Long Island - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quick Brown Rice and Mushroom Pilaf

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Loved this dish, super easy and the boys loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Basil Salmon

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
So amazing! Just loved it!! Used fresh basil, that is a must flavors were amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom

Grandma's Lemon Cauliflower Side Dish

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
We enjoyed cauliflower prepared this way. The chopped egg reminds me of how vegetables are served in Scandinavian countries. It took far more than 10 minutes for my cauliflower to get tender, closer to 20 but the rest of the recipe worked perfectly. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Guacamole-Style Quinoa

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Liked it as written, but loved it after adding 2 extra avocados, A 7 ounce can of green chilies, salt, pepper, Cumin and a little chili powder. Kicked it up a notch and made it more guacamole like!! Brought it to work with fresh tortilla chips and it was devoured!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This recipe always turns out wonderfully! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Apple and Brown Sugar Corned Beef

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I liked this ... better than "traditional" corned beef and cabbage. I'll make it like this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Why is it then whenever I use Angel Hair pasta, it always balls up when trying to mix? I also found this to be lacking in taste somewhat (use more garlic, and I put a LOT of Romano cheese on it while eating). I may try again using fettuccini or something with a bit more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Oh so good! So glad to find a way to make tuna casserole but bypass the canned soups! Tasted waaaaay better (cleaner) than the canned soup version! LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom

Spinach, Sausage, and Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This is a good start but as written it lacks flavor. I believe it needs a full tsp of oregano, some garlic, S&P and some minced onions to reach its full potential. Thanks, Lauren
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by RockstarSue

Cocktail Meatballs III

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Sauce is great, but made with 2.5 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce and 2.5 teaspoons of Frank's Red Hot sauce. I also used 1.5 cups of dark brown sugar. Sauce was delicious and tangy. Also meatballs were flipped after 10 min each in oven. They needed more time than the recipe suggests. I had to keep checking meatballs and putting them back in oven..I also found that the meatballs did not cook properly. They need WAY more time than 10-15 min. I actually had to take the meatballs out after being already immersed in the sauce twice. I took them out, cooked them an additional 10 min and they were still pink in the middle. At that point, I put a half a cup of warm water in sauce and maybe 2 tbsps or so of Half and Half to sauce mixture (in hopes that sauce would boil more in crockpot cooking the meatballs). The warm water and half and half enhanced the flavor of the sauce even more, but did not help in cooking meatballs all the way through. Therefore, I ended up repeating 10 more minutes in the oven, but they were STILL pink in the middle. Finally, I took them out of the crockpot a third time, put them in the oven for 25 more minutes on 400 degrees. They cooked perfectly, so I put them back in the crockpot in sauce on low. I served them at a party, and not one meatball was left. The recipe was fantastic after a lot of "doctoring" which is why I gave it four stars, not five.. With my tweaking, the sauce was tangy and tasty. My eleven year old daughter LOVED these meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockstarSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom

Roasted Sweets

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This is a nice change from my usual baked sweet potato. We all enjoyed it. Thanks, Erica B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom

Apple-Sage Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This reminds me of a dish from my favorite German restaurant, but possibly better. The spice blend is perfect. I was unsure about the allspice but it works. Thanks, Patty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom

Brussels Sprouts and Apricot Saute

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Since I was cooking for more than 1 child I decided to bake this. I scaled the recipe for 6 but only used 2 tbs of maple syrup and I baked it at 400F for 20 minutes. I think it could have used more apricots for the scaled version. I also think in the future I would shred the sprouts in the food processor. All in all, this is a good idea with a tasty result. Thanks, Shahana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom

Patty's Mashed Turnips

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Turnips retain a good amount of the water they boil in so I suggest mashing without adding anything, draining the released water and then adding the butter, just a bit of milk, S&P, and I like to also add a pinch of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Skillet Chicken Bulgogi

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I've made this twice now. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and I kept thinking something was missing. The second time I added about a tbs of minced ginger. Is it authenttic? Who cares - it's delicious and fairly quick to make a nutritious diner. Thanks, Daveparks4!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom

Best Date Squares Ever

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
The sugar could be reduced here. I made half the recipe in a 8x8 pan, yielding 16 squares. I think there is too much butter and not enough oats but it is a good starting point. Thanks, Suzanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Banana Pudding Poke Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I felt that the banana pudding fake banana taste overwhelmed the cake. Next time I'll use one vanilla and one banana pudding. I sliced one banana over the pudding, under the cool whip, and next time I'll add more. It was good the day we made it but soooooo much better the next day so I really would suggest making this in advance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Roasted Chicken Rub

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
We eat a great deal of chicken so I'm always looking for new ways to serve it. This rub is a very welcome addition to my repertoire. Couldn't find celery flakes, so I too used ground celery seed and I had no cayenne so I used passilla powder, which added an earthy note. I will continue to search out celery flakes (or make my own) and then make a jarful to keep on hand. Thanks, Semigourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Cheryl's Spinach Cheesy Pasta Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Followed recipe closely. Used penne instead of shells. Sprinkled garlic powder over each sauce layer. Added pepperoni slices which I cut in quarters. Soooooo yummy! Came out of pan when cut like lasagna (not spooned out). Really great and easy to make. Good weeknight yummy dinner!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Lamb L'Arabique

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Tomato and lamb seemed like an off combo to me but the recipe had so many positive ratings I decided to give it a go. Great decision! I made a few very minor changes to use what I had on hand. I used canned tomatoes with jalapeños in place of the Roma's and hot sauce and left out the lentils. I also did the whole thing in my cast iron Dutch Oven, stovetop and oven. My house smelled heavenly as it cooked and the taste was just as good, I served it with couscous. Thanks, Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States