Queens - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Our Poppy's Cinnamon Coffee Cake IIl

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
When your father-in law, smiles & eats it all up, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele Sorrentino-George

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krz660

Paleo Omelet Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I make these on Sunday and freeze them for the week. I use whatever leftover veggies that I have in the fridge. I work full-time and my husband is retired. I take a couple out of the freezer each day and he microwaves them for one minute and makes a couple of slices of toast and has a complete breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krz660

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Traditional White Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Love this recipe! Very easy! I did do a few things different, only because I like to experiment. I bloomed the yeast separately using some whey water from some ricotta cheese I made earlier. I heated up the whey water, took 1 TBSP of the sugar and the yeast and mixed together until the yeast was foamy. Then I mixed using a dough hook in the mixer, and let the dough rise. No problems at all. The dough rose very high, I punched down and divided into 2 loaves. The smell is awesome!! Baked off like nobodies bizness! Absolutely delicious and easy. This is a winner hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kate's Kale Couscous

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I really liked this. I added a can of diced tomatoes, and I used Israeli Couscous and frozen chopped kale. I was lazy (and my dishwasher is broken), so I used only one pot. I sautéed onion and garlic in olive oil, browned the couscous, added water, and when couscous was ready, I threw in the other ingredients. My 14 yo was the only one who liked it, so I cant add it to my rotation, will save for lunches for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Basic Crepes

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Okay so I followed the directions exactly and was really excited as I never made crepes before. The first two crepes didn't look so hot but after i got the spreading technique down they really started to look like restaurant style crepes! I was happy that I learned to make this kind of fancy dish and it was remarkably easy. Then I tasted one of the crepes...BLECH!! I'm sorry but don't you have to put sugar, vanilla or something? I actually added in a little vanilla and cinnamon at the beginning, even though the recipe did call for it, it still tasted so bland. I added more vanilla, more cinnamon and some almond extract and sugar, okay it was getting better but still didn't taste like the crepes I get in the restaurants. I ended up throwing what was left of the crepe batter into what was left of the pancake batter I had stored which already had cinnamon, almond extract and vanilla extract. Now we're talking! They tasted great and my son loved them with some apple pie filling and whipped cream, but as the original recipe stood, I don't get how it got so many high reviews. The taste was flavorless without even a bit of sweetness in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TempleOfTruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I subbed 1.3 lbs of ground turkey for chicken. I don't like taco seasoning, so I just eyeballed amounts of cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, salt, pepper. I followed everything else the same. Good weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Slow Cooker Pork and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This came out great. The sauerkraut took on a more sweet flavor. The pork was so tender and had a lot of flavor. Didn't put the potatoes in because I though the flavor won't be that good on the potatoes, but I will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEAN DOSCHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I've been making this cake every Christmas & 4th of July for the past 10 years, and it comes out perfect every time. You must use the water bath method so the cake won't crack and won't fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEAN DOSCHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

Zucchini Cheese Garlic Appetizer

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
It was delicious! The smell was so pungent when I was mixing it, I was afraid it would be too garlicky, but it was delicious! I didn't add parsley because I didn't have any, but otherwise, I followed it to the "t". It is very, very savory, and I used it as a side dish. I should have halved the recipe because It was just for my small family. There's a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Garlic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Loved it, so much more fresh than bottled dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Medea Dudley

Jose's Shrimp Ceviche

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Absolutely loved how easy this was to make and it tasted great too. Used Serranos and jalapeños and they worked. Took it to a New Year's Eve get together and it was a hit!! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medea Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Egg-Free Dairy-Free Nut-Free Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I am amazed at how delicious and chocolatey this tastes. I topped the cake with the frosting made from the recipe on the back of Hershey's Cocoa. Scrumptiously vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I was a little let down. I mean it taste good, but it doesn't really taste much different then my usual tuna salad which only consist of tuna, sweet relish, mayo and maybe a little salt and pepper. I couldn't really taste to much of the other ingredients, maybe just a little of the parsley, but everything else just kind of got lost. Would I make this again? Maybe, for company, just to seem fancy :) But for myself and my kid I think the usual sweet relish, mayo, tuna recipe will work just fine and is all the more easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TempleOfTruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
2nd time making it. Since it was so easy and good. I just use a bigger beef eye of round roast mine is 6lbs. just needed to adjust time, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele Sorrentino-George

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Cheesy Chicken Rolls

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I love dishes that look and taste like something you'd eat at a restaurant. This is one of those, yet the preparation wasn't too hard. I seasoned the breasts with salt and pepper before adding the basil (my own recipe) and mozzarella, but I followed the recipe otherwise. In my oven, these were done in just over 40 minutes. I'll keep this recipe on hand for the next time I'd like to impress company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Risotto with Truffle and Parmesan

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This was sinfully delicious, and reminded me of a risotto I enjoyed on my honeymoon in Venice. There's just nothing like a decadent, parmesan risotto! The aroma coming from the pan as it's cooking is irresistible, but going the "low and slow" route really pays off with this one. My only change for next time would be cutting the truffle oil in half, I thought it was too strong and would've preferred to taste all the ingredients equally. Thanks so much for sharing, every time I make this it's met with rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Italian Pork Cutlets

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Five stars from me based on the ease it took cooking these, and five stars from hubby based on taste (I don't really eat meat). I loved that these weren't breaded, and the aroma as I was preparing them was phenomenal! I eye-balled the wine and chicken broth, and upped the red pepper flakes to 1/2 tsp for my spice-a-holic hubby, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. Served with yummy roasted potatoes also on this site, and salad. Will definitely make again! (Hubby said hopefully soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kristen's Parmesan Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I added some garlic but otherwise followed the recipe as written- to quote the recipe submitter, this is a delicious, easy side dish! I usually cut potatoes into wedges when I make seasoned, oven roasted potatoes, but I cut into 1" discs and they had a great texture. This is a "repeat" recipe for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Beef Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I would have given this 5 stars but there were so many alterations. I took others advice and used sour cream instead of yogurt. Also I used half Mozzarella cheese and half Gouda cheese. I'm a huge fan of Gouda cheese and I needed some more cheese for this recipe anyway. I used chili peppers instead of chili's. I bought the chilly peppers by accident not really knowing there was a difference between that and regular chili's. I also added a little ketchup to the meat/taco seasoning mix and used regular onion. Everything came out fabulous! I served it to my 8 year old son and he absolutely raved about how good it was. He wants me to tell the whole family the recipe and wants me to teach it to his kids when he gets older and has some. LOL. I have to say that was the best review I'd ever heard. My son pretty much wants this enchilada encoded into his DNA he loves it so much. I will definitely make this again. If you want to follow my version just make sure to only use half Gouda. Too much Gouda might make this too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TempleOfTruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Delicious! I had never had chimichangas before, but I've heard about them. When I saw this recipe I thought i'd be a fun meal to try. The chimichangas were awesome! Nice and crispy, great seasoning and kinda fun to make! The verdict is still out on the sour cream sauce though. Mines was way too salty and even if it wasn't so salty, im not sure it added anything to the meal, but it wasn't bad. I ate this with beans and rice and avocado. I will definitely make this again, though next time I may not make the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TempleOfTruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States