Brooklyn - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Ode to my AR Friends on Thanksgiving

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Thank You for such a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buon Appetito
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fresh Meadows, New York, USA

Sweet Potatoes with Sausage and Peppers

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Pretty decent. I wasn't keen on the idea of salsa, so instead I added black beans as someone suggested (great idea!) and diced tomatoes (as someone else suggested (another great idea!) and sweet corn. I also roasted the sweet potatoes and uses spicy Italian sausage. Created a bit of a stew. It's good. Next time might add some shredded cheese on top. Agree with one person's comment that sweet potatoes could use some help flavor wise. The cumin wasn't quite enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dommiedime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Changes: black beans, garlic powder - all I had. Added carrots, used red onion instead of white and doubled the cumin (preference) I started simmering the tomatoes and beans while I sauteed the onion in the Olive oil then added the ground Turkey. I seasoned the turkey with the spices and then transferred to tomato and bean summer. Absolutely delicious. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Spice Cake II

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Followed recipe exactly and it was delicious. My daughter is NOT a pumpkin fan and she dove into it after I made her try it. Cake was gone in 3 days - I plan on making for Thanksgiving as one of my desserts. I did use a cream cheese topping and then added chopped pecans on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breezyptgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

It's Chili by George!!

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I have tried several other chili recipes on this site - both for on the stove and crockpot. I made this in the crockpot and my family said "best chili you ever made Mom". Deleted all the others - this is the keeper. I followed recipe with the exception of the tomato juice I used diced tomatoes as suggested by another reviewer. Thank you for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breezyptgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buon Appetito

Swiss Parmesan Baked Halibut

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I made this for my wife and I. We really enjoyed the smoky flavor of the Swiss cheese. I made this almost exact to the instructions of the recipe. The only change I made was the paprika. I added a very light dusting of smoked paprika since I had only smoked or hot, and I added it prior to the baking. I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys fish. This recipe went well with asparagus and baked pumpkin. We also found it was complemented with a nice white chardonnay wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buon Appetito
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fresh Meadows, New York, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Essentially, this is a fine recipe but I did make some changes. I agree with another poster that the amount of vinegar to sour the milk is too much--one Tbls. is enough. I also only added one Tbls.of sugar---hubby does not like them too sweet. I did use cooking oil in place of the butter and two tsp.of baking powder instead of one. I feel it's important to let the batter sit several minutes---you can see the bubbles which will give them the lightness. All in all, a very good recipe and very adaptable to your own particular tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Baked Zucchini Fries

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
The taste was ok. It was edible. But, the texture really threw me off. Nothing like fries. They were too soft and floppy. I was hoping for something crispy. Plus, the breading made a weird crust. Felt like sand on a worm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Beaudet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
The sauce was good and the recipe was easy, but the meat came out as hard as a rock. Had trouble chewing it it was so tough. I think next time I may try the same recipe but cook it for a less amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Beaudet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This is by far the best sugar cookie recipe I have ever tried, I recently had to make 100 tutu and baby bottle shaped sugar cookies for a baby shower and I must say this recipe allowed me to beautifully execute these adorable cookies.I also took a tip from another person's comment by using a glass cup and sugar to roll out the dough making it quick and easy to execute my project. Other sugsr cookie recipes that I have tried in the past were very sticky and difficult to use with cookie cutters. Thank you for sharing one of many great recipes with your viewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weekend Delights Catering

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

London Broil for the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This was fantastic. The meat was soo tender it practically melted, I might have cooked mine a bit too long because there was hardly any sauce to pour over the meat when served but I loved it regardless. Next time I may cook a bigger London broil shred it, and make burritos or just have it over salad like chipotle. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Copycat Panera® Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I've made this soup before using a different recipe, couldn't find the old recipe so I decided to give this a try. I used the exact measurements and ingredients listed except celery, the only other difference I made was instead of simmering the milk/flour/butter to thicken I used chicken broth as the liquid, let it simmer a little (around 7 minutes) added all my veggies and 1/2 cup of water (my burners are too strong and I feared all the liquid evaporating and becoming a pudding instead of a soup) and let it simmer until veggies were tender. Last step I added milk, cheese and served. WOW. BIG HIT with me and my husband who doesn't like soup. The flavor was all there, just be careful with adding salt as most chicken stocks already have sodium and cheese adds a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
My children want to know when we are doing it again. They LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Spicy Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Some of the spices need to change: only 2 cloves of garlic, no italian seasoning, add: 1 TBSP dried Oregano, 2 TBSP dried BASIL, 2 Tsp. grated NUTMEG, 2 Tsp. Salt and 2 TBSP sugar. If you make these changes, it will be a 5-star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETTY BOOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Halloween Eye of Newt

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I made these eggs for last year's Halloween party and they were a big hit. I will be making these again for my Halloween party next month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enlisted1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Macaroons III

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Easy to make and went over well at passover. Definitely beat out the canned kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Green Tea Layer Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was great just the way it was. Hubby generally dislikes cake and baked goods but this isn't too sweet and he ate more than his share of his birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Chocolate Pretzels

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Favorite easy-to-make snack food for a crowd. It always disappears within 5 minutes though. I love making this with nuts so it tastes like a turtle. also, a great way to use up m&ms before they expire :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I loved this because there's no sugar and it tastes great! My husband hates red sauce but he loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was FABULOUS. That being said, there was way too much sugar. What I mean is that I made this in a standard 9" pie pan and had a THICK layer of the sugar/cinnamon layer over the 'crust' and still had about 2/3 of it left over. Only make 1/3 of the sugar to sprinkle on top and you have a serious winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States