Bronx - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pizza Dough III

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is the recipe! I went for 400 degrees and cook it about 26 minutes. Pizza crust was cooked through, crisp, and evenly brown on the bottom. Add some Italian seasonings for extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snow.phoenix77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tzatziki Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Absolutely delicious. Salted and drained the cucumbers and used nonfat Greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snow.phoenix77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Souvlaki

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Omitted the soy sauce. That's not Greek. Marinated for 5 hours and it could have benefited from a little more lemon juice and salt and pepper, which I added while cooking. Other than that, when paired with the tzatziki sauce this was something I could not stop eating. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snow.phoenix77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Chicken Fingers

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is a keeper! Followed the directions and had no problems with soggy chicken or sticking. I did however, add 1 teaspoon of Mrs. Dash's Chicken Seasoning along with other dry ingredients. Felt that recipe as written "might" be a little tasteless. My family loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.LINDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Stir-Fried Shrimp in Cream Sauce (Bhagari Jhinga)

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've made this recipe many times and there are never any leftovers. I follow the recipe exactly with the exception that I don't use the tablespoon of tomato paste since I don't like to waste the entire can just for a tablespoon of paste. I think it's only for the color anyway. I also use the whole can of coconut milk since it's already opened and it doesn't seem to affect the taste of the sauce and it just makes more sauce which is positive since most people enjoy the sauce better then the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauteed Rice with Kale

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great as a side dish, or even as a vegan lunch. I stuck to the recipe for the most part, but I only had frozen kale and no celery, green pepper, etc. I sauteed the onions, garlic and thawed kale, and steamed the white rice separately. After everything was done, I scooped the cooked veggies atop the one cup of the rice and enjoyed the meal. Also, the current spices listed is a bit bland. I added some Tabasco sauce, Jamaican curry powder, MSG-free seasoning salt and a couple of bay leaves. I'm half Liberian and half Southern. I want my food to have flavor, girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by journalofanebaysocialite

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Evelyn

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was the beef pot roast I have ever tasted. Wow, I made this and it is so tender I cannot believe I really made this. It tastes so good. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Fail Bean Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
It looks delicious. I'm gonna make this today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Al's Cocktail Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I love cocktail sauce and make this without the brown sugar. It is still delicious. I put it on tilapia too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eggguru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica

Eggnog Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I would make this cake again with some alterations. It was way too sweet. I don't believe 2 cups of eggnog are necessary for the filling. I will use 1/2 cup of milk and 1 1/2 cups of eggnog for the filling the next time. I will also use 3/4 cup of sugar for the frosting rather than 1 1/4 cups of sugar. You can always add more sugar to taste to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Wonderful recipe! My dinner table was never so quiet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bardoc61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Florida, New York, USA

Cranberry Sauce I

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this right before Thanksgiving. I figured I try this and see if everyone noticed the difference. It was perfect! I did the suggestions and used 1/2 cup of brown and white sugar, fresh squeezed orange juice, 1 tsp of cinnamon. But added 1/4 cup of Cherry Port. It came out so good I'm using this for gifts this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manafesto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I actually didn't have a loaf pan on hand so I used a cake pan. I would suggest you add some kind of nut to it to keep it moist for days after it is baked. But other than that, awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA
Photo by Evelyn

It's Chili by George!!

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
It was ok. I don't know not as tasty as I was hoping it would be. I'll have to check other recipes to see how they are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Evelyn

Chef John's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This Banana Bread is dad approved. My bread came out moist and sweet. No walnuts and chocolate and I still love it. Thanks Chef John you rock the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made it for the in-laws, it was super good. Next time I might add walnuts to the topping but I love walnuts in just about everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dei

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Hot Dogs

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
My son doesn't eat meat and this is perfect for him to join in when everyone is having hot dogs he loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bandidalinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Omg! I just tried this amazing chocolate recipe yesterday and it was thee best chocolate cake I have ever made or had. My 6 year old-daughter helped me combine all ingredients so we doubled- checkedand followed the measurements. My husband had the first slice and he is usually not a fan of chocolate on chocolate cake... But dare I say..He loved it!!! He loved it so much within 2 minutes he cleaned the plate and asked for another slice lol. This cake is decadent, moist, and bursting with awesome chcolateness from your first bite. You must try this recipe... P.S. This was my first "from scratch" cake which is a hitt! Plus... Use Coffee** it totally brings out the rich chocolate cake flavor within the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Excellent, excellent, excellent!!! I took what other people said and kind of ran with it. Instead of chopping and cubing the apples, I grated them with a cheese grater (I peeled them first). It gives you much better distribution. I also used 3 cups of grated apple instead of 2 (about 3-4 apples). I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter, and nutmeg to the crisp topping. A little bit of nutmeg will go a very long way! I also used an extra TBSP of melted butter for the topping. I don't know why this recipe says it makes only 12 because I made 24, and that was filling them to the top... It's been requested that I make these again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Strudel Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Absolutely loved this recipe. Made it as is and it came out perfect. The muffins were nice and fluffy and everybody loved them. Making these again tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thakid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 52) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States