Staten Island - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by bluepillow

Sauteed Green Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This came out pretty good. What I would suggest is adding the almonds after the beans, as mine burned by the time the beans were cooked. It's a matter of timing the ingredients right. Otherwise, it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bluepillow

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was a hit, and I didn't change a thing. Next time I would play around with other herbs/greens to add to the stems and garlic just for variety. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bluepillow

Roast Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Giving this recipe 4 stars because I had to add more herbs and seasonings to give it flavor. Potatoes are awful if bland. Also, the cooking time is way off and I suspected that it would be before I began, as I'm an avid potato cook. I baked for 45 mins turning the potatoes over occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bluepillow

Strawberry Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Great recipe, very easy to make. I tried the strawberry vinaigrette that was posted in the description and it was very tasty as well. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Pizza Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I wasn't a fan of the flavor, but the texture wasn't bad for me. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bluepillow

Crispy Herb Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe provides you with a good start for breading. However, like other cooks, I added more seasoning and herbs to enhance the flavor. I threw in some thyme, basil, salt, garlic powder instead of garlic salt, onion powder, paprika, a tiny bit of cayenne pepper, and black pepper into the breading in addition to the potato flakes and Parmesan cheese. Before cooking, I always preseason my meats with at least black pepper and garlic. I did that for about 3 hours. I baked the chicken on a rack as to reduce the mushiness of the coating. Came out reasonably crispy and tender on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

All Day Venison Pot Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Easily the best venison pot roast I have ever made! I didn't have all the ingredients, so I made some substitutions, but no major modifications. THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Daiquiri

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I went over my best friend's house just to return his clothes because he had to stay at my house because his parents went on a cruise. He gave me this cause he probably thought i was thirsty. OMG!!! this is a really yummy drink. then i asked him for the recipe since he used it for his culinary project and showed me this recipe. i had some left and i gave it to my mom when i came home and she loved it too. If u are throwing a party with people under 21, or hosting a barbecue make this drink. It is a fantastic drink for the summer because of it looks like a slurpee from 711.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pokechef14

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beefy Sweet Potato Hash

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was a delicious meal that had great flavor and was very easy to prepare. The carmelized onions and sweet potatoes combined with the beef was just a perfect taste combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyD35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Shrimp Scampi

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I would give it 5 stars on flavor, but it just needed more sauce. I think I'll double all the sauce ingredients next go around. Plus I used angel hair and it probably absorbed more than spaghetti or linguini would have. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cowboy Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Loved this! I think I'd add a bit more jalapeño just because I love anything spicy. Maybe even some green chile, not because there's anything wrong with it as is though. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Cottage Cheese Patties

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Perfect the way it's written! His and loved it and so did the kids. Delicious! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Russian Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I tarted this up a bit (half a teaspoon or so of hot paprika and literally two drops of Worcestershire sauce), but it's also delicious just as written. Instead of chopping the onion, I grate it: Easier, faster, and no bits of raw onion in your dressing. It's also low(ish) in carbs because I make it with the Heinz Reduced-Sugar Ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBikeNYC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Delicious! Everyone liked it. I baked 2 split breasts and 2 wings in half the sauce, sans cornstarch, and then added the rest 20 minutes before it was done, basting and turning so the chicken would be thoroughly coated. That way I did't have to wash as many dishes (I didn't cook the sauce on the stove, first). My husband thought it was a tad too sweet, but I thought it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I have made this numerous times. It is very good. I have added mushrooms, also cooked cut potatoes with the steaks, I add some extra gravy packets onion flavor with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Irving

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
There aren't enough stars for this! Oh my, my, this was simply amazing! The kids n I made a double batch with a scant 1 cup sour cream n extra vanilla, a scant 1 Tablespoon. We lightly dusted the apples as we diced them, and I made them pretty small. other than these changes, followed the recipe to a T. The batter is very goopy but yummy, and cooked up into this dense, moist masterpiece! We used a glass 9x12 pan and it cooked to perfection in 40 minutes. Thank you, mysamba! This will be a family treasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab and Pea Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made one today and my Mother and I decided to make one for Thanksgiving. The only difference I brought a can of sweet peas and added a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar, chopped minced white onions, and chopped 1/4 of fresh cilantro. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Just made it tonight and it was just wonderful. I had to add more milk since I let it cool, and it absorbed a lot of the milk, but it was yummy and not too sweet. Creamy and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyD35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
tried this recipe last weekend, and I had some reservations about the sodium content, it came out awesome. I added NO salt to it, and it was perfectly seasoned and the gravy was out of this world. I only made some very minor adjustment, such as adding quartered red potatoes and some diced baby carrot, also added some thick sliced Vidalia onion to the bottom of the crock pot for the meat to rest on. It was a hit with family and friends, and used the leftovers shredded on toasted rolls for sandwiches. All in all, a great quick recipe to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I used this recipe and added 2 tablespoons of sofrito for latin carribean flavor, with carrots and sweet peas and my family loved it. Will use this recipe again for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 73) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States