Manhattan, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Ground Turkey Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made some modifications,such as putting about 1 cup of chicken broth before adding noodles to baking dish so that the casserole wont dry up during baking process,diced onions and minced garlic in the ground turkey while cooking and instead of just plain tomato sauce I made it with spaghetti sauce,the cheese blend I did use light sour cream and Neufchatel cream cheese,but,followed the instructions,all in all it tasted very good, my husband enjoyed it,so,yes I would make this again,thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Barnesville, Minnesota, USA

Glom-It-Up Meatloaf

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is the absolute best meatloaf of all time, if I must say so myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Poor Man's Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
It was easy to prepare and make and I had everything on hand,instead of using salt and pepper,I splashed some soy sauce while the mixture of meat and vegetables were being cooked in the skillet,my husband who is a very picky eater asked for seconds and wants me to make this again,thank you for sharing this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Barnesville, Minnesota, USA

Day Before Pay Day Fried Rice

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe was pretty good. I made it a few times so far and Hubby likes it, too. Here are a few tweaks, though, for those who didn't find it as good and for anyone else who might wish for more authentic flavor: Fry all the vegetables in the oil first, then add in the rice, eggs and soy sauce - in that order; Sprinkle some Chinese 5-spice blend into the mixture while cooking; Add a few drops of sesame oil in with the vegetable oil for a flavor boost; Don't cover the pan, because the rice will become mushy and watery-tasting...instead, cook it for the full 5 minutes uncovered; And lastly, omit the celery! I've slso made this recipe using brown rice and multi-grain rice, and it was just as good (but healthier). And if you just want a tasty, different side dish, this can be made with the chicken left out, too. This is a nice, versatile little recipe. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Sherika's Easy Corn Fudge

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This recipe did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Kettle Corn

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
i was pleased to find this recipe, as I remember making this years ago when I was a girl for my family and I to enjoy while watching movies at home. Here are my tweaks: Use the very best popcorn kernels (Ive tried them, all and now swear by PopSecret brand); Try using superfine sugar (not confectioners powdered sugar!) to cut the time it takes for the sugar to melt, reducing the chances of it burning; If using salt, mix it right in with the sugar instead of sprinkling it on top of the popped corn afterward; And if you want colored popcorn, measure out your sugar into a small cup first, then add 3 or 4 drops of food coloring (one color per batch) to the sugar and stir well so that the sugar granules are now lightly colored, then add to your batch at the correct time. A couple of more CRUCIAL tips: Keep things moving, and keep the heat on medium-low! After making MANY batches of this stuff, I can attest that most of the accidents and burnt batches reported here had little to do with the recipe and more to do with user error. The whole shebang takes a mere 5mins, so devote your full attention to your pot and you'll be rewarded with a really wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Quinoa Chocolate Treats

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Sometimes, the blending of two good things does NOT necessarily make it better, as is the case with this odd, tooth-shattering concoction. This recipe just does not cut it. Oh, the chocolate and the mint were just fine, but the minute that gritty raw quinoa joined it - well, that's when it all went south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Chocolate Pretzels

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I was skeptical of a recipe involving hard, dry salty pretzels with smooth, sweet chocolate, but I decided to try this one anyway because they looked interesting in the picture. My, those little M&M's on top are as cute as a button - providing you can get your chocolate kisses to melt before they burn and before the pretzels turn even harder. In the end, I can't decide which was worse - the burning, fuming chocolates, or the underlying, overbaked pretzels. I'm certain that the oven temperature recommended in this recipe is WAY off. My oven smoked up so badly I could no longer see them through the door, and when I opened it, the smoke that billowed out set off the smoke alarm, alerting the neighbors. What an embarrassing debacle (not to mention waste of money). I should have trusted my initial instinct and made something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Dijon Crusted Halibut

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I followed recipe as written and it was delicious. Can be a company dish or an easy midweek family dinner because it is very easy. Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I grew up eating (and loving) these cookies. The pumpkin is subtle enough that even my husband (not a pumpkin fan) likes them. I half the recipe, but still use an entire egg. I use regular sized chocolate chips and my oats are just "old fashioned rolled oats" rather than "quick" oats. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUCCI013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cioppino

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Italian Dressing II

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This recipe was good, except that it had an odd type of tanginess due to the lemon juice. I've never tasted that in an Italian dressing before, and I didn't care much for it, so I made a 2nd batch. I left out the lemon juice, and added 2T romano cheese, 1/2t dried Italian seasoning blend in place of the 1/4t of plain oregano, and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil (now that's Italian!) and it tasted a lot better. The added water, in my opinion, should be adjusted (I left it out) depending on how thick you like your dressing, so you may want to add that last. This is a decent 'base' dressing that allows for some creativity, but didn't hold up too well on its own as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

Stir Fried Sesame Vegetables with Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Made this with Perfect Sesame Chicken. Made it as described. And it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Sesame Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I just reviewed this recipe and forgot to say to reduce the amount of sugar. I guess to your taste. The amt in recipe is too much as many have already stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

TriBeCa Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I took this to an Open House party on Christmas and it was a big hit. The only addition I made to it was that I sprinkled extra Parmesan Cheese on top before baking. Will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hawkette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cheesy Garlic Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
it was very good,it had a great taste,I had to omit the parsley because I did not have any on hand and used sliced bread instead of french and it turned it into something like garlic toast,but,all in all,it was great and yes I would use this recipe again,thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Barnesville, Minnesota, USA

Scored Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
What an easy way to make a different type of baked potato. I changed the parsley to dill and as always, added garlic (we love our garlic here), and a small pinch of coarse sea salt. Basting with olive oil instead of the butter, was a healthier choice that kept the potatoes equally moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Married to a Buffalo native, I was a bit skeptical that anything could compare to the "original" Buffalo wings. These turned out to be a great at-home alternative for wing night!!! I followed the recipe exactly and we opted to cook them in a turkey deep fryer, we use outside. I prefer this to indoor frying as there is no "fried food" smell lingering in the house, and it's quicker & less messy. They are great wings and we have served them at parties here many times. I usually play with recipes and put my own spin on things, but this is a keeper just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Apple Pie 'Ala Mode' Moonshine

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Great Recipes I changed a few things though I add and extra 1cup of grain Alcohol and an extra .5cup of vodka (WE LIKE IT REALLY STRONG) I also put a cinnamon stick and half a vanilla bean in each jar before bottling. One other thing due to the alcohol Content being so high you can store them at room temp... thanks for a great recipe everyone enjoys this stuff...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
476 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoahFink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Bean and Mushroom Medley

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This recipe turned out really good. I too added Thyme and Rosemary. It was delich! Nice change for the green beans. I would give it a 5 star but I felt it needed something.......maybe the sesame seeds would have done the trick????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 31) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States