Brooklyn - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Ground Beef Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
One of the very best I have ever tried. Only tweaks I did was used 3 potatoes and used mixed frozen veggies which I thawed out first. The fresh tomato was a real nice touch - husband raved about it - definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breezyptgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Haitian French Toast

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This best French Toast recipe that I've ever had in my life. The OJ and cream mixture is truly a gift from God. Yea it's that good IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hincr803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ******CAS********

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Delicious! Definitely needed to add veggies carrots, celery, onion before broth, water and chicken. Only needed quarter cup butter & quarter cup flour otherwise roux would be too thick. Added another half cup water and whole milk, didn't use heavy cream. I love rice so I added a second box but only one packet of seasoning. Also added quarter cup good dry white wine last 10 minutes of cooking time. Topped with black pepper. Had enough for an army sharing it with the neighbors shoveling out the northeast snow again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Port Monmouth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JillyBean

Cauliflower Fried 'Rice'

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Very good. Added extra garlic and chopped the cauliflower into little pieces instead of grating. Made everything else as directed and it was very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This was excellent! I made it exactly as directed and it was the best I've ever tasted. I asked my boyfriend what he would like for dinner for Valentine's Day and he said braised short ribs. He then started telling me how to make them, and I decided I would use this recipe instead of one with a tomato base. I'm glad I did! afterwards, he told me that it was better than the dish that he usually got at his favorite restaurant up in San Francisco. No doubt about it, this is restaurant quality. I did add some fingerling potatoes & carrots in the last half hour of cooking--and they were delicious! I also added some mushrooms to the sauce and...yum! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by Czarne Oki

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
We like lamb,but this recipe made first time.Step by step exactly how cooking instruction was.Effect was amazing,meat was medium rare and very taste. Definitely I keep this recipe for next time.Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czarne Oki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I followed the recipes to a tee, so--no changes were made. I decided to make cupcakes, so had to guess on the baking time. The cupcakes never rose--and in fact, deflated when taken out of the oven. I thought I might have undercooked them, but they were definitely cooked. I baked them for 25 minutes. I was disappointed in the lack of rise in them, and then how dense they were. Taste wise, they were very tasty--just not what I think of as Carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by ******CAS********

Artichokes

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Delicious! I've made this many times. Great appetizer to share with groups. I agree with everyone use extra virgin olive oil extra minced garlic can't hurt either. I also use same mixture in my stuffed mushrooms, I use baby bella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Port Monmouth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OG

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
The first time I made this, I didn't quite pay attention to the amount of sauce and it ended up not saucy enough (according to my husband) and something in the flavor was just missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by Daphne Rosario

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I have made this dish exactly per the recipe and my family loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daphne Rosario

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Baked Kale Chips

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I liked this. Simple enough to make. Instead of drizzling the oil over the kale, though, I thought it worked better to just pour a small amount of oil in a separate shallow bowl and quickly dip a bunch in--not so much that every bit is covered, but so that when you cook the kale in the oven, oil doesn't pool, making the kale extra greasy requiring you to paper towel the grease away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dommiedime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Served to a table full of Italian Americans and received kudos all night! Followed recipe as is except no parsley and didn't pre-cook the noodles, just soaked them in water for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traveltiff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susannah Schaff

Hummingbird Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This recipe worked out quite well, and was very easy to make. That said, all of you who commented before comparing this to banana bread are 100% spot-on. This is an elevated, super-moist, fluffy and sweet banana bread with cream cheese frosting- not that there's anything wrong with that! I will feel less guilty eating it for breakfast tomorrow. The recipe as written does not call for cinnamon and/or nutmeg, so I added a pinch of each. People with more distinguished tastebuds than I can decide whether that helps. Also I used vegetable oil instead of canola, which I think made it slightly crispy on the outside (YUM!) and baked it in the oven next to a shallow dish full of water while listening to David Bowie's Lodger, which I think was a positive influence on the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susannah Schaff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrington Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snow Peas Oriental

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This recipe is very good.I add only 2 gloves garlic and made step by step.Came exactly how recipe call.Very easy and taste veggies dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czarne Oki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Company Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Not a bad recipe but I have to comment on Luv2ook version, which in my opinion is spot on. And please folks, don't buy the grocery store Marsala that is in the condiment section---taste is everything so get a good bottle of dry Marsala at the liquor store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Great Garlic Knots

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
If you add some melted butter, salt and garlic on top, it's not bad. I found the egg wash was dry and garlic powder and rosemary alone didn't bring enough flavor. Butter, salt at the very least, is needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by OG

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I've mad this twice now. The first time I neglected the egg. That was a disaster. They all fell apart. I've never had that problem with my meatballs before but I imagine that's because of the ricotta. I also had a giant pack of meat so the amount of balls was overwhelming for me. The second time I made these almost exactly as described. The only changes were no parsley, oregano instead. Both times I used ground turkey. This is amazingly moist and flavorful. Chef John never fails. I've been following his recipes since well before he joined allrecipes. He never disappoints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Parmesan Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I am not a fan of Brussel sprouts and my husband is and he is the pickiest eater in the universe. I figured I will try this. I cheated with the frozen steamer bag of Brussel sprouts. I heated those with the directions on the bag then through them into a steaming hot pan with half the butter suggested. The Parmesan adds such a yummy bonus here. I was very impressed and hubby was popping these like chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Traditional White Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Finally a perfect bread recipe! I just started baking all of my bread at home and failed with at least 5 different recipes that just wouldn't work even with perfectly proofed yeast but then I stumbled upon this heavenly recipe and now am in love. The bread has a nice crust and buttery flavor. This is now my go-to bread and I plan on baking this weekly. P.S. This bread is highly addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malerba310

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OG

Simply Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This is incredibly easy to follow. My only changes were ground turkey instead of beef. Also, I like to season the meat while its browning (salt, pepper, garlic and paprika).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States