Astoria, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Bacon and Cheddar Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
These were out of this world, and I'm not even a bacon kind of girl! I doubled(ish) the recipe to 21 pieces (I bought two packages and had a surplus of large caps) - used six slices of bacon, fried them up and drained them, then used a portion of the leftover bacon fat to fry up a small finely diced shallot (instead of onion). Used part stems, but mostly chopped up caps for the filling. After I mixed it all up in a bowl with the cheddar cheese, it seemed (to be honest) kind of heavy and unappetizing - so I took three slices of bread, chopped them up into small (1/4") cubes, threw them on a baking sheet and toasted them in the oven until mostly dried out, then threw them all in with the mix. Best idea ever!! It extends the quantity of filling, plus soaks up all the extra oils. Everyone who ate these loved them - I asked for opinions, and everyone was very shocked that the bread was an add-on on my part. I just imagine they would have been incredibly heavy without it. I'm definitely making these again...and again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Casserole I

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Oh my wow, this stuff is good. I changed a few things and thought it was perfect. Easily the best casserole I've ever made. I added about 1 tbsp. of mayo to the mixture, left out the chilies, and only used about 3/4 of the box of jiffy corn muffin mix. And instead of just plain cheddar cheese, I used the pizza blend with mozzarella and cheddar. Sooooo good, everyone loved it for Easter lunch! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdrienneClaire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This glaze is amazing! I used a tad more jam than called for, and added some pineapple juice to it. I also added cloves and pineapple rings to the ham. It was the first one I've ever done and everyone loved it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdrienneClaire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Light Oat Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I make this without the bread machine and it turns out great everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpeachtree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great recipe. I didn't have any dry white wine so substituted it with white grape juice like a few suggested but the grape juice flavor is way too powerful to use 1/2c. I also cut back on the mushrooms, definitely don't need THAT much but I totally eyeballed it. Also omitted the butter and salt. Didn't find it necessary to use salt with fresh Parmesan. Will definitely make this again...just really hard on the forearm with all the stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado and Tuna Tapas

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These were pretty wonderful - rather filling, and easy to make (I admit I thought I could polish off two halves stuffed with tuna, but could only go through one half at a time!). I doubled the recipe - used one whole pepper, and 5-6 green onions. A great, healthy midday snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raw Apple Pound Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Very good, made a little change, only 1 3/4 cups sugar, also added about 4 oz. of apple sauce that made it very moist. Served it with fresh whipped cream & it was delecious. Have shared recipe & it always goes over quite well. - A KEEPER for sure. MJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Very tasty, not to over powering with the ginger flavor, didn't add clover, added nutmeg instead & a small box of raisins. Melted some lemon curd for topping, oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whipped Cream

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
very easy and delicious. I used it for a pumpkin trifle that I made for Halloween weekend. it was big hit! Definately would make this over the canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Anything that my two year old ask for seconds gets five stars in my book! Made some changes due to what I had on hand. Used one can of cream of asparagus and one can of cream of chicken. I also used a little chicken broth for more liquid b/c I didn't precook the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by noturavergeprep

Fresh Apple Omelet

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
AH! We loved it! I did have to double the recipe simple because it wasn't going to be enough. Just be sure to slice your apples thinly otherwise they'll take longer to soften/cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Pie Pudding

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Delicious, Delicious, Delicious!! So easy too! I cooked on low for about 3 hours. I love anything pumpkin and this is great. Made if for Halloween in a trifle with fresh whipped cream and gingersnap cookies. Delicious!! I also used a larger can of pumpkin (29 oz) by accident but it came out terrific. Make the trifle a day ahead to let the flavors mingle together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pesto a la Lisa

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I added cherry tomatoes too. Definitely a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Poppers I

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
yummy! Easy to make. Panko crumbs also work instead of the chex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rice Flour Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
i added 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 tsp more salt. also 1 tsp of sugar helps to balance the flavor. 1/2 tsp. of baking powder. i added cinnamon too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherylBoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamaica, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rice Flour Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
i added 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 tsp more salt. also 1 tsp of sugar helps to balance the flavor. i added cinnamon too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherylBoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamaica, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This was a pretty good meal. It was a bit salty. I didn't have au jus so I used bouilion as someone suggested. Think I may use creeam of mushroom soup next time. even my 2 year old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

ANZAC Biscuits with Almonds

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I made these for my Australian husband and he loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKUNEKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Forest Hills, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pizza Sauce III

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I added a sprinkle of cayenne pepper and this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKUNEKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Forest Hills, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich-a-licious Sour Cream Pound Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This came out much tastier than I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKUNEKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Forest Hills, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 91) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States