Ithaca, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
excellent as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zippy Summer Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Great choice if you're not in the mood for scampi!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This was very delish.... I added 1/2 tsp of Itl. seasoning and 8oz. sliced mushrooms as well as 2 chooped green onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This was so so so good. I added diced garlic..ohhhh we had no leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Mmm...meatloaf! So yummy and comforting. I added ketchup and mustard to both the meat mixture and the top of the loaf because that's the way my mom makes it. If you have a family, I'd consider doubling the recipe so you have some leftovers. It's hard to be a grilled meatloaf sandwich ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Russian Tea Cakes I

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for! I made my dough and then chilled it overnight. The next day, I let it warm up some, cut it into portioned squares, rolled them into balls, re-chilled them for 15 minutes and then baked them. I rolled them in sugar when warm. I carefully used a fork to avoid breaking them. They took a lot more sugar than stated. Definitely a keeper! Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Broccoli

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I give this three stars as written -- although I skipped the brown sugar, substituting a tiny bit of honey instead, I found the sweetness distracting, and detracting from the good broccoli flavor. (I also had to leave out the cayenne and black pepper, due to allergies.) Otherwise, I think this recipe is a keeper, four- or five stars even. Next time, I will omit any sweetener, substitute lemon zest for lemon juice (darned allergies), and proceed with the garlic powder, thyme, and oregano. A great way to prepare broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parchment Baked Salmon

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Wow! Just when I was despairing that my salmon filet would spoil in the fridge, or that the luscious fresh basil I brought back from my Mom's lat weekend would get thrown away (as usual) because I kept it too long, I stumbled upon this amazing recipe. The only modifications I made were length of cooking time (20 minutes, based on other reviews), no pepper (allergy), and lemon zest instead of lemon juice (allergy). Oh yeah, and I sprinkled a tiny bit of garlic powder on it. Freshly minced garlic would probably be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicago-Style Pan Pizza

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
My husband made this for dinner tonight. It was delicious! We keep kosher, so we made one substitution: tofurkey in place of the Italian sausage. The texture of tofurkey is different from that of Italian sausage, but that isn't so evident in the pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Holmdel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sophie's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
DELICIOUS! I used frozen, shredded zucchini that had been thawed and excess water squeezed out, added 1 tsp extra cinnamon, then baked the batter as muffins at 375 for 15 minutes. PERFECT! Fluffy, moist, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Real Hummus

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Very tasty and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Pudding

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Easy recipe, very good pudding. A good recipe to keep in your back pocket since most have all these ingredients at any given time. I read the bad reviews and saw many were complaining that it'd burnt, disliked its foamy texture, etc, which all scream 'user error,' not the recipe. A few mentioned it not setting up, but I followed this recipe exactly using 2% milk, refrigerated it for 2 hours in serving-size small bowls, and it set up perfectly smooth, creamy, and exactly as pudding should. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This cake was light and delicious. I used a smaller pan (instead of the sheet cake pan) so you do have to cook it longer. As others suggested, I used a lemon cake mix and then lemon pudding for the frosting. I used fresh lemon juice and put some lemon zest in the frosting. As a topping i put blueberries and strawberries. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill
Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Surprise Muffins

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
[Modified from ange82's review]: (1) Grease and FLOUR muffin tins. (2) 350F for 20min. (3) Add 1/2 tsp cinnamon and vanilla. If you don't have liners, flouring the tins is way cheaper and just as good! Everyone raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam Nemati

Healthier Basic Crepes

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
After adding an extra 1/2 cup milk, these were truly delightful, healthy crepes! The original recipe makes a batter that's too dense. (A side thought: "Whole Wheat Crepes" would have been a much better recipe title.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot and Tangy Broccoli Beef

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Pretty bland, even with a ton more fresh ginger and fresh garlic. Next time I'll add a several tablespoons of each. Plus a teaspoon of hot chili paste. I also added Chinese cabbage and carrots for color and texture. When I ate it, I pour on more soy sauce and it was decent. Smelled great cooking & is a good base recipe to adjust to your taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Chickpeas

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
LOVE this! I used this recipe as a base and then altered it with additions from Cholay and Chickpea Curry on this site, mostly for more spices. This is so good, I could eat it every week. The leftovers became even more delicious too! Yay for leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shahi Paneer

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was my first attempt at making Indian food at home. I got impatient with my Paneer by Amibould & didn't end up frying it. It fell apart a little and didn't have that nice texture on the outside- totally my fault. I fried the (uncooked) leftovers the next day and they turned out better. Also, I think I'll chop my onions instead of slicing them because they were a bit stringy/messy to eat, like noodles. I might look for a spicier recipe or just up the spices on this one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Naan

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Really good, but a little lengthy to make. There were really chewy when reheated, but I kind of like a little fight from my food when I'm not eating meat! I just piled on the leftovers & that helped to soften them a bit. I'll probably experiment with keeping the raw dough in the fridge & cooking them off later in the week as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Perfect Palak Paneer

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I made a couple of substitutions for what I had on hand. I used the Paneer recipe by Amibould instead of ricotta, and I didn't have sour cream so I used regular cream. This is soooooooooooo good! Leftovers got yummier with age too. Ate it over Naan by Mic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States