Queens - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Brunch Scones

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I changed this recipe to accomodate my daughters milk allergy. Made it with dairyfree margarine (ice cold) and vanilla rice milk. It was delicious and moist. This is the second time I'm making it, we can't get enough. This time I made it with craisins, last time with raisins. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Lassie's Liver and Onions

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
A great recipe for anyone with an assortment of vegetables looming in their refrigerator waiting to be tastefully used. All you need is some elbow grease and a good knife and you'll soon be enjoying a nutritious meal of one of my favorite cuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mattee Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Style Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made the potatoes almost as per the recipe. After reading the reviews, I tweaked a little. Used 6 yukon gold potatoes. Only 1 cup of veggie stock. More oregano and lemon then it called for and less olive oil. When they first came out oven I found them bland and just WRONG! And I 'm a pretty good cook so was really disappointed. They were too hot to throw out so I stashed them in the fridge till morning. I told my husband about the disaster and I that I was going to trow them out. He was said no! You aren't finished with them yet! He suggested that I pan fry them with some of the pan juice like they do at our favorite greek place. OMG! The most outstanding potato ever! I will absolutely make these again! If think you must refrigerate overnight in order to prevent over cooking. They were cold through so when put them in the hot pan they crisped beautifully without becoming soggy! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salty Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Just made these today for an early St. Pat's Day treat. They were delicious, although I got 30 cookies (not 36) rolled by hand. I added a little extra buttermilk, but then it got too sticky and I had to go back and add in some more flour. Might have had to do with the fact that I was handling the dough by hand rather than using cookie cutters. Also, subbed raisins for currants, because that's how my family has always made soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by finator

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Molasses Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
These were good but tasted strongly of baking soda. I'll use less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathytress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Robert's Homemade Italian Sausage

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Just used this tonight to season up my pasta sauce and it turned out great. I halved the recipe and didn't have any pork on hand and it still came out great. I also didn't have any mace or nutmeg to replace it so I used a pinch (literally) of cloves and it was enough to enhance the flavor without overpowering. Didn't even use casings to make sausage, but mixed it all together in a bowl. Highly recommend, esp if you have ground turkey and don't know what to do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IzzyBorden

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
These blueberries TRULY are to die for! I was searching for a base recipe, missing the cereal "Blueberry Morning". I'm SO glad I used this one. I used fresh blueberries, crushed up 1/4 cup raw almonds, mixed some into the batter (and topped the muffins off before putting them into the oven with some of it, rather than using the crumb topping) and sprinkled some Cinnamon into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cor135

Chicken Chow Mein (West Indian Style)

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. I enjoyed the taste of the fresh ginger root although I used a standard potato peeler to peel it into really thin strips that get absorbed really well during cooking. I gave this recipe 4 stars because the first time I made it I felt that it needed a little something more. Then someone recommended I add 3 tablespoons of "Iron Chef" General Tso's sauce - I added this when stir frying the chicken and the veggies together and it was divine! You can find the Iron Chef sauce series at any grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cor135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Used shredded store-bought rotisserie chicken but otherwise made the recipe as written. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Our Poppy's Cinnamon Coffee Cake IIl

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
When your father-in law, smiles & eats it all up, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele Sorrentino-George

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krz660

Paleo Omelet Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I make these on Sunday and freeze them for the week. I use whatever leftover veggies that I have in the fridge. I work full-time and my husband is retired. I take a couple out of the freezer each day and he microwaves them for one minute and makes a couple of slices of toast and has a complete breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krz660

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Traditional White Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Love this recipe! Very easy! I did do a few things different, only because I like to experiment. I bloomed the yeast separately using some whey water from some ricotta cheese I made earlier. I heated up the whey water, took 1 TBSP of the sugar and the yeast and mixed together until the yeast was foamy. Then I mixed using a dough hook in the mixer, and let the dough rise. No problems at all. The dough rose very high, I punched down and divided into 2 loaves. The smell is awesome!! Baked off like nobodies bizness! Absolutely delicious and easy. This is a winner hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kate's Kale Couscous

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I really liked this. I added a can of diced tomatoes, and I used Israeli Couscous and frozen chopped kale. I was lazy (and my dishwasher is broken), so I used only one pot. I sautéed onion and garlic in olive oil, browned the couscous, added water, and when couscous was ready, I threw in the other ingredients. My 14 yo was the only one who liked it, so I cant add it to my rotation, will save for lunches for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Basic Crepes

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Okay so I followed the directions exactly and was really excited as I never made crepes before. The first two crepes didn't look so hot but after i got the spreading technique down they really started to look like restaurant style crepes! I was happy that I learned to make this kind of fancy dish and it was remarkably easy. Then I tasted one of the crepes...BLECH!! I'm sorry but don't you have to put sugar, vanilla or something? I actually added in a little vanilla and cinnamon at the beginning, even though the recipe did call for it, it still tasted so bland. I added more vanilla, more cinnamon and some almond extract and sugar, okay it was getting better but still didn't taste like the crepes I get in the restaurants. I ended up throwing what was left of the crepe batter into what was left of the pancake batter I had stored which already had cinnamon, almond extract and vanilla extract. Now we're talking! They tasted great and my son loved them with some apple pie filling and whipped cream, but as the original recipe stood, I don't get how it got so many high reviews. The taste was flavorless without even a bit of sweetness in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TempleOfTruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I subbed 1.3 lbs of ground turkey for chicken. I don't like taco seasoning, so I just eyeballed amounts of cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, salt, pepper. I followed everything else the same. Good weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Slow Cooker Pork and Sauerkraut

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This came out great. The sauerkraut took on a more sweet flavor. The pork was so tender and had a lot of flavor. Didn't put the potatoes in because I though the flavor won't be that good on the potatoes, but I will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEAN DOSCHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I've been making this cake every Christmas & 4th of July for the past 10 years, and it comes out perfect every time. You must use the water bath method so the cake won't crack and won't fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEAN DOSCHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

Zucchini Cheese Garlic Appetizer

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
It was delicious! The smell was so pungent when I was mixing it, I was afraid it would be too garlicky, but it was delicious! I didn't add parsley because I didn't have any, but otherwise, I followed it to the "t". It is very, very savory, and I used it as a side dish. I should have halved the recipe because It was just for my small family. There's a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Garlic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Loved it, so much more fresh than bottled dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Medea Dudley

Jose's Shrimp Ceviche

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Absolutely loved how easy this was to make and it tasted great too. Used Serranos and jalapeños and they worked. Took it to a New Year's Eve get together and it was a hit!! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medea Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States