Bronx - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Hot and Spicy Tofu

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I used firm tofu lightly coated in flour to add some crispness. This was amazing! I used chili pepper seasoning instead of the flakes so the sauce blended easier. Also threw steamed broccoli into the sautée pan with the seared tofu before adding the sauce and simmering for a few minutes. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

PHILADELPHIA® New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
What a great cheesecake recipe. I did not use cherries, I just wanted a plain delicious cheesecake. I had been worried about making this cheesecake for years, it was easy. Only difference I did, I left the cheesecake in the oven to cool off over night,(this was to help prevent it from cracking) the cake did crack. The cheesecake was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmdl2bl
Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Indeed was a hit at my son Second grade class!! They have it for a classroom. breakfast for the Holiday's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dilsia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shepherd's Pie VI

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
First time making Shepherd's Pie and I nailed it thanks to this recipe! Followed directions exactly. Please don't review a recipe you have altered as it is not fair to the original poster! Can't wait to make this again! Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakesandcheesecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Sweet-and-Sour Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Am I the only one with an issue? Combine potatoes, carrots, and onion in the bottom of a slow cooker. Place beef roast atop the vegetables. Heat canola oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Cook beef roast in the hot oil until browned completely, 2 to 3 minutes per side; place beef roast atop the vegetables. OK, place beef atop vegies in slow cooker. Then cook beef in hot ol skillet. Well, which is it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Sweet Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Wow, I was expecting the best chili I have ever had. This was OK but certainly not the best. I was very hesitant about the corn since I have never had chili with corn but I followed the recipe. Should have followed my instincts. The corn was overpowering and completely changed the consistency of the chili. I used the brown sugar but didn't really taste it. It also seemed very thick and lacking the chili gravy I am accustomed to. Definitely not enough meat. I might try some changes but still looking for that great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sangria! Sangria!

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Wanted to make this Sangria for Christmas Eve so we did a "trial batch" first. We love it!! Hubby hunted for a recipe that would be a keeper and this is it!!! We used half the sugar recommended and it really was sweet enough. For those wanting a little fizz and a tad more sweetness we topped each glass individually with 7Up. This is now our official Sangria recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS.LINDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Liver Pate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I did cheat. Instead of using regular cream cheese, I used garlic and herb spreadable cheese. Gave it extra flavor without so much work. Other ingredients as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Velazquez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marandam

Coconut Cream Cake I

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
absolutely amazing ...made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it ... I added colored sugar to the top which gave a Nice candy texture along with the coconut flaks all over it ..i didn't use all of the coconut cream mixture I left out about 1/4 cup as people mention ... I didnt want it to soggy and it came out great .. I prepared it the night before so it had Time to marinate and just become this delicious coconut cream Cake goodness :-) I will definitely be making this again ...... oh and chopsticks work best for poking the holes in the cake The coconut mixture falls in perfectly .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marandam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA
Photo by LMPereira1

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Wow. Perfect cheescake! One of the best recipes I've tried! My family loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMPereira1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA
Photo by LMPereira1

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The best pumpkin bread I've made so far. Absolutely delicious. Wouldn't change a thing! Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMPereira1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA
Photo by LMPereira1

Best Ever Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Wonderful, Moist Banana Bread. Followed this recipe exactly as outlined and it came out terrific. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMPereira1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe for its flexibility. I wanted to use ingredients I had on hand so I removed the casing from sweet sausages and added some crushed red pepper for the spiciness. I had no diced tomatoes, instead, used canned pasta sauce. Finally, I used canned spinach. It worked. Please note, after cooking the sausage, you need to pour off the excess grease. My wife loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darkmanchu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I used the bacon pieces as suggested by other reviewers and it overwhelmed the quiche plus it made it so salty. If I had to do again, I would use less than half the bacon and half the onion. In any case, I will try again with no bacon or onion and use mushrooms and salt and pepper and see what happens. Quite frankly, I am not a big fan of strong tastes like bacon and onion and if I use them, I use in moderation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cupcakesandcheesecakes

Pollo Fajitas

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Very good! Made these last night exactly as directed. Super easy to prep and cook. Flavor was just right, not overpowering. Served with flour tortillas, yellow rice and refried beans. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakesandcheesecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Lasagna

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is just eggplant parmesan with ground meat added. EPP, my favorite Italian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This is by far the best sugar cookie recipe I have ever tried, I recently had to make 100 tutu and baby bottle shaped sugar cookies for a baby shower and I must say this recipe allowed me to beautifully execute these adorable cookies.I also took a tip from another person's comment by using a glass cup and sugar to roll out the dough making it quick and easy to execute my project. Other sugsr cookie recipes that I have tried in the past were very sticky and difficult to use with cookie cutters. Thank you for sharing one of many great recipes with your viewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weekend Delights Catering

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BOP Energy Bites

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The taste is nice, the agave lends a good sweetness, not overly so. But even after 1 1/2 hrs in the fridge, the balls just didn't firm nicely. I think it needs some kind of binder, maybe cocoa powder? I may try it again & will probably toast the oats & see if that gives it a less "raw" taste. Not bad but bit as great as expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dei

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was good, but as written it needs some flavor work. So three stars. The base recipe is good though. It just needs some zest, pep, SOMETHING to liven the flavor up. Hold down the cost of this salad by asking your deli person if they have a meat ends price (for whatever butt ends they have left over that they're either throwing out or using to make antipasto). I got half/pounds of salami, ham, turkey, and muenster at the meat ends price and it made the costing on this much better than if I'd paid the regular price.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snow.phoenix77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
The filling was excellent, especially when eaten cold. My husband and I enjoyed the perfectly lemony taste. The use of crescent roll dough was awful though. Very messy to work with. Doesn't hold its crispness, gets almost "soggy". I'd love to experiment with the filling using a butter or sugar cookie dough or a baked pie crust base, something that will maintain some crispy/firmer base substance. Also I like to freeze my baked goods and know from previous (non-dessert) recipes that crescent rolls do not do well after freezing. Any suggestions from out there would be very welcome as well. The entire 3 stars were just for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 52) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States