Astoria, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Gold Fever Chicken Wing Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
very tasty. Easy and very good on bbq chicken wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
It was okay but was a little bland for me. Recipe was very simple to follow but I feel it was missing something. i may add some mushrooms and seasonings if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Cuban Midnight (Medianoche) Sandwich

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
awesome...I don't think I came up for air!!!! I used leftover roast pork from the night before and it was great way to use it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado Salad with Bacon and Sour Cream

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Delicious and so simple. I served it with soft pork tacos, but it so delicious on it's own. I wish I would of doubled the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Very tasty and very simple. I served it on tortillas with avocado salad with bacon and sour cream. Also on this site. I think I will use the leftovers tonight to make cuban sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Alfredo Sauce III

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Eventhough I tempered the eggs as suggested by others it was very lumpy. The flavor was good but the end result looked very unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I decided to try this recipe after seeing all the amazing reviews, but was admittedly a little nervous of the few bad ones. I have to jump on the bandwagon and say that this is by far the best chocolate chip oatmeal cookie recipe I've tried in a long time. I stayed almost completely true to how it's written, though I did omit the walnuts and add a dash of cinnamon. I found that cooking for 13-14 minutes and leaving on the sheet for 3-4 minutes after removing from the oven provided the most ideal crunchy-on-the-inside but soft-on-the-inside texture. I highly recommend giving these a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Sauce Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
The sauce was a little too thin for our liking. I think the next time I try this I will use half the amount of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Prime Rib

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Good recipe. However 140 degrees was definately too rare for my taste ...I had to cook it a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Christmas Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Very good recipe. I am not baker and this was very simple to do with my young daughter. I also used almond extract because that was all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This recipe is so forgiving it's scary. To start off, I went into this without having any butter on hand (I substituted it with filling a 1/3c measuring cup just over halfway with vegetable oil, then filling up the remainder of the cup with 2% milk). Then I realized that of the three bananas I had on hand, one had gone very bad (not just mushy) and had to be chucked (so I only used two med-large bananas in the recipe). Thirdly, while mixing, I realized I only had 1/4 cup of white sugar in the house, so I substituted the remainder with packed dark brown sugar. I'm normally not this awful in the kitchen, I swear. To top it ALL off, I must have been in such a panic over all this subbing/deletion of items, that I absentmindedly added the 1/3 c of packed brown sugar meant for the streusel topping TO THE MIX ITSELF. I guess whats sadder is I didn't realize it until just before I pulled the muffins out of the oven. Given all this, I'm surprised I ended up with what I did - gorgeous, spongey-soft muffins chock full of flavor. The only thing that didn't taste good was the streusel, seeing as it was basically just flour, cinnamon, and margarine, but that's by no means ANYONE'S fault but mine, hah. I'm sure that with the brown sugar added to the RIGHT part of the recipe, it could make grown men cry. In summation, if you've been counting, that's FOUR prep blunders/substitutions, and these still came out amazing. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Great staple recipe, but I decided to have a bit of fun with it. First, I substituted 2 cups of heavy cream for both half/half and condensed milk. Used spicy sausage instead of bacon and added extra ingredients throughout slow cooking time. I added chopped carrots, MUSHROOMS and frozen spinach. The mushrooms were not in my originally cooked soup, but realized how ideal of an addition it would make to this recipe. Add fresh bread to dip and shredded cheese to melt. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

Rempel Family Meatloaf

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very flavorful, moist meatloaf. I substituted ground turkey for ground beef, and it still came out great. Not dried out at all. I highly recommend this for a quick, easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato, Broccoli and Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
It was okay but a little bland for my taste. My husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Mexican Spinach Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Excellent dip! It was a huge sucess at a recent party I hosted. I omitted the olives because I didn't have them and used less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Uncooked Banana Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This did not taste quite as I remembered but the kids did enjoy it, so I would definately make it again. Infact a friend asked me to make it for her son's 2nd birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yakisoba Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very good recipe nice taste. I added zucchini to have some extra veggies and some five spice powder. I couldn't find the noodles so I used whole wheat liguini which worked well. I will definately make this recipe again for my husband. Next time i may add shitake mushrooms and napa cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herbed Lentils and Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This is one of my favorite recipes on this site - it's absolutely foolproof. Also a great "base" for adding other things to. I've never made it with the cheese, but am still a huge fan. I make it regularly, and substitute the chicken broth with a bouillon cube, omit the thyme (never have it on hand) and use fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Probably the best cheesecake I've ever made. I always had a problem with overbeating it. Read the first review and definitely put in the extra effort to mix it with a wooden spoon after creaming the sugar and cream cheese. I baked this on thanksgiving day for a post thanksgiving dinner the following day. Put it in the oven an hour before I had to leave for dinner, turned it off and left the house with the cake in the oven so I wouldn't be tempted to open it. Great recipe, will try it with other flavors (orange/chocolate).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I've made this soup countless times and it turns out amazing each and every time! I made just a few modifications. 1) I cooked the chicken separately (with crushed garlic in the water), shredded then added it to the soup in step 2. 2) I replaced oregano with cumin. 3) I love spice so I added a 1/4 tbs of a habanero; seeds removed and finely cut. If you choose to do this please wash your hands thoroughly after handling. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia Duque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

Displaying results 81-91 (of 91) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States