New York - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Peanut Butter Bars I

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I can't make enough of these for my family. My daughter loves Reese' s Pieces ,and she says these are just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Love Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Delicious! Not too sweet, which is a big part of a successful dessert to me. Used devils food cake, no changes to recipe. But I will say I was smelling burning of the cake. It bakes quite a long time, which concerned me. When I checked on it when I smelled burning, it was quite done on the sides but middle not even close. Closed oven and said a prayer. Worked out fine. Cooled and the placed in fridge. Next day, made up "frosting" put on cake and shaved chocolate curls on. Looked pretty. Brought to a friends for dinner. They all LOVED IT! I highly recommend this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Jacolyn

Honey Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Meh… It wasn't horrible. Just OK. Nothing special about it. I used grape tomatoes, but didn't make any other changes. I think I would have rather just eaten the tomatoes by themselves than with the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

Elbows Salad with Avocado, Tomato and Mozzarella

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I thought the premise was good but it needs more flavor. I added 3 cloves of finely minced garlic and 1/4 cup fresh oregano to the mixture. I also refrigerated the mixture overnight so the flavors could meld and added it to the elbows veggies and cheese. We enjoyed this for Sunday brunch. Thanks, Barilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Jacolyn

Thin Spaghetti with Garlic, Red Pepper and Olive Oil

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I was skeptical about this dish, as we don't normally eat pasta without tomato sauce so I was hoping it wouldn't be too bland, but this exceeded my expectations. The flavors of the olive oil, garlic, and red pepper blended well together, and the cheese added a light creaminess to the pasta. In fact, I ate way too much in one sitting! I didn't change a thing. This was served as a side to Easy Lemon and Herb Blackened Chicken from this site, since we don't normally eat dinner without a protein. It only takes 10-15 minutes including prep time, so this was perfect for our weeknight dinner. Thanks, Barilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by Jacolyn

Easy Lemon and Herb Blackened Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
The flavors were good - lemon was prominent but not overpowering, and the seasoning tasted good with the lemon. These came out moist and tender. The only changes I made were to marinate it in a freezer ziplock bag, because I feel that coats the chicken better and to use garlic-infused grape seed oil in the marinade because I ran out of olive oil. This is a simple recipe, perfect for a quick weeknight dinner. I threw the chicken in the marinade before the gym and cooked chicken for 10 minutes after the gym. I could have maybe cooked it another minute on each side for an even darker color, but it was still very tasty! Served with a side of Thin Spaghetti with Garlic, Red Pepper, and Olive Oil (see other recipe from AR). I will definitely make this chicken again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

Zucchini Patties

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This is a super Scrumdiddlyumptious recipe that is easy to follow and flexible with what you have in your fridge. I omitted the onions (I don't like them) and added some chopped garlic, Italian bread crumbs and shredded mozzarella cheese. That being said, I'm not sure there is going to be any left for dinner tonight. Did I mention how good these are?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerri lyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Highland Mills, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

Southern Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Good Recipe. I omitted the celery, used garlic powder and halved the mustard. The potatoes needed more cooking time and I also cut them in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This recipe had no flavor, I marinated for 4 hours and added some garlic. Not something we liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

Pork Ribs Piquant

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This was really good. I made the sauce without the worcestershire sauce as I didn't have any. I added some chili garlic sauce to add some kick. It came out terrific! I will make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Owls Head, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
excellent as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Chicken with Peach Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Very good recipe. I didn't have peach so I used apricot preserves. I did add a bit of jalapeño to the sauce and it was just enough to give a bit of heat w/ the sweet sauce! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chocolate Lava Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Tasted great, I over-cooked it, so it wasn't really a lava cake but it was good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Harper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, New York, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cornbread Stuffing With Sausage

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
A big hit for the holidays. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Harper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, New York, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Rotini with Carrots and Peas

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I went in a different direction with this because it just read like it needed something. I cooked the rotini in chicken broth, used frozen peas and carrots that I added to the rotini for the last 5 minutes. I had no leeks so I sauteed Vidalia onion, which I large diced, until golden. I served this at room temperature, dressed with really good EVO and white wine vinegar. I found this needed way more salt than I prefer to use and still needed something more to be really satisfying. I do like the idea so I'll play with it a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Elbows Mac and Cheese with Tuscan Herb Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is another recipe that I adapted for use at our soup kitchen. We had a nice package of grated mozzarella, so I sprung for a few jars of the Tuscan Herb Sauce (which I really like!) and I used half and half in place of the heavy cream. It was a huge success! Once again Barilla made me look like a star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Shoyu Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I think the hubby might leave me if I did not add this to our permanent cookbook. I think it needs half or only 1/3 the amount of black pepper (and a little less ginger because I'm not a fan) but this was so delicious following the recipe exactly otherwise. Marinated overnight - the chicken was stained beautifully the next day so clearly the marinade took! Don't throw away that delicious marinade! Strained the leftover marinade and pulled out the onions; cooked it down with the onions to make a sauce. Served it with steamed broccoli (steamed then caramelized in a few spoonfuls of the marinade), and brown rice with a bit of the sauce. It was a PERFECT meal. If I wasn't already married, I would have been proposed to after this meal (he's still talking about it)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Curried Quinoa Salad with Mango

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I loved the base recipe!!! I did add celery and pine nuts with the mango and onions at the end. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomato Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Loved this salad, great flavor, added thinly chopped spinach cause I had some on hand that I didn't want to spoil. It was so yummy!!! Will make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rice Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is like a loaded rice bowl (easier to accept than a weird version of lasagna). Delicious (and probably even better with a little bit of sausage but I didn't have any on hand - it needs a tiny bit more flavor). The egg makes the dish comfortingly rich. Used brown rice made in the rice cooker instead of white and could have gone as much as 5-6 cups for a 9x13 dish (wasn't sure how big a 3 quart casserole was). Four cups barely made 2 layers. Doubled the beef and found that was just right for the 9x13. I made each layer meticulously and am now wondering if it was even worth it - the layers are preserved in the pan but once you spoon it out.....it's literally like a loaded rice bowl. Will probably save myself the trouble and make 3 layers next time and add some sauteed onions to the meat sauce for the hubby. Pretty decent cooking-out-of-my-cabinet meal though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States