Huntington, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by VALISME

Curried Chicken and Brown Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Good mix of flavors. Used four fresh roma tomatoes, and also cooked regular brown rice separately, then mixed it with the other ingredients. Added peas for color. Quick and easy for a cooler winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Moroccan Chicken Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Saw this recipe in a magazine and knew it would make a quick, easy, cold night comfort food!! Used chicken breasts, doubled the spices, switched vidalia for red onions, and only had regular raisins, but stayed pretty much on track otherwise. Served over rice... Mmmmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Laura's Unbelievable Chicken and Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Good, hearty meal... Cut calories using no-fat cream cheese, switched to low sodium broth and added Italian seasoning, garlic and onion powder for extra flavor. Canned Italian style tomatoes might have added a bit more flavor than the regular style I used, but all in all a nice choice for a quick, easy and filling dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Wish I could give this more stars it was that good!!! Delicious and super easy to make-I can't wait to try the different suggested variations!!! YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMomof3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: West Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME

Simply Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
A good, basic recipe. Added extra onion and garlic powder for more flavor. Served over fettuccini with mushroom sauce and a sprinkle of mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Teriyaki Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Savory mix for potatoes! I've never made a recipe like this in the microwave, and thought they might turn out soggy/mushy, but worked out fine! I did put them in the oven to bake and crisp up a bit for about 5-10 minutes... Excellent busy night side!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Such an easy, tasty way to prepare salmon!! I cut the brown sugar in half and added several tbs. of honey and added a sesame seed/ginger Asian spice blend to the marinade, which was full flavor in the two hours I kept in in the fridge. Baked for 20 min. in a 400 degree oven and it came out perfect! Served w/ teriyaki potatoes, also on this site!! Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Easiest Teriyaki Marinade Ever

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is an AMAZING marinade!! Just used it to marinate two pieces of fish. Kept the recipe as is, marinated for only an hour in the 'fridge, and baked the two filets at 400 degrees for 30 min. Tender and tasty, and full of flavor. Can only imagine how EXTRA flavorful a good cut of steak or chicken breast would be using this and grilling over the open flame... Can't wait to give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Cocktail Meatballs

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These were very good. I had ground beef in freezer bags in the freezer, so I don't know exactly how much I used, but I'm guessing 2+ pounds. Then, I used 1 bottle of Heinz Chili Sauce and (1) 14 oz can of cranberry sauce. I didn't measure the other ingredients (just eye-balled it), but I could definitely still taste the tartness of the cranberries, more in the aftertaste than the actual bite. I like cranberries, but my husband doesn't (and neither do a lot of our guests). Since everyone likes sweet party meatballs, I tried adding just a little more brown sugar, and it took the tartness away. The other thing that I changed was the cooking time. After cooking in the crockpot on high for 1 hour, the onions in the meatballs still had a slight crunch. I added another 1-1/2 hours to the crockpot, and they came out moist and delicious. There weren't many leftovers, but my husband and I made little sandwiches with Hawaiian bread, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gingerbread Boy Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I was making gingerbread cookies for my class, so I decided to try this recipe (because I've never been a big gingerbread fan, but I like a softer cookie). I did double the spices as others suggested, and I added some nutmeg and cloves. The kids loved them (said I was the best teacher ever), and my husband said that they were by far the best gingerbread cookie he's ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
So delicious and creamy, and very easy to lower fat and calories w/ non-fat sour cream, and lighter margarine. Great comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Barbecued Turkey Sandwiches

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I also did this in the crock pot... Mixed ketchup w/ chili sauce for more zing, exchanged honey for the sugar, and combined several different mustard varieties (honey, brown, and dijon) and added extra onions to the meat and slow cooked for about 6-7 hrs. Added chopped green peppers the last half hour for color. Great blend... not too sweet, just the perfect TANG! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Curried Cauliflower

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Great blend of flavors, so easy to make!! I added extra curry and cut mayo down to 1/2 cup. Makes a ton of sauce... Great over chicken breasts for a quick, tasty meal. Next time I might add some peas and carrots to the cauliflower for more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Campbell's Kitchen Chicken Broccoli Divan

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Quick, easy, and just the thing for a cool fall night when you need some comfort food! I "cheesed it up" by using nacho cheese soup, used dry bread crumbs minus the butter, added just a sprinkle of shredded cheddar cheese on top of the finished product. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Thirty Minute Meal

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I had an ENORMOUS cabbage, so only used half, and used 1 can tomato soup, (low salt) 1 can tomato sauce and one can undrained diced tomatoes. Kept fat down w/ 90% lean sirloin ground beef with lots of garlic, extra onions and onion powder, Italian seasoning, 2 tb. of brown sugar, and a dash of Worcestshire sauce. Loved the sweet, tangy flavor and the thick, soupy consistency. Great for a chilly, fall day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Mary's Healthier Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Great recipe for a LAZY cook like me!! I also switched to a bag of frozen shredded hash browns, added about 1/2 c. of diced onions, and might have slightly cancelled out the non-fat cottage cheese and sour cream by adding about 1/4 c. parm. cheese. Took longer to bake, approx. 40 min. Added a sprinkle of paprika for flavor/color. Great quickie side!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Grilled Zucchini Pizza

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
These were great! I did make a few changes....I didn't feel like starting up the grill for these only, so I lined a baking sheet with foil and put a cooling rack on top of the foil. I dipped the zucchini in the garlic butter (both sides) and laid on top of the cooling rack. Then, I made sure to put the little pieces of garlic on each slice. I put my oven on broil (high) and let them cook for a few minutes and then flipped them. I did not have any tomato sauce in the house, but I did have tomatoes. So, I thinly sliced a tomato and topped each slice of zucchini with one. Then, I returned to the oven for a few minutes. Next, I topped with a turkey pepperoni and then mozzarella cheese and returned to the oven until the cheese go bubbly. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Strata

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
It was great, but heavy. I used asparagus - big, chunky asparagus. They held up well. I also covered it with tin foil for the first 1/2 hour to keep it moist and help it to puff up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME

Oatmeal Date Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Great, low fat breakfast/snack treat. A bit on the dry side, though very flavorful. I also skipped the added sugar w/ the dates and cut back by close to a half on the brown sugar, and added a sprinkle of cinnamon. Might add some apple sauce next time for additional moisture/flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Honey Soy Tilapia

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Just so easy and flavorful!! I used rice wine vinegar instead of balsamic but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Marinated about 6 hrs. in the fridges and the flavors blended together so well... What a wonderful light, easy way to enjoy fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States