New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Delicious!!!!! Just the way it is!!! Ty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYLUCYFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Broccoli Quinoa

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I love easy weeknight side dishes that include a veggie... this was perfect with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yvette

Simple Garlic Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Chef John you nailed ! Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Arugula Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I loved this potato salad recipe! It was delicious! Instead of 3 tbs. vinegar, I added 1-1/2 tbs. lemon juice and 1-1/2 tbs. white vinegar. I also added the warm potatoes to the arugula. It is a nice light change from the mayonnaise version potato salad. The arugula adds a great flavor! The leftovers tasted awesome the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBI215

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy PHILADELPHIA® Pasta Primavera

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
This made a great weeknight meal! I did marinate my chicken in my italian dressing for about 4 hours! Turned out fantastic very flavorful! I did add a whole block of cream cheese i figured why not lol go big or go home lol and added some parmasan cheese absolutely Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Quick and Easy Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
My wife and I loved this...and it's so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Cummins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendship, New York, USA
Living In: Cuba, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thunderbird Stew

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
This is one of the first recipes I made from this site when I discovered it years ago and I make it at least twice a year. This is hands-down my boyfriend's favorite dish that I make. I prepare it exactly how the recipe states as it doesn't need "improving". Serve it over egg noodles with a garden salad or green veggies on the side. Yum! Been meaning to thank you for years for this one so here you go: Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhubarb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

Rotisserie Chicken and Stuffing Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Added about 1 Tbsp of worcestershire sauce to the soup mix because it tased bland and what a difference. Gave it a little zip which is all it needed. Had my parents and nephew over for dinner and we all loved it. Can easily prepare ahead of time and bake just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Basil Pesto

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
SO GOOD! I cannot believe how incredibly easy this was and how good it tastes! Why have I been buying sub-par tasting, jarred pesto? Crazy. I made this recipe to spec; didn't change a thing. And I'll be doing it many more times in my future cooking. Thank you so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhubarb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

No Bake Cookies III

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Made these as is and they're great! I felt it was just a bit too heavy on the oats. I'll add about a half-cup less next time and see how that goes. I know many people have noted that their cookies didn't "set" and that the timing is vital; here's what I did: I waited until the boiling ingredients swelled before adding the rest of the recipe (you'll know what "swelled" means if you wait for it). It worked. Cookies came out perfectly. Just very oat-y. Boyfriend didn't care for the peanut butter, as a matter of taste. He still ate 'em, though. 4.5 stars, will definitely make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhubarb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

Grandad's Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Wow what a recipe your grandpa can cook some pancakes I just made it for my family we have fallen in love thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gata0315

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Mabank, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I made these just as written except I doubled the recipe. Put a slice of bacon that was precooked on the electric griddle and carefully poured a 1/4 cup of batter over the slice to cover. Served with local maple syrup aged in a bourbon cask. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mamaroneck, New York, USA
Living In: Neversink, New York, USA

Easy Homemade Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I have tried so many pizza crusts and never a 5 star!! This is by far the best pizza crust!! I didn't use wheat flour just added added another 1/4 cup of reg. flour!! I also used fast rising yeast!! 18 hours is way too long for me!! Within 4-5 hours dough doubled and was amazing!!! Will never use anothe recipe for crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DinaLaChef

Fresh Strawberry Almond Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This was delicious! I used a glass pie dish and that was perfect, so you can see the lovely crust and berry colors and how deep the berries go. The changes I made were using 1/4 less cup sugar and I only needed about 4 3/4-5 cups of strawberries to make the pie (1 cup for the pan mixture as stated, 3 3/4-4 cups to fill the pie). For the strawberries I filled the pie with, I sliced them thinly (about 5 slices per large strawberry). When the pan mixture went to cool for ten minutes, I popped the dish with crust into the freezer (after I took it out the oven I had put it in the fridge and it was still warm). Ten minutes later the crust was completely cooled, which was great because I didn't lose any time finishing up the last steps for the pie. Like some other reviewers said, when cut, it turns out more like a cobbler. I cut the first slice carefully, so that one held together as pie. Next time I might increase the serving size for the crust to 1/4-1/2 cup more. With the measurements stated, my crust went up nearly all the way for half the dish but only about 1/4 for the other half. Also, I live in Michigan and it's strawberry season. I used about 1 cup of local picked berries to make up my 4 3/4-5 cups. This made the pie even more delicious with that natural strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinaLaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

South-of-the-Border Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
My kids flipped out over this recipe!! I did double it and add cans of diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of fresh toms and a can of corn. Used Pepper Jack and sharp cheddar and it was so yummy!! My boy woke up in the morning and asked if he could have left overs for breakfast!!! Now that's a win win!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Grandma's Apple Pie 'Ala Mode' Moonshine

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I also added the 4 cups of everclear and 2 1/2 cups of vanilla vodka!! Amazing stuff! We passed around 1 jar between 5 people! Didn't need anymore!! Will defiantly be making this again! So tasty and powerful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

One-Skillet Italian Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Super, Super easy and ready in no time. I used half hot and half sweet sausage and added just a bit more Italian seasoning to our taste and some wine when it started to stick to the skillet. Was only cooking for 2 so we enjoyed the leftovers for lunch - gets better as it sits. Served with a salad and garlic bread - and wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Halved the recipe and left out the salt. Marinated 5 breasts for about 4 hours, then grilled. Tender and full of flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
This was fantastic!!! I eliminated the raisins and substituted vegetable stock for the OJ, but it turned out wonderful. Next time I will increase the spices and decrease the cayenne pepper (the hubby is a light-weight when it comes to spicey) but I can heartily recommend this!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Energy Balls

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
DELICIOUS! I love the fact that i can have a snack and not feel guilty! They are sooooo good! I did make mine a bit smaller Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States