New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

No Sugar Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
ADD peanut butter! This recipe can differ every time you make them. Adding a half cup of peanut butter, and 1/2 cup of chopped nuts, are great options. You can use any type of milk, and I love scrunching up a large size shredded wheat biscuit in place of some of the oatmeal, just before forming cookies. Makes them look more interesting! A fruity version, orange or pineapple juice instead of the almond milk, with dried blueberries, Craisins, whatever, plus coconut. My diabetic partner loves them! I make them small, so he can eat a few whenever he feels a little hungry. If you want to sweeten them up, maple syrup is a great option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
My aunts and cousin were all asking me for the recipe and I was a hesitant to try this because of the tomatoe paste but it made it sweet and no one new that it was even in the marinade this is definitely a family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E.B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwest Breakfast Burritos

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This recipe doesn't seem very Southwestern for me (southwest = corn and black beans in my mind), but this recipe is AWESOME. Followed the recipe exactly. Love the concept - spend a little more time up front, and have some to throw in the freezer later. Used about 1.5 pounds of sausage (hot/mild mix) and made 15 burritos. Make sure to drain the eggs and sausage well! Probably will take it down to 1 heaping teaspoon of Taco Seasoning I (to taste) and may play with adding brown rice to stretch these further. No luck with the whole wheat tortillas - they tore, will stick with white or multigrain from here out! Didn't wait for the mix to cool down before adding in the cheddar, it all worked fine. Had to microwave the tortillas in batches of 3-4 for 30 seconds at a time to make them pliable enough to wrap without tearing. 40 seconds from the fridge (in the microwave) to my tummy! I'm wondering how these will be out of the freezer - will update at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Awesome Spicy Beef Kabobs OR Haitian Voodoo Sticks

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Made 2 versions of this (hot, mild) for a BBQ this past weekend and people went nuts over it. The hot followed the recipe exactly and the mild had only 2 cloves garlic and 1/2 tablespoon of cayenne (still fairly spicy to those who don't have tolerance for spice). The only thing is that the kabobs came out really salty - will half the amount of beef bouillon next time. Used top sirlion that had been blade tenderized (from Costco) - worked perfectly. Served with roasted fingerling potatoes and a pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I'm really sorry, but this was extremely salty. It smelled wonderful cooking. But after we out it on our buns....couldn't even eat it. Way way too salty. Sorry won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Baked Jerk Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Tripled the recipe for use with four pounds of drumsticks. I added a can of coconut milk and later took the defatted pan juice and used that to make rice. Served the drumsticks on top of the rice. I really dont think I needed the oil at all as I poured off about a cup (!!!)after the chicken was done. I am going to do this again except: quadruple (or more) the recipe and add a bit more Cayenne along with a sliced onion. I will not use the pan dripping to make the rice but will thicken ever so slightly and pour over the rice. I think at that point is should be something like what we had on Coki beach.. which by the way, deserves SIX stars, LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOGGWILD89

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Master Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I made the recipe with the directions for the regular active yeast and added rosemary and garlic. Nice to work with. However, once baked (on a pizza stone), the texture felt more like breadsticks than the NY style pizza I am used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by missrochester

Moist Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
WOWWWWW!!!! These are FANTASTIC!!! Who new you could make banana muffins without eggs...lol Not me!! These bake up Beautiful! Very Very Fluffy! Not your typical banana muffin these are more of a cake which is fine by me!! No complaints! I did add a splash of lemon juice and 2tbs of french vanilla creamer.Wow If I didnt already know these were made without eggs I wouldnt of known the difference! I highly reccomend this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Jacolyn

White Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I can't rate this high enough! These are some of the best cookies I have ever made, and most people think they are store-bought when they try them. I make them often, and people often ask for the recipe. They are chewy if you don't bake them for too long. (You need to take them out of the oven when they seem slightly gooey still.) The chewy, buttery texture of the dough and the creaminess of the white chocolate chips with a slight oatmeal texture (some people don't even realize there are oats in the cookies), really makes for a great recipe. I always make extra dough because they go quickly (and because I eat some of the dough from the bowl). I leave out the pecans, but don't change the recipe other ways. Thank you for sharing, Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by Jacolyn

QUICK AND EASY LEMON LOAF

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I made the recipe as stated. I thought the lemon flavor was perfect (and agree with Ellie that this would be great with a cup of tea). I thought it had a nice crumb, though the texture of the cake (below that delicious lemony glaze) was a but dry. Thanks for sharing, Manella! I will make this again, but will probably use butter next time instead of the butter-flavored shortening I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by Jacolyn

Grilled Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Wait… what?! You can grill peanut butter and jelly? I am not sure if I can ever go back to a regular peanut butter and jelly sandwich after this. It was so simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by Jacolyn

Spice Cake I

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The spices worked well together. This is good for coffee, but I added an egg, didn't overbeat, and it was still on the dry side. Next time (if there is a next time) I may add a half cup of applesauce or even mayonnaise. When it had cooled, I poured a caramel sauce (from Caramel frosting VI on AR) over the top of it which combatted the dryness of the cake a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by Jacolyn

Caramel Frosting VI

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This had a nice buttery, caramel flavor and a smooth texture. Made this to top Spice Cake I from this site, since the spice cake was a little dry. I will definitely use this on other desserts as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by Jacolyn

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The chocolate flavor was perfect, and this turned out very moist. However, the chocolate pieces, although I had mixed them with the dry ingredients, sunk to the bottom and stuck to the pan, making the whole loaf stick to the bottom when I tried to remove it. Hence it was plated looking like a sunken mess. Next time, I will cut a piece of parchment do the bottom of the pan before pouring in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by Jacolyn

Zucchini Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
These were moist, not too sweet, and a balance between fudgy and cakey. I left out the nuts and didn't frost, but they were still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

Kris' Lentil Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Made this soup last night because I didn't have much in the pantry and needed a dinner idea. I used bacon instead of kielbasa (only because I didn't have kielbasa) and I didn't have celery so that was omitted as well. I added some thyme and paprika (dashes of both) and a tablespoon of vinegar as per other's suggestions. I halved the recipe (I only had 1/2 pound of lentils on hand). My husband declared this is the best lentil soup I've made for him, which says a lot as I've used several different recipes - including a "copycat" recipe for Carraba's lentil soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lyons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

EZ Peanut Butter Pie I

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The whole family loved this! I put the filling in a ready-made graham cracker crust; we also melted milk chocolate chips and swirled the melted chocolate around on top before putting in the freezer. It was SO very easy to make and great on a hot summer's day. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lyons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Fabulous recipe! I used thighs and drumsticks as well as fresh garlic. Came out nice and crispy from oven. We also tried grilling (indirect heat) was tasty but didn't crisp up like in oven. Even my picky 10 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Biscuits

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I've used this base recipe for years with AP flour, baking powder and baking soda. Makes wonderful cheddar bay biscuits! Make sure your shortening is cold and don't over mix once the milk is added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This recipe is wonderful except the salt! I read the reviews and took the advice of others, omitting and substituting where I could. The taste is spot on to the boxed mix and I love that I control the sodium. I halved the recipe and it made enough for 5 chops and enough leftover for another meal. I want to try adding some parm cheese for chicken or maybe some curry and cayenne for a change! It seems versatile and it costs relatively little in comparison to its boxed mentor! It's five star without the salt! Thank you Sal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States