Brooklyn - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Roast Adobo Pork Loin

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
absolutely delicious!!! Just the way it is!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYLUCYFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Delicious!!!!! Just the way it is!!! Ty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYLUCYFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Popcorn

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Def will make again came out wonderful,only thing I did differently was to microwave everything except the baking soda & vanilla & I spooned it onto my cooked popcorn umm umm so good thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I used Mexican mango as my fruit, and it came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjstuffing19

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken with Bok Choy

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
The vinegar was too strong for me. Decreasing the vinegar and increasing the sugar might help but I wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threemore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Braised Oxtails in Red Wine Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
OMG the meat just falls off the bone. The liquids were more than I needed in my pan and had to remove 2 cups. I had a little more than 5 lbs, but it was oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlene Fried

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scrambled Eggs Fraiche

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This was very tasty, but I did feel that 3 tablespoons of fat was a bit much, so I halved it and it was still very creamy & rich. I definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Apricot Pie

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I used this recipe to make an apricot pie, using apricots from my backyard's fruit tree. I did substitute my preferred pie crust (called Foolproof Pie Dough, submitted by me on this site) but the filling was pretty much as stated, except I did use 3/4 sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, as I had a good portion of tart fruit. I did do an egg wash on the crust before putting in the oven so it came out a nice golden color. I would recommend doing that. I did add the sugar after as well. Next time, I may do it before baking. The apricot filling was a bit watery when I was mixing it together, so I added a heaping tablespoon of corn starch. I also sliced the apricots into small bits rather than quartering them. After it was baked, it was still quite watery (but the crust was not soggy) so I think next time I will put in more corn starch or replace the flour with Instant ClearJel. The taste, though, was perfect. Not overly sweet and not too tart. All in all, a good use of the fruit I had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Great recipe! I pretty much love everything that Chef John creates, and this is no exception. It was easy, fast and can be cooked in one pot. As suggested, I coupled this with Jasmine rice and it was very satisfying. No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Chef John's Lemon Bars

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I really enjoyed this recipe. Great lemon flavor and lovely consistency of both the crust and filling. I made the meringue for these bars and that was a great topping! I did end up doubling the amount so that I could pipe it well on the top. Next time, I will grease the pan a little better--had some bars sticking. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Chef John's Asparagus Tart

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I made this for a birthday luncheon with maple salmon from this website, and a fresh corn salad. It was great! After a 'test run' I did find the mustard a bit too pronounced, so I added a little more creme fraiche. The puff pastry I had in my supermarket (Pepperidge Farms) was about 10" by 10", so when I rolled up (twisted) a half inch on all sides, I was left with a 9" by 9" area. For this, I needed about 12-13 medium sized stalks of Asparagus, but only used one portion of the sauce. This square was perfect for 4 portions as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Simple Turkey Chili

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Simple, versatile recipe. I especially like not needing a pre-mixed packet of flavorings that may contain ingredients you would rather avoid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisewoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato and Mozzarella Bites

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I thought these were terrific. Like another reviewer, I bought Trader Joe's marinated mozzarella balls so I didn't need to make the dressing. I also added a small piece of salted pork (thick bacon) to the mix. It gave it additional flavor, crunch and saltiness that my guests really enjoyed. I put half a tomato & half a mozzarella ball with a small basil & the bacon on a tooth pick. Made a great small bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Johnnycakes

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
These were tough, and dry, and only edible when doused in butter and syrup. I've compared some other johnny cake recipes and it looks like they usually also include some sugar or honey, i think that would definitely improve this recipe. As written, I would not recommend this recipe, it was like eating a hockey puck made of corn. Might be a good snack for long camping trips in the wilderness though since these were definitely very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Like everyone else said- MASH THE BANANAS!!! Other than that, this worked out great. I used to make banana bread with yogurt instead of sour cream, but I didn't really taste the difference. For extra points, wait til the bananas get brown before trying this, and bake with a shallow pan of water in the oven, preferably on the rack directly below. I brought this to my class and everyone loved it- maybe the professor will give me extra points on the final exam?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susannah Schaff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrington Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I was looking for a bran muffin recipe that didn't call for buttermilk and this was one of the few that i found. It was very dry when i mixed it together, i had to add an extra splash of milk, and when they were done baking they were much drier than any other bran muffin ive ever made. Theyre also just plain, not good, in the flavor department. I realize that they're low fat but that shouldn't be an excuse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by JillyBean

Slow Cooker Split Pea Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Absolutely delicious. I used a left over ham bone and reduced water to 8 cups as suggested. Glad I did. After cooking for 5 hours on high the soup looked very thin and watery but flavor was great. I was making it for the next day so put the soup in a container and stirred it up when ready to reheat and it thickened right up to be smooth & creamy. First taste was a bit salty, the following day the flavors melded together even better and doesn't seem salty at all now, just right. I love that the soup is tasting better and better each day. Will definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Excellent! I don't like salmon, but this I like! It's moist and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Sue's Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I'm not a big fan of buttercream frosting, but I needed to use it for a cake decorating class I was taking. For the 2 cups of shortening, I use 1 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup cream cheese. I used the cream cheese because I ran out of vegetable shortening. OMG! It was soon good! It doesn't taste like cream cheese frosting, but it cuts the sweetness down and it was far more tasty. This small change has changed my feelings for buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Special Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I'm not a big fan of buttercream frosting, but I needed to use it for a cake decorating class I was taking. For the 2 cups of shortening, I use 1 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup cream cheese. I used the cream cheese because I ran out of vegetable shortening. OMG! It was soon good! It doesn't taste like cream cheese frosting, but it cuts the sweetness down and it was far more tasty. This small change has changed my feelings for buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States