New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Kale Slaw

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
This was an interesting dish - I had mixed reviews from the family. I guess I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
We all thought the relish was sensational but it didn't do much for the flavor of the salmon. I will continue to make the relish - my husband thought it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA

Caprese Appetizer

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
These were a big hit at our small picnic. Easy to go together and yummy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA

Hash Brown Casserole III

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
A big hit. Used 1 cup beef broth with a splash of milk. Used cooking spray on bottom of pan and about 1 cup of cheese mixed with potatoes. Baked at 425 for 30 minutes and then broiled for 5, with a little more cheese added to the top. Also used onion powder rather than minced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Warm Dijon Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I followed recipe exactly, except I didn't have any green onions! This was a big hit, served it with corn on the cob and pulled pork sandwiches, a win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Slow Cooker Philly Steak Sandwich Meat

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
Made this for my husband and some friends during a baseball marathon and heard nothing but rave reviews. I didn't change a thing; it's perfectly flavored as is. I would recommend this for every cheesesteak fan. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Polish Reuben Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I have given this 4 stars as opposed to 5 because I tweaked many things thus changing the recipe. First, I was careful to rinse the sauerkraut quite heavily and squeeze it dry. I think this got rid of the strong flavor. Maybe this was an error though, as my husband thought this made it a "little bland". Next time a quick rinse would be better. I also added quite a bit of Thousand Island dressing to carry on the Reuben taste. This added extra flavor and made it creamier after cooking. I also changed the crumb topping to a rye bread option. I cubed 6 pieces of rye and tossed in the same amount of butter which made a nice , toasty topping similar to the sandwich. I, too, added caraway seeds like many other reviews suggest. Adding a pinch of brown sugar is another option to tame the bite of sauerkraut. This was a good recipe but with the creamy dressing, creamed soups, cheese, and egg noodles this may not be a good selection for those counting calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
Loved it - delicious strawberries and cream smoothie! The recipe as is made only about 1.5 servings, so I doubled it and froze it for later (thawing over night makes it perfect in the morning - didn't use ice cubes since I knew I was going to freeze it). Used vanilla Greek nonfat yogurt because it was all I had, and reduced the vanilla to 1 teaspoon for a double recipe and the sugar down to 1/2 a tablespoon. I'm expecting my baby to crush this once she gets a taste....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Salsa Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
A couple alternatives to this incredibly good recipe. I put a layer of salsa in a crockpot, add frozen ( how simple is this?)boneless, skinless breasts, then top with remaining salsa. I leave this for 6-8 hours on low. I also throw in a cubed block of low fat cream cheese, yes there is till extra calories...so it's not everyone's option. This makes the salsa a more creamy texture to top the breasts with upon serving. I have also shredded the chicken and placed it on a bed of Spanish rice or a rice and bean blend. Great recipe and couldn't be easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Shells

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
As we live an hour from Buffalo on the PA border, I love the idea of another Buffalo chicken recipe. I am not a fan on ground chicken, but it wasn't awful. Shredded boneless, skinless breast will be a good alternative for next time. The filling made enough for the entire box of shells and I used the Frank's buttery wing sauce as it's closer to actual "wing flavoring". I was concerned the shells would be crunchy without sauce coverage, so I brushed a touch of the sauce of the edges of each shell. I see in other reviews it wasn't necessary, but we like spicier food, so the additional sauce was welcome! I used Mozzarella as I was out of the Monterey Jack; I suppose any cheese would suffice depending on your preference. Overall, a good recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Boston Baked Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I made this as written and I am giving this 4 stars as written because it's almost perfect. I baked it and it got a little too dry so I pulled it out and added some water to it. When I tasted it, it still lacked that zing that I wanted so I made another batch of the molasses sauce and added that to it before I put it in the fridge for the night (it was already midnight at that point). This morning I tasted it, and it had that zing! It was a TAD too sweet but other than that it was perfect!!! Perfect consistancy, texture, taste, and smell. Next time I make them I will double the sauce but cut the brown sugar back from 1/2 cup to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I wish I had read the reviews before trying this one. I made this recipe to spec; didn't change a thing. One thing I will definitely change is BROWN THE MEATBALLS FIRST and then drain the grease. Otherwise, you'll have a nice layer of fat hovering over the dish. Using a baster, I got most of it out but it could have been easily avoided. The meatballs sure were tasty, though. Will make these again but I'll be sure to brown next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhubarb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
My family LOVED it ! thank you for sharing . Was getting tired of the store bought canned version that hade no taste. Will be making this again when ever my family wants clams
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

David's Yellow Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Really, really good. Very moist, followed the instructions exactly and the cake came right out of the pan cleanly which I always appreciate. I used this recipe to make a minion cake for my son's birthday and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Pimento Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I made this exactly as written. It was delicious, and enjoyed by everyone who ate it at the party I took it to. I will make this often, as it was easy, and I would almost always have the ingredients on hand. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Chef John Rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Schofer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Baked Cauliflower II

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Great Cauliflower! I used block Velveeta cheese cubed up and added for last 15 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Schofer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I did not have green onions. I substituted dill relish to taste, and to crunch. I also used spicy brown mustard instead of yellow prepared. Great googly moogly, this was delicious! I will be making it again, and again. For the low carbers, it can be served over lettuce, on slices of cheese, or cold cuts, or it will stand well as a side dish. Try it with slices of cheese, and avocado for a completely hunger crushing lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Maharajh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
This makes a nice base recipe! As written I feel it is a bit bland i will make it again and add some cinnamon :) very creamy! It made a nice quick dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Simple Scones

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
This is one of my old stand-by recipes. I make at least three times a year, usually in the summer. I was blessed by inspiration to chop up and add a half cup of left-over trail mix my family seemed to have lost interest in. While making this current batch it suddenly occurred to me that adding a quarter teaspoon of cinnamon would be a nice touch (It was probably my Kitchen Angel - Thank you, Kitchen Angel!) It really brought all the flavors together. This recipe is going into my collection for good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mebyrne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camillus, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States