Bronx - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by eggguru

Ethiopian Cabbage Dish

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I have made this recipe according to the directions. Over time, I have modified it. I now use organic sweet potato instead of white potatoes. I fry the cubed sweet potato first so it holds its shape, remove it and put on paper towel to drain, add it back in after the cabbage is cooked and cover for 3 minutes more. I use double the tumeric and add 1/2 teaspoon of berbere spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eggguru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
WOW!!! I didn't even get it out of the oven and the family was asking me to make it again! I will confess that I used 3/4 cup of butter instead of a full cup as the recipie called for. I also rinsed off the peppers to reduce the amount of heat. The only problem I have now is trying to plan a meal around this incredible side dish. It worked well with grilled pork chops and sausages, but I know it will be a part of my Thanksgiving feast as well. Thanks for this incredible dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bardoc61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Florida, New York, USA

Carolina BBQ Peppers

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
added hot banana, fresno and red sweet bell peppers...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

Chicken Thigh Fricassee with Mushrooms and Rosemary

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Delicious recipe!!!!! I read some reviews and many stated that the chicken was bland. So, I seasoned my skinless chicken thighs with Goya Adobo set it aside while I finely chopped fresh rosemary and 8 garlic cloves. As for the wine, I used Goya Cooking wine. I used small whole pitted Kalamata olives since I couldn't find Nicoise olives and used whole cherry tomatoes. Followed the cooking instructions and OMG was the chicken flavorful. Served it over rice. Thanks Senorita ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kentucky Biscuits

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This is hands down the best recipe that I've ever tried. I've made it twice in the last 2 days and now my family wants them all the time. They are so good that word has spread all the way to Florida where my aunt lives and they can't wait for thanksgiving to try them. I have to keep a frsh quart of buttermilk in my fridge at all times. Thanms for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thakid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I have to say that my family and I really enjoyed this Chicken I think that I should of marinated the chicken maybe overnight instead of just for 30 min, because then the beer and seasoning would of really soaked through the entire chicken breast. Other then that this dish was GREAT..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: New City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apricot Chutney

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
great recipe, but I substituted ready made roasted squeeze garlic. saved a lot of time and still gave it great flavor. Also used fresh ginger, minced in a robot coupe. Much better than dried ginger. this chutney is great with coconut shrimp or bacon wrapped scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Mango Chutney

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
added 1/4 cup orange marmalade. also tried it with apricot chutney, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Potato Kugel

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I used this recipe as a base for a kugel that was so easy to prepare & came out excellent. In the REFRIGERATED section of the supermarket I bought 2 bags of Crystal Farms Simply Potatoes, Shredded Hash Browns (no excess water, no excess work). Used a very large Spanish Onion and I used peanut oil in lieu of vegetable oil. Because a 9x13 pan would have made too much for just me and my husband, I used 2 disposable alumiminum 9" round pans greased very well with the p. oil. One for now & one for later. Grated onion in food processor then added eggs (beaten)oil, salt, pepper and one bag of potatoes. Pulsed 'till mixed NOT OVERMIXED. Transfered to a large bowl & added 2nd bag of potatoes as is, mixed by hand until all ingredients incorporated. Divided in the two pans.Fluffed top with a fork so shredded potatoes could crisp up. Placed on cookie sheet. Placed in preheated 400 degree oven for 30 minutes, then lowered to 350 for 1 hour until nicely browned and crisp on top. May need additional 20-30 minutes depending on your oven. My husband couldn't wait to eat it because it smelled fabulous while baking. He ate it hot out of the oven. Tasted better to me when cooled. Crisp on top and softer in the middle. REALLY DELICIOUS and so very easy to prepare. I have no alternative to suggest if you can't find the refrigerated shredded potatoes except to do it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Split Pea and Ham Soup II

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Just what I was looking for...an old fashioned pea soup that takes more than an hour to cook. It's cooking right now and I've modified it a bit so I can't rate the taste yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eggguru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Aioli

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
DELISH! Only thing I did was add a few tablespoons of sour cream and cilantro! Tastes absolutely great on a burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dry Rub for Ribs

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Excellent base! I added some cayenne, coriander and Adobo seasoning. I had some boneless ribs that needed to be cooked, and for more people than I bargained for. I cut up the ribs into cubes, marinated them in the rub for a few hours & then stuck them onto skewers for the grill. They'd created some "juice" in the marinade dish so I basted them with that juice while they cooked. Incredibly moist and tasty! (If you use wooden skewers don't forget to soak them first so they don't burn!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dei

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Fish Curry

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
SO amazingly flavorful! I paired it with cauliflower cilantro & lemon "rice" and it was just a beautiful dish. I do paleo so I substituted agave for sugar and it was just amazing. I also don't use canola oil so I just used coconut oil and olive oil. I tossed in veggies (carrots, radishes & broccoli) while the fish cooked and everything melted together! I also just used one tsp of cayenne and it was perfect. Easy to adapt & eat. Love how low cal,carb & sugar it is but high in protein! (I'm working on the salt part).. Thanks for a wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucychef26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Home Fries

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
delish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scoti72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
only had one 15oz can of chicken broth, I drained most of the oil from the bacon, added red/green pepper, and thyme. didn't have any cayenne pepper. overall it came out great and my 4yr old loved it...thanks for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Catch a Cola

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This was so different tasting and easy to make. I added about a TBS of olive oil in addition to the butter and sliced the ham in strips. Next time I'll use either diced or chunky diced ham that you can buy packaged in the supermarket because the strips sort of disappeared into the sauce and the ham is such a nice touch. I love mushrooms so added more from the packaged already sliced mushrooms. One other thing I did was to add the leftover bread crumb mixture (from the bag I breaded the chicken in) to the sauce when I added the ham, etc. that ultimately required that I add the rest of the can of cola as well. This was made in my long, oval electric frying pan. This recipe will definitely be in my "chicken" rotation. Had the leftovers for lunch the next day. Even more delicious on day two. Great recipe Benjamin. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Loved this recipe. Was a little soupy, so I added some bread crumbs on top and broiled it. Next time I am sauteing the onions first. They were too raw-tasting for me. But I definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Swirl Bread for the Bread Machine

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I feel bad for low-rating this recipe, because I did change it...I doubled the filling as others suggested, and used 1tsp of bread machine yeast as that was the conversion for instant yeast vs. active dry yeast. I'm not sure where I went wrong, but my dough didn't rise and I basically ended up with 2 cinnamon roll logs. They didn't taste terrible, but it would've been nice if they had some more air in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Excellent. I followed the recipe exactly and the soup had a really delicious flavor with just a hint of creaminess. I am not a big fan of creamed soups so, this was a winner for me. I used a one pound ham steak and there was plenty of meat to go around. I think the cayenne pepper is pretty key in this soup, I wouldn't leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Split Pea Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Excellent recipe. Thanks! I substituted a bay leaf for the marjoram. Served with warm french bread. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.LINDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 52) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States