Astoria, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Very tasty and very simple. I served it on tortillas with avocado salad with bacon and sour cream. Also on this site. I think I will use the leftovers tonight to make cuban sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Alfredo Sauce III

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Eventhough I tempered the eggs as suggested by others it was very lumpy. The flavor was good but the end result looked very unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I decided to try this recipe after seeing all the amazing reviews, but was admittedly a little nervous of the few bad ones. I have to jump on the bandwagon and say that this is by far the best chocolate chip oatmeal cookie recipe I've tried in a long time. I stayed almost completely true to how it's written, though I did omit the walnuts and add a dash of cinnamon. I found that cooking for 13-14 minutes and leaving on the sheet for 3-4 minutes after removing from the oven provided the most ideal crunchy-on-the-inside but soft-on-the-inside texture. I highly recommend giving these a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Sauce Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
The sauce was a little too thin for our liking. I think the next time I try this I will use half the amount of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Prime Rib

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Good recipe. However 140 degrees was definately too rare for my taste ...I had to cook it a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Christmas Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Very good recipe. I am not baker and this was very simple to do with my young daughter. I also used almond extract because that was all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This recipe is so forgiving it's scary. To start off, I went into this without having any butter on hand (I substituted it with filling a 1/3c measuring cup just over halfway with vegetable oil, then filling up the remainder of the cup with 2% milk). Then I realized that of the three bananas I had on hand, one had gone very bad (not just mushy) and had to be chucked (so I only used two med-large bananas in the recipe). Thirdly, while mixing, I realized I only had 1/4 cup of white sugar in the house, so I substituted the remainder with packed dark brown sugar. I'm normally not this awful in the kitchen, I swear. To top it ALL off, I must have been in such a panic over all this subbing/deletion of items, that I absentmindedly added the 1/3 c of packed brown sugar meant for the streusel topping TO THE MIX ITSELF. I guess whats sadder is I didn't realize it until just before I pulled the muffins out of the oven. Given all this, I'm surprised I ended up with what I did - gorgeous, spongey-soft muffins chock full of flavor. The only thing that didn't taste good was the streusel, seeing as it was basically just flour, cinnamon, and margarine, but that's by no means ANYONE'S fault but mine, hah. I'm sure that with the brown sugar added to the RIGHT part of the recipe, it could make grown men cry. In summation, if you've been counting, that's FOUR prep blunders/substitutions, and these still came out amazing. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Great staple recipe, but I decided to have a bit of fun with it. First, I substituted 2 cups of heavy cream for both half/half and condensed milk. Used spicy sausage instead of bacon and added extra ingredients throughout slow cooking time. I added chopped carrots, MUSHROOMS and frozen spinach. The mushrooms were not in my originally cooked soup, but realized how ideal of an addition it would make to this recipe. Add fresh bread to dip and shredded cheese to melt. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rempel Family Meatloaf

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very flavorful, moist meatloaf. I substituted ground turkey for ground beef, and it still came out great. Not dried out at all. I highly recommend this for a quick, easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato, Broccoli and Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
It was okay but a little bland for my taste. My husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Mexican Spinach Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Excellent dip! It was a huge sucess at a recent party I hosted. I omitted the olives because I didn't have them and used less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Uncooked Banana Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This did not taste quite as I remembered but the kids did enjoy it, so I would definately make it again. Infact a friend asked me to make it for her son's 2nd birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yakisoba Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very good recipe nice taste. I added zucchini to have some extra veggies and some five spice powder. I couldn't find the noodles so I used whole wheat liguini which worked well. I will definately make this recipe again for my husband. Next time i may add shitake mushrooms and napa cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herbed Lentils and Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This is one of my favorite recipes on this site - it's absolutely foolproof. Also a great "base" for adding other things to. I've never made it with the cheese, but am still a huge fan. I make it regularly, and substitute the chicken broth with a bouillon cube, omit the thyme (never have it on hand) and use fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Probably the best cheesecake I've ever made. I always had a problem with overbeating it. Read the first review and definitely put in the extra effort to mix it with a wooden spoon after creaming the sugar and cream cheese. I baked this on thanksgiving day for a post thanksgiving dinner the following day. Put it in the oven an hour before I had to leave for dinner, turned it off and left the house with the cake in the oven so I wouldn't be tempted to open it. Great recipe, will try it with other flavors (orange/chocolate).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I've made this soup countless times and it turns out amazing each and every time! I made just a few modifications. 1) I cooked the chicken separately (with crushed garlic in the water), shredded then added it to the soup in step 2. 2) I replaced oregano with cumin. 3) I love spice so I added a 1/4 tbs of a habanero; seeds removed and finely cut. If you choose to do this please wash your hands thoroughly after handling. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

Shrimp Lemon Pepper Linguini

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
So Good! This is one of my all time favorites. There is a little too much pepper for anyone who doesn't like spicy flavoring (everything is too spicy for me!), and next time, I will definitely add some capers for extra flavor. But - excellent!! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzeGibson
Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mashed Potato, Rutabaga, and Parsnip Casserole with Caramelized Onions

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Made this for christmas last year and it was delicious! Everyone loved it and it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Really good and easy, made it with a smaller roast since there's just 2 of us, but did have enough for left over. Only change I made was I added 3/4 cup of red wine and then a little water, so good, added carrots and potato's. Made lots of gravey which I saved to put on rice the next day. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This is one of the best chocolate chip cookie recipes ever. I've always been plagued with the issue of cookies spreading out or being too buttery/crisp, but no problems with this one. I halved the recipe and brought it into work - everyone who came in would grab one whenever they walked by (one coworker said, "I both love and hate whoever made these"). I followed the recipe exactly, and used french vanilla instant pudding (thought about trying out butterscotch but decided to play it safe for this first batch). Used slightly less in the way of chocolate chunks and walnuts (proportionate to halving the recipe), and they still turned out incredibly rich and tasty. The best way I can describe these cookies (that doesn't seem entirely appropriate) is "store bought" - that is, they have that substance and that chewy fullness that I've only previously experienced in store bought. However, the taste is far superior, and you actually know what youre putting in them. I also found them to actually taste better the following morning after I baked them (kept them out in a ziploc bag overnight). These would be AMAZING with a glass of milk or with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-91 (of 91) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States