Astoria, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Easy recipe to follow. This was my first time making risotto. I had fun with the recipe and just put the amount of mushrooms I liked and added zucchini (asparagus also a good add). I did not have shallots, but an onion is an onion, so I put in some scallions instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly (the only thing I omitted was the vanilla since I didn't have it, so I added an equal amount of water to keep the consistency right), but these turned out very oily and butter-flavored. The consistency was okay, it was a bit cake-like, which isn't a deal breaker for me, but they smelled and tasted exclusively of butter, which was incredibly unappetizing and distracting. Not sure what happened here, or what I did differently, but they were also a light-medium brown color, not the rich dark brown in most of the pictures. Sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I love this recipe. So easy and very delicious. Its easy to make many paddys and bring some to work. It doesn't even need condiments for a tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Tortellini Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Excellent, easy, delecious. But of cours I always tweek it a little bit. Instead of sliced olives I used chopped olives, they stick to the pasta in a really nice way, also added some green onions to it. Make sure you go easy on the salad dressing, and of course I used fresh baby spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Mongolian Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This turned out exceptional. Make sure you don't over cook. I tppk them off when my meat probe said 140 degrees. Followed recipe as is and a all that was left were the bones. Made it for six and all asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SteveNSac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Lemon Curd

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I just tried this for the first time tonight. This recipe is about to become big in my life. I agree with other reviewers that it is on the tart side, but that's how I like my lemon, especially if you are going to serve it with something sweet. Definitely strain it through a fine mesh sieve to catch the bits of cooked egg and lemon zest that doesn't feel so good in the mouth. Silky, smooth, and the butter gives it a great richness. I would never have believed it, but this recipe ROCKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Delicious made it for christmas morning. Next time I would leave the pieces of bacon a little pit bigger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Pretty good recipe. I thought it would of been a bigger hit with my children. Definately good for Christmas morning, easy to prepare the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Balls II

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very good recipe and easy to follow. i don't consider myself a baker and found this to be very simple and delicious. Bringing to a cookie exchange tonight I will see what everybody else thinks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Nut Bread II

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Very tasty, easy bread to make, did a few changes. I doubled the recipe, hate to go thru all of that work for one loaf. Then I added and extra egg, and instead of the butter added 1/2 cup of vegtable oil, also added about a tablespoon of cinnamon, hey what is a holiday bread without cinnamon!!! I baked 4 loaves, 2 little ones and 2 bigger ones, perfect, delecious, pretty and great last minute gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kids Favorite Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I didnt really care for this and neither did my daughters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Perfect recipe as is. Of course the more experience you have, the easier it is to want and be able to change a recipe around. I've made this as is and it was great. I've also substituted 1C of sour cream with 1C of banana yogurt and added 1c of shredded coconut. I now make this in a bundt pan and sprinkling the bottom of the pan with cinnamon sugar for a slightly crisp top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan Fried Daikon Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These were so good! A wonderful answer to the weekly question of "How the heck do I cook THIS??" that my CSA prompts me to ask myself weekly. I came up just shy of the full 1-1/2 c of daikon, but didn't reduce the amounts of other ingredients. I subbed the red onions for green onion/scallions, and used WAY less oil (about 1/3 c). Served with sweet chili sauce. VERY tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reuben Dip

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
tasty. i had a little trouble finding cooked corned beef so I think I would used canned next time. I will also used a hollowed out pumpernickle bread for presentation next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bavarian Style Meatballs

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Prettty tasty. Made them for a potluck dinner and everyone enjoyed them. I had trouble finding bavarian style saurkraut so I used regular saurkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Delicious!! I had every kind of pepper but red (green/orange, yellow, even PURPLE!), but figured the premise would be the same so went with the green/orange (figured purple might be too odd looking, but I'm going to try it next time!). Instead of just using the pepper raw, I halved it lengthwise and broiled it, cut side down, until the skins began to char (approximately 5-7 minutes). Removed most of the skin, then added it to everything else. I omitted the extra water and used two HUGE cloves of fresh garlic. Didn't have tahini on hand, so I ground down some sesame seeds (just shy of a tbsp worth), and added a tsp of extra virgin olive oil. This recipe is wonderful, great with warm soy pita bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fettuccini al Fungi

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
read earlier reviews and added more cream cheese and pesto. Pretty good recipe I used it with fresh mushroom fettucini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pistachio English Toffee Ice Box Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Chicken *Veg* Meatballs

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Gives a nice spicy italian taste to meatballs! Sauce is optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 91) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States