank you so much for sharing this, we can't get enough of it in my house!!! GREAT for leftovers as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by St4rvingx4rtist
Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
God bless Grandma Opie, this is by far the best pie I've ever had in my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by St4rvingx4rtist
Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dal Makhani (Indian Lentils)

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
My husband and I have made many different types of dal over the years, that were all great, but we will be making this dal makhani for now on. It's absolutely delicious!!! In fact my husband loved it so much he had leftover dal and brown rice for breakfast this morning, lol! I did make some minor changes to the recipe. Instead of 2 Tbsp salt, I only added 1 tsp of salt and it was plenty enough, I may consider adding even less the next time I make it. Also, in place of the butter and heavy cream, I used 2 Tbsp trans-fat free margarine and fat-free half and half. And lastly, SOGOLONDJATA is right, fenugreek leaves are close to impossible to find state side. I added 1 Tbsp fenugreek seeds in place of the leaves; the flavor is much more intense in the seeds, but they are much easier to find in an Indian spice market. Be sure to remove the bay leaves, cloves, cinnamon (I left it whole; its easier to fetch out) and black cardamom before eating, especially if your serving to children. Another thought ~ after toasting the spices, it would be fairly easy to wrap them in cheese cloth. Thank you so very much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Shumway-Khan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta e Fagioli I

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I grew up with this soup... love it. The only change I make is when I'm sweating my onions and garlic I add a pinch of red pepper for a little heat. This soup is so versatile sometimes I add sausage, carrots and celery sometimes not.. a great basic soup. The last time I made it, I took some to my work and now I get hounded to make it all the time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ntoosh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ntoosh

Cajun Poached Shrimp Linguine

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This recipe was awesome. Two days later I was still talking about it. The only change I made was I used penne instead of linguine, held the sauce very nicely. This is a definite remake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ntoosh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bar-B-Que Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made this recipe tonight and it was truly delicious! I doubled the recipe because I like a lot of sauce. I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only changes I made were I used white vinegar instead of cider, prepared mustard instead of powdered because that's what I had on hand. I omittd the salt because I had already seasoned my meat and I felt the sauce didn't need more of it. I will never buy bbq sauce from the store again, it's really that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rozz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Bacon Hamburgers

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I changed the recipe just a bit; because I don't eat pork. I diced up the exact same amount of turkey bacon and fried till crisp before adding to the remaining ingredients. And OMG! ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!! I don't eat burgers very often, but for now on when I do I will definitely continue to use this recipe. Thank you so very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Shumway-Khan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken with Garlic, Basil, and Parsley

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Tried this recipe last night.. awesome.. the flavors were superb. Served it with Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce. worth the try even if asparagus isn't your favorite. We'll definitely have chicken this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ntoosh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cut-Out Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I made these cookies twice, the 1rst time I actually made a mistake instead of using baking powder I used baking soda, the 2nd time I baked these I followed recipe to a Tee. The 1rst batch was much fluffier and not as crumbly. I think this is an error in the original recipe so try baking soda instead. Also I creamed sugar and shortening together 1rst then added dry ingredients a little at a time alternating with egg and vanilla, so mixture is less crumbly. I baked at 350 degrees for 6 minutes with oven wrack on notch above the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoldnGodess83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
My cookies stuck to the pan, if you make these defintitely grease your pans, they burned around the edges and were raw in the middle, I could tell before baking the dough needed more flour, telling myself to stick to the recipe was a waste next time I will try my favorite chocolate chip recipe adding oatmeal to that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoldnGodess83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

Cocoa Cherry Pork

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
The pork and dry rub were excellent. I have to agree with others regarding the sauce. It was to acidic. I did add more preserves (I used black cherry)and oregano and it turned out fine. My husband loved it and he can be very critical. It is very simple. A great week night entrée. I also roasted sweet potatoes. Will be adding to my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Butter Pecan Ice Cream

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I changed the instructions b/c they didn't make sense. You can't boil custard b/c it won't turn out. I'm going to scald the initial mixture, then cook it to 180 degrees on a candy thermometer. Also, switch the half & half and heavy cream, and, because I'm making 4 qts., I'm dividing the sugar to half brown and half white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Sodano Vaccarello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I've made quinoa before & my husband politely asked me not to do so again. With this recipe everyone loved it! Not a single spec left in the pan. I did add one diced roma tomato & a few olives just to use them up. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkjanke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Ice Cream

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Good thing I cut the recipe in half. I use my Kitchenaid ice cream attachment and it was just the right amount. Be sure when you adjust the amounts that the directions needs to be adjusted as well in reference to number of cups of peach puree. I used 5 peaches and it was exactly 2.5 cups. Also, the recipe does not mention to peel the peaches and may think it is a given but it should say peel, pit and chop. another tip is to chill the mixture before pouring into you ice cream maker. It helps. I was in a hurry and did not do this so it did not freeze as usual. Very creamy, peachy and easy to make. Finding ripe peaches was probably the more challenging part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italian in Austin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Ice Cream VII

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I love this recipe! The changes I made were that I scalded the milk/cream mixture, then when I added some to my eggs, I didn't have to worry so much. After I added the eggs to everything else, I inserted a candy thermometer and cooked it till it reached 180 degrees. No worries about boiling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Sodano Vaccarello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Not only did I love this recipe, everyone I've shared it with has loved it as well. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb2887
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Albion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Applesauce Cake V

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
4.5 stars people? Do you not have taste buds? This is a nice light yet moist cake, but 0 flavor. 2 cups of apple sauce & it doesn't even taste like apple. Definitely needs cinnamon &/or other spices. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkjanke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus Lasagna

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Wow. I really enjoyed this recipe. Made it this morning thinking I'd have it later on....and then I sampled (and sampled!!) as soon as it came out of the oven. I had a package of small diced ham and fresh asparagus. Sauteed both of them in a pan before adding to the dish. Baked it at 450 for 25 min. The cheese on top was brown and crispy and the whole thing tasted delicious. Thanks for a - for me - new and innovative lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb2887
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Albion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seafood Newburg

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This was a great dish! Very simple and very tasty, I added about 1/2 cup sherry, to my taste. I put fresh broiled (3 - 6oz) lobster and 1# frozen shrimp. I used Pepperidge Farm Frozen pastry sheets, thawed, cut into 4 squares, put shrimp and lobster chunks, a little sauce, sealed the pastry and 20 minutes at 350. Serve hot with sauce, try twice baked Potatoes as a side. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States