Long Island - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by RockstarSue

Never Fail Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
These cookies were perfect!! They were extremely easy to make. I loved the fact that they were not overly sweet like some chocolate chip cookies that I have made in the past. They were also the perfect texture; not too soft or crunchy-just perfect. I did not have any unsalted butter on hand (which is what I always use for baking), so I simply omitted the salt. Other than omitting the salt, I followed the recipe 100%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockstarSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom

Polish Cream Cheese Coffee Cake

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I made this for a ladies luncheon and it was a huge success! I used lite sour cream and 1/2 low fat cream cheese and 1/2 part skim ricotta in an effort to lower the guilt factor. I was working against time so I put all the cake in the pan and spread it with wet hands then added the cheese and the topping. I did add a tsp of vanilla to the cheese mixture. I can see so many variations this will surely be made again. I suggest serving this either slightly warmed or a room temperature to get the full benefit of the subtle flavors. Thanks SAXYBONE, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by RockstarSue

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Excellent recipe and quite easy. It is rich, chocolaty and decadent. I just should have waited to cut it! My picture does not do it justice, because I cut it right away. The end result was still fabulous. This will now be my permanent brownie recipe. Next time I will serve with vanilla bean ice cream on top. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockstarSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom

Mexican Brownies

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I made these for a Thank you gift and they were a huge success. I didn't have the pequin powder so I used Pasilla powder. The smokiness worked beautifully with the Mexican cinnamon to showcase the chocolate. I do think they may be the best brownies I have ever made. The texture was perfect, the taste was perfect and they cut so nicely. Thank you, caroliney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom

Mamacita's Mexican Rice

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This was incredibly flavorful! The carrots add just a hint of sweetness that sets this recipe apart. I can see this becoming a staple in my home. I did have the saffron and followed the recipe as written except to leave the peas out since the children I was cooking for do not like them. They loved this rice though and both had second helpings. Thank you, Armi and thank Mamacita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Chewy Coconut Bars

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I followed the advise of many other reviews and I substituted butter for the shortening and I added more coconut. They turned out amazing!! I will definitely make these agin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom

Creamy Pasta with Zucchini

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I added sliced mushrooms, red, orange and yellow pepper and sweet onion. The sauce was interesting, not my concept of an Alfredo sauce, but ok. There could have been more of it. I did omit the cheddar cheese, it just seemed out of place to me. All in all this made a good main dish for a meatless meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Joy's Easy Banana Bread

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This is very similar to the banana bread my mother made - simple, moist, and tasty with the banana the star. The only thing I would change might be using baking powder instead is baking soda to try to get a bit more rise. I will be making this again and again especially since Marianne suggested toasting it! Thank you, Joy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I needed a quick enchilada sauce for a casserole and this fit the bill. It was really good for such a quick sauce and i'm sure I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Chili Rellenos Casserole

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I doubled this recipe and used the 9x13. I used 2 cans diced chills and 2 cans whole chilies because that's what I had. I took other reviewer's suggestions and used enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce. I didn't have any in the cupboard so I made "10 minute enchilada sauce" from this site. Sooo good! My daughter said she'd like it better if the next time I used just diced chills because she didn't like the large slices. I will make again. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Quick Brown Rice and Mushroom Pilaf

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Loved this dish, super easy and the boys loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Basil Salmon

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
So amazing! Just loved it!! Used fresh basil, that is a must flavors were amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom

Grandma's Lemon Cauliflower Side Dish

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
We enjoyed cauliflower prepared this way. The chopped egg reminds me of how vegetables are served in Scandinavian countries. It took far more than 10 minutes for my cauliflower to get tender, closer to 20 but the rest of the recipe worked perfectly. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Guacamole-Style Quinoa

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Liked it as written, but loved it after adding 2 extra avocados, A 7 ounce can of green chilies, salt, pepper, Cumin and a little chili powder. Kicked it up a notch and made it more guacamole like!! Brought it to work with fresh tortilla chips and it was devoured!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This recipe always turns out wonderfully! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Apple and Brown Sugar Corned Beef

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I liked this ... better than "traditional" corned beef and cabbage. I'll make it like this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Why is it then whenever I use Angel Hair pasta, it always balls up when trying to mix? I also found this to be lacking in taste somewhat (use more garlic, and I put a LOT of Romano cheese on it while eating). I may try again using fettuccini or something with a bit more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Oh so good! So glad to find a way to make tuna casserole but bypass the canned soups! Tasted waaaaay better (cleaner) than the canned soup version! LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom

Spinach, Sausage, and Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This is a good start but as written it lacks flavor. I believe it needs a full tsp of oregano, some garlic, S&P and some minced onions to reach its full potential. Thanks, Lauren
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by RockstarSue

Cocktail Meatballs III

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Sauce is great, but made with 2.5 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce and 2.5 teaspoons of Frank's Red Hot sauce. I also used 1.5 cups of dark brown sugar. Sauce was delicious and tangy. Also meatballs were flipped after 10 min each in oven. They needed more time than the recipe suggests. I had to keep checking meatballs and putting them back in oven..I also found that the meatballs did not cook properly. They need WAY more time than 10-15 min. I actually had to take the meatballs out after being already immersed in the sauce twice. I took them out, cooked them an additional 10 min and they were still pink in the middle. At that point, I put a half a cup of warm water in sauce and maybe 2 tbsps or so of Half and Half to sauce mixture (in hopes that sauce would boil more in crockpot cooking the meatballs). The warm water and half and half enhanced the flavor of the sauce even more, but did not help in cooking meatballs all the way through. Therefore, I ended up repeating 10 more minutes in the oven, but they were STILL pink in the middle. Finally, I took them out of the crockpot a third time, put them in the oven for 25 more minutes on 400 degrees. They cooked perfectly, so I put them back in the crockpot in sauce on low. I served them at a party, and not one meatball was left. The recipe was fantastic after a lot of "doctoring" which is why I gave it four stars, not five.. With my tweaking, the sauce was tangy and tasty. My eleven year old daughter LOVED these meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockstarSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States