New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Probably the best key lime pie I will ever taste! Strong lime flavor, but not overwhelming. My dad is very picky about his key lime pies, yet he couldn't help having seconds of this one! I definitely recommend this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine Snacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Eastchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackened Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My family Loved this! So Simple I did increase the cayenne and the Black pepper! we love spicy food!! This rub is Great!!! I will use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
THIS WAS AMAZING!! I BOUGHT A CASE OF A&W ROOT BEER AND POURED TWO 12 OUNCE CANS OVER THE PORK. I BOUGHT PORK TENDERLOINS FROM WALMART. IT WAS A LITTLE OVER 3 POUNDS TOGETHER (CAME IN A PACKAGE OF TWO). I WAS LATE GETTING HOME, SO THE PORK WAS ACTUALLY ON LOW FOR 10 HOURS!!! I DID COME HOME FROM RUNNING ERRANDS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DAY AT WHICH POINT I TURNED THE PORK OVER AND POURED JUICES ON IT. I CUT UP A LARGE WHITE ONION IN SMALL PIECES AND POURED IT INTO THE CROCKPOT IN THE MORNING WHEN I PUT THE PORK IN THE CROCKPOT. THE WHITE ONION WAS SWEET AND DELICIOUS WITH THE PORK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockstarSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA

Easy Mashed Potato and Roasted Vegetable Enchiladas

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Delicious! Made this with homemade mashed potatoes and a taco cheese blend. I also sprinkled taco seasoning over the veggies before roasting and put the carrots in for about 15 mins before adding the other veggies. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester

Pumpkin Spice Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Made these today I thought they were perfectly fine! Honestly no complaints these werent wonderful but again not terrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by missrochester

Apple Strudel Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Hmmmm I seen all the great reviews so I figured I cant go wrong with this recipe! Boy was I wrong! I dont see what all the hype is about with these muffins! They didnt bake up nice they had a flat top mine even kind of sank in the middle they also were not as moist as I would have liked! I sprinkled mine with a little brown sugar,cinnamon and oats.I will not try this recipe again Im pretty bummed how they turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Fajita Seasoning

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I make something very similar, almost the same really, but I add powdered chicken broth. I use this as a base for seasoning almost everything I make: Add a little herbage, basil, oregano, etc and you can adapt it to chicken fish, almost anything. It's very similar to Emeril's "essence" and that gives you a clue as to where he got it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoghat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico

Wonderful Gluten Free White Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I make bread for my little grandson who must eat Gluten Free. It's hard to tell it's gluten free, the taste is good. I've tried many other recipes and this is one of the best if not the best. I wrap each piece separately with plastic wrap and then but all the slices into a freezer bag so his mom can freeze them and take out at will. Now he enjoys PBJ's and grilled cheese like the rest of the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Rustica (A Sicilian Sausage and Proscuitto Pie)

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
It is so wonderful to see this very traditional and very diverse recipe shared here. I have taken on the tradition of making this pie every year for Easter with my family. We use different meats than this recipe but this "meat pie" is different with every single family that still makes it. It was known as a "poor man's meal" during the depression. People used whatever they had on hand to make this and it became a very personal recipe. Every recipe/list of ingredients are different therefore, it is TRULY a FAMILY TRADITION when we make it. This Particular version is a wonderful recipe. Myjo's version is the same as my Grandmother made. There is nothing greater than to take a bite and feel like you are right back with family members that have since passed on. It truly is like coming home again. In my Mother's version, we use Italian ham (Ham Cappi), American Ham, Pepperoni and Salami instead of the sausage. As I said, there are many different versions of this pie, but of all that I have tasted, I have never found one that I didn't like. Thank you Myjo for sharing such a tradition with all of us. P.S., the cracked black pepper does make the difference! We use it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sangria! Sangria!

