Huntington, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I don't eat meat, so I have no instinct for cooking it. I made these for my family and they loved it. Really simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I never expected to like these - cakey pumpkin cookies?! They're delicious, esp with the frosting. My family loves them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Foolproof and deeeeeelicious. Plan ahead - you'll need to use at least 6-8 bananas. I added some vanilla, nutmeg, cinnamon. My kids loved it. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME

Guilt-Free Apple Cobbler

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
So easy!! This lighter, sweet/tangy treat feels like cheating... Feels like I spent way more time preparing it AND that I'm breaking my diet eating it!! Didn't have soy milk, but skim worked fine, and wish I checked how many apples I had (only 3 large) before I started, but all in all, a GREAT pre-holiday treat!! Mmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
My family *loves* this recipe as a special (yes, very high-fat) meal. I can't find tandoori masala. I just mix some curry powder and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Apple Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Great flavor, and love the added touch of the apples!! Added shredded carrot for extra color/flavor/texture. I was out of onion, so added onion powder/flakes, which I prefer any way for a smoother tuna salad!! Went well atop my salad for lunch @ work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

California Italian Wedding Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I love this recipe. It's easy, quick and delicious. My kids love it. Great mid-week dinner. I serve with Italiano bread and a green salad. Love the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Curry Burgers

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I also upped the curry a bit and cut the onion and garlic in half. I made sliders and they were sooo good on little onion rolls with a dollop of mango chutney to bring out the flavor! Certainly more interesting than a plain burger!! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Spinach, Sausage and Cheese Bake

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I used low fat chicken sausage, leftover spaghetti sauce from an earlier meal, non-fat cottage cheese and just one package of spinach. I think the texture would have been better with ricotta cheese. Good on its own, leftovers even better over pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Easy Zucchini Bake with Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I made this the other night with some of my suuuper huge zucchini, with mostly successful results. I think I cut the slices too thick, so they were a bit "al dente," which was fine with me but not universally "well received..." I decided to go more pseudo-Italian style vs. Mexican, so I spiced up the turkey with plenty of garlic, chopped onion and Italian seasoning, left out the corn, and sprinkled a part-skim mozzarella blend on top, rather than the Mx. cheese blend. Quick, easy, and with some quick fixes, a healthy hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Beet Greens and Green Beans with Tomato and Onion

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I made this exactly as written and loved it. What a great combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME

Indian Style Chicken with Apples

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I liked it, and will definitely give it a second chance, since I think I goofed it up by using a suuuper salty chicken boullion (didn't have chicken broth) and too much curry powder (didn't have curry paste). This recipe has TONS of potential-- Loved the curry/cinnamon/apple mix. Non fat Greek yogurt added a perfect consistency without the fat. Plan on making it again soon and KNOW it'll be at/near a five star meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Best Ever Kabob Marinade

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Simple, easy and flavorful blend! Marinated chicken breast, sirloin, and veggies for approx. 6 hrs. Left proportions as is, but might add more chili sauce next time for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Krystal's Perfect Marinade for BBQ or Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Can't go wrong with a tangy, tasty marinade like this!! I misread the recipe and just used sesame oil, but liked the added flavor boost on our veggie and beef kebabs!! Marinated for 4-5 hrs. and the flavor was outstanding...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Curried Mango Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is the BEST meal I've cooked in a long time, on or off this site!! Had all the ingredients on hand, my only substitution/addition was 2-3 TB of curry powder for the curry paste and a can of lite coconut milk as suggested by others. What a WONDERFUL, fragrant blend of flavors, and quick and easy way to make a better than restaurant dinner!!! YUM...!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Photo by VALISME

Eileen's Meatloaf

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Scaled down to 1/2 the portion size,used half non fat sour cream/half nf ranch dressing, and used plain bread crumbs w/Italian seasoning, but otherwise stayed true to original recipe. LOVED the blend of flavors... much more ZIP than plain old meatloaf!! Added my "special zip" glaze of 1/4 cup ketchup, 1/4 cup cocktail sauce over uncovered loaf for the last 15 minutes... Mmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Fettuccine with Sweet Pepper-Cayenne Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This was delicious, but I made several modifications. I used a 16 oz package of pasta and added baked chicken, 1/2 an onion and mushrooms, and then doubled the sauce. I used a lot less cayenne pepper than the recipe called for. First, in a saute pan, I melted butter in a little olive oil. Then, I sauteed the peppers and onions until very tender (longer than 5 minutes). I removed them from the pan and put them in a blender, along with some of the chicken broth. I pureed this until it was smooth and added a couple of tbsp of cream. Meanwhile, I added sliced mushrooms to the pan with the garlic. Then, I returned the sauce to the pan, added the sour cream, cayenne pepper, and Parmesan cheese. Because of other reviews saying that the sauce was runny, I added the broth slowly but wound up using all of it. I added the cooked pasta to the sauce and let it simmer for a few minutes to soak up some of the sauce. The result was a creamy, delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
MUCH too much mayo, as I doubled the recipe and still barely used half of what was recommended, but otherwise, a great blend of flavors!! Added frozen peas for color/texture, and had a scoop on top of my spinach salad today for lunch... Mmmmmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This is great - and easy. I beat the egg whites separately and fold them into the batter. I made this as cupcakes and baked them for 20- 15 minutes. Watch them closely to be sure you don't over-cook. The middle will sink - fill it with ice cream and serve hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon-Curry Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I loved the curry/cinnamon blend. Nice way to spruce up plain old tuna. Added peas for color and enjoyed a scoop on my salad for lunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States