Astoria, New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pesto Spaghetti Squash

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
A great and different way to eat veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarinaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Delicious and husband approved! Made just as written :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarinaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
We eat this way too often! You can make it with pretty much any beef, you can slice it as the recipe states, or if you're in a rush the pre-cut stuff for stir-fry works just as well. You can even use ground beef, though really cut back on the butter if you do. Very tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Caramel Pork Belly

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I've made this a couple times now, but am yet to get this to actually form a glaze. Next time I'm going to try a smaller pan, that should help significantly. Aside from not really being 'glazed' this pork belly is super tasty and incredibly tender. I definitely recommend it, just haven't been able to make it picture perfect in my own kitchen yet! If you have leftovers, be sure to remove the chilis before tossing it in the fridge. The boyfriend tossed them in with everything else last time I made it and I didn't realize he did that, it was much spicier the next day. I didn't mind it, but he would have, always remember that the longer you leave a chili in something, the spicier it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Love this, allows me to avoid the shame of buying the boxed stuff! Good as written, but I cut the celery salt in half, it overpowers everything otherwise. I also ran out of garlic salt ages ago, so I just double the garlic powder (which I use in place of minced garlic) and keep the salt at the recommended amount. If you do use garlic salt, I'd recommend cutting back on the regular salt. I've started cutting the oil back too, you definitely don't need that much to get it crispy. The full recipe makes a huge batch of the stuff. I cook for two and at this point I think we've established that 1/4 of the recipe is all you need for 1.5-2 lb of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I make these pretty regularly, whenever blueberries are on sale, really. Prior to finding this recipe, I wasn't really a fan of blueberries, and really just made them as a request from the boyfriend. But now, mmmmm, love them, even when they aren't in super delicious muffins. Made these for an event this weekend, along with Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins and both were a big hit. They were all gone by the end of the weekend, with rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
These are unbelievably tasty muffins. I brought these and some To Die For Blueberry Muffins with me this weekend for the green room of an event I staff, and they were both a big hit. The first person there who tried one stopped in the middle of a conversation he was having to state, "What you're saying is great, but the only thing that matters right now is how delicious this muffin is." The recipe makes roughly 24 small muffins, the event started Friday, and by Saturday afternoon there were only two left, and those were gone the next day. We only left them out during the mornings, so they went like hotcakes. I will definitely be bringing these to the green room next year, and plan on keeping them in my regular rotation as well. Possibly the greatest muffins of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
my family is from maryland but living in the midwest, it's impossible to find affordable lump crab meat. i added chopped jalapeños and an extra half cup of breadcrumbs, and while isn't not crab meat, it's a fantastic substitution!! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzeGibson
Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarinaT

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Yum yum! Only change I made was I used a pork rub mix on the ribs before cooking them in the slow cooker. Did 8 hours on low and so happy with the results :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarinaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Style Blackened Snapper

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I didn't have cayenne pepper so I substituted Hot Hungarian Paprika. If you use stick butter, it will burn, smoke and turn bitter. You can either use clarified butter or a mixture of melted butter and Peanut or Canola oil. I also did not have Oregano,(which I only use in Pizza sauce) but substituted Marjoram which is a close cousin. Served with a side of Ratatouille and Saffron rice. All were very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SteveNSac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I made this in a pinch after discovering I didn't have any packets as I was cooking dinner. Followed the directions exactly and it was very tasty, but a little too salty in my opinion. I was glad I only made a little, I do plan on mixing a big batch up and keeping it on hand for whenever, but when I do I'll be cutting back on the salt. Update, made a quadruple batch tonight, but with only the 1 teaspoon of salt. Added a generous tablespoon of the mixture to about a pound of ground pork with a packet of sazón, perfect this time. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I really like it, few changes, I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, added some golden raisins along with the walnuts and about and extra tablespoon of the sour cream. Really good bread, it's a keeper and will share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Very yummy! Made it with half and half because it was what I had on hand and it came out delicious! Just added some sautéed Cajun shrimp at the very end because I love shrimp with all those great flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarinaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
These are very tasty, and it makes a lot! They freeze well, hold their shape after defrosting and taste just as good as when they're fresh. They're great to have on hand for those nights when you feel lazy, just let them defrost, reheat/brown in pan, add sauce and pasta, done, great low-effort meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Teena's Spicy Pesto Chicken and Pasta

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I've never really liked pesto, it kind of grosses me out. But this sounded pretty good so I gave it a try anyway, and glad I did. This is very tasty and will be added to the dinner rotation. The only change I had to make was using Chili Garlic Sauce instead of the Sambal Oelek, simply because that's what I have and I don't use enough to justify purchasing both. But maybe that will change now that I've found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Butter

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Man, this stuff is great. Makes really excellent garlic bread. I saw another reviewer say they used it on grilled cheese sandwiches so I gave that a try, and my boyfriend regaled it as "the best grilled cheese ever." I made a cheeseburger and spread this on both parts of the bun and toasted it, added some Japanese mayo (mmmm MSG) and the two flavors combined beautifully. I imagine it would work on a burger with Hellman's too though :) Basically, if you're toasting something, this will probably be tasty on it. I do agree that it would be too salty to use as a spread though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Minnie's Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
These are absolutely delicious. I assembled them a little bit differently, I creamed the butter in my KitchenAid mixer, then sifted the dry ingredients into the bowl in stages. This seems to have kept the dough from being dry or crumbly as some people have said, as the butter was pretty thoroughly melted into it. As I was rolling it out I kept the bowl in the fridge to keep the rest of the dough from getting too sticky. Baked them as suggested by the recipe, perfection. Frosted some of them with a butter icing I lifted from an apple pastry recipe as suggested by some other folks (can't remember exactly which one, sorry!) and that was an excellent compliment to them. But these don't need the icing, they are great on their own. Oh, I did swap the cream for 2% milk as I didn't want to buy a carton of cream just for these, as I knew the rest would go to waste in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken with Tomatillos and Poblanos

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Made this the other night, served it with white rice and black beans, really enjoyed it. My boyfriend was not a huge fan, but that's not the recipe's fault, just a matter of taste. Aside from shorting myself one poblano (reading failure on my part) I followed it exactly and it came out great. In the future I might cut back on the tomatillo a little just to make it more palatable for the other half, but I think it's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
VERY TASTY. Did not add cheddar, no need. Replaced ranch with BLUE CHEESE. Serve Hot. No need for Crock Pot or Oven if served immediately after cooking over the stove. Also cut celery and carrot to serve with chips/crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

Crustless Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I made little mini quiches to bring to Christmas dinner at my bf's aunt and uncle's. His uncle has a gluten intolerance, so was looking to bring something he could eat. This was a big hit with everybody. I did add some mushrooms I happened to have around, but I've made it by the book too and it's great both ways. One thing to note, if you make minis, be sure to grease your muffin tin well, a full size one is easy enough to deal with using the pie cutter, but you can't get anything like that in the muffin tin if some cheese gets stuck on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 91) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States