Brooklyn - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This salad is AMAZING! Very fresh, light and tastes like summer! I made it for Mother's Day and my whole family ate a LARGE bowl of it. They kept asking if I was sure I didn't have anymore in the kitchen. The only addition I added was chopped raw yellow onion to the salad. There is something about strawberries and raw onions that I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenifner21
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
it was tasty but it was a bit dry. Easy for a weeknight dinner and I will definitely make it again, only I'll serve it with a sauce of some kind in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juicy Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
It was good I loved it, great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosme1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Awesome!!! Made it earlier today and the family devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Chili

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Recipe is great but I did a few changes, the vegetable oil I change to olive oil and the dry bulgur wheat I change to 1/2 of ground beef, the lentils I soaked it in water for one hour and then boiled it got soft. But the recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosme1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Easy Oven Brown Rice

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Easy oven brown rice was delish, my kids had the brown rice for the first time they loved it, thank for this recipe it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosme1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Balsamic Vinegar and Olive Oil Dressing

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I found the white balsamic vinegar too jarring for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Shrimp Lemon Pepper Linguini

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I doubled the recipe for the sauce as everyone suggested and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Shrimp and Pasta Shell Salad

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I made this for memorial day weekend and it went over with a bang. In fact, any leftovers were eaten by my boyfriend before I had a chance to have some the next day! I didn't change a thing and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Mari's Banana Cupcakes

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Cut the recipe in half for just my husband and I, and it was great. They were light and fluffy and not dense like muffins. I made a light glaze to put on top of them and it gave them just enough sweetness. Easy and tasty late night snack when you want something sweet without a lot of hassle. Only change I made was to reduce the oil, for half a recipe from 6T to 4T and used two small bananas, as that is all we had and used 1/2 brown and white sugar for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Burns

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fried Chicken III

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Delicious! I used Italian bread crumbs with Tony Chachere's creole seasoning. I added a bit of sea salt and garlic powder. I kept tasting till I thought flavor was good. I didnt use milk with the mayo. Coated chicken pieces well, then put in bread crumb mixture. I dont like thyme, so left that out. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
GREAT recipe. Adjust to your taste and it will be AMAZING. I personally dont use the oil and cut down the salt. Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Easy base for a recipe. The best part is that you can play around with it. I add tobasco, seasonings and some veggies. I've used broth I had frozen or low sodium store bought. There is such a variety of things you can do to this recipe, leaving it as is would be a waste of home cooking. Yea, sure it used canned biscuits but a lot of us full time working MOM's dont have the time to make fresh. I love that this recipe got such high ratings because it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is the ONLY lasagna I will ever make. Not to get to depressing but My mother passed away young and never handed down her recipe for lasagna. This is as close as it comes. The time, the outcome. Thats the secret. Put love into your food it will always be delicious! I make extra of the sauce and freeze it. The only thing I dont do is add salt or just a pinch if its for adults. My three daughters dont need that much salt in one meal. I play around with the meats I add from time to time and have never been disappointed. I urge anyone reading to just go ahead and cook it! You're going to LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Cream Cake I

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I have made this recipe for 5 consecutive Easter Sunday's! I do tweek it each time to my own liking when it comes to the amount of cream. COCONUT CREAM is the only thing that works in my opinion for this recipe, I do play around with the sweetness myself. I add vanilla extract and lime zest to the heavy cream. Line the cake with lime slices, I've even shaved some chocolate to sprinkle on top. To me this cake is an overnight serve, I always cream the cake ahead, refridgerate over night and frost just before dinner. It never fails to be the talk of Easter. The cake is amazing as a layered cake, DO NOT POKE HOLES ALL THE WAY! I use a kebab stick and run it half way through each cake. Then, just add some coconut and topping in the middle. Viola! hands down the best coconut cream cake recipe EVER! When you have 20 to 30 school moms begging for this you realize what a gem you have in a recipe. Clip, Print or save it to your phone. YOU WONT BE SORRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by B A

Creamy Pasta With Chicken & Asparagus

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I recently made this with a few changes due to the lack of fresh basil and chicken broth. When I seasoned the chicken and added a touch of dried parsley to the chicken. As well due to the lack of chicken broth I added 2 cubes of bullion and used 2 cups of the asparagus water. I was very happy with the results. In addition I added a touch of unsalted butter at the very end. I think I like it even better this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B A
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fresh Meadows, New York, USA

Cindy's Jambalaya

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly but added one can of kidney beans and substituted chicken for shrimp. The entire family enjoyed it very much. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

Stuffed Shells I

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Coming from an Italian family this was in our dinner rotation often. The mixture here is wonderful - I too am not a fan of cottage cheese and used ricotta instead - left everything else the same - family enhales it - always a good sign. I usually double the batch and freeze one tray for another night. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breezyptgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Noodles

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Very YUMMY! My children loved the flavor and simpleness. I added boneless prepackaged grilled chicken pieces that I sautéed after with garlic powder, salt, pepper and sunflower oil. But by itself it is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Scotia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fish Tacos

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Loved it so much, this is my third time making it! Almost like authentic Mexican fish tacos! !SABROSO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Scotia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States