Manhattan, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grilled Marinated Swordfish

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I found this to be brain dead easy. I did add one modification. After the steaks were in the marinade I grated fresh ginger over the steaks. Everyone was blown away. FYI you can buy a ginger root, wrap it in plastic wrap and freeze it forever. When you want to use it. Take it out frozen and grate it. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweetened Whipped Cream

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I wanted to lightly sweeten my whipped cream and used this recipe as a guide! I only wanted it lightly sweetened, so I added 1/4 tspn of vanilla and 2 Tblspn of confectioners sugar. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, New Jersey, USA
Photo by panynj

Hawaiian Dessert

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I made this last night for my husbands birthday. He brought one of the cakes in today to work. He said everyone LOVED it and were coming back for seconds. Needless to say, the entire cake was gone. I'm bringing this to the Foster Parent Picnic last week. This feed a lot! I lightly sweetened the whipped cream by only using 2 Tablespoons of confectioners sugar and 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla. It was perfect! I'm uploading a photo. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, New Jersey, USA

Roasted Pears with Caramel Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
My husband and I went to Lancaster for Easter. At the bed and breakfast we stayed in, our hosts made roasted pears for breakfast which my husband loved. We tried this recipe with a few minor alterations. We used light brown sugar, drizzled the pears with lemon juice, added 1 1/4 tspn of vanilla and peeled, cored and halved the pears. We roasted them at 350 degrees and cut the bake time down 10 minutes. The last 10 minutes we added chopped almonds and basted the pears and almonds with the caramel syrup. It was wonderful! I ate mine as is, but my DH ate his with Cherry Vanilla Ice Cream. I will use a little less sugar next time but this is a keeper. I feel its a 5 start review, since I changed the recipe, I can not give it anything less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, New Jersey, USA

Capers and Halibut

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Used scallops instead. This is a basic recipe for fish. It's good, but in my opinion, not great. Next time I would use less capers, even though we are a fan of capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

North German Gruenkohl (Kale) and Sausage

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Absolutely delicious! My German husband and his German mother Loved this! It has become a family favorite! I use a whole onion and add 2 cloves of garlic. Comes out perfect! I also serve with a warm loaf of french bread or sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Doggie Biscuits I

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
My puppy will eat anything at any time, but this is something he will snag behind My back! He loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
My son's can be picky eaters but this is one thing they will eat anytime! Plus it is healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili Cheddar Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I love this recipe! My son's ate every single one! They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mary's Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
A good recipe. Next time, I would use less brown sugar. It was a little sweet for us. But the meatloaf was moist and tasty. I did use panko bread crumbs, instead of white bread cubes. And that worked fine. Also, 2 hrs seemed like a long time. I took it out after 1 1/2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar-Bacon Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is a good recipe. Made it as written. Next time I think I will make more bechemal sauce and add more cheese to make it more creamy and moist. Also will add salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Bar Fondue

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Delich! Everyone loved it! Just a hint of coffee flavor! perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mock Champagne

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Amazing sooo good! Everyone at my New years eve party loved this punch! 2 thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Party Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Made this for my New Years Eve party. Everyone loved it :) I liked them alot too but I will try it with grape jelly next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry Truffles

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made a double batch of these.... they came out perfect! I added an entire jar of Polander Raspberry Fruit Spread and froze them for a couple of hours while I baked other truffles and cookies. It has been a few years since I made these but I'm glad I found this recipe and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, New Jersey, USA

Mini Cheesecakes

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
My husband liked these, but I did not. They stuck to the paper cups and they seemed to burn around the wafter.... Not like NY Cheesecake at all. They do look nice on my holiday platters but I do not think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, New Jersey, USA

Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Like this quiche. Somewhat bland, but good. I think I would add some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Barley Stew

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Love this stew. So delicious and hearty on a cold day. I didn't add flour and water because it was thick enough. I added some frozen peas when I added the barley. I think any vegetable you like can be added. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Cream Roll

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This came out perfect! I added two tablespoons of lemon juice to the cake batter. I also made more 1/2 more of the filling. I added two tablespoons of sugar to the filling mixture instead of one. It was perfect! I am going to make a bunch of these for Christmas Gifts for the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, New Jersey, USA

Libby's® Pumpkin Roll with Cream Cheese Filling

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Wonderful! I took other reviewers advise and doubled the cinnamon and added pumpkin pie spice. Used parchment paper, turned out great! To flip the roll, I used a greased cookie sheet to flip it over onto out of the pan. I then held the ends with oven mitts to turn it onto the towel on the counter. Great recipe. I just made 2 in under an hour for my daughters Thanksgiving Party tomorrow. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-31 (of 31) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States