Bronx - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apricot Chutney

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
great recipe, but I substituted ready made roasted squeeze garlic. saved a lot of time and still gave it great flavor. Also used fresh ginger, minced in a robot coupe. Much better than dried ginger. this chutney is great with coconut shrimp or bacon wrapped scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Mango Chutney

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
added 1/4 cup orange marmalade. also tried it with apricot chutney, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Potato Kugel

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I used this recipe as a base for a kugel that was so easy to prepare & came out excellent. In the REFRIGERATED section of the supermarket I bought 2 bags of Crystal Farms Simply Potatoes, Shredded Hash Browns (no excess water, no excess work). Used a very large Spanish Onion and I used peanut oil in lieu of vegetable oil. Because a 9x13 pan would have made too much for just me and my husband, I used 2 disposable alumiminum 9" round pans greased very well with the p. oil. One for now & one for later. Grated onion in food processor then added eggs (beaten)oil, salt, pepper and one bag of potatoes. Pulsed 'till mixed NOT OVERMIXED. Transfered to a large bowl & added 2nd bag of potatoes as is, mixed by hand until all ingredients incorporated. Divided in the two pans.Fluffed top with a fork so shredded potatoes could crisp up. Placed on cookie sheet. Placed in preheated 400 degree oven for 30 minutes, then lowered to 350 for 1 hour until nicely browned and crisp on top. May need additional 20-30 minutes depending on your oven. My husband couldn't wait to eat it because it smelled fabulous while baking. He ate it hot out of the oven. Tasted better to me when cooled. Crisp on top and softer in the middle. REALLY DELICIOUS and so very easy to prepare. I have no alternative to suggest if you can't find the refrigerated shredded potatoes except to do it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Split Pea and Ham Soup II

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Just what I was looking for...an old fashioned pea soup that takes more than an hour to cook. It's cooking right now and I've modified it a bit so I can't rate the taste yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eggguru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Aioli

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
DELISH! Only thing I did was add a few tablespoons of sour cream and cilantro! Tastes absolutely great on a burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dry Rub for Ribs

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Excellent base! I added some cayenne, coriander and Adobo seasoning. I had some boneless ribs that needed to be cooked, and for more people than I bargained for. I cut up the ribs into cubes, marinated them in the rub for a few hours & then stuck them onto skewers for the grill. They'd created some "juice" in the marinade dish so I basted them with that juice while they cooked. Incredibly moist and tasty! (If you use wooden skewers don't forget to soak them first so they don't burn!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dei

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Fish Curry

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
SO amazingly flavorful! I paired it with cauliflower cilantro & lemon "rice" and it was just a beautiful dish. I do paleo so I substituted agave for sugar and it was just amazing. I also don't use canola oil so I just used coconut oil and olive oil. I tossed in veggies (carrots, radishes & broccoli) while the fish cooked and everything melted together! I also just used one tsp of cayenne and it was perfect. Easy to adapt & eat. Love how low cal,carb & sugar it is but high in protein! (I'm working on the salt part).. Thanks for a wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucychef26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Home Fries

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
delish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scoti72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
only had one 15oz can of chicken broth, I drained most of the oil from the bacon, added red/green pepper, and thyme. didn't have any cayenne pepper. overall it came out great and my 4yr old loved it...thanks for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peter Fitzpatrick

Papas Rellenas (Fried Stuffed Potatoes)

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I loved this recipe! I tried it today and it came out delicious! I have to admit i did season my meat differently leaving out the cumin and tomato paste to make it more to our liking. But then end result was great! thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Fitzpatrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Chicken Catch a Cola

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This was so different tasting and easy to make. I added about a TBS of olive oil in addition to the butter and sliced the ham in strips. Next time I'll use either diced or chunky diced ham that you can buy packaged in the supermarket because the strips sort of disappeared into the sauce and the ham is such a nice touch. I love mushrooms so added more from the packaged already sliced mushrooms. One other thing I did was to add the leftover bread crumb mixture (from the bag I breaded the chicken in) to the sauce when I added the ham, etc. that ultimately required that I add the rest of the can of cola as well. This was made in my long, oval electric frying pan. This recipe will definitely be in my "chicken" rotation. Had the leftovers for lunch the next day. Even more delicious on day two. Great recipe Benjamin. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Loved this recipe. Was a little soupy, so I added some bread crumbs on top and broiled it. Next time I am sauteing the onions first. They were too raw-tasting for me. But I definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Swirl Bread for the Bread Machine

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I feel bad for low-rating this recipe, because I did change it...I doubled the filling as others suggested, and used 1tsp of bread machine yeast as that was the conversion for instant yeast vs. active dry yeast. I'm not sure where I went wrong, but my dough didn't rise and I basically ended up with 2 cinnamon roll logs. They didn't taste terrible, but it would've been nice if they had some more air in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly and the soup had a really delicious flavor with just a hint of creaminess. I am not a big fan of creamed soups so, this was a winner for me. I used a one pound ham steak and there was plenty of meat to go around. I think the cayenne pepper is pretty key in this soup, I wouldn't leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Split Pea Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Excellent recipe. Thanks! I substituted a bay leaf for the marjoram. Served with warm french bread. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.LINDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili I

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I read all the reviews saying this recipe was too sweet so I reduced brown sugar to 1/4 cup. What a mistake! I could not even taste the sweetness so next time I will use the 1/2 cup measurement. I also do not like it hot so I added only 1 poblano pepper but I will try 2 next time. I did use all the chilli and cayenne and liked it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Latkes I

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Awesome tasty results, only used the one egg as suggested and added an egg white that was a leftover from another recipe...didn't have to use the starch water to moisten the patties...a keeper!!! Gone in minutes, and definitely keep them warm in oven til ready to eat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aminarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I had never made a pot roast in my slow cooker and was looking for a base recipe that I could get creative with. Got a few ideas from other reviewers, added my own touches and my husband and I loved it's deliciousness! Used about a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I thought this was great! I am only giving it five stars because I felt it was a bit too much water. My chili never really thickened as much as I'd like it to. It was a bit too watery, but overall the flavor was great. I used black beans and omitted a couple spices, simply because I didn't have them. I would definitely make this again. It was quick and hit the spot! Even my 6 year old liked it and he doesn't often try new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakesandcheesecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy French Toast

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I used a blender to mix the ingredients, I thought that would incorporate all the ingredients better than hand mixing. This was delicious, will be my go to french toast. Top it with fresh fruit and powered sugar, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by audball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-52 (of 52) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States