Huntington, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

High Temperature Eye-of-Round Roast

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
As a precursor: we like our meat medium-rare, and we have a family member who is especially picky about that. Also, we used a 2.5lb eye round roast that was even in diameter along the entire length. Our oven is electric and very well insulated, so it holds it's heat well. I combined the advice of some of the reviewers and did the following: 1. Used Gravy Master to cover the roast, then added plenty of garlic salt and ground pepper to make a nice spice crust. 2. Placed the roast in a roasting pan and put it in a 500 degree oven, lowered the temperature to 475 degrees and cooked it for 7 min/lb x 2.5 lb = 18 min. 3. Did NOT open the oven and lowered the temperature to 200 degrees (which our oven may not have even gotten down to). Left the roast in for 20 min/lb x 2.5 lb = 50 minutes. 4. Removed the roast and let it sit for 10 minutes before carving. Results: the roast was medium to medium-rare but closer to medium, with a nice medium-pink hue throughout the length of the roast. We all prefer it a little darker pink but regardless, the meat was incredibly tender. The tenderness was what you'd expect of medium-rare and it was even more moist than you'd expect for medium-rare by any other cooking method we've tried, so overall it was VERY enjoyable. This is definitely the only way I'll cook roast beef from now on! Future modifications: I would like to get it closer to medium-rare, so I will lower the time of 20 min/lb at 200 degrees to 12-15 min/lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Morning Glory Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
These were great! I did make a few changes: I used half brown sugar & half white sugar, added a little less than 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, and reduced the baking soda to 1-3/4 tsp and added 1/4 tsp of baking powder. I, also, left out the raisins, coconut and nuts, because I didn't have them in the house. I left the skin on the apple, since it was being grated (most of the nutrients are in the skin). The end result was delicious. Even my husband who doesn't like carrots liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blonde Brownies I

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Breakfast Sausage

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was very good. I did use fresh sage, and probably tripled the amount. I, also, added some maple syrup & crushed red pepper. After seasoning, I let the ground turkey sit in the refrigerator for several hours before cooking. I put a little vegetable oil in the pan and had the temp on med-high, so that the sausage got a little caramelized. It really tasted like sausage. My husband and I were so surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta With Tuna Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I probably tripled most of the spices, added a roasted yellow pepper, fresh basil, salt & pepper. I, also, used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, but I used more than one can's worth of tomatoes. I par cooked a package of whole wheat spaghetti, and then added it, along with approx. 2 cups of the starchy pasta water, to the sauce. I cooked until the pasta absorbed most of the sauce. Before I added more spices, this was very bland and tasted mostly like canned tuna. After, it was ok for a quick & cheap meal, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts Pierre

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Delicious! As some other reviewers suggested, I added white wine & onion. I served it when we had family over for dinner. Served over white rice, with a side of peas. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Yakitori

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was delicious! I made almost as the recipe stated. My husband and I are not big lemon fans, so I reduced the amount of lemon juice. I did not have green onions, but I added some thinly sliced onions to the marinade. Also, we didn't feel like getting the grill set up for this little amount of meat, so I cooked it in a frying pan. After the meat was cooked (we like our steak medium), I removed the steak & set aside on a plate. Then, I added a little more oil, to the pan, and some already cooked brown rice. Then, I added sweet soy sauce, a little more ginger, sesame seeds and frozen peas. Once the peas were cooked (just a few minutes), I added the steak back to the pan. We had a one pan hit! My husband & I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME

Mexican Cucumber and Carrot Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Experimenting with some new cuke recipes with the TONS of fresh from the garden beauties we've gotten so far this summer... This was an interesting mix of flavors, not the best but not the worst either. Only change I made was regular vs. baby carrots. Wondering how it might be different/better with lemon juice instead....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Plum Blueberry Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This was delicious! I made a few revisions....I used salted butter instead of margarine and omitted the salt. I added about 1/2 a package of vanilla instant pudding mix and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the flour mixture. I used almond extract instead of vanilla. Also, I had to bake about 15 minutes longer than the recipe said, but that may just be my oven. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe, and it turned out perfectly and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME

