Huntington, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by VALISME

Potato Lasagna

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Lots of potential. I thought I'd beat the odds and NOT need to pre-cook the potatoes if I sliced them thin enough, but even after 45min. in the oven, they were not quite fully cooked. Tons of potential here, it's a great tasting, hardy veggie dish. Added extra spices (onion powder, italian spices...) and some parm/romano cheese to the mix added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I cut this in half, replaced 1 cup of water with 1 cup of red wine. Added a bay leaf, coated the beef in flour with a dash of salt and pepper before browning. Used parsnips instead of potatoes, added frozen peas at the end of the cooking around 30 minutes of cooking to go. Added garlic. with these changes this recipe came out great, I just think you need wine in beef stew, maybe it's because I lived in France for a year! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrissyintheKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Photo by ChrissyintheKitchen

Very Simple Spelt Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Added 2 tablespoons of honey, 2 tablespoons of lecithin, used vanilla Almond Milk, 1/2 cup flax seeds. I blended the, molasses, honey, lecithin in a small amount of milk in my Blendtec blender, so it was really blended well before I added it to the spelt flour. I used 5 cups of spelt flour and 3 cups of sprouted spelt flour. SO EASY and DELICIOUS, A+ to the author!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrissyintheKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

Marvelous Millet

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
We had this tonight, I added a little salt to mine but it was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrissyintheKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

Delicious Vegan Hot Chocolate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrissyintheKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

Vegan Multigrain Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrissyintheKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

Fantastic Flax Eggs or Chia Eggs!

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Lecithin gives these eggs a yolk! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrissyintheKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

Kale and Adzuki Beans

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Great recipe! This is the 4th time I'm making it in a span of 2 months! It's easy and delicious. I used frozen spinach instead. Still yummy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrissyintheKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I don't eat meat, so I have no instinct for cooking it. I made these for my family and they loved it. Really simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I never expected to like these - cakey pumpkin cookies?! They're delicious, esp with the frosting. My family loves them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Foolproof and deeeeeelicious. Plan ahead - you'll need to use at least 6-8 bananas. I added some vanilla, nutmeg, cinnamon. My kids loved it. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME

Guilt-Free Apple Cobbler

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
So easy!! This lighter, sweet/tangy treat feels like cheating... Feels like I spent way more time preparing it AND that I'm breaking my diet eating it!! Didn't have soy milk, but skim worked fine, and wish I checked how many apples I had (only 3 large) before I started, but all in all, a GREAT pre-holiday treat!! Mmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
My family *loves* this recipe as a special (yes, very high-fat) meal. I can't find tandoori masala. I just mix some curry powder and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Apple Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Great flavor, and love the added touch of the apples!! Added shredded carrot for extra color/flavor/texture. I was out of onion, so added onion powder/flakes, which I prefer any way for a smoother tuna salad!! Went well atop my salad for lunch @ work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

California Italian Wedding Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I love this recipe. It's easy, quick and delicious. My kids love it. Great mid-week dinner. I serve with Italiano bread and a green salad. Love the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Curry Burgers

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I also upped the curry a bit and cut the onion and garlic in half. I made sliders and they were sooo good on little onion rolls with a dollop of mango chutney to bring out the flavor! Certainly more interesting than a plain burger!! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Spinach, Sausage and Cheese Bake

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I used low fat chicken sausage, leftover spaghetti sauce from an earlier meal, non-fat cottage cheese and just one package of spinach. I think the texture would have been better with ricotta cheese. Good on its own, leftovers even better over pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Easy Zucchini Bake with Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I made this the other night with some of my suuuper huge zucchini, with mostly successful results. I think I cut the slices too thick, so they were a bit "al dente," which was fine with me but not universally "well received..." I decided to go more pseudo-Italian style vs. Mexican, so I spiced up the turkey with plenty of garlic, chopped onion and Italian seasoning, left out the corn, and sprinkled a part-skim mozzarella blend on top, rather than the Mx. cheese blend. Quick, easy, and with some quick fixes, a healthy hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Beet Greens and Green Beans with Tomato and Onion

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I made this exactly as written and loved it. What a great combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME

Indian Style Chicken with Apples

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I liked it, and will definitely give it a second chance, since I think I goofed it up by using a suuuper salty chicken boullion (didn't have chicken broth) and too much curry powder (didn't have curry paste). This recipe has TONS of potential-- Loved the curry/cinnamon/apple mix. Non fat Greek yogurt added a perfect consistency without the fat. Plan on making it again soon and KNOW it'll be at/near a five star meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States