Staten Island - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Coconut Custard Pie I

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I followed some reviewers' advice and used half and half in place of milk, and only 1 cup of sugar, and I thought it still ended up a little too sweet. But overall it was very tasty. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pie Crust IV

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
The only pie crust recipe you'll ever need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Lenahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

Braised Oxtails in Red Wine Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
OMG the meat just falls off the bone. The liquids were more than I needed in my pan and had to remove 2 cups. I had a little more than 5 lbs, but it was oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlene Fried

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
meh. It wasn't a waste of food, but we didn't care for it enough to ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Lenahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

Fast Apple Rhubarb Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Awesome! I added 1/4 cup flour and 1 Tbsp corn starch like everybody else did, and it was still a little watery, but OMG the taste is out of this world! Sweet, tart, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Lenahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I used this recipe to make 6 Jumbo muffins, I doubled the sugar topping so I could generously top the muffins with about 2 TBSP each, but I made sure to gently press the toppings into the muffins before baking. I also doubled the blueberries since they are jumbo muffins and I added 1.5 TSP of vanilla Since I made the muffins Jumbo it took about 30 minutes to bake, I turned them around half way through baking and the last 5 minutes I lowered the temputure to 375. The instrustions does not tell you to but I wisked all my dry ingredients together first, then made a well when I added my wet ingredients. Added the egg first to the cup so it could be beat, then the 1/3 cup of oil and filled it up with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wafaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Orange, New Jersey, USA

Dumplings

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Fantastic! We like ours a little more fluffy than gooey inside, so after the 15 mins with the lid on, we cooked it another 10 minutes with it off... absolute perfection! tytyty Carol! this is now our default dumpling recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Delicious! Simple! Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Lenahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

Basic Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Good, not great. They were not as fluffy as I would have liked, but the flavor and texture were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Lenahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
A great basic recipe. Simple and delicious! I like to add a little sweet relish and some minced fresh jalapeno or habanero peppers (no seeds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Lenahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

German Pork Chops and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Lenahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Huge hit at all of our family parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Russo Simeone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Blakeslee, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Sister Natalie's Chicken Marsala ( On the BBQ)

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Give it a try its super delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABass<3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Venison Tenderloin Bites

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Loved it! Served it on a platter as a finger food during the Superbowl with 4 or five different sauces. It went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Lenahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Just like Taco Bell "meat"! The kids loved it, I found it kind of, well, it tasted like fast food tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Lenahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

Cheese Sauce for Broccoli and Cauliflower

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
My sauce broke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Lenahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

Fortune Cookies I

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
i needed double the amount of egg white mixture but everything else was good. i made them super thick & made fortune cookie flavored pancakes. THAT was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle G

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I made this recipe with no problems. I used 1 whole carton (16oz) of strawberries and mashed them to make a little over 2 cups. I also arranged sliced strawberries on the bottom before adding the mashed strawberries so it could look pretty when I flipped it over (didn't really make a difference, oh well). First I placed the sliced strawberries and sprinkled it generously with the jello, then I poured the mashed strawberries and added the rest of the jello, 6oz does look like alot, but it was perfect. Then I let that sit and marinade while I made the cake mix. Not sure why I needed to add marshmallows but I used just 1 cup not 3. Overall, very good. Served it with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wafaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Orange, New Jersey, USA

Traditional White Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Finally a perfect bread recipe! I just started baking all of my bread at home and failed with at least 5 different recipes that just wouldn't work even with perfectly proofed yeast but then I stumbled upon this heavenly recipe and now am in love. The bread has a nice crust and buttery flavor. This is now my go-to bread and I plan on baking this weekly. P.S. This bread is highly addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malerba310

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This didn't excite me, but a few of my kids say they can live on it. I made a triple batch for a large dinner, and had a good 3/4 left, because it was very basic in flavor, and there was a lot of other dishes... I did the roux, but only used sharp cheddar, not much salt, and it was meh. This was much better the next day, though, and the entire pan was polished off last night. I will make this again, but with a triple variety of cheeses, as some others mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 73) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States