Trenton, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chocolate Crinkles II

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These are delicious, rich cookies that remind me of tiny brownies. I have been making these cookies for years, every Christmas. These are like mini fudgy brownies, and I always make this dough the day before I plan to bake these. I found that the more chilled/cold the dough is, the easier it is to roll in balls, and since I heavily coat these with the powdered sugar, they are beautiful after baking. The sugar doesn't absorb into the cookie at all. Be sure to use the parchment paper too, it really makes a difference. Everyone loves these :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Great recipe. Never made a cream soup before and this was a great start. Added garlic and onion powder for more flavor, but otherwise very filling and delish. The kids loved it. Great winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sensational Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
the cake part of the this was not good at all. very bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysti N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Coconut Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I make this cake around the Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays and fill it with the pineapple filling recipe from this site. I always get rave reviews. It even brought tears to my sister's eyes because it reminded her of Mom's coconut cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Very tasty! I also added a little bit of orange zest to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstillwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Make for dinner last night, very quick and flavorful. Great recipe. The kids and I loved it and thanks for a new way to have talapia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
So good! I followed other reviews by adding potatoes, cooking the veggies in the chicken broth, and adding about 3/4 cup extra broth. I also added twice as many veggies just as a personal preference in my pot pies. Everything turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Earthquake Cake I

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this cake about 2 weeks ago. I followed the recipe almost exactly except for the walnuts. It still came out pretty good. I brought some pieces to work and my co-workers loved it. They couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikinya
Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

Hush Puppies I

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Not as flavorful as the ones I've had down south. Still searching for that elusive "something" that will make these puppies "pop"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Perfect blend of flavors and spices! HOWEVER: Always, always measure your loaf pans. If they are larger than the recipe calls for (as mine are), be sure to use a cake tester to be sure the loaves are completely baked. I made 2 loaves with this recipe rather than 3 (since my pans are a bit larger than called for), and the baking time was about 10-12 minutes longer than the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Poppy Seed Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This is outstanding, and PERFECT for turkey sandwiches. I always loved mayo with cranberry sauce on sandwiches, but combining the two and adding poppy seeds makes such a difference. We ate this for days on our sandwiches, and I could see using this with chicken also. I made a half batch using Hellmann's mayo and a half batch with Miracle Whip, we loved both! I can't wait to use this for a chicken salad or turkey salad, adding in some diced celery and onion. Thanks for sharing this wonderful, easy spread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Dreamy Nighttime Drink

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is a wonderful drink, I have used for this for years on end. It's "Fairy Food" to me, and is great to drink, and very calming. Leaving this for the fairies outdoors brings good things, if you believe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Slow Cooker Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
These were just ok for us. Every Thanksgiving I make 2 types of mashed potatoes for variety. I was happy to find this recipe being they are made in the crock pot, to save me time. I changed the recipe to 15 servings because I used 5 pounds of potatoes, and they were edible, not terribly bad, but not a favorite. To many of us, they tasted like roasted potatoes that were later mashed. They do save time and are passible, but I'm sure glad I had another pan to serve. Thanks for the recipe, but I prefer mashed potatoes made using the original method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Knudsen Hot Broccoli Cheese Dip

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is an excellent hot dip! I followed the recipe to the letter, and everyone could not stop eating this. The package of dry Italian dressing is what really makes this stand out, and really packs a flavor punch. I had this on my appetizer table with assorted crackers and sliced toasted baguettes. It seems the winner was the sliced baguettes. I'll use this recipe again for sure. I could see adding a bit more cheddar wouldn't hurt this at all. It's quite addicting, different and I highly recommend this. We all enjoyed this very much. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
So easy! I made this with fresh chicken instead of canned. I would suggest using slightly less broth depending on your taste; my roommates prefer their soup less brothey. Overall, wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This dough is a thing of beauty! I mixed everything in my food processor and also added a little cinnamon to the flour. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstillwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmas Bogie's Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The chicken was moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstillwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
First time I made this and it was hit with the family. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstillwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne Pasta with Peppers

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This a tasty, simple pasta dish if you love peppers and onions like we do! I have made this several times, and I always add some dried Italian seasoning, salt and pepper. Crushed red pepper flakes is great in this too, if you prefer some spiciness. I do add more olive oil, but that's just personal preference. We love this topped with grated parmesan cheese, sometimes I toss some in the vegetable mix as well. Thanks for sharing, we really enjoy this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Everyone loves these cookies! They are fairly easy and I have never had any problems following the recipe as written. I have made these several times, and everyone raves over them. Great for the holidays, but they are perfect any time of year. I will always use this particular recipe for these cookies, thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States