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I wish more people had mentioned if they used the optional ingredients. I added the sugar and probably didn't need to. So, because of that, we definitely ended up cutting the sweetness with some seltzer. I'd recommend no sugar and then hopefully you wouldn't need the seltzer. Overall it was good, but people definitely said it was a sweeter kind of Sangria. I used the Roijo that someone recommended. Maybe I'd try a different kind next time. Also, I would cut the rounds in half. The orange rounds were too big for the cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jet62879
Home Town: Carle Place, New York, USA
Living In: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cuban Smoked Sausage with Chickpeas

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
After one bite, the husband said 'Instant Classic', which means, 'Get this into the recipe book, it's going to be part of our regular rotation'. It's so inexpensive to make (Hillshire Farms Lite Smoked Sausage goes on sale so frequently) and essentially a cupboard meal for us. Definitely cook for an hour plus (uncovered then covered to keep the sauce) - I like the texture of the chickpeas better. I'm also contemplating just throwing it all into the slow cooker after browning the sausage and sauteing the onions. Served it over brown rice. The only thing is that it was quite salty AND SPICY!!!! I had to actually add a spoonful of sour cream to mine to tame/cool it down some. I will add one heaping teaspoon of crushed red pepper next time instead of the full 2 teaspoons and will go looking for the low sodium adobo. Update: made this with low sodium adobo and it's still pretty salty, not sure what to do next....I used no salt added tomato soup, 1 teaspoon low sodium adobo and marsala (since I only have cooking sherry at home which has added salt to it), and that helped a little bit. I hope to find reduced sodium sausage, because the low sodium adobo seems to be missing certain spices like cumin, so I'd like to go back to it. Definitely cook for an hour plus (uncovered then covered to keep the sauce) - I like the texture of the chickpeas better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Simple Scones

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Fantastic! I melted the butter instead of grating it and saw no difference in taste or texture, threw in a cup of chopped candied cherries, 1/4 teaspoon of cherry extract, 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon almond extract, after baking I drizzled with confectionery sugar mixed with 1/2 and 1/2 and 1/4 teaspoon orange extract. They turned out perfect everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Clark's Quiche

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Great recipe. Not sure what went wrong with some of the lower reviews, but I enjoyed the flavor and will definitely make again. One thing I did do was too simply defrost the spinach and not cook it a then drain it so it would not make things soggy. I like the base and may try different proteins next time, using maybe chicken or turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Burns

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Burns

Quick Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Aside from increasing the milk to 3/4C I followed the recipe exactly. I do agree that the topping is a bit dry, and would probably add the melted butter to the topping instead of putting it onto the cake. I don't see the problem with adding the flour to the topping as it is such a small amount. I will definitely keep this one around for a quick tasty dessert, and might try some variation like adding coconut or oatmeal to the topping as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Burns

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Layer Tortilla Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Yum yum yum so easy and cool looking too. I've seen this kind of recipe for years and never tried it...wish I had sooner. I sautéed peppers and onions may add chilies next time. Added a little chili powder and garlic salt but not needed this would be great as written for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shoyu Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I agree with yumyum, this deserves more than 5 stars. This is so good. I use boneless skinless breasts and I like to slice them in half and make them just thinner so they absorb all the flavor, it is soooooooo good. I have made this multiple times and everyone that I have made it for loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani22
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Chicken Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Made this tonight for dinner we thought it was just alright it got eaten but the leftovers will go to waste unfortunately. Its just not a dish I would make again!It Just wasn't anything special.It wasnt horrible It Just wasnt for us Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is soooo goo. I don't have the sea salt so i just sprinkle a little table salt and pepper on. I can never make enough. Ive done it with frozen bags of broccoli as well before when in a rush and I did 2 bags and it is just never enough it seems. My sister and I can eat it right off the pan before plates are made, it is so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani22
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pepper Soup I

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I took the advice of other reviewers and added some onion to the hamburger, used three green peppers, added a bay leaf and cut the brown sugar to two tablespoons, DELICIOUS~and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peglaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, New York, USA
Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tejano Style Shrimp Cocktail

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I love this recipe, but then, I LOVE the tangy taste of lime and cilantro.. easy, elegant, LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States