Trenton, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grandmas Bogie's Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The chicken was moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstillwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
First time I made this and it was hit with the family. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstillwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne Pasta with Peppers

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This a tasty, simple pasta dish if you love peppers and onions like we do! I have made this several times, and I always add some dried Italian seasoning, salt and pepper. Crushed red pepper flakes is great in this too, if you prefer some spiciness. I do add more olive oil, but that's just personal preference. We love this topped with grated parmesan cheese, sometimes I toss some in the vegetable mix as well. Thanks for sharing, we really enjoy this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Everyone loves these cookies! They are fairly easy and I have never had any problems following the recipe as written. I have made these several times, and everyone raves over them. Great for the holidays, but they are perfect any time of year. I will always use this particular recipe for these cookies, thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Coconut Macaroons III

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
These really are delicious macaroons, but they are a little too gooey and chewy for my tastes. I love coconut, but I'm searching for a recipe that produces a lighter more cake-like macaroon(if that makes sense) that I have had from bakeries. I dipped some of these in milk and semi-sweet chocolate, both were very good. I did chill the dough about an hour before scooping out on the parchment paper. You could easily mold these with your hands for a more uniform shape, which is what I did. I made the first batch as written and the second batch I used half vanilla extract and half almond, I prefer the additon of the almond extract. If your looking for a true classic macaroon recipe, this is it. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Biscuit Breakfast Sandwiches

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We LOVE these breakfast sandwiches! I have made these several times, and if I'm short on time, I will use a can of Pillsbury Grands biscuits. I crack the eggs in the skillet, and right before turning, I lightly break the yolk, then flip over. I have made these using the ham, and also, bacon or breakfast sausage patties. For a vegetarian version, Morningstar Farms breakfast sausage patties are delicious too, especially the maple type. Sometimes we add a dab of ketchup. Don't be afraid to try different cheeses, swiss with the ham is amazing! Thanks for sharing this recipe, we really enjoy these for breakfast or dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Burrito Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is an absolutley delicious dish! I have made this twice so far, and everyone who has tried this, loved it. I prefer to use a deep 9x13 inch disposable aluminum pan for this. I make the meat filling exactly as written, but I use a few more tortillas per layer, and I also use more cheese, because we love it! I found that using a shredded seasoned Mexican blend cheese adds wonderful flavor also. I serve this on a bed of shredded iceberg lettuce, with a side of guacamole and top with salsa and sour cream. If your prefer a lot of heat, layer some sliced jalapeno peppers between the layers. This really is a fantastic recipe, and it's easy. I will definitely make this again and again! Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Ignacio's Super Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
If you are a peanut butter & jelly sandwich lover, you will love this! We have been making our sandwiches like this for quite some time now. Sometimes we toast the middle slice, and sometimes we do not, it's great either way. I have a tendency to make my pb&j sandwiches a little too "loaded", and the extra slice of bread helps break it up, but still alows me to use a lot peanut butter and preserves...LOL. I'm glad to see this recipe posted here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Chocolate Covered Cherry Cookies II

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
These are really good cookies, I made these last year to add to my Christmas cookie platters. These made a nice addition, but I did drizzle the chocolate topping using a small plastic bottle used for candy making. These turned out much prettier than topping the entire cherry with the chocolate. I also recommend shaping these into balls all at once and making the indent, because as the dough sat, when I tried to make thumbprint, the edges of the cookies seemed to "crack". That's fine, but again, they are much more attractive with smooth edges. Everyone that loves chocolate covered cherries will love this cookie for sure! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Sweet Corn Tomalito

