Trenton, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Melt - In - Your - Mouth Shortbread

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
These cookies are very good, and sure do melt in your mouth, literally! I don't think my oven runs hot, but I only baked these for about 10 minutes before the edges started to get really golden brown. Another slight problem I had was they really spread, which I wasn't expecting. Next time I will chill the batter, maybe that will make a difference. I used a pastry bag with a large star tip to pipe small circular cookies and placed halves of well drained maraschino cherries in the center, and sprinkled colored sugar around the edges. They did turn out really pretty, but it took me a few tries to get the size just right because of the spreading. Also, I found them a bit difficult to store. I placed these in tins for the holidays, and when I went to make up my trays, I couldn't even pick them up, they just about crumbled. They are very delicate. All in all, they are delicious cookies and I will try these again. This was my first time making shortbread, so I'm sure some of these problems I had encountered was because of that. Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Creamy Pimento Cheese

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is delicious, and so very easy to make! I have never made pimento cheese before, and I will never purchase it again, I will always make my own. The first time I made this was for Thanksgiving, and I followed the recipe as written and everyone loved it! Second time, I made this for Christmas and I used Miracle Whip instead of the mayo, and it's really great with that also, nice change! That added a very slight sweetness , and it was "sharper" in flavor. I served this with assorted crackers (wheat, rye, butter, sesame & onion). I will definitley use this recipe again for sure! Thanks so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

PHILADELPHIA® New York Cheesecake II

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is a very good cheesecake that everyone really enjoyed! Personally, I would give this 4 stars because I prefer my Grandmom's recipes for cheesecakes, but I cannot give this recipe less than 5 stars because of how well it was received. All my guests really loved it. This is not a very sweet cheesecake, you really get to appreciate the cream cheese! The crust is thin, so if you would like a thicker crust, use about 5-7 more Oreos, and add another tablespoon of butter. I use the bottom of my 1 cup measuring cup to press the crust in the pan, works like a charm. I chose this recipe because I needed a quick dessert to make late at night to serve the next day, and I didn't feel like using a springform, or any complicated recipe for cheesecake. This came together very well, I baked this for exactly 40 minutes and it was perfect. Also, if you really want a nice layer of fruit topping to thoroughly cover the top, you need more than a 21 ounce can. I topped half with cherry and half with strawberry topping, both are very good. One tip, when making cheesecakes I always mix the flour and sugar together separately before mixing with the cream cheese and other ingredients. This prevents any lumps from the flour, and all the ingredients blend very well. I did get a few cracks along the sides but I didn't use a water bath, and the fruit topping took care of that problem. Thanks for posting, I will definitely use this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Stuffed Shells III

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great stuffed shell recipe! I have made these at least a dozen times already, I forgot to review. Every time I serve these, I get rave reviews, everyone really loves the addition of the mushrooms. These are pretty quick to put together being jar sauce is used, which is great. After I boil the shells, I rinse them in cold water(prevents them from sticking to each other) and let drain very well. In the meantime, I mix up the filling and then put it into a large ziploc bag, snip off a corner and pipe into the shells. Doing this really saves time and there's less mess, and they really look nice and neat. I usually use fresh parsely, but that's the only change I make. Thanks for sharing this simple, wonderful recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Chocolate Crinkles II

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These are delicious, rich cookies that remind me of tiny brownies. I have been making these cookies for years, every Christmas. These are like mini fudgy brownies, and I always make this dough the day before I plan to bake these. I found that the more chilled/cold the dough is, the easier it is to roll in balls, and since I heavily coat these with the powdered sugar, they are beautiful after baking. The sugar doesn't absorb into the cookie at all. Be sure to use the parchment paper too, it really makes a difference. Everyone loves these :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Great recipe. Never made a cream soup before and this was a great start. Added garlic and onion powder for more flavor, but otherwise very filling and delish. The kids loved it. Great winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sensational Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
the cake part of the this was not good at all. very bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysti N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Coconut Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I make this cake around the Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays and fill it with the pineapple filling recipe from this site. I always get rave reviews. It even brought tears to my sister's eyes because it reminded her of Mom's coconut cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Very tasty! I also added a little bit of orange zest to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstillwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Make for dinner last night, very quick and flavorful. Great recipe. The kids and I loved it and thanks for a new way to have talapia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
So good! I followed other reviews by adding potatoes, cooking the veggies in the chicken broth, and adding about 3/4 cup extra broth. I also added twice as many veggies just as a personal preference in my pot pies. Everything turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Earthquake Cake I

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this cake about 2 weeks ago. I followed the recipe almost exactly except for the walnuts. It still came out pretty good. I brought some pieces to work and my co-workers loved it. They couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikinya
Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

Hush Puppies I

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Not as flavorful as the ones I've had down south. Still searching for that elusive "something" that will make these puppies "pop"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Perfect blend of flavors and spices! HOWEVER: Always, always measure your loaf pans. If they are larger than the recipe calls for (as mine are), be sure to use a cake tester to be sure the loaves are completely baked. I made 2 loaves with this recipe rather than 3 (since my pans are a bit larger than called for), and the baking time was about 10-12 minutes longer than the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Poppy Seed Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This is outstanding, and PERFECT for turkey sandwiches. I always loved mayo with cranberry sauce on sandwiches, but combining the two and adding poppy seeds makes such a difference. We ate this for days on our sandwiches, and I could see using this with chicken also. I made a half batch using Hellmann's mayo and a half batch with Miracle Whip, we loved both! I can't wait to use this for a chicken salad or turkey salad, adding in some diced celery and onion. Thanks for sharing this wonderful, easy spread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Dreamy Nighttime Drink

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is a wonderful drink, I have used for this for years on end. It's "Fairy Food" to me, and is great to drink, and very calming. Leaving this for the fairies outdoors brings good things, if you believe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Slow Cooker Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
These were just ok for us. Every Thanksgiving I make 2 types of mashed potatoes for variety. I was happy to find this recipe being they are made in the crock pot, to save me time. I changed the recipe to 15 servings because I used 5 pounds of potatoes, and they were edible, not terribly bad, but not a favorite. To many of us, they tasted like roasted potatoes that were later mashed. They do save time and are passible, but I'm sure glad I had another pan to serve. Thanks for the recipe, but I prefer mashed potatoes made using the original method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Knudsen Hot Broccoli Cheese Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is an excellent hot dip! I followed the recipe to the letter, and everyone could not stop eating this. The package of dry Italian dressing is what really makes this stand out, and really packs a flavor punch. I had this on my appetizer table with assorted crackers and sliced toasted baguettes. It seems the winner was the sliced baguettes. I'll use this recipe again for sure. I could see adding a bit more cheddar wouldn't hurt this at all. It's quite addicting, different and I highly recommend this. We all enjoyed this very much. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
So easy! I made this with fresh chicken instead of canned. I would suggest using slightly less broth depending on your taste; my roommates prefer their soup less brothey. Overall, wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This dough is a thing of beauty! I mixed everything in my food processor and also added a little cinnamon to the flour. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstillwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States