Brooklyn - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Roasted Vegetables

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was very good. Next time, I think I would reduce the starchy veggies and put in some other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was excellent, and so easy! I did cut the stem area and cut them in half and they cooked and browned nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Drumsticks with Peach and Honey

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Sooooooo delicious! I used canned peaches and substituted the water with the syrup from the peaches. I didn't have the lemons, but I really didn't need them. Served over brown rice and it was so delicious. Will be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G. White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juicy Lucy Burgers

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made it exactly as written and they were delicious! I didn't put any holes or wells in the middle and no cheese came spilling out. My husband does not like worcestershire sauce and always - always - calls me out when I use it - he did not detect it here - or if he did he loved the burger so much it didn't matter. Thank you for a great burger recipe as we are now approaching winter time in western NY and our grill days are far away so this will keep us going for the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breezyptgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Dough III

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Worked well.Made a sausage peppers & onions pizza excellent dough.I kneaded it about 12 times before putting in in my oven (not will it was on just the pilot light) to rise,came out perfect.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Basil Pesto

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Excellent and easy (and forgiving). I burned some pine nuts and it didn't seem to matter much. I doubled the recipe and (since pine nuts are so expensive) used 1c pine nuts, 1/2 c. slivered almonds. toasted them all together on the stove top. it's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by Shantelle

Cheese Sauce for Broccoli and Cauliflower

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Excellent. I whisked constantly, the end result was smooth. It was super easy and best of all tasty. Recipe saved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
husband loved what these and so did i! I did not wrap the poppers in bacon...instead i cooked the bacon and then crumbled it on top of the cream cheese/cheddar cheese mix. was fantabulous! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Chicken Enchiladas I

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
ok so i always read reviews BEFORE trying a new recipe. So the 5 stars is NOT for the exact recipe posted but because my husband LOVED what I made! ;) So heres what I did: i poached my chicken using red wine vinegar, 2 chicken bouillon cubes, minced garlic, salt, pepper and onion powder. I shredded the chicken and then I put some olive oil in a skillet and put the chicken, chili powder, pepper, salt, sour cream, parsley and oregano. I SKIPPED the water and tomato sauce. instead I added 1/4 cup of salsa and 1 can UNDRAINED rotel tomatoes and added a little more cheese :) Then rolled them in the tortillas used ENCHILADA sauce instead of taco sauce. cooked as according to the original recipe. served with sourcream on top and a little extra cheese and a side of yellow rice and jalapeno poppers. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Earthquake Cake II

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great recipe but needed a few tweaks. You definitely have to melt the butter and soften the cream cheese before combining. I also cut the powdered sugar down to 2 cups - it was plenty sweet. I found for ease & a prettier cake it's best to use a bundt pan. When adding the cream cheese mixture I dropped it in large spoonfuls over the chocolate cake batter. I also upped the baking time to around 60 mins. It got rave reviews - my uncle still bakes the cake once a month! I recently made a variation of the cake using a spice cake recipe, minus the coconut, adding a small chopped apple seasoned with cinnamon & a pinch of nutmeg to the cream cheese filling and a sugar glaze drizzled over the top. Perfect for the fall weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

MMMMM... Brownies

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe is the absolute best. I have a brownie recipe, that this is much easier then. It's quick & easy I added chocolate chunks & walnuts....DELICIOUS .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamia Mitchell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I reduced the amount of apples to 2cups,added a cup of ripe banana,2 eggs not 3,&substitute the oil for virgin coconut oil...MOIST & DELICIOUS was the result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip and Mascarpone Cupcakes

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
These were great for any chocolate lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buon Appetito
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fresh Meadows, New York, USA

Ode to my AR Friends on Thanksgiving

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Thank You for such a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buon Appetito
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fresh Meadows, New York, USA

Sweet Potatoes with Sausage and Peppers

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Pretty decent. I wasn't keen on the idea of salsa, so instead I added black beans as someone suggested (great idea!) and diced tomatoes (as someone else suggested (another great idea!) and sweet corn. I also roasted the sweet potatoes and uses spicy Italian sausage. Created a bit of a stew. It's good. Next time might add some shredded cheese on top. Agree with one person's comment that sweet potatoes could use some help flavor wise. The cumin wasn't quite enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dommiedime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Changes: black beans, garlic powder - all I had. Added carrots, used red onion instead of white and doubled the cumin (preference) I started simmering the tomatoes and beans while I sauteed the onion in the Olive oil then added the ground Turkey. I seasoned the turkey with the spices and then transferred to tomato and bean summer. Absolutely delicious. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Spice Cake II

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Followed recipe exactly and it was delicious. My daughter is NOT a pumpkin fan and she dove into it after I made her try it. Cake was gone in 3 days - I plan on making for Thanksgiving as one of my desserts. I did use a cream cheese topping and then added chopped pecans on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breezyptgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

It's Chili by George!!

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I have tried several other chili recipes on this site - both for on the stove and crockpot. I made this in the crockpot and my family said "best chili you ever made Mom". Deleted all the others - this is the keeper. I followed recipe with the exception of the tomato juice I used diced tomatoes as suggested by another reviewer. Thank you for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breezyptgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buon Appetito

Swiss Parmesan Baked Halibut

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I made this for my wife and I. We really enjoyed the smoky flavor of the Swiss cheese. I made this almost exact to the instructions of the recipe. The only change I made was the paprika. I added a very light dusting of smoked paprika since I had only smoked or hot, and I added it prior to the baking. I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys fish. This recipe went well with asparagus and baked pumpkin. We also found it was complemented with a nice white chardonnay wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buon Appetito
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fresh Meadows, New York, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Essentially, this is a fine recipe but I did make some changes. I agree with another poster that the amount of vinegar to sour the milk is too much--one Tbls. is enough. I also only added one Tbls.of sugar---hubby does not like them too sweet. I did use cooking oil in place of the butter and two tsp.of baking powder instead of one. I feel it's important to let the batter sit several minutes---you can see the bubbles which will give them the lightness. All in all, a very good recipe and very adaptable to your own particular tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States