Bronx - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Broiled Lobster Tails

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
FANTASTIC! Followed as directed but used butter spray on both sides of plumped tails. MMMMMMMM good! Nice big tails also. I thawed frozen tails in refrigerator overnight, unwrapped, split shells and placed in a covered ice bath until ready to broil...Sooooooo good..and I have an electric stove/broiler :-( but they still came out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA

Manhattan Filet with Pan Sauce Bordelaise

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Made these for Easter dinner; followed instructions to a T" but used filet mignon! OMGEE What an absolutely awesome amazing steak!! Seared to perfection with a nice crust, finished them off in the cast iron skillet. Since they were filet mignons, didn't have scraps for Bordelaise but I topped themw/Bearnaise sauce and served with Broiled Lobster Tails, Baked Potato and Sauteed Garlic Asparagus (recipes on here). Husband RAVED all night! Fantastic...I may never grill or broil another steak again! Dry rub & refrigerate uncovered overnight was the difference! 10 Stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA

Homemade Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This recipe is perfect. I normally like a little kick to most foods but, I resisted the urge to "spice" it up and I am glad that I did. The balance between the sharp cheddar and the parmesan was just right. I made exactly as directed and everyone loved it. I made it the night before and put it in the oven the next day for Easter and it was just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This was amazingly tasty and simple! I had no idea what to make for dinner, had lass than an hour & not much available. Made it as written (albeit with a little less butter) on skinless boneless breasts., pounded a little Cooked at 375 for a while (maybe 20 min) & then found some spinach in the fridge. I rinsed that & popped it into the baking pan for another 2-3 min and then tossed the whole thing under the broiler for 2-3 more. BIG BIG hit! Served it with French fries and the sauce was sooo good on the fries too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dei

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BBQ Country Style Ribs

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Such an easy recipe!! I did make some changes. My ribs were BIG. I did not use lemon. I did put a little water in the bottom of the pan. I made a rub of garlic powder, onion powder salt and fresh pepper. I marinated the ribs in this rub for about an hour. Baked in a 325 oven for 2 hours covered in tin foil. After 2 hours removed foil and drained all the liquid. Slathered with BBQ sauce and put back into oven lowering temp to 275 for 45 minutes uncovered. Delish and so tender!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.LINDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caesar Salad Supreme

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
For the past 2 weeks I've been making this salad and my picky 11 year old and 16 year old LOVE IT! I did omit the anchovies. I added grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Teriyaki

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I just made this dish and I loved it. It was tasty and easy to make. Yummmm... I did however add fresh garlic, a hint of ground ginger and because I didn't have corn starch I substituted it with flour. I will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCharmz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

Hot and Spicy Tofu

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I used firm tofu lightly coated in flour to add some crispness. This was amazing! I used chili pepper seasoning instead of the flakes so the sauce blended easier. Also threw steamed broccoli into the sautée pan with the seared tofu before adding the sauce and simmering for a few minutes. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

PHILADELPHIA® New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
What a great cheesecake recipe. I did not use cherries, I just wanted a plain delicious cheesecake. I had been worried about making this cheesecake for years, it was easy. Only difference I did, I left the cheesecake in the oven to cool off over night,(this was to help prevent it from cracking) the cake did crack. The cheesecake was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyth Lovy
Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Indeed was a hit at my son Second grade class!! They have it for a classroom. breakfast for the Holiday's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dilsia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shepherd's Pie VI

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
First time making Shepherd's Pie and I nailed it thanks to this recipe! Followed directions exactly. Please don't review a recipe you have altered as it is not fair to the original poster! Can't wait to make this again! Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakesandcheesecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Sweet Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Wow, I was expecting the best chili I have ever had. This was OK but certainly not the best. I was very hesitant about the corn since I have never had chili with corn but I followed the recipe. Should have followed my instincts. The corn was overpowering and completely changed the consistency of the chili. I used the brown sugar but didn't really taste it. It also seemed very thick and lacking the chili gravy I am accustomed to. Definitely not enough meat. I might try some changes but still looking for that great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sangria! Sangria!

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Wanted to make this Sangria for Christmas Eve so we did a "trial batch" first. We love it!! Hubby hunted for a recipe that would be a keeper and this is it!!! We used half the sugar recommended and it really was sweet enough. For those wanting a little fizz and a tad more sweetness we topped each glass individually with 7Up. This is now our official Sangria recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.LINDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Liver Pate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I did cheat. Instead of using regular cream cheese, I used garlic and herb spreadable cheese. Gave it extra flavor without so much work. Other ingredients as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Velazquez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marandam

Coconut Cream Cake I

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
absolutely amazing ...made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it ... I added colored sugar to the top which gave a Nice candy texture along with the coconut flaks all over it ..i didn't use all of the coconut cream mixture I left out about 1/4 cup as people mention ... I didnt want it to soggy and it came out great .. I prepared it the night before so it had Time to marinate and just become this delicious coconut cream Cake goodness :-) I will definitely be making this again ...... oh and chopsticks work best for poking the holes in the cake The coconut mixture falls in perfectly .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marandam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA
Photo by LMPereira1

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Wow. Perfect cheescake! One of the best recipes I've tried! My family loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMPereira1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA
Photo by LMPereira1

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The best pumpkin bread I've made so far. Absolutely delicious. Wouldn't change a thing! Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMPereira1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA
Photo by LMPereira1

Best Ever Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Wonderful, Moist Banana Bread. Followed this recipe exactly as outlined and it came out terrific. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMPereira1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe for its flexibility. I wanted to use ingredients I had on hand so I removed the casing from sweet sausages and added some crushed red pepper for the spiciness. I had no diced tomatoes, instead, used canned pasta sauce. Finally, I used canned spinach. It worked. Please note, after cooking the sausage, you need to pour off the excess grease. My wife loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darkmanchu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I used the bacon pieces as suggested by other reviewers and it overwhelmed the quiche plus it made it so salty. If I had to do again, I would use less than half the bacon and half the onion. In any case, I will try again with no bacon or onion and use mushrooms and salt and pepper and see what happens. Quite frankly, I am not a big fan of strong tastes like bacon and onion and if I use them, I use in moderation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 52) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States