New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Raisin Pudding

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I made this without the Brandy. It was WONDERFUL even without it. :) (I "plumped" the Raisins in almost-hot Water for 10 minutes before adding. I think that helped.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Stuffed Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Heaven on a plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA

Northern Italian Beef Stew

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Great stew. Only change I made was to use venison that I shot last week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miner49er

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Battle Mountain, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Since chicken is sold by the pound, not the # of breasts, I purchased 2.25 pounds. I couldn't find the right poundage in breasts, so I bought thinly-sliced breasts instead. They ended up being smaller and I had a lot more bundles, but I think eaters preferred the smaller size. I ended up having more ham & Swiss per inch of chicken, which was also a good thing. I did have some trouble sealing the bundles, though. Some of them ended up being cups with toothpicks sticking out of the top like a porcupine. Obviously, I wasn't able to sear the top of those bundles, but they cooked just fine. No trouble with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA

German Apple Pancake

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Looked beautiful (puffed nicely). However, many problems in recipe. First, way too much nutmeg -- everyone thought it was astringent as a result. Second, the cook time is way off: summary says "20 min" detail says "25 min" (15 + 10), not counting stovetop time. Both are wrong, it came out under-cooked (our oven is usually over, not under). Cook at lease 30 minutes in oven and allow 3-5 min for stovetop. Third, too much butter! There is no way you can smash 1/4cup of butter on to the pan. We got about 2 tbsp, and it was glommed everywhere. Finally, only major change we made was cutting 1/3rd of the sugar and it was still very sweet. You don't need nearly this much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This recipe is very good as tuna salads go, and it may become a go-to recipe because it's a little different than others I've made. HOWEVER---BE AWARE OF YOUR CANNED TUNA VOLUME! This recipe calls for a 7 ounce can. I thought they used to come in 6 ounce cans, so I checked. ALL of my cans are 5 ounces (water packed), regardless of brand. I therefore had to reduce the rest of the ingredient amounts by almost a third, otherwise the spices would have been overwhelming. The only changes I made were to use chopped gherkins (that jar was open) instead of the relish, and I added a half stalk of very finely diced celery for some more crunch. It was good as I made it, and I imagine it will be even better when I make sandwiches with it in an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Hard Times Creamed Tuna

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Our stories sound much alike except my dad passed away and times were tough with just mom also in the 70's. She would make this, but she always added a can of peas. I liked it as a kid and then I made it for my kids, now it's just hubby and me at home and I still make it now and again. It's quick and cheap. I looked your recipe up today to see if I others added something special to make it better. When I read your recipe I though no need, but I did add half a chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I don't know what went wrong, but this was just awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I had to bake the chicken in the oven, but it still turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I should have known the bacon would be too much. I used the bacon pieces as suggested by other reviewers and it overwhelmed the quiche plus it made it so salty. If I had to do again, I would use less than half the bacon and half the onion. In any case, I will try again with no bacon or onion and use mushrooms and salt and pepper and see what happens. Quite frankly, I am not a big fan of strong tastes like bacon and onion and if I use them, I use in moderation. I tried he recipe as is but now need to moderate to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDI149

Electric Lightning

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Yes I most certainly made this myself! :) and it's quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDI149

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Yum, I cooked the squash (used veggie peeler to thinly slice) and onion on the stovetop and added the balsamic as others did, in addition to the Asiago I added goat cheese, topped with the oil and more fresh ground black pepper, delish. Used the NY pizza dough recipe...very thin crust was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

Oreo® Cookie Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Excellent. I actually only had one 16 ounce container of cool whip, so I used that. When I make this again I will use two, more for appearance than taste. The dish held together just fine without top layer of cool whip. I also used chocolate pudding instead of vanilla. VERY Nice and Tasty Dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockstarSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA

Sopapilla Cheesecake

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I have made this before. It IS delicious BUT you do NOT have to add all that butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJT96

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherburne, New York, USA

Maple-Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Scrumptious !! Served over mixed greens with diced apple, red onion, goat cheese , toasted pecans and bacon.... The perfect autumn salad:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Not Really Chicken Scampi

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Liked the sauce a lot. I did add a bit more wine than called for and also a few dashes of basil. The only real complaint I have about the recipe is that the sauce was very thin and wouldn't stay with the pasta. My daughter said we should have served it in a bowl. I thought about thickening it, but then I opted not to as I thought scampi is usually a thin sauce I think. I made a technical error and went with orcchiette pasta which was not a good match at all. I wanted a different shape, but that was not a good one. Loved the brightness the lemon adds to the sauce as its added at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Baked Parmesan Tilapia

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
LOVE This recipe!! Very good! I did add some dry ranch seasoning to my bread crumb mixture to enhance that ranch flavor! My only changes were that I left out the milk I seen no reason for it! Yummmm! next time im going to try this with Panko bread crumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Classic Goulash

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I really wanted to Love this recipe! I tried it in my slow cooker taste wise it was Delicious! I did make some changes used beef broth instead of water fresh garlic,diced up a bit of green pepper and omitted the soy sauce Unfortunately the noodles had an awful texture it just wasnt for us. The end result looked like mush lol :( Also I had to cook it for a lot longer then an hour in my slow cooker. I will try this again cooking my noodles separate. To salvage it so my daughter would eat it I melted a ton of Mozzarella cheese on top lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Tuscan Cream Cheese Spread

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This makes a whole lot but we ate it on absolutely everything! Wonderful! Next time I will only make a half batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Photo by WISEREADER

Perfect Roast Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This turned out extremely well. I used unsalted butter instead of the margarine, and I used more rosemary than called for, about a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States