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Pretty much exactly the recipe I've seen elsewhere online that purports to be the one from Chevy's - and it does taste exactly like the tomalito you get at Chevy's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Libby's® Famous Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is the perfect, classic pumpkin pie in my opinion. I have tried and made others, but none have ever topped this recipe. This is the recipe my Grandmom has used for many, many years, and I continue to do the same. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Special Hamburger Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is outstanding, and is EXACTLY like the famous fast food chain's "special" sauce! Very important to use the French dressing and not ketchup because it will not turn out the same at all. We stored this in the fridge for about 3 hours before using on our burgers, and I could not believe how this tastes like the famous fast food sauce. I recommend making this ahead of time, because the flavor was much better as it sat and the ingredients blended together. I have tried many other recipes for burger sauces and this is the winner for sure! Thanks for sharing , we will use this often! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Cranberry and Apple Stuffed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Made this for dinner last night. I cut the slit in the pork chops and browned them off. When colled I stuffed the chops and cooked for about 35 minutes. I also used olive oil cooking spray to cook the apple cranberry mixture as well as the chops, this reduces the fat. This recipe was easy to follw and tasted great, I am going to try this next time with chicken in place of the pork. Thank you Valerie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rudymiker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi

Traditional Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This is a delicious,traditional way of making mashed potatoes. Please note you could add more butter, milk, salt and pepper to taste. This is fool proof if you taste as you go, and you will end up with wonderful, classic mashed potatoes. I add a bit more butter and always use whole milk. You can't go wrong with this recipe, and this is a nice change from the rich mashed potatoes I always make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi

Simple White Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very good cake, and somewhat similar to a "sugar cookie" flavor. I used half shortening, half butter for a more moist cake, as cakes made with all butter sometimes have a tendency to turn out a little dry. I doubled the recipe to fill my Wilton Jack O' Lantern pan and it was perfect. I baked for about 50 minutes at 350 degrees. I didn't think this cake was really sweet at all, I wish it was a bit sweeter, but frosting this with a buttercream icing took care of that. I will use this again for an easy cake that uses ingredients I always have on hand. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Crumb-Coated Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Easy and delicious! I removed the skin for a lower fat, healthier version. I also forgot to add the salt and the thighs were tender, juicy and scrumptious without it! This will be a repeat recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi

Fudge Puddles

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
These are very good, and really cute too! I did get 48 "cups" but I did have a lot of fudge filling leftover. I used my pestle to make the wells, which were very deep, so I was surprised I had that much filling left. I let these cool in the pan 10 minutes and I used the tip of a butter knife to help loosen them and gave them a slight twist. Every single one came out of the pan so easy. I used a small spoon to fill these, but next time I will try a pastry bag because you really have to work quick with the fudge, it dries and hardens fast! I highly recommend waiting to make the filling until all the cups are ready to go. I can't imagine making it any earlier. Overall, these were well received but they are very sweet and rich. Also, if you plan to use sprinkles on these, fill about 3 or 4 cups, then top with sprinkles so you don't have any problems with them adhereing. Otherwise they will just roll off the top. I will make these again upon requests, which I'm sure I'll have. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Pepperoni Drop Biscuits

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very tasty, quick biscuits that have that "pizza" flavor for sure. I made my biscuits a bit larger, so I got 12 instead of 24. I highly recommend using more cheese, actually just double the amount. First batch I followed as written and the cheese just seemed to get lost, we could barely taste it. Second batch I doubled it and they were perfect for us. Mozzarella cheese works great instead of the cheddar also. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Scalloped Corn and Broccoli

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I'm sorry, but we didn't care for this recipe at all. I followed this to the letter, and even after the hour of baking, it was very watery and loose. I don't think the sweet creamed corn went well with the broccoli, and the egg wasn't very appetizing in this dish either. Maybe it's just our tastes though. Thanks for sharing, but this just wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Ropa Vieja in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This roast beef turned out fabulous, everyone absolutely loved it! I had an eye round roast that was almost 4 pounds so I doubled the other ingredients. I also added a can of drained stewed tomatoes, which added a delicious, slightly sweet flavor. I chose to serve this as a roast, not shredded, with mashed potatoes and green beans with mushrooms. It took exactly 8 hours to cook, then I just slightly broke apart the roast and let it cook in the sauce for the remaining 30 minutes. This really is delicious, the sauce was great over the potatoes also. It doesn't seem like alot of sauce at first, don't worry because as this begins to cook, it makes a TON of sauce on it's own. It actually reminds me of a wonderful tomato based chili sauce, and the beef was so tender. Very nice change from the basic, classic roast beef. I had many requests to make this again, it really went over well at my dinner party. Thanks for sharing, I will definitley use this recipe again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States