Astoria, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Amish Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Delicious made it for christmas morning. Next time I would leave the pieces of bacon a little pit bigger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Pretty good recipe. I thought it would of been a bigger hit with my children. Definately good for Christmas morning, easy to prepare the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Balls II

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very good recipe and easy to follow. i don't consider myself a baker and found this to be very simple and delicious. Bringing to a cookie exchange tonight I will see what everybody else thinks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Nut Bread II

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Very tasty, easy bread to make, did a few changes. I doubled the recipe, hate to go thru all of that work for one loaf. Then I added and extra egg, and instead of the butter added 1/2 cup of vegtable oil, also added about a tablespoon of cinnamon, hey what is a holiday bread without cinnamon!!! I baked 4 loaves, 2 little ones and 2 bigger ones, perfect, delecious, pretty and great last minute gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kids Favorite Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I didnt really care for this and neither did my daughters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Perfect recipe as is. Of course the more experience you have, the easier it is to want and be able to change a recipe around. I've made this as is and it was great. I've also substituted 1C of sour cream with 1C of banana yogurt and added 1c of shredded coconut. I now make this in a bundt pan and sprinkling the bottom of the pan with cinnamon sugar for a slightly crisp top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan Fried Daikon Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These were so good! A wonderful answer to the weekly question of "How the heck do I cook THIS??" that my CSA prompts me to ask myself weekly. I came up just shy of the full 1-1/2 c of daikon, but didn't reduce the amounts of other ingredients. I subbed the red onions for green onion/scallions, and used WAY less oil (about 1/3 c). Served with sweet chili sauce. VERY tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reuben Dip

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
tasty. i had a little trouble finding cooked corned beef so I think I would used canned next time. I will also used a hollowed out pumpernickle bread for presentation next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bavarian Style Meatballs

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Prettty tasty. Made them for a potluck dinner and everyone enjoyed them. I had trouble finding bavarian style saurkraut so I used regular saurkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Delicious!! I had every kind of pepper but red (green/orange, yellow, even PURPLE!), but figured the premise would be the same so went with the green/orange (figured purple might be too odd looking, but I'm going to try it next time!). Instead of just using the pepper raw, I halved it lengthwise and broiled it, cut side down, until the skins began to char (approximately 5-7 minutes). Removed most of the skin, then added it to everything else. I omitted the extra water and used two HUGE cloves of fresh garlic. Didn't have tahini on hand, so I ground down some sesame seeds (just shy of a tbsp worth), and added a tsp of extra virgin olive oil. This recipe is wonderful, great with warm soy pita bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fettuccini al Fungi

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
read earlier reviews and added more cream cheese and pesto. Pretty good recipe I used it with fresh mushroom fettucini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pistachio English Toffee Ice Box Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Chicken *Veg* Meatballs

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Gives a nice spicy italian taste to meatballs! Sauce is optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA
Photo by Hillary

Ghirardelli Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake Hearts

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
My boyfriend had requested a Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake for his birthday. This came out delicious, but I did make the following changes: 1. I used 12 oz of cream cheese, after reading reviews that 4 oz was just not enough. 12 oz worked well. Very rich but very delish. 2. I used fresh raspberries (1pint). Made no difference when boiling them...had a very hard time getting the seeds out so I left them in. No one could tell. 3. I did not use all of the chocolate in the cheesecake. I tasted the batter after added about half and it was so rich I could not imagine what it would have been like if I added it all. Overall, very yummy. It's really not that cheesecakey though. and also, very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

Banana Cream Pie with Caramel Drizzle

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This is very simple, tasty, & always a hit. What I do a little differently is to use 1 box of vanilla pudding and one box of banana cream pudding, kind of gives it a more homemade banana flavor, & when you can find it use the vanilla flavor Cool Whip, enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon and Cheddar Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
These were out of this world, and I'm not even a bacon kind of girl! I doubled(ish) the recipe to 21 pieces (I bought two packages and had a surplus of large caps) - used six slices of bacon, fried them up and drained them, then used a portion of the leftover bacon fat to fry up a small finely diced shallot (instead of onion). Used part stems, but mostly chopped up caps for the filling. After I mixed it all up in a bowl with the cheddar cheese, it seemed (to be honest) kind of heavy and unappetizing - so I took three slices of bread, chopped them up into small (1/4") cubes, threw them on a baking sheet and toasted them in the oven until mostly dried out, then threw them all in with the mix. Best idea ever!! It extends the quantity of filling, plus soaks up all the extra oils. Everyone who ate these loved them - I asked for opinions, and everyone was very shocked that the bread was an add-on on my part. I just imagine they would have been incredibly heavy without it. I'm definitely making these again...and again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Casserole I

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Oh my wow, this stuff is good. I changed a few things and thought it was perfect. Easily the best casserole I've ever made. I added about 1 tbsp. of mayo to the mixture, left out the chilies, and only used about 3/4 of the box of jiffy corn muffin mix. And instead of just plain cheddar cheese, I used the pizza blend with mozzarella and cheddar. Sooooo good, everyone loved it for Easter lunch! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdrienneClaire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This glaze is amazing! I used a tad more jam than called for, and added some pineapple juice to it. I also added cloves and pineapple rings to the ham. It was the first one I've ever done and everyone loved it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdrienneClaire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Light Oat Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I make this without the bread machine and it turns out great everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpeachtree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great recipe. I didn't have any dry white wine so substituted it with white grape juice like a few suggested but the grape juice flavor is way too powerful to use 1/2c. I also cut back on the mushrooms, definitely don't need THAT much but I totally eyeballed it. Also omitted the butter and salt. Didn't find it necessary to use salt with fresh Parmesan. Will definitely make this again...just really hard on the forearm with all the stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 91) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States