Asian Beef Skewers

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Wonderful blend of flavors! Followed the recipe exactly, except for substituting red onions for green, since that's what I had. I marinated the meat all day, and grilled the meat with mushrooms and onions in the evening. Perfect blend of sweet and spicy!! Will make again and again...!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Basil Tomato Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I tried this recipe (with a few modifications) last night, & my husband & I loved it! The rolls were moist and flavorful. I read a review that had a hard time getting the dough to rise. I used a tried & true method that I was taught when I 1st started baking bread - it hasn't failed me yet! I combined the yeast & warm water, as well as 1 tsp of the sugar. I let that sit until there was a thick layer of foam on top (about 10 mins). Then, I proceeded with the directions in the recipe. I did add dried parsley & cracked pepper to the dough. I, also, used Unbleached White Whole Wheat Flour. I was making these to accompany a salad with grilled salmon & only had enough tomatoes for the salad, so I used a 12oz can of diced tomatoes for the sauce. I used fresh basil instead of dried & probably a bit more than the recipe called for. Also added parsley and a pinch of sugar. I did not add the additional tomato sauce as the recipe called for. Once I stuffed the rolls with the sauce, I topped with a blend of shredded Italian Cheeses. The results were great! Before this, my husband's favorite bread that I made was sundried tomato pesto bread sticks. Next time, he wants me to try to combine the 2 ideas & kneed the sundried tomato pesto into this dough & make everything else as I wrote above. I'm sure it will be great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME

Foil-Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Good flavor, but I think the recipe might have called for too much cornstarch, as the sauce came out sort of clumpy! I'll use half the amount next time. Otherwise, a good mix of flavors. I used diced chicken breast rather than thighs, but otherwise stuck to the recipe exactly. Served over white rice... The Hoisin sauce makes all the difference-- Don't leave it out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Wildfire BBQ Beef on Buns

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Quick, easy, and honestly, just about as full of flavor as most beef barbeque with double or triple the ingredients/prep time! I used a smoke-flavored barbeque sauce and added red and green peppers the last hour. Cooked on low for 8 hrs. Leave the lid open to absorb extra liquid the last half hour. Leftovers should be just as good tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Tortilla Espanola (Spanish Tortilla)

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
So many years after living a year abroad in Spain, nothing stands out more in mind like the comfort of a well-made tortilla espanola. We enjoyed this for breakfast this morning, scaled back for just two people, with 4 eggs, two large potatoes, half an onion, and a dash of salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Keep it simple, use plenty of olive oil, and cross your fingers for good luck when turning it over and you can't go wrong!! Buen provecho!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Tasty Sesame Tilapia

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Great mix of flavors, and so easy!! I used light soy sauce, added a toasted sesame/ginger spice mix, and substituted honey for the sugar, but kept close to the original recipe otherwise. Served with coconut-ginger rice and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Baby Spinach Omelet

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Loved it!! No changes, except switched feta for parmesan cheese, and left out the salt. The pinch of nutmeg was an interesting addition!! Great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Crazy Chicken Marinade Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
My husband and I both thought that the lime was way to overpowering. I used the marinade on both grilled chicken breasts and steak. I used the meat to top a salad for dinner. We used an avocado ranch dressing which drowned out some of the lime taste. So, overall the salad was very good, but we would not have enjoyed the meat on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Yum!!!!! Just like most reviewers said this is a great marinade. I used Hidden Valley lite ranch and fresh rosemary is a must. Next time I will omit the salt and halve the olive oil. Marinating for 30 minutes yields very moist, tender and flavorful chicken. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA
Photo by VALISME

Apple and Brown Sugar Corned Beef

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Mmmmmmmmmmmm!! Not a big fan of "traditional" corned beef and cabbage, so this was an interesting idea to try. I halved the recipe, changed apple cider for juice, added three cut apples, left out the onions and used the regular potatoes I had on hand vs. red. Reading other reviews, I decided to wait 'til the last hr. to add the chopped cabbage, so it still had good taste/texture. The sweet/salty flavor mix was wonderful, and this is how we're eating corned beef and cabbage from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Shrimp Francesca

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Just okay. I was expecting more from all the positive reviews. Not enough sauce, bread crumbs were a little soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States