Brooklyn - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Bacon Bourbon Apple Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
Haven't made it yet but I KnOw it's going to be amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Alvarez Lanza
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Venison Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
I marinated the venison in apple juice with garlic and herbs seasoning. I also used bread crumbs. It was awesome to say the least......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roy GIbbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Best Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
I have been making this style of buttercream for several years and I have NEVER had anything but raves for it. I admit I didn't find the recipe here, but in other old cookbooks and online sources. It is very easy if you work carefully and pay attention to what you are doing. DO NOT substitute powdered sugar!! The best frostings are always made from regular granulated sugar - but they usually take some more effort. However, once you have had a good "non powdered sugar" frosting you will never go back! Mix the flour thoroughly into a small amount of the milk, and make sure it is completely incorporated - with no undissolved lumps. Then, add the rest of the milk and cook it slowly over medium heat - whisking NON STOP. The mixture will form a stiff paste when it is fully cooked and ready to go. Don't cook it any longer once it has formed that paste. Add the mixture to the bowl of your mixer, and add the sugar FIRST - mixing on high and letting the sugar melt completely into the warm flour mixture. Continue beating on high until it has completely cooled - THEN add the butter, a couple tablespoons at a time until it is all incorporated. Continue beating until it is thick, glossy and super silky. This takes on any flavor addition beautifully and it is never too sweet - always silky and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthy Turkey Loaf

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
This is a perfect meatloaf to satisfy those old school comfort food cravings. To make it a bit more healthy I substitute the breadcrumbs with 1/4C quinoa (and then I cook it) as well as adding another few tablespoons of uncooked quinoa to the mixture to soak up all of the juices. Wow, it tastes fab and has a totally normal texture. You dont miss the breadcrumbs at all and you have just saved yourself a bunch of carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy E. Boles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Zeppole

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I missed the instructions that said to put the ingredients in a saucepan and heat them. I just mixed them together and dropped the batter in the hot oil and they were terrific! I did increase the sugar to 1 tablespoon. After frying I rolled them in cinnamon and sugar or sprinkled with powdered sugar. They were delicious! I never had zeppolis before (what kind of an Italian am I?) but these were really good. I used a small cookie scooper which made small donut hole sized zeppolis. Perfect size to pop in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by the_cruse

Hot and Tangy Broccoli Beef

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I loved this! The sauce was seriously awesome. Will use on lots of other things. I used thick bacon instead of beef (cause bacon), and added extra garlic as some reviews said it could be a little bland. Girlfriend and I give it a big thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the_cruse
Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Patties

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
These turned out great. I grated zucchini and yellow squash together and left them over night in the fridge to drain. Then I left it on the counter so it would drain some more. I added everything else in it except I used hot pepper shredded cheese and 1/4 cup breadcrumbs for a nice bite. They were delicious. A little sour cream over the top or dip in marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane LaBarge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OG

Lemon Pepper Pasta with Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
I didn't have spinach, but I had leftover cavatappi, some frozen shrimp and shredded Parmesan. This is delicious! I will definitely be making this simple and quick meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Contadina® Baked Meatballs in Tomato Herb Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
So far so amazing! I only omitted the raisins and it turned out great. I made my BALLS larger than recommended (no pun intended lol) and used my own sauce and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malerba310

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I did not have green onions. I substituted dill relish to taste, and to crunch. I also used spicy brown mustard instead of yellow prepared. Great googly moogly, this was delicious! I will be making it again, and again. For the low carbers, it can be served over lettuce, on slices of cheese, or cold cuts, or it will stand well as a side dish. Try it with slices of cheese, and avocado for a completely hunger crushing lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Maharajh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Your peach cobbler recipe is on point and the best I ever had . The recipe instructions were easy to follow. The best thing I loved, was the flavor and that it was not runny like most cobblers. I know your recipe called for fresh peaches, but Please forgive me, it was out of season. And I used canned peaches light syrup and render the syrup down and then still followed your recipe to the letter. And at the end it tasted heavenly, golden brown light crisp topping and moist fruit. It was the talk of the thankgiving dinner. Even from other peach cobller makers. It was my first time making cobbler ...THANK YOU .. GOOD SHOT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Papa_Lou's_cookin_#1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Microwave Oven Peanut Brittle

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Delicious but taste like something's missing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Adobo Pork Loin

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
absolutely delicious!!! Just the way it is!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYLUCYFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Delicious!!!!! Just the way it is!!! Ty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYLUCYFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Popcorn

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Def will make again came out wonderful,only thing I did differently was to microwave everything except the baking soda & vanilla & I spooned it onto my cooked popcorn umm umm so good thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I used Mexican mango as my fruit, and it came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjstuffing19

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken with Bok Choy

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
The vinegar was too strong for me. Decreasing the vinegar and increasing the sugar might help but I wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threemore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Braised Oxtails in Red Wine Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
OMG the meat just falls off the bone. The liquids were more than I needed in my pan and had to remove 2 cups. I had a little more than 5 lbs, but it was oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlene Fried

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scrambled Eggs Fraiche

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This was very tasty, but I did feel that 3 tablespoons of fat was a bit much, so I halved it and it was still very creamy & rich. I definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States