Brooklyn - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Simple Turkey Chili

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Simple, versatile recipe. I especially like not needing a pre-mixed packet of flavorings that may contain ingredients you would rather avoid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisewoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato and Mozzarella Bites

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I thought these were terrific. Like another reviewer, I bought Trader Joe's marinated mozzarella balls so I didn't need to make the dressing. I also added a small piece of salted pork (thick bacon) to the mix. It gave it additional flavor, crunch and saltiness that my guests really enjoyed. I put half a tomato & half a mozzarella ball with a small basil & the bacon on a tooth pick. Made a great small bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Johnnycakes

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
These were tough, and dry, and only edible when doused in butter and syrup. I've compared some other johnny cake recipes and it looks like they usually also include some sugar or honey, i think that would definitely improve this recipe. As written, I would not recommend this recipe, it was like eating a hockey puck made of corn. Might be a good snack for long camping trips in the wilderness though since these were definitely very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Like everyone else said- MASH THE BANANAS!!! Other than that, this worked out great. I used to make banana bread with yogurt instead of sour cream, but I didn't really taste the difference. For extra points, wait til the bananas get brown before trying this, and bake with a shallow pan of water in the oven, preferably on the rack directly below. I brought this to my class and everyone loved it- maybe the professor will give me extra points on the final exam?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susannah Schaff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrington Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I was looking for a bran muffin recipe that didn't call for buttermilk and this was one of the few that i found. It was very dry when i mixed it together, i had to add an extra splash of milk, and when they were done baking they were much drier than any other bran muffin ive ever made. Theyre also just plain, not good, in the flavor department. I realize that they're low fat but that shouldn't be an excuse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Very tasty and crispy. My household loves it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Velvet Mommavee Drax

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JillyBean

Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Absolutely delicious. I used a left over ham bone and reduced water to 8 cups as suggested. Glad I did. After cooking for 5 hours on high the soup looked very thin and watery but flavor was great. I was making it for the next day so put the soup in a container and stirred it up when ready to reheat and it thickened right up to be smooth & creamy. First taste was a bit salty, the following day the flavors melded together even better and doesn't seem salty at all now, just right. I love that the soup is tasting better and better each day. Will definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Excellent! I don't like salmon, but this I like! It's moist and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Sue's Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I'm not a big fan of buttercream frosting, but I needed to use it for a cake decorating class I was taking. For the 2 cups of shortening, I use 1 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup cream cheese. I used the cream cheese because I ran out of vegetable shortening. OMG! It was soon good! It doesn't taste like cream cheese frosting, but it cuts the sweetness down and it was far more tasty. This small change has changed my feelings for buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Special Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I'm not a big fan of buttercream frosting, but I needed to use it for a cake decorating class I was taking. For the 2 cups of shortening, I use 1 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup cream cheese. I used the cream cheese because I ran out of vegetable shortening. OMG! It was soon good! It doesn't taste like cream cheese frosting, but it cuts the sweetness down and it was far more tasty. This small change has changed my feelings for buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Chef John's Panzanella

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Such a nice change from the usual summer pasta salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherylb413

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
This was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Gates, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Disney's Ratatouille

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This was very good! To speed up the preparation, I used my little food processor to chop the onions and the garlic and I used a mandolin to slice the vegetables. I also didn't have tomato paste, so I used tomato sauce and did not include the water. It tasted great! The addition of marscapone cheese on top of the dish was also very good.I was a little worried that there would be too much garlic but the 12 cloves tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Chef John's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I realized after making this that I don't like the chocolate chips in my banana bread. Most likely will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This is a simple and basic recipe, but gives you excellent mashed potatoes that are evenly cooked (please do look at video for tips and tricks) and perfectly seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Mini Cheesecakes with Caramel Filled DelightFulls™ & Sea Salt

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
These were just OK, not a lot of "cheesecake" flavor. I don't think I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Easy Cashew Sea Salt Toffee

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
These were very good, however, be careful of how much salt you add to the top. I definitely went over board and they became inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
These were such a great breakfast idea in the fall. The Apple Cider Syrup in wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Brown Sugar Smokies

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
How can you go wrong? Easy to make and very addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Garlic Aioli

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This is an easy but delicious sauce and goes well with the grilled Portabello mushrooms on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States