Astoria, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I make this so frequently that it's practically second nature at this point. The first time I told my boyfriend we were having this with dinner, he wasn't all that enthused. After eating it for the first time, he's totally hooked. This is a great recipe as-is, but it's also very flexible. This is a great recipe to use leftover or excess veggies in, I routinely get rid of excess mushrooms and green onions this way. Adding some parsley or oregano is good too. AND you can add leftover meats in the last few minutes of cooking to make it a meal, and add some variety to your leftovers. Great multi-purpose recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very good, but made the mistake of using "chicken for baking and frying" which happened to be on sale and contained many tiny bones. Avoid tiny bones at all costs. I didn't find it to be overly pungent. The only change I made was to add a few peppercorns per other user recommendations, didn't have any bay leaves to add at the time, but that sounds like a great idea too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Bulgogi

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Tried this for the first time tonight, very good. Even got the approval of the boyfriend who can be a little picky. Had it in lettuce wraps with rice. Don't have a grill, so I cooked it up in a skillet as a previous review suggested. One thing to note, if you cook it that way, you will need to scrape the pan between batches to keep the excess marinade from gunking up the pan too much, but totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Slow Cooker Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Neither the texture nor the flavor worked in my house. It was too dense and almost rubbery. The flavor was... aggressively bland. I didn't think it was overly bitter as some others have complained, but it definitely wasn't pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Great recipe but WAY TOO MUCH icing. Definitely half that part for the amount of cupcakes this recipe makes. So 1/2 (2) 8oz bars of butter 1 cup confectioners sugar 1 package of cream cheese Vanilla, you can keep the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Passover Matzo Lasagna

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This turned out great! I loved the cottage cheese and mozzarella combo and was thrilled (and a bit surprised) by how tender the matzo got. As a little bonus, I sauteed some spinach and garlic and added it on top of the cheese layers just to add a little vegetable. It was a hit, not only with my vegetarian seder guest, but with the whole crowd. I will definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Masala Chai Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
These tasted all right, but I was a bit disappointed in the lack of chai flavoring, I didn't taste it at all! Mostly it was just brownies with coconut in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Really loved it. Decided to do this after so many years of only knowing how to make pumpkin cheese cake for the holidays and I wanted to make a very non-traditional apple pie.....I increased the butter for the topping, by a teaspoon or so....other than that just really delicious and wholesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolanozz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato Pound Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
awesome pound cake! I like extra spice, so I added 2 tsp of cinnamon instead of 1, and 1/4 tsp of ground cloves. I also added 3/4 cup of ground walnuts. I'm lazy so for the glaze I used dulce de leche from a jar. My husband and daughter loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKUNEKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Forest Hills, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Easy recipe to follow. This was my first time making risotto. I had fun with the recipe and just put the amount of mushrooms I liked and added zucchini (asparagus also a good add). I did not have shallots, but an onion is an onion, so I put in some scallions instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly (the only thing I omitted was the vanilla since I didn't have it, so I added an equal amount of water to keep the consistency right), but these turned out very oily and butter-flavored. The consistency was okay, it was a bit cake-like, which isn't a deal breaker for me, but they smelled and tasted exclusively of butter, which was incredibly unappetizing and distracting. Not sure what happened here, or what I did differently, but they were also a light-medium brown color, not the rich dark brown in most of the pictures. Sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I love this recipe. So easy and very delicious. Its easy to make many paddys and bring some to work. It doesn't even need condiments for a tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Tortellini Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Excellent, easy, delecious. But of cours I always tweek it a little bit. Instead of sliced olives I used chopped olives, they stick to the pasta in a really nice way, also added some green onions to it. Make sure you go easy on the salad dressing, and of course I used fresh baby spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Mongolian Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This turned out exceptional. Make sure you don't over cook. I tppk them off when my meat probe said 140 degrees. Followed recipe as is and a all that was left were the bones. Made it for six and all asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SteveNSac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Lemon Curd

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I just tried this for the first time tonight. This recipe is about to become big in my life. I agree with other reviewers that it is on the tart side, but that's how I like my lemon, especially if you are going to serve it with something sweet. Definitely strain it through a fine mesh sieve to catch the bits of cooked egg and lemon zest that doesn't feel so good in the mouth. Silky, smooth, and the butter gives it a great richness. I would never have believed it, but this recipe ROCKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Delicious made it for christmas morning. Next time I would leave the pieces of bacon a little pit bigger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Pretty good recipe. I thought it would of been a bigger hit with my children. Definately good for Christmas morning, easy to prepare the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Balls II

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very good recipe and easy to follow. i don't consider myself a baker and found this to be very simple and delicious. Bringing to a cookie exchange tonight I will see what everybody else thinks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Nut Bread II

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Very tasty, easy bread to make, did a few changes. I doubled the recipe, hate to go thru all of that work for one loaf. Then I added and extra egg, and instead of the butter added 1/2 cup of vegtable oil, also added about a tablespoon of cinnamon, hey what is a holiday bread without cinnamon!!! I baked 4 loaves, 2 little ones and 2 bigger ones, perfect, delecious, pretty and great last minute gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 91) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States