Queens - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Egg-Free Dairy-Free Nut-Free Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I am amazed at how delicious and chocolatey this tastes. I topped the cake with the frosting made from the recipe on the back of Hershey's Cocoa. Scrumptiously vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I was a little let down. I mean it taste good, but it doesn't really taste much different then my usual tuna salad which only consist of tuna, sweet relish, mayo and maybe a little salt and pepper. I couldn't really taste to much of the other ingredients, maybe just a little of the parsley, but everything else just kind of got lost. Would I make this again? Maybe, for company, just to seem fancy :) But for myself and my kid I think the usual sweet relish, mayo, tuna recipe will work just fine and is all the more easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TempleOfTruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
2nd time making it. Since it was so easy and good. I just use a bigger beef eye of round roast mine is 6lbs. just needed to adjust time, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele Sorrentino-George

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Cheesy Chicken Rolls

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I love dishes that look and taste like something you'd eat at a restaurant. This is one of those, yet the preparation wasn't too hard. I seasoned the breasts with salt and pepper before adding the basil (my own recipe) and mozzarella, but I followed the recipe otherwise. In my oven, these were done in just over 40 minutes. I'll keep this recipe on hand for the next time I'd like to impress company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Risotto with Truffle and Parmesan

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This was sinfully delicious, and reminded me of a risotto I enjoyed on my honeymoon in Venice. There's just nothing like a decadent, parmesan risotto! The aroma coming from the pan as it's cooking is irresistible, but going the "low and slow" route really pays off with this one. My only change for next time would be cutting the truffle oil in half, I thought it was too strong and would've preferred to taste all the ingredients equally. Thanks so much for sharing, every time I make this it's met with rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Italian Pork Cutlets

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Five stars from me based on the ease it took cooking these, and five stars from hubby based on taste (I don't really eat meat). I loved that these weren't breaded, and the aroma as I was preparing them was phenomenal! I eye-balled the wine and chicken broth, and upped the red pepper flakes to 1/2 tsp for my spice-a-holic hubby, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. Served with yummy roasted potatoes also on this site, and salad. Will definitely make again! (Hubby said hopefully soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kristen's Parmesan Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I added some garlic but otherwise followed the recipe as written- to quote the recipe submitter, this is a delicious, easy side dish! I usually cut potatoes into wedges when I make seasoned, oven roasted potatoes, but I cut into 1" discs and they had a great texture. This is a "repeat" recipe for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Beef Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I would have given this 5 stars but there were so many alterations. I took others advice and used sour cream instead of yogurt. Also I used half Mozzarella cheese and half Gouda cheese. I'm a huge fan of Gouda cheese and I needed some more cheese for this recipe anyway. I used chili peppers instead of chili's. I bought the chilly peppers by accident not really knowing there was a difference between that and regular chili's. I also added a little ketchup to the meat/taco seasoning mix and used regular onion. Everything came out fabulous! I served it to my 8 year old son and he absolutely raved about how good it was. He wants me to tell the whole family the recipe and wants me to teach it to his kids when he gets older and has some. LOL. I have to say that was the best review I'd ever heard. My son pretty much wants this enchilada encoded into his DNA he loves it so much. I will definitely make this again. If you want to follow my version just make sure to only use half Gouda. Too much Gouda might make this too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TempleOfTruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Delicious! I had never had chimichangas before, but I've heard about them. When I saw this recipe I thought i'd be a fun meal to try. The chimichangas were awesome! Nice and crispy, great seasoning and kinda fun to make! The verdict is still out on the sour cream sauce though. Mines was way too salty and even if it wasn't so salty, im not sure it added anything to the meal, but it wasn't bad. I ate this with beans and rice and avocado. I will definitely make this again, though next time I may not make the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TempleOfTruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Rice & Beans (Haitian Style)

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Not bad. Definitely edible and has a good flavor. I think I need a little more flavor in my Haitian rice though. I may double some of the spices that were added. I grew up in a Haitian family and have had Di Riz Cole (what Red Beans and Rice is called in Creole) at so many different relatives houses and at so many different Haitian restaurants im very picky. But this recipe was good, especially for starters who just want to try it out. It needs a little more kick for me but it's definitely not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TempleOfTruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Way better than that can . Once you eat this, you will never want sloppy joes from the can! T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Work4Food

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne with Chicken and Pesto

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Followed the recipe expect I marinated the chicken in the 'absooluteky fabulous greek dressing'. A recipe I found here and I trimmed down the recipe for 3 servings.I used one chicken breast diced and 1 1/4 cup of pasta. It was so tasty. Looking forward to lunch tomorrow since some reviewers indicated it tastes even better as leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Work4Food

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Oh my gosh! Delish! Made vegetarian for my daughter and regular for the rest of us, and sorry vegetarians...you don't know what you're missing! Well, maybe you do, but the bacon makes this soup! The only thing I changed was used veggie stock instead of water and evaporated milk instead of half and half because I didn't have any. It's freaking amazing! You have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Summer Raspberry Peach Sangria

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
We tried this last weekend and it was awesome! Our guests love it too, 2 gallons made...2 gallons drank! I could not find raspberry soda so I used regular club soda and soaked fresh raspberries in it for 30 minutes before using it. Great recipe and I'll make it again for my dad's birthday next month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medea Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Photo by Meg

Zesty Kale

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Delicious introduction to eating kale! Very easy to put together after a long day of work. We had it with grilled London Broil, it tasted like we were at a steak house! Thank you for sharing. By the way sorry for the upside down picture, can't seem to edit it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

Antipasto Squares

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Made this for an after school snack...a win, the kids all loved it. I used peperoni and ham with shredded mozzarella cheese. I followed the advise to bake the bottom for 6 min, and kept everything else the same. Very quick, easy, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Caramel Popcorn

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Didnt change a thing and the kids and I loved every minute of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iginah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Cornbread

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Love the original recipe but tried the alternate non fat plain yogurt too and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kacscookz1
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I've made this several times, and it is delicious. I make half the recipe, and usually bake it at 325F in a mini-muffin pan (yields 24) for about 15 minutes (set the timer for 12 min and keep checking). My 4-yr old son gobbles them up, and I like sending the homemade treats. I'll even pack a few for his teachers tomorrow. Would probably be yummy with walnuts, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by finator

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Asian Tofu Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
of course, i made a few changes. awesome husband and i don't eat tofu. also, i have found this great frozen bag of veggies that includes just a bit of pasta. it's got broccoli, red peppers, carrots, water chestnuts, string beans, and onion. i scaled this back to 2 servings and followed step 1 exactly, up to stirring in the tofu. then i heated the sesame oil in the pan and added my frozen veg, cooking for about 6 minutes. then i added the sauce back in and cooked over medium for about two minutes, stirring and folding the sauce in. i decided to top with some regular and black sesame seeds because i have a ton of them and want to use them up. we thought this was delicious! definitely will be added to our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waxing witch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States