Elmira, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I've made this recipe, exactly as it is writeen, for our annual Christmas morning breakfast with all of the family for the last several years and it is always a hit. Everyone looks forward to it because it is the only time that I make it. The only thing I've had to do over the years is double the recipe and bake in a big foil pan as the size of our family has grown!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA

Ornament Dough

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I added 1 Tablespoon of oil and kneaded them really well before rolling them out. I rolled them to about 1/4 inch and they cooked great in 30 minutes! They didn't puff up and hardened up nicely! I sprayed them with a clear coat before painting then painted them and applied another clear coat and they are beautiful! The kids had tons of fun making these! I also made large thick (Over an inch) hearts with their hand-prints and the year on them for a keepsake (not an ornament) and baked them at 250 degrees for 2 hours and they were perfect as well... Definitely keeping this easy recipe around for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Favorite Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
OMG This is the BEST Peanut Butter Cookie Recipe I have EVER made! I followed the recipe EXACTLY only reducing the cook time to 11 minutes and they were PERFECT! Thank you so much, I'm mixing up another batch right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I followed the advice of others and substituted 3/4Cup of brown sugar for the white sugar and didn't have any issue with the the texture of the cookies being like cardboard but I also don't pack my flour, I make sure it's nice and fluffy when measured off, and level it with a knife. I make nice thick 1/4 inch cookies so they're softer. I cut 3 of them real thin and they were crunchy and hard, so definitely make sure you roll them out to a decent thickness... I definitely agree with other reviewers that they weren't necessarily "spicy" like the title says. I will make these again and try doubling the spices like another reviewer suggested. After making them again I will modify my review. Definitely like this recipe and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Soft Christmas Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Followed the advice of other reviewers and used 3 cups of flour, 1 cup of granulated sugar and 1 cup of confectioners sugar. These cookies were not very "sweet" like sugar cookies I've made in the past and probably will not be using this recipe again next year...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Sugar Cookie Icing

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and had to add 2 extra Tablespoons of milk for it to be a frosting consistency. The end product hardened up nice to be able to stack the cookies. Before we frosted the cookies I almost threw it away because we didn't like the taste, but it tasted pretty good on the cookies when they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Turkey Carcass Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I always make recipes EXACTLY before rating them, but in this case I didn't have the carcus just the Turkey meat. So the only difference that I made is that I used half water and half chicken stock and added my cut up turkey and followed the rest of the recipe to a T and it was amazing! The family RAVED about it! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Cola Pot Roast II

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This recipe is DELICIOUS! I cooked it as is but added sliced mushrooms and served it with baked potatoes and my whole family was more than impressed! Definitely a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Homemade Four Cheese Ravioli

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This was a great recipe! The dough was amazing and I followed the recipe exactly as written but added spinach to the cheese filling! I sautéed up some mushrooms, onions, peppers and Italian chicken sausage to serve with it and my whole family raved over it! Definitely a new favorite in my house, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

White Chocolate Pound Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
My family absolutely loved this cake! I added an extra 1/2 cup of sour cream because I saw a few reviews saying that it was dry but this cake was far from dry! We also added strawberries and it almost tasted like strawberry shortcake. It was to die for and we will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Photo by Janmarie1964

Grilled Cod

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Absolutely delicious....my husband and I gobbled this right up! I buy a lot of cod and love to grill so I'll be making this recipe many more times. I followed the recipe exactly as far as the ingredients list, but did cut down on the Cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA

Blueberry Zucchini Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Really good and moist! I only changed olive oil to canola oil and halved oil using applesauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsymonds

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA
Photo by Janmarie1964

Giant Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My first giant cookie and it turned out wonderful! As others have mentioned, this cookie does spread so I did follow their advice and did not spread to the edge of the pan. I did, however, follow the recipe exactly except for walnuts. I decorated with store-bought frosting because I was very short on time. Next time, I will make my own though. The cookie was very moist and delicious....tasted better than the mall cookies for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA

Black Bean Avocado Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Pure deliciousness! I made this exactly as the recipe calls for and I wouldn't change a thing about it. It is perfect for tortilla chips and it would be amazing on grilled fish or chicken. I'm going wrap up some scrambled eggs and this salsa in a tortilla tomorrow morning for my breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Photo by Janmarie1964

Tiramisu Layer Cake

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This cake received rave reviews from my family on Easter Sunday. I made primarily for my tiramisu loving Mom and she just went on and on about it. I made the recipe as written but did add a cake extender recipe because I wanted thicker layers. This was a surprisingly light cake and the whipped cream frosting held up just great. I made the cake a day ahead which I thought helped the flavor. It also traveled well as it is a 40 minute trip to my Mom's house. The cake didn't shift at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA

Garlic Bread Spread

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I had been looking for a great garlic butter spread recipe and this is definitely the one. I did make some minor adjustments/additions. I didn't have all the herbs, so instead I substituted 1 tsp. Italian Seasoning, and some times for an added bit of cheese, I sprinkle 1 cup shredded mozzarella over the bread before placing in the oven! My family and I absolutely love this as a compliment to any Italian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ric Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Cameron Mills, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
It was okay as written. The cabbage was way to overpowering! The broth was very acidic also. Next time I'll make some modifications, but it made over 8 quarts of soup so I'm gonna test out new modifications right from what I have. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Papas Rellenas (Fried Stuffed Potatoes)

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
My wife said these came out great better than the ones from Porto's in Glendale. I added extra salt to the potatoes and semi-froze the meat in mini muffin pans then put two meat blobs together and covered in potato. Then rolled in egg and bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

Ground Beef with Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Very tasty. I added a can of Ro-Tel tomatoes and cut back on the water a bit. I found it a little bit spicy but my husband and daughter both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I grow my own peppers and receive peppers from friends so I plan to make a lot. It is great!, Maybe I could sell some to Tania :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States