Queens - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Dessert Crepes

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
My family loves this for breakfast or an anytime dessert. I just use fruits I have on hand. Apples, peaches, or whatever. We love, love, love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye
Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Terrific Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
It's delicious! Today is my second time making it. It has just the right spice to it. The only thing I do is take away the green chile peppers and add a can of chili beans. This lasts me a week and if it's too much just freeze for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye
Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
My 13 yr old made this. Season your meat! Great recipe although our chops weren't all tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiiMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Apple Pork Chops

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
One of my husband's favorite recipes now! I did a little modifying myself and threw in a touch of cinnamon also. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostlittlefairy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA

Cheesesteak Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I wish I could've found some spring roll wrappers to make this instead but unfortunately, those are hard to come by in the typical grocery store so I stuck with regular egg roll wrappers. These were great. I also tried using the Steak-umms Chicken instead of steak and it was even BETTER! I used cheddar instead of American cheese. Thanks for great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostlittlefairy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA

Salmon with Caramelized Leeks

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Like some of the other reviewers, I also skipped cooking the salmon. Instead I made just the leeks and carrots and these were really good! Even my picky husband went back for seconds and he doesn't like leeks. Thanks for a great and yummy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostlittlefairy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
i wanted something easy and summery to bring to a labor day cookout yesterday. i thought about key lime something because i had a bottle of nellie and joe's key lime juice from a failed key lime bar attempt. when i saw this recipe's rating and how easy it was, i figured i'd give it a try. the ingredients seemed too easy to be good, but my family is very forgiving of my baking fails - plus i had enough time to whip up something else if needed. after reading reviews, i decided to go with low fat condensed milk and sour cream (used two 14oz cans of eagle brand low fat condensed milk and daisy low fat sour cream) and bought a premade graham cracker crust because i didn't want to waste time making a crust if it wasn't going to be a keeper recipe. it's a keeper recipe. i cooked it for about 14 minutes before i saw a few pinhole bubbles and, after giving it a little shake, it seemed to have set well. i did not use any lime zest because i didn't want anything to disturb the smooth consistency of the pie. i cooled it for about 40 minutes on top of the stove, then popped it in the fridge for about 5 hours. i think it was set properly - we were able to cut it and serve it without too much oozing; i've never made a pie like this so i'm not exactly sure what i was looking for/expecting. i served it with redi whip and it was a hit. my brother who has never had key lime pie ate almost an entire piece and said it was good but a little tart for him lol. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waxing witch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummus III

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I followed this recipe pretty much to the "T", but it was too bland. I just kept adding tahini, lemon juice, and chickpea juice and pureed until I got the consistency I liked. I also added more garlic, but was a bit reserved because the last time I made hummous on my own, I used TOO much garlic. I let it sit overnight, and the hummous was delicious, but not garlicky enough. So, like others have said, this is a fantastic base, and just fool around until you get it how you like it. Hopefully you have an amazing blender to give it the right consistency. I will use this base all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great recipe. I added more elbow macaroni (12 oz) but keep the rest the same. I did add some onion powder and garlic salt and it was great. i didn't have any breadcrumbs but didn't miss it. As I said it was great. I'm going to get so fat. ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Delicious! Light, fluffy, and easy to make. I was happy to finally find a recipe I can make over and over with ingredients from my cupboard. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
My husband LOVED this meatloaf and he usually is jut okay about meatloaf. The only substitution i made was using panko crumbs b/c that's all i had and adding garlic powder. threw some cut potatoes on the top to cook with the meatloaf and it was good to go. Even my 9month baby loved it! Thanks for the recipe. It's super easy and definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Medea Dudley

Mom's Spaghetti Bolognese

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was an awesome dinner for my family. I made it a little differently though. We used whole wheat pene pasta instead of spaghetti and added 1/2 cup of red wine as well as the balsamic vinegar. Our choice of meat was ground Italian sausage which made the flavor profile deep and rich with comforting goodness. A must save recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medea Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Quick-and-Easy Steak Marinade

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Leftover Chicken Croquettes

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
just made these. solid 4 stars based on the additions from the reviews. Like many ppl i added Parmesan cheese, italian seasoning & chicken stock. i tasted it before i added the egg. Flavor wise, i would give this 5 stars. texture wise it's a 3, which is why i net out at a 4. I couldn't get a super good crust on it, i guess i would have to deep fry it, which i didn't want to do to keep it healthy. when i think croquettes, i think crunchy, crispy, which these weren't exactly. but they taste great and are worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
First time making pancakes from scratch. I made exactly as posted and doubled the recipe. Family loved it. My son ate about 5 of them. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiiMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IzzyBorden

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I've cooked with mushrooms and I've tried to eat food with them. Never been a fan...until now. This is quick to make and those mushrooms, oh man, each bite has a burst of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smothered Beef Short Ribs

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Trying this recipe now, as a base for some short ribs & other ingredients that I have. I've altered it somewhat using parsnips instead of celery, added red rice & mushrooms too. Instead of thyme & bay leaves, I've used sage & a bit of curry. I did NOT use any flour at all. And oh, I added another cup of red wine. We'll see how it goes because I'm an hour away from having it for the first time! (That's why I'm not rating it 5 stars yet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Brownies

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Delicious recipe, and I followed to a T, but they came out kind of soft even after cooking them for longer. I have to try it again with different measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Z

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Ridgewood, New York, USA
Photo by IzzyBorden

Herbie's Home Fries

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is a great base for home-fries. I was really in the mood for some and figured I'd whip it up for Mother's Day as part of a brunch meal. I did, however, sprinkle some regular paprika, sage, cayenne pepper and thyme, rather than the sweet paprika. It added a bunch of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Medea Dudley

Butter Cookies V

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This was a great recipe for butter cookies. My daughter even used the dough in her Rsdy Bake oven and hers turned out great too. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medea Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States