Manhattan, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Peach Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
JUST made them with the 1/4 cup oil and Cup of applesauce and could not stop my self. Very tasty, moist and a keeper! I also sprinkled some turbinado sugar on top before baking and they looked bakery ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyD35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Turkey Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made some modifications,such as putting about 1 cup of chicken broth before adding noodles to baking dish so that the casserole wont dry up during baking process,diced onions and minced garlic in the ground turkey while cooking and instead of just plain tomato sauce I made it with spaghetti sauce,the cheese blend I did use light sour cream and Neufchatel cream cheese,but,followed the instructions,all in all it tasted very good, my husband enjoyed it,so,yes I would make this again,thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Barnesville, Minnesota, USA

Beefy Sweet Potato Hash

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was a delicious meal that had great flavor and was very easy to prepare. The carmelized onions and sweet potatoes combined with the beef was just a perfect taste combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyD35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glom-It-Up Meatloaf

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is the absolute best meatloaf of all time, if I must say so myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Poor Man's Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
It was easy to prepare and make and I had everything on hand,instead of using salt and pepper,I splashed some soy sauce while the mixture of meat and vegetables were being cooked in the skillet,my husband who is a very picky eater asked for seconds and wants me to make this again,thank you for sharing this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Barnesville, Minnesota, USA

Day Before Pay Day Fried Rice

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe was pretty good. I made it a few times so far and Hubby likes it, too. Here are a few tweaks, though, for those who didn't find it as good and for anyone else who might wish for more authentic flavor: Fry all the vegetables in the oil first, then add in the rice, eggs and soy sauce - in that order; Sprinkle some Chinese 5-spice blend into the mixture while cooking; Add a few drops of sesame oil in with the vegetable oil for a flavor boost; Don't cover the pan, because the rice will become mushy and watery-tasting...instead, cook it for the full 5 minutes uncovered; And lastly, omit the celery! I've slso made this recipe using brown rice and multi-grain rice, and it was just as good (but healthier). And if you just want a tasty, different side dish, this can be made with the chicken left out, too. This is a nice, versatile little recipe. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Sherika's Easy Corn Fudge

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This recipe did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Kettle Corn

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
i was pleased to find this recipe, as I remember making this years ago when I was a girl for my family and I to enjoy while watching movies at home. Here are my tweaks: Use the very best popcorn kernels (Ive tried them, all and now swear by PopSecret brand); Try using superfine sugar (not confectioners powdered sugar!) to cut the time it takes for the sugar to melt, reducing the chances of it burning; If using salt, mix it right in with the sugar instead of sprinkling it on top of the popped corn afterward; And if you want colored popcorn, measure out your sugar into a small cup first, then add 3 or 4 drops of food coloring (one color per batch) to the sugar and stir well so that the sugar granules are now lightly colored, then add to your batch at the correct time. A couple of more CRUCIAL tips: Keep things moving, and keep the heat on medium-low! After making MANY batches of this stuff, I can attest that most of the accidents and burnt batches reported here had little to do with the recipe and more to do with user error. The whole shebang takes a mere 5mins, so devote your full attention to your pot and you'll be rewarded with a really wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Quinoa Chocolate Treats

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Sometimes, the blending of two good things does NOT necessarily make it better, as is the case with this odd, tooth-shattering concoction. This recipe just does not cut it. Oh, the chocolate and the mint were just fine, but the minute that gritty raw quinoa joined it - well, that's when it all went south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Chocolate Pretzels

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I was skeptical of a recipe involving hard, dry salty pretzels with smooth, sweet chocolate, but I decided to try this one anyway because they looked interesting in the picture. My, those little M&M's on top are as cute as a button - providing you can get your chocolate kisses to melt before they burn and before the pretzels turn even harder. In the end, I can't decide which was worse - the burning, fuming chocolates, or the underlying, overbaked pretzels. I'm certain that the oven temperature recommended in this recipe is WAY off. My oven smoked up so badly I could no longer see them through the door, and when I opened it, the smoke that billowed out set off the smoke alarm, alerting the neighbors. What an embarrassing debacle (not to mention waste of money). I should have trusted my initial instinct and made something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Just made it tonight and it was just wonderful. I had to add more milk since I let it cool, and it absorbed a lot of the milk, but it was yummy and not too sweet. Creamy and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyD35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dijon Crusted Halibut

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I followed recipe as written and it was delicious. Can be a company dish or an easy midweek family dinner because it is very easy. Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I grew up eating (and loving) these cookies. The pumpkin is subtle enough that even my husband (not a pumpkin fan) likes them. I half the recipe, but still use an entire egg. I use regular sized chocolate chips and my oats are just "old fashioned rolled oats" rather than "quick" oats. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUCCI013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic Zucchini and Tomatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
OH my -such a flavorful summer dish. Easy to make and tasty. IMHO very low calories- great for those on a diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyD35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I made these with coconut oil and they were delish! I would suggest 9 -10 muffins, not eight, as they spilled over the top with the crumb topping! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyD35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cioppino

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Italian Dressing II

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This recipe was good, except that it had an odd type of tanginess due to the lemon juice. I've never tasted that in an Italian dressing before, and I didn't care much for it, so I made a 2nd batch. I left out the lemon juice, and added 2T romano cheese, 1/2t dried Italian seasoning blend in place of the 1/4t of plain oregano, and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil (now that's Italian!) and it tasted a lot better. The added water, in my opinion, should be adjusted (I left it out) depending on how thick you like your dressing, so you may want to add that last. This is a decent 'base' dressing that allows for some creativity, but didn't hold up too well on its own as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Stir Fried Sesame Vegetables with Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Made this with Perfect Sesame Chicken. Made it as described. And it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Sesame Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I just reviewed this recipe and forgot to say to reduce the amount of sugar. I guess to your taste. The amt in recipe is too much as many have already stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

TriBeCa Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I took this to an Open House party on Christmas and it was a big hit. The only addition I made to it was that I sprinkled extra Parmesan Cheese on top before baking. Will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hawkette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 31) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States