Huntington, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by VALISME

Curried Mango Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is the BEST meal I've cooked in a long time, on or off this site!! Had all the ingredients on hand, my only substitution/addition was 2-3 TB of curry powder for the curry paste and a can of lite coconut milk as suggested by others. What a WONDERFUL, fragrant blend of flavors, and quick and easy way to make a better than restaurant dinner!!! YUM...!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Eileen's Meatloaf

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Scaled down to 1/2 the portion size,used half non fat sour cream/half nf ranch dressing, and used plain bread crumbs w/Italian seasoning, but otherwise stayed true to original recipe. LOVED the blend of flavors... much more ZIP than plain old meatloaf!! Added my "special zip" glaze of 1/4 cup ketchup, 1/4 cup cocktail sauce over uncovered loaf for the last 15 minutes... Mmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Fettuccine with Sweet Pepper-Cayenne Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This was delicious, but I made several modifications. I used a 16 oz package of pasta and added baked chicken, 1/2 an onion and mushrooms, and then doubled the sauce. I used a lot less cayenne pepper than the recipe called for. First, in a saute pan, I melted butter in a little olive oil. Then, I sauteed the peppers and onions until very tender (longer than 5 minutes). I removed them from the pan and put them in a blender, along with some of the chicken broth. I pureed this until it was smooth and added a couple of tbsp of cream. Meanwhile, I added sliced mushrooms to the pan with the garlic. Then, I returned the sauce to the pan, added the sour cream, cayenne pepper, and Parmesan cheese. Because of other reviews saying that the sauce was runny, I added the broth slowly but wound up using all of it. I added the cooked pasta to the sauce and let it simmer for a few minutes to soak up some of the sauce. The result was a creamy, delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
MUCH too much mayo, as I doubled the recipe and still barely used half of what was recommended, but otherwise, a great blend of flavors!! Added frozen peas for color/texture, and had a scoop on top of my spinach salad today for lunch... Mmmmmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This is great - and easy. I beat the egg whites separately and fold them into the batter. I made this as cupcakes and baked them for 20- 15 minutes. Watch them closely to be sure you don't over-cook. The middle will sink - fill it with ice cream and serve hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon-Curry Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I loved the curry/cinnamon blend. Nice way to spruce up plain old tuna. Added peas for color and enjoyed a scoop on my salad for lunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Orange Ginger Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Liked it, but not my absolute favorite. Only change I made was using canned mandarin oranges. Might try again with solid white tuna... May help with the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Ratatouille Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Wonderful!! I added mushrooms, hot turkey sausage, extra garlic, yellow squash along with the zucchini, and Italian seasoning instead of the basil. So easy and flavorful!! As we have some dairy issues here, I made half of the recipe as written with cheese ravioli and put the other half over pasta for a great alternative to regular tomato sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
These were so easy and great tasting! I was out of all-purpose flour, so I subbed self-rising. Because of this, I used less than a teaspoon of baking powder. I increased the sugar slightly. I used salted butter instead of shortening, so I, also, omitted the salt. After I mixed the wet and dry ingredients, the batter seemed a little thick, so a added another splash of milk. The final result was light, fluffy, and delicious pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME

Curried Chicken and Brown Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Good mix of flavors. Used four fresh roma tomatoes, and also cooked regular brown rice separately, then mixed it with the other ingredients. Added peas for color. Quick and easy for a cooler winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Moroccan Chicken Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Saw this recipe in a magazine and knew it would make a quick, easy, cold night comfort food!! Used chicken breasts, doubled the spices, switched vidalia for red onions, and only had regular raisins, but stayed pretty much on track otherwise. Served over rice... Mmmmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Laura's Unbelievable Chicken and Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Good, hearty meal... Cut calories using no-fat cream cheese, switched to low sodium broth and added Italian seasoning, garlic and onion powder for extra flavor. Canned Italian style tomatoes might have added a bit more flavor than the regular style I used, but all in all a nice choice for a quick, easy and filling dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Wish I could give this more stars it was that good!!! Delicious and super easy to make-I can't wait to try the different suggested variations!!! YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMomof3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: West Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME

Simply Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
A good, basic recipe. Added extra onion and garlic powder for more flavor. Served over fettuccini with mushroom sauce and a sprinkle of mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Teriyaki Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Savory mix for potatoes! I've never made a recipe like this in the microwave, and thought they might turn out soggy/mushy, but worked out fine! I did put them in the oven to bake and crisp up a bit for about 5-10 minutes... Excellent busy night side!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Such an easy, tasty way to prepare salmon!! I cut the brown sugar in half and added several tbs. of honey and added a sesame seed/ginger Asian spice blend to the marinade, which was full flavor in the two hours I kept in in the fridge. Baked for 20 min. in a 400 degree oven and it came out perfect! Served w/ teriyaki potatoes, also on this site!! Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Easiest Teriyaki Marinade Ever

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is an AMAZING marinade!! Just used it to marinate two pieces of fish. Kept the recipe as is, marinated for only an hour in the 'fridge, and baked the two filets at 400 degrees for 30 min. Tender and tasty, and full of flavor. Can only imagine how EXTRA flavorful a good cut of steak or chicken breast would be using this and grilling over the open flame... Can't wait to give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Cocktail Meatballs

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These were very good. I had ground beef in freezer bags in the freezer, so I don't know exactly how much I used, but I'm guessing 2+ pounds. Then, I used 1 bottle of Heinz Chili Sauce and (1) 14 oz can of cranberry sauce. I didn't measure the other ingredients (just eye-balled it), but I could definitely still taste the tartness of the cranberries, more in the aftertaste than the actual bite. I like cranberries, but my husband doesn't (and neither do a lot of our guests). Since everyone likes sweet party meatballs, I tried adding just a little more brown sugar, and it took the tartness away. The other thing that I changed was the cooking time. After cooking in the crockpot on high for 1 hour, the onions in the meatballs still had a slight crunch. I added another 1-1/2 hours to the crockpot, and they came out moist and delicious. There weren't many leftovers, but my husband and I made little sandwiches with Hawaiian bread, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gingerbread Boy Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I was making gingerbread cookies for my class, so I decided to try this recipe (because I've never been a big gingerbread fan, but I like a softer cookie). I did double the spices as others suggested, and I added some nutmeg and cloves. The kids loved them (said I was the best teacher ever), and my husband said that they were by far the best gingerbread cookie he's ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
So delicious and creamy, and very easy to lower fat and calories w/ non-fat sour cream, and lighter margarine. Great comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States