Jamestown, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Very good. I thought it would need more lentils, so I used a whole bag. That made it a bit too thick, but was easy to thin out to right consistency by adding more low sodium chicken broth. I also threw in a couple of ham hocks for flavor. The next day, we had left over ham and I added that as well. Last tip - a couple of shakes of red pepper flakes adds a nice bite, if you likes things a little more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Fruit Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I had some candied fruitcake mix on hand, as well as some candied ginger and slivered almonds, so I used those instead of what the recipe calls for. I actually used about 1/4 cup more fruit in total, too. I like it. I think the ginger is an excellent addition. I'm not too fond of how hard and crusty the outside of the bread got, but I think if I had covered it right after it came out of the oven, it would have softened a lot more. I'm not sure if I'll use this particular recipe again, but I like the concept quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fantasy Divinity

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I made this candy or I should say I tried to make it. I cooked the sugar syrup 5 minutes and it still never firmed up. Not wanting to waste the ingredients, especially the pecans, I rolled the mixture into 1 inch balls, Refrigerated them and dipped them in melted chocolate bark. Yum! I've gotten rave reviews. There's more than one way to salvage a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Excellent! Great tasty moist pork chops! The sauce was awesome poured over rice! Sauce also great for dipping the cut pork chop slices! Will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duanku

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Monster Cookies II

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This recipe makes a lot of cookies and it's a good thing because they are amazing! My husband, my children and I all love these cookies. One thing that I strongly recommend is making sure you allow them to cool as instructed for a few minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack, they come off the cookie sheet easier if you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Kuckuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Bryan, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Zucchini Casserole I

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I liked this recipe. I used a small onion instead of a large one and I added another 1/2 cup of zucchini, for a total of 2 1/2 cups instead of 2 cups. I also didn't have garlic salt so I just used some Happy Salt ( a salt mixture with garlic and other spices) and a little pepper. Like someone else said, I didn't think it would be very flavorful, but it really was. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Kuckuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Bryan, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is an easy, very moist bread that is sure to please even the choosiest eater! After trying a slice of this bread, my husband told me to send it to our daughter who lives in Georgia. This recipe is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Kuckuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Bryan, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I change the servings from 10 to 200 and store in a large mason jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef, Mushroom and Guinness® Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Delish. I doubled the filling for a deep dish pie plate. Also used a store bought double pie crust, baking bottom crust before filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauteed Radishes

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was really good, I added a little tarragon and garlic just because it was in the main dish I was making, I paired them with broccoli... really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meganc1255

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Garlic Mashed Potatoes with Eggplant

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
These were pretty good, I really enjoyed having the eggplant in the potatoes. I had no idea what to expect and it gave it really sophisticated flavor. I think this is an awesome idea, works great if you want to sneak some veggies into dinner. If I made these again I would add milk and butter to make it creamy but as far as flavor goes I don't think it needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meganc1255

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Loved it! Added 1 cup of heavy cream, and 1/2 cup of Parmesan Cheese to the final skillet to give it the creamy texture I wanted. Also added sautéed mushrooms, onions, and used a cup and a half of the broth. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samslick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Texas Hot Wiener Sauce (Ulster County New York Style)

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Very good and even better if it sits for day in the refrigerator. If you don't like it spicy, scale back on the red pepper a bit. We thought it was going to be too hot, but found the spiciness just right, once on a hot dog with a roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy French Toast

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Yum. This recipe is delish! I used challah bread and cut the pieces into french toast sticks instead of slices. I feel the sticks cook through better and are crispier than whole slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Mongolian Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Yum. Not one bite left on anyone's plate. Ate the chops right down to the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The REAL Long Island Iced Tea

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Yep! That's it. Pure and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duanku

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by samslick

Baked Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I loved this recipe I did not have chili powder so I used bar-b-que seasoning and red pepper flakes and they were great. Fall off the bone tender. One word to the wise use aluminum foil. What a mess my baking sheet is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samslick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I wish there were more stars here! I am tired of soupy lasagna, and that's what I get everywhere I go! I hate it! However, I am DEFINATELY NOT a cook. But I love REAL, FIRM lasagna, and that's what I got here. For someone like me that can't cook, even this turned out great for me! After making it, I said "Wow! I am a cook!" haha! However, it was NOT MY recipe! I just followed the instructions (very easy, btw) and it turned out to be EXACTLY the way I like it!! Thx so much for your contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duanku

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I must say, this is a great recipe!Just now finished eating it! Nothing like what I thought it would be like! The crumbs fell off the top when I tried turning it over. It wasn't as crispy as I had expected it to be. However, I am NOT blaming anyone except for myself on that being that I definately AM NOT a cook! I just like to try out some easy, tasty, recipes! Thx so much! I WILL be trying this again! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duanku

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crumble Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This had been my got apple pie recipe for years. I follow recipe to a T and have never had any problems. Key to good pie is good apples sliced thin. I have a peeler corer slicer which does all the work! I also use recipe to make apple pie tarts. I increase recipe to serve 12 then divide in to the tart forms. Awesome! Great for bake sales or when individual servings needed and want a change from cupcakes or brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Degnan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 93) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States