New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Granola-Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
As written I can only rate this recipe 3 stars :( There is wayyyyy to much butter! My cookies were completely flat. I really loved the concept of this recipe using granola so I thought i would try again with some tweaks! I followed another reviewers suggestions and only used 3/4 cup butter and 1 3/4 cups flour! With those changes they turned out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Easy Slow Cooker Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
will try this Recipe this week. it looks grate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vernal Rutherford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond Crunch Granola

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I wanted to try a different recipe my go to recipe includes peanut butter I wanted something a little different! This granola is Delicious! to insure I had good clumps I added an egg white! Perfect wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Spaghetti with Broccoli Florets and Traditional Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Some of you may know I manage a soup kitchen, so I am always looking for inexpensive, nutritious food that is eye pleasing and doesn't seem institutional. I found a deal for 10 jars of sauce for $10 and the same for the pasta. That store also discounts heavily for us so we will get several meals out of this recipe. Fresh broccoli is available around here year round at prices that won't break the bank. I rough chopped the broccoli to stretch it and we used grated white mystery cheese that came from a donor. It was a huge success! Thank you Barilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Lentil Burgers

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
These were good added way more veggies and seasonings would prob skip the corneal and possibly skip the frying if I try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lobster Colorado

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Thank you very much, I made it as the recipe called for and the family was delighted! Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

Creamy Horseradish Garlic Spread

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Absolutely delicious! It made the meal of corned beef and cabbage! Very tasty and zesty! I did use low fat sour cream and low fat mayonnaise and it still tasted so good! It could be used on a sandwich, in a hot meal, on anything! Thank you so much, ADZELL for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great recipe. I added more elbow macaroni (12 oz) but keep the rest the same. I did add some onion powder and garlic salt and it was great. i didn't have any breadcrumbs but didn't miss it. As I said it was great. I'm going to get so fat. ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sister Schubert's® Breakfast Bake

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I loved this! Couldn't find this brand of rolls do I used another frozen name brand wheat roll. Used a package of original Jimmy Dean sausage. Only change were 2: 1) used frozen chopped spinach. Not quite a while package, just eyeballed it. Which I did sautée with other veggies. (After squeezing excess liquid when defrosted) 2) added some small diced red bell pepper for color and added flavor. Was really tasty! I kept going back for more. Served at a brunch and people kept asking for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Basil and Prosciutto-Wrapped Halibut

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I thought the fish was bland. I would make again but season the fish and cook it entirely on the stove top in oil and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Burgers with Blue Cheese Dressing

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
These are really really good!! Seriously try them! My only changes were to omit the celery and celery salt I Topped mine with the lettuce and no roll! So Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Quick Black Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Made this for lunch today for lunch and it was a huge hit-quick, economical, and delicious.We served it in burrito shells with fresh salsa, cheese, hot sauce and sour cream, but it was great on its own, too. My husband used the leftovers as a dip with tortilla chips. My 9-year old even asked if we could have this for dinner sometime. We made it according to the directions except that we only used one cup of rice (all we had left in the pantry). This will be going into the lunch rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Ol Apple Fritters Recipe - Food.com

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
These mad a nice addition to our Sunday Breakfast! My only changes were to add a bit of brown sugar and cinnamon to the apples before adding them to the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Bird's Nest Breakfast Cups

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I used this recipe as a stepping stone to our brunch ~ it's delicious! Thanks for the inspiration :) Here's my version: 1 bag (30 oz) frozen shredded hash browns, thawed 1 small sweet onion, minced 1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon chives, divided 2 tablespoons butter, melted 1 cup grated/shredded cheese (I used a combo of smoked provolone, Dubliner cheddar & mozzarella), divided 1 teaspoon garlic pepper, divided 3/4 pound bacon, cooked crisp & crumbled, divided 1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon Franks Red Hot, divided 7 jumbo eggs 1 tablespoon cream Preheat oven to 425.. with greased stone mini-bundt pan in it. (I use convection and Pampered Chef) Mix together the hash browns, onion, 1 tablespoon chives, 1 tablespoon Franks Red Hot, 3/4 tsp garlic pepper, 3/4 cup cheese, melted butter & most of the bacon. Remove the hot pan from the oven, divide the potato mixture evenly and press into the mini-bundt wells. Bake at 425 (convection) for 20 to 24 minutes, until cheese melts & potatoes start to crisp/brown on the edges. Whisk together the eggs; cream and remaining garlic pepper, chives, bacon & Franks Red Hot. Ladle the egg mixture into the hash brown nests. Sprinkle the remaining grated cheese over the nests. Place pan back into the oven & turn the heat down to 375 (convection. Bake for an additional 15 to 20 minutes, until eggs are cooked through to your liking. Remove from oven & let sit a few minutes so they release from the pan easily. Plate & serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Snack Wraps

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Sooooooo quick and easy, and soooooooo yum that I didn't get a chance to take pictures!! TONS of possible variations-- I made 'em for a big July 4th party and made them turkey/turkey ham/roast beef. Also used low fat veggie cream cheese, subbed spinach for the lettuce, and left out the tomatoes (too soggy!). The regular, wheat, and spinach tortilla rolls chilled in the fridge for a couple of hours, then were sliced up, arranged "festively," and were gone before I knew it!!! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Homemade Arepas

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is pretty much the recipe from the cornmeal product container. Having said that... you can't really beat it. Sometimes, if only seving as a vessel for salsa, I 'll add some seasoning to the batter, but it is totally not necessary. Easy, fast and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Hmmmm I wasn't able to really hold it had to use a fork, squeezed the cauliflower through dish towel too...not sure if I will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
When I first started making this I wasn't too sure...it looked to "wet' and seemed to have a lot of onion. This turned out to be FANTASTIC! I didn't have celery or carrot, so I added a large chopped onion, a small jar of drained and chopped pimentos, and about 6 small dill pickles, chopped. I also didn't have white vinegar so I used apple cider vinegar instead. I read a lot of reviews about this being too sweet, but I still added a scant 1/2 cup and it was perfect. With all those onions and vinegar, you need some sweetness to tone them down. I also thought the salt and pepper quantities were perfect as well. One of my favorite recipes I've gotten from this site in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This was a delicious recipe! I did tweek it a bit. In place of the five spice, I used cinnamon and nutmeg, I added vanilla flavor, added 1 1/2 tbs of cornstarch to my canned peaches (used juice from peaches in place of water) and I baked for an hour...results were a juicy dessert with the perfect crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rodeecook06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Instead of making one big 13x9 cake, I used 2 smaller cake pans to make 2 smaller cakes! I wrapped them well and put them in the freezer for unexpected company. DELICIOUS !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States