Queens - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by IzzyBorden

Herbie's Home Fries

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is a great base for home-fries. I was really in the mood for some and figured I'd whip it up for Mother's Day as part of a brunch meal. I did, however, sprinkle some regular paprika, sage, cayenne pepper and thyme, rather than the sweet paprika. It added a bunch of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Medea Dudley

Butter Cookies V

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This was a great recipe for butter cookies. My daughter even used the dough in her Rsdy Bake oven and hers turned out great too. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medea Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Caesar Salad Supreme

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Just finished making this dressing - followed the recipe exactly. My family is now having a friendly debate over who gets to finish the salad. LOL. SUPER GOOD. In fact, I just returned to ALLRECIPES to look for a mayo recipe so I can make more caesar dressing. On a personal note I just looked up and discovered that my son won the debate, and he is happily chomping down on the remaining salad. Yes indeed, this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Brunch Scones

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I changed this recipe to accomodate my daughters milk allergy. Made it with dairyfree margarine (ice cold) and vanilla rice milk. It was delicious and moist. This is the second time I'm making it, we can't get enough. This time I made it with craisins, last time with raisins. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Lassie's Liver and Onions

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
A great recipe for anyone with an assortment of vegetables looming in their refrigerator waiting to be tastefully used. All you need is some elbow grease and a good knife and you'll soon be enjoying a nutritious meal of one of my favorite cuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mattee Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Disappointing to say the least. The veggies were soggy. The meat not tender. I've never had such bad results with Corned Beef. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Served it to company on St. Patty's Day Eve, without first trying the recipe - which is something I never do. And everyone was delighted that I did! It was FANTASTIC! I had nearly 6 pounds of meat, and adjusted the recipe to suit. We (okay, 'I') just finished the last of the stew a few moments ago. My son even had it for breakfast after pulling an 'all nighter' for college. I had to promise my family that I'll make it again very soon. WELL WORTH MAKING. I did read one review that gave this recipe a lower rating because it contained alcohol, which honestly doesn't make any sense to me. If you don't like the alcohol, then use an alcohol free beer - don't give a wonderful recipe a bad rap. Anyway - please try this recipe. And definitely watch the video, too. Enjoy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Greek Style Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made the potatoes almost as per the recipe. After reading the reviews, I tweaked a little. Used 6 yukon gold potatoes. Only 1 cup of veggie stock. More oregano and lemon then it called for and less olive oil. When they first came out oven I found them bland and just WRONG! And I 'm a pretty good cook so was really disappointed. They were too hot to throw out so I stashed them in the fridge till morning. I told my husband about the disaster and I that I was going to trow them out. He was said no! You aren't finished with them yet! He suggested that I pan fry them with some of the pan juice like they do at our favorite greek place. OMG! The most outstanding potato ever! I will absolutely make these again! If think you must refrigerate overnight in order to prevent over cooking. They were cold through so when put them in the hot pan they crisped beautifully without becoming soggy! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salty Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Just made these today for an early St. Pat's Day treat. They were delicious, although I got 30 cookies (not 36) rolled by hand. I added a little extra buttermilk, but then it got too sticky and I had to go back and add in some more flour. Might have had to do with the fact that I was handling the dough by hand rather than using cookie cutters. Also, subbed raisins for currants, because that's how my family has always made soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by finator

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean Hummus

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
A keeper. Especially like that no oil is added. Will try with other beans as well. Great way to enjoy healthy food. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Molasses Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
These were good but tasted strongly of baking soda. I'll use less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathytress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Robert's Homemade Italian Sausage

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Just used this tonight to season up my pasta sauce and it turned out great. I halved the recipe and didn't have any pork on hand and it still came out great. I also didn't have any mace or nutmeg to replace it so I used a pinch (literally) of cloves and it was enough to enhance the flavor without overpowering. Didn't even use casings to make sausage, but mixed it all together in a bowl. Highly recommend, esp if you have ground turkey and don't know what to do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IzzyBorden

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
These blueberries TRULY are to die for! I was searching for a base recipe, missing the cereal "Blueberry Morning". I'm SO glad I used this one. I used fresh blueberries, crushed up 1/4 cup raw almonds, mixed some into the batter (and topped the muffins off before putting them into the oven with some of it, rather than using the crumb topping) and sprinkled some Cinnamon into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cor135

Chicken Chow Mein (West Indian Style)

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. I enjoyed the taste of the fresh ginger root although I used a standard potato peeler to peel it into really thin strips that get absorbed really well during cooking. I gave this recipe 4 stars because the first time I made it I felt that it needed a little something more. Then someone recommended I add 3 tablespoons of "Iron Chef" General Tso's sauce - I added this when stir frying the chicken and the veggies together and it was divine! You can find the Iron Chef sauce series at any grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cor135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Used shredded store-bought rotisserie chicken but otherwise made the recipe as written. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Our Poppy's Cinnamon Coffee Cake IIl

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
When your father-in law, smiles & eats it all up, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele Sorrentino-George

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Photo by krz660

Paleo Omelet Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I make these on Sunday and freeze them for the week. I use whatever leftover veggies that I have in the fridge. I work full-time and my husband is retired. I take a couple out of the freezer each day and he microwaves them for one minute and makes a couple of slices of toast and has a complete breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krz660

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Traditional White Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Love this recipe! Very easy! I did do a few things different, only because I like to experiment. I bloomed the yeast separately using some whey water from some ricotta cheese I made earlier. I heated up the whey water, took 1 TBSP of the sugar and the yeast and mixed together until the yeast was foamy. Then I mixed using a dough hook in the mixer, and let the dough rise. No problems at all. The dough rose very high, I punched down and divided into 2 loaves. The smell is awesome!! Baked off like nobodies bizness! Absolutely delicious and easy. This is a winner hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kate's Kale Couscous

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I really liked this. I added a can of diced tomatoes, and I used Israeli Couscous and frozen chopped kale. I was lazy (and my dishwasher is broken), so I used only one pot. I sautéed onion and garlic in olive oil, browned the couscous, added water, and when couscous was ready, I threw in the other ingredients. My 14 yo was the only one who liked it, so I cant add it to my rotation, will save for lunches for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Basic Crepes

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Okay so I followed the directions exactly and was really excited as I never made crepes before. The first two crepes didn't look so hot but after i got the spreading technique down they really started to look like restaurant style crepes! I was happy that I learned to make this kind of fancy dish and it was remarkably easy. Then I tasted one of the crepes...BLECH!! I'm sorry but don't you have to put sugar, vanilla or something? I actually added in a little vanilla and cinnamon at the beginning, even though the recipe did call for it, it still tasted so bland. I added more vanilla, more cinnamon and some almond extract and sugar, okay it was getting better but still didn't taste like the crepes I get in the restaurants. I ended up throwing what was left of the crepe batter into what was left of the pancake batter I had stored which already had cinnamon, almond extract and vanilla extract. Now we're talking! They tasted great and my son loved them with some apple pie filling and whipped cream, but as the original recipe stood, I don't get how it got so many high reviews. The taste was flavorless without even a bit of sweetness in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TempleOfTruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States