Bronx - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sauteed Rice with Kale

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great as a side dish, or even as a vegan lunch. I stuck to the recipe for the most part, but I only had frozen kale and no celery, green pepper, etc. I sauteed the onions, garlic and thawed kale, and steamed the white rice separately. After everything was done, I scooped the cooked veggies atop the one cup of the rice and enjoyed the meal. Also, the current spices listed is a bit bland. I added some Tabasco sauce, Jamaican curry powder, MSG-free seasoning salt and a couple of bay leaves. I'm half Liberian and half Southern. I want my food to have flavor, girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by journalofanebaysocialite

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Evelyn

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was the beef pot roast I have ever tasted. Wow, I made this and it is so tender I cannot believe I really made this. It tastes so good. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Fail Bean Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
It looks delicious. I'm gonna make this today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fatiha Jones

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

Super Al's Cocktail Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I love cocktail sauce and make this without the brown sugar. It is still delicious. I put it on tilapia too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eggguru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica

Eggnog Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I would make this cake again with some alterations. It was way too sweet. I don't believe 2 cups of eggnog are necessary for the filling. I will use 1/2 cup of milk and 1 1/2 cups of eggnog for the filling the next time. I will also use 3/4 cup of sugar for the frosting rather than 1 1/4 cups of sugar. You can always add more sugar to taste to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I had to make these twice, I mistakenly used a measuring cup & measured out 10oz.of flour, when I reread the directions I saw the footnote from the chef, so thought I could just add the remainder of the flour to measure 2 cups, the cake came out like a Pfeffernusse,So I tried again using 1 1/2 cups of flour & they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque Tanner Levine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
If you decide to use less sugars as others have suggested, make sure you also cut down on the butter! Otherwise you will get a oily top layer! I did both ways & the original recipe was much better in my opinion. I also added a cup of semi sweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque Tanner Levine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Wonderful recipe! My dinner table was never so quiet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bardoc61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Florida, New York, USA

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I actually didn't have a loaf pan on hand so I used a cake pan. I would suggest you add some kind of nut to it to keep it moist for days after it is baked. But other than that, awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA
Photo by Evelyn

It's Chili by George!!

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
It was ok. I don't know not as tasty as I was hoping it would be. I'll have to check other recipes to see how they are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Evelyn

Chef John's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This Banana Bread is dad approved. My bread came out moist and sweet. No walnuts and chocolate and I still love it. Thanks Chef John you rock the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made it for the in-laws, it was super good. Next time I might add walnuts to the topping but I love walnuts in just about everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dei

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Hot Dogs

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
My son doesn't eat meat and this is perfect for him to join in when everyone is having hot dogs he loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bandidalinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Omg! I just tried this amazing chocolate recipe yesterday and it was thee best chocolate cake I have ever made or had. My 6 year old-daughter helped me combine all ingredients so we doubled- checkedand followed the measurements. My husband had the first slice and he is usually not a fan of chocolate on chocolate cake... But dare I say..He loved it!!! He loved it so much within 2 minutes he cleaned the plate and asked for another slice lol. This cake is decadent, moist, and bursting with awesome chcolateness from your first bite. You must try this recipe... P.S. This was my first "from scratch" cake which is a hitt! Plus... Use Coffee** it totally brings out the rich chocolate cake flavor within the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristal Arce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Excellent, excellent, excellent!!! I took what other people said and kind of ran with it. Instead of chopping and cubing the apples, I grated them with a cheese grater (I peeled them first). It gives you much better distribution. I also used 3 cups of grated apple instead of 2 (about 3-4 apples). I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter, and nutmeg to the crisp topping. A little bit of nutmeg will go a very long way! I also used an extra TBSP of melted butter for the topping. I don't know why this recipe says it makes only 12 because I made 24, and that was filling them to the top... It's been requested that I make these again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Strudel Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Absolutely loved this recipe. Made it as is and it came out perfect. The muffins were nice and fluffy and everybody loved them. Making these again tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thakid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA
Photo by eggguru

Ethiopian Cabbage Dish

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I have made this recipe according to the directions. Over time, I have modified it. I now use organic sweet potato instead of white potatoes. I fry the cubed sweet potato first so it holds its shape, remove it and put on paper towel to drain, add it back in after the cabbage is cooked and cover for 3 minutes more. I use double the tumeric and add 1/2 teaspoon of berbere spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eggguru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
WOW!!! I didn't even get it out of the oven and the family was asking me to make it again! I will confess that I used 3/4 cup of butter instead of a full cup as the recipie called for. I also rinsed off the peppers to reduce the amount of heat. The only problem I have now is trying to plan a meal around this incredible side dish. It worked well with grilled pork chops and sausages, but I know it will be a part of my Thanksgiving feast as well. Thanks for this incredible dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bardoc61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Florida, New York, USA

Carolina BBQ Peppers

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
added hot banana, fresno and red sweet bell peppers...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

Chicken Thigh Fricassee with Mushrooms and Rosemary

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Delicious recipe!!!!! I read some reviews and many stated that the chicken was bland. So, I seasoned my skinless chicken thighs with Goya Adobo set it aside while I finely chopped fresh rosemary and 8 garlic cloves. As for the wine, I used Goya Cooking wine. I used small whole pitted Kalamata olives since I couldn't find Nicoise olives and used whole cherry tomatoes. Followed the cooking instructions and OMG was the chicken flavorful. Served it over rice. Thanks Senorita ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-52 (of 52) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States