Toms River - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Kristen Kelley

Spinach Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This wasn't bad by any means, but with the ingredients, I thought it would have much more flavor. To aid with the aforementioned sticking to the sides of the slow cooker, I thoroughly sprayed the sides and bottom, and sprayed again after I put the pasta and sauce into the slow cooker. Then midway through, I opened the lid (a no no, I know) and sprayed the sides a bit more. This actually made the sides brown up quite nicely and it was the tastiest part of the casserole, in my opinion! It didn't stick whatsoever. We added parmesan on top, which helped, but next time I would play with the spices I added, and perhaps some fresh garlic and onion would help as well as parmesan all added to the sauce. I did make it slightly healthier by using nonfat greek yogurt in place of the sour cream and spraying the pasta with cooking spray rather than mixing with oil. I also used nonfat cottage cheese. I may add fat free cheddar and/or jack cheese to come up with a spin on mac and cheese, or perhaps even play with the idea of adding bbq shredded pork and cheddar to the mix. This is a great base to build upon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Fettucine Alfredo

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
We really enjoyed this. As others noted that the lemon was a bit much, I used a small squirt (maybe a teaspoon). I also added a bit of my pasta cooking water, swapped dried chives for basil (since my husband prefers) and added a sprinkle of garlic powder to the evaporated milk. I also left out the olive oil (less calories) and used faux butter no calorie spray (example; promise or i can't believe it's not butter). For a low cal recipe, this didn't taste light at all and I have found my new base recipe for all kinds of alfredo dishes, which I had previously had to eliminiate from our rotation because of the butter laden calories of my traditional recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Easy Fettucine Alfredo

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
We really enjoyed this. As others noted that the lemon was a bit much, I used a small squirt (maybe a teaspoon). I also added a bit of my pasta cooking water, swapped dried chives for basil (since my husband prefers) and added a sprinkle of garlic powder to the evaporated milk. I also left out the olive oil (less calories) and used faux butter no calorie spray (example; promise or i can't believe it's not butter). For a low cal recipe, this didn't taste light at all and I have found my new base recipe for all kinds of alfredo dishes, which I had previously had to eliminiate from our rotation because of the butter laden calories of my traditional recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
made these yesterday 1/7/12. love the taste and will be happy to made them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cucumber Favorites

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Quick, easy, light appetizers. We enjoyed the lemon pepper and cucumber combination. I'd recommend leaving the bread out to soften if you purchase the refrigerated cocktail bread. We used light mayo to make the sandwiches even lighter. I'd even enjoy them open faced, as I didn't teven see the need for the top slice of bread if you wanted to furhter lighten these up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Dana's Cream Cheese Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
My family thought this was a bit sweet and felt like it was missing something. I think with the addition of some parmesan cheese it would be a winner for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Dark chocolate is one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Original NESTLE® TOLL HOUSE® Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The cookie itself was good, but we just aren't huge fans of dark chocolate chips on thier own. I think a mix of milk, dark, and semi sweet would suit our tastes much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Cashew Green Beans

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Great recipe! We made these for Christmas dinner. Everyone raved about them. Super quick and easy! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Kristen Kelley

Campbell's Kitchen Baked Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
We really enjoyed this casserole. I used light soup and egg whites instead of whole egg. We also left off the fried onions because we don't care for them. The result was a lighter version with a texture like a spoonbread. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Broccoli Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was easy and tasted good; however, it really didn't have anything special about it. I did like the ease of preparation though, and the ability to lighten it up calorie/fat wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

BBQ Chicken Crescents

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I'm rating it 4 stars for its ease of preparation and the abilty to customize however you choose. I made it a bit healthier using the reduced fat crescents & non fat cheese. The taste will definitely depend upon the bbq sauce you choose to use, as that is (naturally) the main flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Crescent Pizza Pockets

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
As always, easy, fast and super easy to customize. We're vegan, so are crescents! Just subbing in vegan cheese and vegan pepperoni made these vegan (and great). I like to roll the toppings into the crescents sometimes, too. customize with any veggies or other pizza toppings you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I used this recipe as a base. I changed a few things. I used splenda instead of sugar. I am not a hugh cilantro fan but I know it did need some so I used a tsp of dried cilantro. I chopped up a red and yellow pepper. This added great flavor as well as color. For some added heat I chopped 1/2 of a jalapeno pepped without the seeds. I added 1/4 cup of Ball Fiesta Salsa Mix and cooked the mixture for 2 minutes. I canned my salsa for gifts. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dilly Onion Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This bread was amazing. I followed the recipe exactly and served it warm with stuffed zucchini. Yummy and a keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemonade Cake III

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
My 10yr old son made this for his grandmothers birthday. We followed some suggestions and used powdered sugar with lemonade for the topping. It was so good that my son has been requested to make it again for his cousins graduation party tomorrow. Tks Denise ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Photo by CRUISEM

Big Ed's Cajun Shrimp Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Fantastic, I only made one change (added snow crab legs) and it was a seriously good, although messy, dinner. My hubby, dad and kids can't wait till I make this again. Tkx for the post!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
My whole family loved this. Only change that I made was to add more veggies (potato, celery, carrots and onion). I used Healthy Choice fat free chicken soup and you could not tell at all. Dinner was creamy and delish. TYVM for the recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Kristen Kelley

Creamy Sandwich Spread

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This was tangy yet sweet. Perfect for a grilled cheese and tomato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM

Beef 'n' Eggplant Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This recipe is really good! For the first try, I made it as written and the only change i might make in the future is to add more garlic, onions and celery. Otherwise super yum! TY for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States