Queens - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Homemade Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great recipe. I added more elbow macaroni (12 oz) but keep the rest the same. I did add some onion powder and garlic salt and it was great. i didn't have any breadcrumbs but didn't miss it. As I said it was great. I'm going to get so fat. ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Delicious! Light, fluffy, and easy to make. I was happy to finally find a recipe I can make over and over with ingredients from my cupboard. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
My husband LOVED this meatloaf and he usually is jut okay about meatloaf. The only substitution i made was using panko crumbs b/c that's all i had and adding garlic powder. threw some cut potatoes on the top to cook with the meatloaf and it was good to go. Even my 9month baby loved it! Thanks for the recipe. It's super easy and definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Medea Dudley

Mom's Spaghetti Bolognese

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was an awesome dinner for my family. I made it a little differently though. We used whole wheat pene pasta instead of spaghetti and added 1/2 cup of red wine as well as the balsamic vinegar. Our choice of meat was ground Italian sausage which made the flavor profile deep and rich with comforting goodness. A must save recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medea Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Quick-and-Easy Steak Marinade

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Leftover Chicken Croquettes

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
just made these. solid 4 stars based on the additions from the reviews. Like many ppl i added Parmesan cheese, italian seasoning & chicken stock. i tasted it before i added the egg. Flavor wise, i would give this 5 stars. texture wise it's a 3, which is why i net out at a 4. I couldn't get a super good crust on it, i guess i would have to deep fry it, which i didn't want to do to keep it healthy. when i think croquettes, i think crunchy, crispy, which these weren't exactly. but they taste great and are worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
First time making pancakes from scratch. I made exactly as posted and doubled the recipe. Family loved it. My son ate about 5 of them. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiiMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IzzyBorden

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I've cooked with mushrooms and I've tried to eat food with them. Never been a fan...until now. This is quick to make and those mushrooms, oh man, each bite has a burst of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smothered Beef Short Ribs

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Trying this recipe now, as a base for some short ribs & other ingredients that I have. I've altered it somewhat using parsnips instead of celery, added red rice & mushrooms too. Instead of thyme & bay leaves, I've used sage & a bit of curry. I did NOT use any flour at all. And oh, I added another cup of red wine. We'll see how it goes because I'm an hour away from having it for the first time! (That's why I'm not rating it 5 stars yet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace1025
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Brownies

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Delicious recipe, and I followed to a T, but they came out kind of soft even after cooking them for longer. I have to try it again with different measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Z

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Ridgewood, New York, USA
Photo by IzzyBorden

Herbie's Home Fries

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is a great base for home-fries. I was really in the mood for some and figured I'd whip it up for Mother's Day as part of a brunch meal. I did, however, sprinkle some regular paprika, sage, cayenne pepper and thyme, rather than the sweet paprika. It added a bunch of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Medea Dudley

Butter Cookies V

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This was a great recipe for butter cookies. My daughter even used the dough in her Rsdy Bake oven and hers turned out great too. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medea Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

Brunch Scones

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I changed this recipe to accomodate my daughters milk allergy. Made it with dairyfree margarine (ice cold) and vanilla rice milk. It was delicious and moist. This is the second time I'm making it, we can't get enough. This time I made it with craisins, last time with raisins. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Lassie's Liver and Onions

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
A great recipe for anyone with an assortment of vegetables looming in their refrigerator waiting to be tastefully used. All you need is some elbow grease and a good knife and you'll soon be enjoying a nutritious meal of one of my favorite cuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mattee Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Just made these today for an early St. Pat's Day treat. They were delicious, although I got 30 cookies (not 36) rolled by hand. I added a little extra buttermilk, but then it got too sticky and I had to go back and add in some more flour. Might have had to do with the fact that I was handling the dough by hand rather than using cookie cutters. Also, subbed raisins for currants, because that's how my family has always made soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by finator

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Molasses Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
These were good but tasted strongly of baking soda. I'll use less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathytress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Robert's Homemade Italian Sausage

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Just used this tonight to season up my pasta sauce and it turned out great. I halved the recipe and didn't have any pork on hand and it still came out great. I also didn't have any mace or nutmeg to replace it so I used a pinch (literally) of cloves and it was enough to enhance the flavor without overpowering. Didn't even use casings to make sausage, but mixed it all together in a bowl. Highly recommend, esp if you have ground turkey and don't know what to do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IzzyBorden

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
These blueberries TRULY are to die for! I was searching for a base recipe, missing the cereal "Blueberry Morning". I'm SO glad I used this one. I used fresh blueberries, crushed up 1/4 cup raw almonds, mixed some into the batter (and topped the muffins off before putting them into the oven with some of it, rather than using the crumb topping) and sprinkled some Cinnamon into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cor135

Chicken Chow Mein (West Indian Style)

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. I enjoyed the taste of the fresh ginger root although I used a standard potato peeler to peel it into really thin strips that get absorbed really well during cooking. I gave this recipe 4 stars because the first time I made it I felt that it needed a little something more. Then someone recommended I add 3 tablespoons of "Iron Chef" General Tso's sauce - I added this when stir frying the chicken and the veggies together and it was divine! You can find the Iron Chef sauce series at any grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cor135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Used shredded store-bought rotisserie chicken but otherwise made the recipe as written. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States