Ithaca, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sourdough Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
How do you make a cake recipe more moist? Add apple puree/sauce! So I pureed 1 green apple and used 1 1/4 c buttermilk, 1 cup shortening, and 3/4 c cocoa. Bake just until knifes comes out moderately clean. FABULOUS. WOA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I LOVE balsamic, but did not like this. It tastes better cold than warm. I plan to re-purpose the leftovers into something more palatable. Maybe pork fried rice or Cuban sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Impossibly Easy Breakfast Bake (Crowd Size)

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
may add crumbled bacon next time, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Unsteamed Shrimp

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
very good, ate it plain but could easily be over noodles or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carolyn Creneti

Nut Rolls

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is exactly what I want out of a nut roll! I find that some other nut rolls can be too dry or not have enough filling - these are perfect! Just the right amount of sweetness. I halved the recipe and made 3 rolls and I just added vanilla, but not the cinnamon. I used some of the other reviewer's tips and rolled the dough out to 8x12 rectangles and used about 1 and 1/4 cup of the dough and 1 and 1/2 cup of the filling for each one. Mine were done in about 25 minutes - definitely a good idea to rotate them in the oven half way through baking. The bottoms got a little dark, but I took a grater and got enough of it off that you couldn't even tell! Took them to Thanksgiving dinner and they were the first things to be eaten all up - everyone loved them and some people even asked for the recipe! I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Creneti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Adel's Red Wine Steak Marinade

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Ditch the lemon juice for more Worcestershire sauce! Use olive oil instead of boring canola! And don't worry about coriander if you don't have any. Friends were complementing these fabulous steaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Popovers

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
the baking temp is too low and time too short! Bake at 450F for 20min, then at 350F for 20min. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Stuffed Potato Pancakes

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was really good. I cooked the meat ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amatriciana

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Simple, easy dish, and works just fine as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Delicious soup, even written just as-is. Spicy sausage is killer in this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
excellent as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zippy Summer Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Great choice if you're not in the mood for scampi!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This was very delish.... I added 1/2 tsp of Itl. seasoning and 8oz. sliced mushrooms as well as 2 chooped green onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This was so so so good. I added diced garlic..ohhhh we had no leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

Easy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Mmm...meatloaf! So yummy and comforting. I added ketchup and mustard to both the meat mixture and the top of the loaf because that's the way my mom makes it. If you have a family, I'd consider doubling the recipe so you have some leftovers. It's hard to be a grilled meatloaf sandwich ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Russian Tea Cakes I

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for! I made my dough and then chilled it overnight. The next day, I let it warm up some, cut it into portioned squares, rolled them into balls, re-chilled them for 15 minutes and then baked them. I rolled them in sugar when warm. I carefully used a fork to avoid breaking them. They took a lot more sugar than stated. Definitely a keeper! Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Broccoli

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I give this three stars as written -- although I skipped the brown sugar, substituting a tiny bit of honey instead, I found the sweetness distracting, and detracting from the good broccoli flavor. (I also had to leave out the cayenne and black pepper, due to allergies.) Otherwise, I think this recipe is a keeper, four- or five stars even. Next time, I will omit any sweetener, substitute lemon zest for lemon juice (darned allergies), and proceed with the garlic powder, thyme, and oregano. A great way to prepare broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parchment Baked Salmon

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Wow! Just when I was despairing that my salmon filet would spoil in the fridge, or that the luscious fresh basil I brought back from my Mom's lat weekend would get thrown away (as usual) because I kept it too long, I stumbled upon this amazing recipe. The only modifications I made were length of cooking time (20 minutes, based on other reviews), no pepper (allergy), and lemon zest instead of lemon juice (allergy). Oh yeah, and I sprinkled a tiny bit of garlic powder on it. Freshly minced garlic would probably be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicago-Style Pan Pizza

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
My husband made this for dinner tonight. It was delicious! We keep kosher, so we made one substitution: tofurkey in place of the Italian sausage. The texture of tofurkey is different from that of Italian sausage, but that isn't so evident in the pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Holmdel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States