New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Halved the recipe and left out the salt. Marinated 5 breasts for about 4 hours, then grilled. Tender and full of flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
This was fantastic!!! I eliminated the raisins and substituted vegetable stock for the OJ, but it turned out wonderful. Next time I will increase the spices and decrease the cayenne pepper (the hubby is a light-weight when it comes to spicey) but I can heartily recommend this!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Energy Balls

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
DELICIOUS! I love the fact that i can have a snack and not feel guilty! They are sooooo good! I did make mine a bit smaller Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Dilly Rye Boat Dip

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
My mom used to make this for just about every party and family picnic It's always one of the first things to go so I made more than the recipe called for. This was good with the changes I made: Doubled the sour cream, kept the mayo the same, added 1 tbs of dried dill weed (3 tbs sounded like way too much), 1 heaping tbs Beau Monde and 1 tbs celery salt. I had a 2.5 oz jar of dried beef and I chopped it fine. There was enough saltiness without having to add any extra Beau Monde or celery salt. Glad I made the changes but this is a good basic recipe. This is great to make a day ahead to let the flavors meld. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Owls Head, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn Dandreano

Memphis Style Back Ribs

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
My family enjoyed these saying they were "the best ribs we ever had!" They were tender inside, with a crisp, savory shell and just a hint of sweetness. The only change I would make is to decrease the amount of salt to 1/8cup. Thank you for the recipe, Smithfield!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn Dandreano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

USA TODAY: Latest World and US News - USATODAY.com

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Great stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Bracco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
These were tasty, but they are extremely similar to another recipe on this site. The only diff is that this one's amounts are halved and it uses coco powder instead of baker's chocolate. So, I added melted chocolate chips to the egg, butter sugar mixture and toasted in the coco powder. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umma Threads
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Cream Cake I

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
IT IS BEST TO EAT AFTER AT LEAST TWO DAYS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fabulous Colcannon (Mashed Potatoes and Cabbage)

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
This is a great one pot (pretty much) meal. I fed 6 people and had leftovers. Very economical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Lemon Square Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I am a rookie baker and these came out great. I followed the original recipe in addition to the feedback provided by "CareBear". I used Minute Main real frozen lemon juice and I increased everything in the crust by 25% to make a thicker bar. I greased the glass baking pan with Crisco spray on Butter and nothing stuck! The crust will be firm, so use a firm knife for cutting. I will def make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cor135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fiesta Slow Cooker Shredded Chicken Tacos

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
very tasteless & blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Sharland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

Island Kielbasa in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This the third recipe I prepared in my new slow cooker and the best one so far. SOOOO GOOD! I went a little easy on the brown sugar using only one cup as pretty much everyone in the reviews suggested and let it cook on low for four hours but otherwise, I made this as is. If you like kielbasa and pineapple, this dish is a must-have in your life. Since I made this for dinner and not a social function, I'm pretty excited that there's plenty of leftovers for supper later this week. Served it over rice with a side of green beans. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhubarb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

Blueberry Lemon Loaf

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This was a really good recipe. Could of been a little sweeter. Maybe cut back cn on the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornwood, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DinaLaChef

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This was incredibly delicious! Best dessert I've made so far off allrecipes. Most reviewers didn't change a thing and loved it, so I kept close to the recipe. I made it for half its serving size (9) and only changes I made were subbing 1/4 cup whole wheat flour for white and cutting back sugar to 3/4 cup. I followed everything else to a t, and it turned out gorgeously. I baked it in a glass dish 8x8 at 350 and it took 50 minutes until it was golden brown on top. It made a beautiful table presentation, topped with the "Whipped Cream" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinaLaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

True Bangers and Mash with Onion Gravy

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Made this for Father's Day lunch, so I had to serve 7. I used brats, so the cooking time was a little longer than stated. I ended up not increasing the gravy, and sliced the onions, rather than chop them. After the gravy was made, the brats were still not cooked through, so I added the gravy to the pan containing the brats and stuck it in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes, which finished cooking them and kept the gravy hot. Next time, I will cook the brats on a lower heat in the skillet and get them more cooked through, although the oven was effective and it let the brats soak up some of the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Rosemary and Peppercorn Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Way too much pepper for 2 chicken breasts. However, the cream sauce saved the day after I scrapped off most of the pepper before serving the chicken. The next time I make this dish (and I will make it again) I will only use 3 T of the pepper. Other than that this was recipe was rated "Good" by the man of the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Teriyaki Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I got a new slow cooker and was anxious to try it out so I went with this recipe first. Boyfriend is a huge fan of all things Teriyaki so there you go. I made this recipe to spec; I didn't change a thing. I was a bit disappointed to find that the meat, although very tender, was pretty dry. I'm not sure what I did wrong so I'll try this another time with some suggested changes in other reviews. Boyfriend liked it, though, and asked that I save the leftovers for him. Served with Jasmine rice and fresh broccoli. It was a great meal, shame about the dry-ish meat, though. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhubarb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

Slow Cooker London Broil

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This was very good. I read all a lot of the reviews before I took this one on (because it just seemed TOO easy) and I made two changes: I went low-sodium on the soups and I added a couple tablespoonfuls of Worcestershire sauce. Otherwise, everything was to spec. Nine hours in the crock pot and the meat came out moist and tender. I cut it with a plastic spatula! The gravy was very tasty over some accompanying mashed taters and it was a big hit with the boyfriend. One word of caution, however: this is a very heavy dish and would be optimum for winter eating. We had it for dinner in late June and yeah, we couldn't get much of it down, as tasty as it is! Plenty of leftovers for lunch. 4.5 stars, will make this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhubarb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

Summer Corn Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Wow, I made this last Summer with what I had on hand, and again this season. We love it. I'm sure the original is amazing but I have to work with what is available. I made it with 2 cans well drained whole kernel corn- better quality. I finely diced 2 rib of celery, added 1 TBSP dried minced onion, 2 tsp minced garlic, 1 tsp. dried dill, 1 tsp ground cumin. I used rice wine vinegar and olive oil. We love this stuff ! ! Great alternative to the usual macaroni or potato salad. It's a side dish that lends itself to all manner of meals, buffets, BBQ's . THANK YOU.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonnie-one

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Harold, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Baby Carrots

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I was looking for something to go with a pork tenderloin that I had just made - looked in my fridge - saw carrots - and thought - what the heck can I do with carrots? Found this gem of a recipe - holy cow - it was soo good! I didn't put quite as much brown sugar - but I will definitely be making these in the future for sure! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUNTTISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States