Bronx - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe for its flexibility. I wanted to use ingredients I had on hand so I removed the casing from sweet sausages and added some crushed red pepper for the spiciness. I had no diced tomatoes, instead, used canned pasta sauce. Finally, I used canned spinach. It worked. Please note, after cooking the sausage, you need to pour off the excess grease. My wife loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darkmanchu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I used the bacon pieces as suggested by other reviewers and it overwhelmed the quiche plus it made it so salty. If I had to do again, I would use less than half the bacon and half the onion. In any case, I will try again with no bacon or onion and use mushrooms and salt and pepper and see what happens. Quite frankly, I am not a big fan of strong tastes like bacon and onion and if I use them, I use in moderation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cupcakesandcheesecakes

Pollo Fajitas

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Very good! Made these last night exactly as directed. Super easy to prep and cook. Flavor was just right, not overpowering. Served with flour tortillas, yellow rice and refried beans. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakesandcheesecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Lasagna

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This is just eggplant parmesan with ground meat added. EPP, my favorite Italian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This is by far the best sugar cookie recipe I have ever tried, I recently had to make 100 tutu and baby bottle shaped sugar cookies for a baby shower and I must say this recipe allowed me to beautifully execute these adorable cookies.I also took a tip from another person's comment by using a glass cup and sugar to roll out the dough making it quick and easy to execute my project. Other sugsr cookie recipes that I have tried in the past were very sticky and difficult to use with cookie cutters. Thank you for sharing one of many great recipes with your viewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weekend Delights Catering

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BOP Energy Bites

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The taste is nice, the agave lends a good sweetness, not overly so. But even after 1 1/2 hrs in the fridge, the balls just didn't firm nicely. I think it needs some kind of binder, maybe cocoa powder? I may try it again & will probably toast the oats & see if that gives it a less "raw" taste. Not bad but bit as great as expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dei

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was good, but as written it needs some flavor work. So three stars. The base recipe is good though. It just needs some zest, pep, SOMETHING to liven the flavor up. Hold down the cost of this salad by asking your deli person if they have a meat ends price (for whatever butt ends they have left over that they're either throwing out or using to make antipasto). I got half/pounds of salami, ham, turkey, and muenster at the meat ends price and it made the costing on this much better than if I'd paid the regular price.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snow.phoenix77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
The filling was excellent, especially when eaten cold. My husband and I enjoyed the perfectly lemony taste. The use of crescent roll dough was awful though. Very messy to work with. Doesn't hold its crispness, gets almost "soggy". I'd love to experiment with the filling using a butter or sugar cookie dough or a baked pie crust base, something that will maintain some crispy/firmer base substance. Also I like to freeze my baked goods and know from previous (non-dessert) recipes that crescent rolls do not do well after freezing. Any suggestions from out there would be very welcome as well. The entire 3 stars were just for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemony Chicken with Artichoke Hearts

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is my go-to recipe.....tonight I'm added broccoli(no artichokes), onions, mushrooms and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA
Photo by Bandidalinda

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Husband and kids love these pancakes. I only added a tablespoon of vanilla and cinnamon for flavor. However the original recipe is perfect. And it's a breakfast staple in my home. ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bandidalinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Delicious Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I really liked the way this came out. I did add some craisins to it. But overall it wasn't too sweet and was the right amount of flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaneka Whittick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

Easy Slow Cooker Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
will try this Recipe this week. it looks grate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vernal Rutherford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie

Malaysian Mango Chicken Curry

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Had a little trouble with the sauce but I made more and now it's looking like curry!! :) it was so good!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I didn't alter the recipe much, just added some craisins to it! It was delicious! Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaneka Whittick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I use this recipe everytime my family ignores the bananas. Always a hit. No matter how far off course I may go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Smith
Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candy

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
On my third loaf now, I used a bit more yeast, a bit more salt, melted better instead of oil and cheddar and bacon bits. My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese Sauce for Broccoli and Cauliflower

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I used a finely shredded mild cheddar and followed the directions exactly. The sauce came out fantastic. I poured it over fresh steamed broccoli and it was the hit of my dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I needed a quick pancake recipe for a bunch of people who crashed at my place for the night and it worked out great. Definitely need to add this recipe in your recipe box if you don't. I appreciated the use of "homemade" buttermilk. I didn't have any store so this worked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA
Photo by Peter Fitzpatrick

Kale and Chard Supreme

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I used roasted garlic olive oil and I didn't put in the pineapple or sliced onions. I sauteed diced ham, onion and diced garlic and then I added the chard, kale and I added fresh spinach as well. I then sprinkled on crumbled blue cheese (didn't have feta cheese)and it was delicious! see picture for my finished dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Fitzpatrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Pizza Dough III

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is the recipe! I went for 400 degrees and cook it about 26 minutes. Pizza crust was cooked through, crisp, and evenly brown on the bottom. Add some Italian seasonings for extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snow.phoenix77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 52) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States