Brooklyn - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Great recipe! Did like suggested 1 c white, 1 c brown sugar. Used 3 cups zucchini as a neighbor gave me a humongous one from his garden. Had pecans to toss in. Liked the crumble topping with the oatmeal & following the instructions to wait 15 min into baking before adding. This is the only one I will use going forward. And trust me, after almost 40 years of marriage, 3 adult kids & now grandchildren, I've had my share of baking zucchini bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Strawberry Lemonade

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This was so delicious. I no longer have to pay 3 dollars plus for Wendy's strawberry Lemonade. This is a keeper at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Crab Lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Master Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I made the recipe with the directions for the regular active yeast and added rosemary and garlic. Nice to work with. However, once baked (on a pizza stone), the texture felt more like breadsticks than the NY style pizza I am used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Very versatile recipe! I double it for dinners for two and when I'm in a hurry I substitute the cheddar for 3-4 Kraft singles and it works out just fine. Then I sprinkle the top with some grated Parmesan and I make it my own. I also didn't have Worcestershire sauce when I first tried the recipe and so instead I used soy sauce which worked out fine so now I just use that instead. It's a basic recipe that works out lovely and I've made it many times and it has come out perfectly in every instance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bananappeal Pudding

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This dessert is a family fav! It's an easy to make crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey L'Amour

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bananappeal Pudding

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This fun and easy to make recipe is flirty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey L'Amour

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I always brown my roasts on all sides before placing into the crockpot. I would also recommend adding some potatoes and carrots to the crock to absorb some of the salt and increasing the water by another half cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I can't believe I haven't rated this. I have been making this for about 3yrs. now. It is the best zucchini bread ever! I do cut down the sugar and oil and put in two cups of zucchini. I make this all year long. I freeze my cranberries when they are in season... and I use pecans. Its quick & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth McCormack

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This was a very good recipe, however, I would add more spinach because it just shrinks to nothing. The nutmeg was an interesting taste. This may be user error and my pinch was too big. Given the amount of pots and bowls it took and the lengthly list of ingredients, I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Three Berry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I've made other types of berry pies, but never with Strawberries. While the pie tasted good, I was disappointed in how soggy the bottom crust was. I did add additional corn starch and sugar to the bottom of the crust before filling with the fruit but it didn't help. I also chilled the fruit to no avail ( I used fresh fruit--could that be a problem?). I don't feel the instructions really did a good job of addressing this issue. If I do make this again, I will par-bake the bottom crust so that it can hopefully withstand the liquid from the berries. I also think the recipe missed opportunities to improve the appearance & taste of the pie by recommending an egg wash and super on top. All in all, a recipe that could use some help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Very good - added cinnamon and used Macintosh apples. The kids licked their plates clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandym

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ciabatta

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I've made this bread now twice and I have to say that it is really excellent! Be sure to put the yeast with the water in a large enough bowl because it does grow in volume. The second time I made it I doubled the recipe because it just didn't make enough. Doubling the recipe I was able to make 14 nice size rolls ( 4") I baked them for 12 minutes. I didn't use a baking stone but just heated the cookie sheets with the oven and then slid the rolls which were on parchment paper onto the hot pans. I did add a bowl of water to the oven and sprayed the oven a couple of times during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Simple Beef Flavored Gravy

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Simple is good,people! My only tweak next time would include sauteeing the minced onion first in half the allotted butter than adding the remaining butter when adding in the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Bechamel Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was what I used tonight to prepare lasagna. The bechamel turned out absolutely lovely,smooth,thick and creamy. Because bechamel is a delicately flavored sauce I needed to heighten the flavor for use in such a robust dish as a lasagna. Another reviewer JodieNMain advised sauteeing a pureed sweet onion down and adding a generous 1/4 tsp nutmeg before adding the flour so that's what I did and the result was delightsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

24 Hour Roast Pork

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I made my Pork Shoulder with my recipe using this 24 hour slow roast method with a bit of skepticism. Although I have used this 225 degree method in the past I have never tried it for 24 hours. I must say I will never slow roast my Pork Shoulder any other way. It came out absolutely perfect thank you lisa for this enlightening method of a perfect roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buon Appetito
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fresh Meadows, New York, USA

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This was PERFECT, I never thought to put provolone cheese onto chicken parm or to use panko bread crumbs. The combo was great. My husband complimented me on this dish 4 times while eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chossid

Delicious Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I used xylitol in place of the brown sugar. Adding a spoonful of molasses would have made it more authentic. I added about 3-4 Tbsp sugarfree vanilla syrup in the crumble mixture. I also scattered fresh raspberries and about 1/3 cup chocolate chips over the jam before crumbling the topping over the jam. Sugarfree jam makes these bars perfect for a sugarfree diet! Taste is out of this world! Serving warm as dessert, with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chossid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Simferopol, Crimea (Autonomous Republic), Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pepper Soup IV

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I made it as directed except for the thyme and sage. I used a half teaspoon of Italian seasoning blend. It's delicious the next day. The next time I make it, I'm going to make it in bulk, freeze batches before adding cooked rice, and when I'm ready to serve, add 2 cups of cooked rice to the thawed soup-a quick home-made meal when you are pressed for time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisewoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Love it. They easy recipe's, also quick and dont take much time to make. Also the slow cooker recipes are great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olga Rivera Canales

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Very good recipe as it is. I have also made this with a few changes-- sour cream instead of cream cheese makes it more savory than sweet, added pepper jack cheese, white cheddar and sharp cheddar into the sausage mix. Added cayenne, cajun, onion powder & minced garlic for more spicy pop. Also wrapped in one whole slice of hickory smoked bacon intead of half & baked on a rack so that they don't sit in juices and get soggy. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItsJeanettic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Tazewell, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States