New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by BigShotsMom

WHIPPED SCOTCH COOKIES.

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I love shortbreads and this recipe has move past many others to the top of my list. I made half the recipe to try the last week and today we took a group of GS to bake with a group of developmentally disadvantaged girls. I wish everyone could have seen how pleased they were with themselves , having made and decorated Christmas cookies. Thank you, Manella, this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Homemade Chocolate Walnut Brownies

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
These are So GOOD! OMG! They are Delicious! I was low on eggs and white sugar so I only used 3 eggs and 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup light brown sugar and im so happy I was ow on ingredients because these turned out perfect! Not to fudgy but not to cakey baked up beautifully! My brownies had a nice crackled top! OMG! This will be my go to recipe for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Crispy Almond Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
These were good! My only complaint my cookies didnt turn out as crispy as I would have liked im sure it was my fault lol but they were very tasty! I will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Chicken Lo Mein

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Very nice. Like all recipes you can boost it where you like it..I am such a sucker for garlic....anyway. Just an alternative suggestion for consideration on the pasta. Mueller's now makes what they call and label "Pot Size" spaghetti and thin spaghetti for those of you who like to be a bit closer to 'authentic.' Right now my neighborhood Publix market has an Asian hot bar near the deli section and they use linquine. I don't know how many times I've told them to take my suggestion but they just giggle and mutter "Corporate." LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chez Robe-Air

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endicott, New York, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was a nice meatloaf. I did add green pepper to the onion/garlic sauté and I wish I had used more of the onion as I like a lot of veggies in my meatloaf. It had a very nice flavor and I will be making it again with my adjustments. I thought the sauce was a nice compliment and helped keep the meat moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA

Simply the Easiest Beef Brisket

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I consider myself a professional chef but had never fixed a beef brisket before. I have to give this recipe ten stars for flavor. The house smelled amazing as guests sat around and snacked on our appetizers - the anticipation was very high and this baby didn't disappoint! Thanks so much for a wonderful and hearty recipe! I did reduce the brown sugar by 1/4 cup as reviewers suggested but I did everything else by the book. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was delicious!! I was very surprised at how all of these flavors came together. I would definitely recommend this to anyone that likes tuna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrkyZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ornament Dough

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I added 1 Tablespoon of oil and kneaded them really well before rolling them out. I rolled them to about 1/4 inch and they cooked great in 30 minutes! They didn't puff up and hardened up nicely! I sprayed them with a clear coat before painting then painted them and applied another clear coat and they are beautiful! The kids had tons of fun making these! I also made large thick (Over an inch) hearts with their hand-prints and the year on them for a keepsake (not an ornament) and baked them at 250 degrees for 2 hours and they were perfect as well... Definitely keeping this easy recipe around for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Grandma's Unbaked Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Thus us so yummy! I vegan ice it by using Earth Balance and a non-dairy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
these cookies are AMAZING! They are so good! I Loved that They held there shape No changes needed! Perfect as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Italian Fig Cookies II

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This recipe did not disappoint I did add a bit of orange zest and to the fig mixture! Dliciouse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Fantasy Divinity

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I made this candy or I should say I tried to make it. I cooked the sugar syrup 5 minutes and it still never firmed up. Not wanting to waste the ingredients, especially the pecans, I rolled the mixture into 1 inch balls, Refrigerated them and dipped them in melted chocolate bark. Yum! I've gotten rave reviews. There's more than one way to salvage a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

Tomato Florentine Soup I

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I used half the spinach, and this was the perfect amount for us! Really good with grilled cheese sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Orange Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Easy, smells delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Ultimate Cranberry Pudding Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Found this cake to be too excessively sweet. I did however like the infusion of the cranberries, but will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
My go to quick and easy! I like to add things to this basic recipe to give it umph
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Corn Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I thought this was a bit boring and a little too sweet for my taste. I'd prefer a thicker sauce and more of it. I left out the cumin because I'm not a fan. Perhaps the folks who liked it put in lots of spice to make up for the lack of flavor? I definitely would suggest adding another can of beans, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA

Chicken Cheese Chowder

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Made this today exactly as written....not great! Pretty bland as a few others mentioned. Put in a bunch of fresh black pepper and added some green onions and fresh parsley on top to try to help it a bit. DH doesn't like hot sauce but I put some in mine....still not so good. Oh well, to each his own! I won't bother to put this in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Crinkles II

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
These are always a hit in my family. Make sure your hands are cold when rolling the cookies into balls. I always undercook them slightly so that they are soft and chewy. They are best the day they are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Picadillo

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
We like Picadillo and like trying different versions of it. Had to use Italian sausage since I didn't have chorizo on hand. I am sure chorizo would have added more flavor to it but we did enjoy this. Served it with "Black Beans and Rice" from Allrecipes. It was a nice dinner and enjoyed the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States