Queens - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Delicious! I had never had chimichangas before, but I've heard about them. When I saw this recipe I thought i'd be a fun meal to try. The chimichangas were awesome! Nice and crispy, great seasoning and kinda fun to make! The verdict is still out on the sour cream sauce though. Mines was way too salty and even if it wasn't so salty, im not sure it added anything to the meal, but it wasn't bad. I ate this with beans and rice and avocado. I will definitely make this again, though next time I may not make the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TempleOfTruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Rice & Beans (Haitian Style)

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Not bad. Definitely edible and has a good flavor. I think I need a little more flavor in my Haitian rice though. I may double some of the spices that were added. I grew up in a Haitian family and have had Di Riz Cole (what Red Beans and Rice is called in Creole) at so many different relatives houses and at so many different Haitian restaurants im very picky. But this recipe was good, especially for starters who just want to try it out. It needs a little more kick for me but it's definitely not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TempleOfTruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Way better than that can . Once you eat this, you will never want sloppy joes from the can! T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Work4Food

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne with Chicken and Pesto

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Followed the recipe expect I marinated the chicken in the 'absooluteky fabulous greek dressing'. A recipe I found here and I trimmed down the recipe for 3 servings.I used one chicken breast diced and 1 1/4 cup of pasta. It was so tasty. Looking forward to lunch tomorrow since some reviewers indicated it tastes even better as leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Work4Food

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Oh my gosh! Delish! Made vegetarian for my daughter and regular for the rest of us, and sorry vegetarians...you don't know what you're missing! Well, maybe you do, but the bacon makes this soup! The only thing I changed was used veggie stock instead of water and evaporated milk instead of half and half because I didn't have any. It's freaking amazing! You have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Summer Raspberry Peach Sangria

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
We tried this last weekend and it was awesome! Our guests love it too, 2 gallons made...2 gallons drank! I could not find raspberry soda so I used regular club soda and soaked fresh raspberries in it for 30 minutes before using it. Great recipe and I'll make it again for my dad's birthday next month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medea Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Photo by Meg

Zesty Kale

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Delicious introduction to eating kale! Very easy to put together after a long day of work. We had it with grilled London Broil, it tasted like we were at a steak house! Thank you for sharing. By the way sorry for the upside down picture, can't seem to edit it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

Antipasto Squares

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Made this for an after school snack...a win, the kids all loved it. I used peperoni and ham with shredded mozzarella cheese. I followed the advise to bake the bottom for 6 min, and kept everything else the same. Very quick, easy, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Caramel Popcorn

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Didnt change a thing and the kids and I loved every minute of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iginah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Cornbread

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Love the original recipe but tried the alternate non fat plain yogurt too and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kacscookz1
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I've made this several times, and it is delicious. I make half the recipe, and usually bake it at 325F in a mini-muffin pan (yields 24) for about 15 minutes (set the timer for 12 min and keep checking). My 4-yr old son gobbles them up, and I like sending the homemade treats. I'll even pack a few for his teachers tomorrow. Would probably be yummy with walnuts, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by finator

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Asian Tofu Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
of course, i made a few changes. awesome husband and i don't eat tofu. also, i have found this great frozen bag of veggies that includes just a bit of pasta. it's got broccoli, red peppers, carrots, water chestnuts, string beans, and onion. i scaled this back to 2 servings and followed step 1 exactly, up to stirring in the tofu. then i heated the sesame oil in the pan and added my frozen veg, cooking for about 6 minutes. then i added the sauce back in and cooked over medium for about two minutes, stirring and folding the sauce in. i decided to top with some regular and black sesame seeds because i have a ton of them and want to use them up. we thought this was delicious! definitely will be added to our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waxing witch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Lemon Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I love this recipe. It came out perfect It's actually the second time I used this recipe. My family loved it so much the first time I made that they've been asking me to make it all summer long. I love and normally make hot soup during Winter Season and love and make chilled soup such as (butternut squash and apple) during the summer; but Im glad I made it despised the hot weather, it was delicious and my family's bellies were contempt. I did however make a small modification. I used corn starch instead of all purpose flour, orzo pasta instead of rice, 3 large Garlic cloves because I didn't have anymore flour, my 2 year old loves orzo pasta and we just love garlic.:0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cathytress

Meatloaf in a Mug

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This is an awesome recipe that can be altered and customized as needed. I love it!!! Today I used ground turkey, 1 TBS Fiber One cereal (ground), 2 TBS milk, 1 TBS Lipton Beefy Onion soup, and chopped, fresh parsley. After cooking, I put a bit of ketchup on top but gravy would work nicely too. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathytress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles I

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Hubby and I really enjoyed these! I added 1/4 tsp cinnamon and upped the vanilla extract to 1 Tbsp to increase the flavor. Took less than 5 minutes to whip this batter together. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Bread Rolls to Die For

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
these turmed out great. They are very addictive. The taste is great and the bread is nice and crusty. great with butter. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

Cake Mixes from Scratch and Variations

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
omg very good recipe exactly liked box mix. You can manipulate this and make a ton of cakes w/ this. I will most definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

Cranberry Nut Granola Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Great recipe that can easily be made to your liking as long as you stick to the measurements. Adding too much affects the binding and the bars don't stay together well. I add 1.5tsp of cinnamon for personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Best ever! Serve with cold 'milk' and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Malaysian Mango Chicken Curry

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I added 1/4 of coconut milk, a teaspoon of habanero sauce, and use potato flakes instead of corn starch. It tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperDad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States