Trenton, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Absolutely fabulous recipe! I use bone-in chicken parts and add 4-5 oz sliced baby portobello mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Energetic Strawberry Smoothie

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This also can be made with 1 [8.3 oz] can of XS Energy Drink. No sugar or carbs in this one and it taste great. Better than Red Bull!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Aikens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herbed Pork Roast

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Substitute brown sugar for white and add EVOO to the rub so it adheres to the roast better. An outstanding recipe - my new favorite for pork roast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Weeknight Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
These chops were pretty good, but I did change the cooking method. I used 3 pork chops and browned them in 3T of olive oil, and the last 10 minutes I added the sauce ingredients to simmer, which I doubled. I honestly don't think we would have liked this as much if we just topped the chops with the sauce as the recipe states. The sauce reduced and thickened to a nice, slightly sweet glaze. I also seasoned the chops with salt, pepper and garlic powder. I'm sure this recipe could be tweaked to use orange marmalade, peach preserves, or even raspberry. It's quick and definitely different. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi

Leftover Dog Pile

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
We love chili dogs, that's what we call these! I used homemade chili, basic recipe, and they are just great. I did use hot dog buns, but my boyfriend really seems to like using bread too. The onion is a must for us, it really adds so much to these hot dogs. Thanks cheesecakemama for posting this, it is a classic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi

Baked Onion Rings

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
These onion rings turned out fantastic being they are baked! Don't get me wrong, of course fried deliver an entirely different flavor, but this recipe is a wonderful alternative, and healthy too! I used my whisk for the egg whites, I beat until frothy. I also used Progresso Italian seasoned bread crumbs, so you may want to cut down on the salt that's added. I love salt so it didn't bother me, but I could see this being salty to others if using seasoned crumbs. I also very lightly greased the baking sheet with olive oil, and it worked great! I will definitely make these often, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Delicious! I doubled the recipe and used 1 lb ground beef and 1 lb ground pork, which makes all the difference in my opinion. I used 2-28oz cans of whole San Marzano tomatoes, and 2-28oz cans of crushed tomatoes. I sauteed the onion and garlic then transferred to my crock pot with the other ingredients and set on low for 7 hours. I also used 3/4 cup of Progresso Italian seasoned bread crumbs instead of the fresh bread crumbs. I never follow a recipe to make sauce and meatballs, but this is great, and my changes are because of personal preference. Instead of the basil, an Italian seasoning blend would work just great. Wonderful, classic meatball and sauce recipe! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi

Parmesan Spinach Balls

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I did not taste these, but they were very well received by my guests. I followed the recipe as written, except I used 1/2 tsp. of onion powder instead of the green onion. Cute, quick, and tasty, what more could you ask for? I served these with marinara sauce and ranch dressing. The marinara is the winner for sure. I would definitely make these again for a party, thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi

Spinach Artichoke Hummus with Roasted Red Peppers

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Fantastic! I LOVE hummus and this was my first time making it, I always buy it in the grocery store. This recipe combines all my favorite flavors, and it really is over the top. I followed the recipe as written, except I used a 10oz. package of frozen chopped spinach, squeezed drained, and it worked just fine. I cut a red bell pepper in half and used that as my serving "bowl", and I toasted wheat pita points. My friends LOVED it, and complimented how fresh this tasted compared to store bought hummus, I felt proud :) Thank You CNM Catering for sharing your lovely creation. We plan to make this at least twice a month to use as a dip for fresh veggies as well. This is a winner for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Broccoli Chicken Roli

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Deleted mustard the 2nd time I made it, as I didn't care for the flavor. Also ... substitute herbed cream cheese for the mayo and added some chopped mushrooms for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked French Toast

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I left out the corn syrup, and the recipe was still delicious. I used thick-sliced "Texas Toast" bread rather than French bread and found that 40 minutes was not enough ... still mushy inside ... probably fine if I'd used the recommended bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Fish and Chips

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Add lemon-pepper to the batter for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Too lemon-y for my taste, but otherwise a very good recipe! Will leave out lemon zest next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
5-Star Rating Based on these changes to the recipe: 8 oz of cream cheese 1-1/2 cup sugar 1 cup of unsalted butter 1 egg 1 tsp vanilla 1/2 tsp almond extract 3-1/2 cup flour 1 tsp baking powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Best Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Restaurant-worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi

Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
These cookies are very minty for sure! I did not try these, but my family really seemed to enjoy them. I used a 10 ounce bag of Nestle dark chocolate & mint chips, which was 2 cups. This was my first time ever baking with a cookie mix, and I have to say I would rather bake from scratch. I don't want to be unfair with the rating because of that though. I baked these for 8 minutes and the edges started to get really dark. I tried to bake a few on parchment to see if it made a difference, and it did, but they spread more. Also, add a few more drops of green food coloring, because the color wasn't very prominent. I used liquid so if you use gel, you will need less. I love the idea though, and would definitely make a drop sugar cookie recipe and add the extract, mint chips, and food coloring. If you love mint chocolate chip, then go ahead and try these. I think I would prefer using a from scratch recipe though as the base. These would be great for St. Patrick's Day. Thanks for the idea :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This chicken turned out so very good! It requires few ingredients, and is very low in fat too! I only used 2 fairly large chicken breasts, but I kept the sauce amount the same because we like having extra sauce. I used a small 8x8 inch baking dish. These were perfectly done at exactly 45 minutes. I also just eyeballed the paprika, I used a little less than a teaspoon, and I also chopped up some fresh parsley. The sauce really is a wonderful glaze with great flavor. Next time, I'm going to try using a spicy brown mustard such as Gulden's. I bet even a dijon would be great with this also. Thanks for sharing, I will make this again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Good oatmeal cookies, but I still prefer the recipe on the container of Quaker brand oats. This recipe is very similar, the only difference is this recipe uses cloves along with half butter half shortening. I prefer oatmeal raisin cookies made with all butter instead. The addition of the cloves is very nice, but the 1/2 teaspoon was a bit too much for us. Next time I will use all butter, and cut down the cloves to 1/4 teaspoon. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Perfect, delicious and outstanding cookie right here! Seriously, this is one of the best sugar cookies I have ever made or tasted. I chose this recipe because I usually make rolled sugar cookies for the holidays, but I was running out of time, so I needed something quick that I didn't have to frost/decorate. I rolled these into 1 inch balls and rolled in assorted colored sugars & jimmies/sprinkles. They turned out beautiful and were absolutely delicious! These did not last long, and every person that received one of my cookie trays asked me about this recipe. I will use this recipe very often, and I'm already looking forward to making these for Valentines Day. Thank You for sharing!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Mom's Green Bean Vegetable Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Pretty good, not bad considering it took me 5 minutes to put this together. I chose this recipe as a vegetable side dish because I was so very low on ingredients before grocery shopping day, and I was trying to use up items I had in the pantry. Only 2 changes I made was I used regular cut green beans, not the French style, and I also topped this with French fried onions, because we were out of the crackers. I baked this for 45 minutes but I did loosely cover with foil the last 20 minutes so the topping didn't get too brown. Thanks for sharing a simple yet tasty quick side :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States