Queens - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Blueberry Crumb Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Made this recipe and it was wonderful. I didn't want to share. I added a little more vanilla than it called for and instead of a pastry blender I used my mixer with the whisk attachment and it was perfect. I think I'll try other fruit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Warm Dijon Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I followed recipe exactly, except I didn't have any green onions! This was a big hit, served it with corn on the cob and pulled pork sandwiches, a win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Lemon Square Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I am a rookie baker and these came out great. I followed the original recipe in addition to the feedback provided by "CareBear". I used Minute Main real frozen lemon juice and I increased everything in the crust by 25% to make a thicker bar. I greased the glass baking pan with Crisco spray on Butter and nothing stuck! The crust will be firm, so use a firm knife for cutting. I will def make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cor135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Bok Choy Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
One of my 'go to' salads. Great with anything that goes well with soy sauce (fish etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Another winner from Chef John :-) And another recipe where the list of ingredients is wrong :-( In the video, he makes a point of saying 1t of Soy Sauce because the Fish Sauce makes it sufficiently salty. The ingredients say 1T of Soy Sauce. Glad he pointed it out in the video - saved me from overly salty dinner. Chef John is absolutely wonderful and we love his all his recipes. Once again suggesting however that he consider having someone proof read the posted recipes for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Even though there's an error in the list of ingredients, this definitely deserves all 5 stars. I believe the video shows him adding TWO cups of water, but the recipe calls for THREE cups. I fixed it by removing the cooked meat from the pot and then cranking up the heat to reduce the liquid. Once reduced, I returned the meat to continue cooking a tad. My family loves ALL of Chef John's recipes - perhaps he can have someone proof read for him?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Kealey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
MAde , these mushrooms as written and these were superb!!!! Used a red wine i like. Will be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Clarke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I've made this dish several times. I cut my Italian sausage up and serve over brown rice. Delicious. I always add more white wine to my liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye
Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey-Lime Vinaigrette

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I amped up the lime juice a bit since I hand squeezed and had a bit extra so I also added about another tablespoon of honey. Threw everything into a jar and used my immersion blender to create the emulsion. Used it to dress a salad with Napa cabbage, red leaf lettuce,shaved fennel, red onion, red mangoes and navel oranges. After each person dressed their salad we sprinkled a little Tagin Classico on top as well. It was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nycvicky66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I thought this was great! I didn't have white miso, i used what i had on hand (it was regular miso). i found it a little salty but that may have been because i didn't use the right miso (so i didn't take a star off). I also didn't have sake - didn't want to buy a whole bottle knowing i would use only a few tblsp so i substituted with a dry white wine and it was still great. Very easy recipe that i highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nycvicky66

Rusty Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This was easy to prepare, common household ingredients for us except for the lime, which I did pick up, and the flavor was way beyond our expectations! I did make one sub in the marinade since I didn't have any sambal, I used sweet chili Thai sauce instead and added a few dashed of hot sauce to replace the heat. used skin on/bone in chicken (2 breasts, 5 thighs so I prepared a double recipe of the marinade) and it came off the grill looking like a picture and so fragrant! The garlic, soy and chili lend such awesome flavor but they can be over powering on their own. The maple syrup & mayo round out these flavors nicely and the rice wine vinegar I think just brings everything together. I do agree with some that the marinade smelled a bit weird but the chicken was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nycvicky66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This soup is amazing!!!!! Especially if you take BANSREEPARIKH's tip of tripling the cumin, adding fresh lime juice and cilantro. It makes a world of a difference making it tatse fresh and more homemade. I've made it every week for the past 3 weeks. Everyone that's had some keeps asking when I'll be making more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Photo by IzzyBorden

Minestrone Soup I

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I actually forgot to add Parmesan as garnish but will do so tomorrow! I doubled the recipe, added extra tomato paste to thicken, some black pepper and italian seasoning and boiled pasta separately, adding afterwards. It tasted great and I've got plenty left. Will definitely be holding onto this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jen's Chorizo Pasta

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This was very good. I subbed Linguica for chorizo. I also subbed half and half for the heavy cream, used fresh mushrooms and green peppers (all I had). I used a reviewers suggestion and sautéed sausage first rather than grill, removed sausage from pan and sautéed vegetables in pan drippings. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Sloppy Joes II

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Awesome! I like my sloppy joe saucy, so I added a tsp of ketchup and a 1/4 c of beer. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoked Gouda and Leek Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Made this and it came out very good. It wasn't very difficult, is pretty healthy, and is kind of "fancy." The only thing I will do differently next time is to make double the "stuffing." Maybe my chicken pieces were larger? I felt it would have been better with more of the leek/gouda/garlic inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriTheAuthor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
BEST bread I've ever made! It was so easy and came out perfectly! Nice and soft on the inside with the perfect texture crust on the outside. Delicious flavor, absolutely perfect! I made mine with regular flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriTheAuthor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I only had crushed tomatoes. This was delicious! I'll use it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Coffee Cake II

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I've made this cake many times. Once, exactly like it stated. That was wonderful..Also played with referring to some of the best reviews. Those also came out wonderful..I've always use this as my GO TO...enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele Sorrentino-George

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

CrockPot Latin Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
My 4 yr old said this was seriously delicious! The pickiest eater of the 5. Use whatever beans you like, substitute as it fits your taste, and this will be delicious regardless. Just don't forget to salt/season your chicken BEFORE you place it in the bottom of the crockpot!! Keep the seasonings and the chicken stock. Everything else can be substituted for something else and will still taste great. I didnt use fresh cilantro, used navy beans, no peppers and mild salsa. I didn't pan fry it first either (no need)...If I need a crockpot meal, then I definitely don't have time for that. Try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiiMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States