Staten Island - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Coconut Shrimp I

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Wow. This shrimp recipe was the hit of my party. I made the dip that was in the description. I can't say that these lasted more than three minutes. I didn't change a thing about it. I highly recommend both the shrimp and dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Layer Taco Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I love this recipe. I played around with it because I had more ingredients in my fridge than recipes, so I made a portion with some ground beef and guacamole. Both variations were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
People ask me to make this for them left and right. I alternate between ranch and blue cheese dressing depending on what I have on hand. This is very easy and a total hit. I wouldn't eat it with chicken flavored crackers, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Pizza Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Tastes just like white pizza! Everyone loved it. I prepared it in a slow cooker. If you do that, make sure you don't leave it there too long cause the bottom does turn a little golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Skins

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was a great hit at my BBQ. I used the inside of the potato to make mashed potatoes for dinner the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beer Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Fantastic, I used Blue Point Blueberry beer and the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

McCormick® Stuffed French Toast

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Absolutely delicious breakfast (and lunch and dinner and midnight snack).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bluepillow

Sauteed Green Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This came out pretty good. What I would suggest is adding the almonds after the beans, as mine burned by the time the beans were cooked. It's a matter of timing the ingredients right. Otherwise, it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bluepillow

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was a hit, and I didn't change a thing. Next time I would play around with other herbs/greens to add to the stems and garlic just for variety. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bluepillow

Roast Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Giving this recipe 4 stars because I had to add more herbs and seasonings to give it flavor. Potatoes are awful if bland. Also, the cooking time is way off and I suspected that it would be before I began, as I'm an avid potato cook. I baked for 45 mins turning the potatoes over occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bluepillow

Strawberry Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Great recipe, very easy to make. I tried the strawberry vinaigrette that was posted in the description and it was very tasty as well. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Pizza Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I wasn't a fan of the flavor, but the texture wasn't bad for me. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bluepillow

Crispy Herb Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe provides you with a good start for breading. However, like other cooks, I added more seasoning and herbs to enhance the flavor. I threw in some thyme, basil, salt, garlic powder instead of garlic salt, onion powder, paprika, a tiny bit of cayenne pepper, and black pepper into the breading in addition to the potato flakes and Parmesan cheese. Before cooking, I always preseason my meats with at least black pepper and garlic. I did that for about 3 hours. I baked the chicken on a rack as to reduce the mushiness of the coating. Came out reasonably crispy and tender on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

All Day Venison Pot Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Easily the best venison pot roast I have ever made! I didn't have all the ingredients, so I made some substitutions, but no major modifications. THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Daiquiri

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I went over my best friend's house just to return his clothes because he had to stay at my house because his parents went on a cruise. He gave me this cause he probably thought i was thirsty. OMG!!! this is a really yummy drink. then i asked him for the recipe since he used it for his culinary project and showed me this recipe. i had some left and i gave it to my mom when i came home and she loved it too. If u are throwing a party with people under 21, or hosting a barbecue make this drink. It is a fantastic drink for the summer because of it looks like a slurpee from 711.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pokechef14

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Shrimp Scampi

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I would give it 5 stars on flavor, but it just needed more sauce. I think I'll double all the sauce ingredients next go around. Plus I used angel hair and it probably absorbed more than spaghetti or linguini would have. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cowboy Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Loved this! I think I'd add a bit more jalapeño just because I love anything spicy. Maybe even some green chile, not because there's anything wrong with it as is though. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Cottage Cheese Patties

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Perfect the way it's written! His and loved it and so did the kids. Delicious! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Russian Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I tarted this up a bit (half a teaspoon or so of hot paprika and literally two drops of Worcestershire sauce), but it's also delicious just as written. Instead of chopping the onion, I grate it: Easier, faster, and no bits of raw onion in your dressing. It's also low(ish) in carbs because I make it with the Heinz Reduced-Sugar Ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBikeNYC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
There aren't enough stars for this! Oh my, my, this was simply amazing! The kids n I made a double batch with a scant 1 cup sour cream n extra vanilla, a scant 1 Tablespoon. We lightly dusted the apples as we diced them, and I made them pretty small. other than these changes, followed the recipe to a T. The batter is very goopy but yummy, and cooked up into this dense, moist masterpiece! We used a glass 9x12 pan and it cooked to perfection in 40 minutes. Thank you, mysamba! This will be a family treasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 73) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States