Corning, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Lemon Square Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
First time making them, Have to say I added a whole cup of lemon juice which gave them a nice lemon flavor. the only other thing I would do different is add a bit of Lemon zest to really set them off. all in all great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Hutcheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornell, New York, USA
Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This was the lightest, fluffiest frosting I have ever eaten. Not too sweet. I used this for cupcakes for a friend's wedding and it got rave reviews! I took the advice of another reviewer and beat the flour mixture in for about 15 minutes on high in my KitchenAid. Turned out beautiful! For optimum flavor you really should make it the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami Austin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nanaimo Bars III

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Pretty good. In the Betty Crocker cookie book they are called Fudge Meltaways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Johnson's Scones

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Made these as a test run for my youngest's Tea Party Birthday. Followed the directions exactly but divided the dough and made 1/2 plain and 1/2 with dried blueberries. They were delicious! My daughter loved them too (she's almost 4) and gave her seal of approval. I plan to make these into 2.5 inch rounds with a biscuit cutter in blueberry and chocolate chip for her friends to have with their 'tea' at her party. Thanks for a new favorite go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRUCIFER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I found this to be a solid 4 star recipe. Batch # 1 had me thinking it didn't need the frosting- the brownies were perfectly, mouth-wateringly fudgy and delicious, (I baked them for about 23 minutes & they seemed the perfect chewy consistency) It didn't SEEM like there was a need for frosting, and the frosting was too clumpy to adequately spread, so I just kind of lopped it on there the best I could. HOWEVER, there were nowhere near 16 servings. I could barely cut them into 8 fair slices for guests, so I made Batch #2, and omitted the frosting. I baked batch #2 for the full 25 minutes, and they came out much more cake-like and less tasty (to me) and I didn't have time to do the frosting, which these definitely needed. So, my recommendation is- under-cook them just slightly, and use the frosting, even if it is a bit unsightly. I found myself going back to Batch #1 and having to slap my own hands not to eat all of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA

Orange Pork

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I would give five stars, but I changed it a little bit. Brown sugar instead of white. I also made it with fresh honey from our friends beehive. Both are excellent for sweetness. I browned mine without oil and used the fat from the chops for the oil. I did as another suggested and used the juice from mandarin oranges instead of water. I added a large chunk of dried ginger and 1/4 cup of dried cranberries and let the mixture marinate on keep warm on my stove for about 45 minutes. This gave the flavors a chance to penetrate the meat, I drained off about 1/3 cup of sauce and added the cornstarch. I love that allrecipes gives a great base for starting recipes. great on any type of rice. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Ive made this a couple times now. It's always a hit. I follow the directions to the letter with one exception, DARK cocoa powder. Turns out amazing! I rationalize and say that I am getting the benefit of the antioxidants....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRUCIFER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Dough III

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I never have a problem with this recipe. Not sure what all the negative complaints are about. Only 1 major thing I change. . . the temp that it is baked at. My son worked for a big pizza bakery and the always bake at 500 degrees. I bake at 500 for 8 minutes then 8 minutes at 350. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Oh So Spicy Kielbasa

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This recipe was such a big hit with my family. I made it last night and they LOVED IT! Now the only thing I did that was a little different was that I used about a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and caramelized the pineapple, then added the BBQ and other ingredients to the pineapple, simmered sauce and then added it to the Kielbasa that I had started to cook in a larger frying pan.... Was sweet yet the after effects you could feel the Heat, served over white rice and was a homerun with family, Thank You for the Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Hutcheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornell, New York, USA
Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
So simple. Flavor would vary widely I guess depending on the boullion used. I used 3 tbsp better than boullion, and 1 cube of knorr vegetable boullion. Used 10 cups water, and added a cup each of celery and carrots, a quartered clove of garlic and some parsley at the end. Used broken angel hair pasta and chicken breasts. Very tasty, and super easy and quick. Great easy, basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA

Grandma's Harvard Beets

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Recipe is very good. I use fresh beets or ones that I canned from last summer. The only thing I do different is I add a little bit of cinnamon. That was my mom's favorite way of making them. the rest of the recipe is the same as my MOMS. Her 93rd birthday is today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Caramel Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Loved it! Excellent recipe! Served over jasmine rice. Made as directed, didn't really "caramelize" but nonetheless delicious and easy to make. I might double the sauce next time to have some extra to serve over the rice. The jalapeño peppers added the spicy kick that we love. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Sandwich Buns

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Best easy recipe out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Popcorn

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Great super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Grandkids liked them, but DH did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kim's Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is my family's favorite macaroni salad - we love our food with a kick and this recipe is great! I use the jarred Old El Paso jalapeño peppers instead of fresh. Sometimes I add a little celery too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa, Beet, and Arugula Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I just made this recipe today and found it absolutely delicious! I am rating it 5 stars even though I used less oil and vinegar to try and be more calorie conscious (1/3 cup of each) because I think it would have been equally tasty exactly as written. I used fresh beets, and only 1 1/4 cups water when cooking the quinoa as that was the package directions. Thanks for sharing and I will definitely make this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Crescent Rolls

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Excellent recipe! I did not change a thing. My family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aw-some Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Thank you! I cheated and used two 1 lb packages of a pre-shredded cabbage & carrot mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brett Nordman
Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States