Toms River - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mexican Style Meatballs

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Just made this for my bunco- they are great. I only used 2 chipotle peppers because some of the girls are wimps when it comes to spice, but it still has a nice, mild heat to it. I baked the meatballs at 400 degrees for about 12 minutes- much easier & the clean up was a breeze. This recipe made about 80 3/4 to inch meatballs for me. I will definitely add it to my party food rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Style Meatballs

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Just made this for my bunco- they are great. I only used 2 chipotle peppers because some of the girls are wimps when it comes to spice, but it still has a nice, mild heat to it. I baked the meatballs at 400 degrees for about 12 minutes- much easier & the clean up was a breeze. This recipe made about 80 3/4 to inch meatballs for me. I will definitely add it to my party food rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Tamale Pie

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Good but next time I will add a little more spices and cheese. It was slightly bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

The Best Parmesan Chicken Bake

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Quick, Easy and Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

Chex® Apple Pie Snack Mix

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is such a quick and eas recipe and it really does taste just like apple pie! It's really easy to "healthify" too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Italian Chicken Sausage and Tortellini Soup

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I loved the way this soup was light, yet hearty. I didn't have tortellini on hand so I used gnocchi. This was quick, colorful, and keeps well for a quick reheated lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Apple Chicken Sausage, Endive, & Blueberry Salad with Toasted Pecans

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Yum. I don't know what else to say! The combination of the sweet apple sausage, the tangy goat cheeese, the tangy yet sweet blueberries, and the dressing, with the added crunch of the pecans was just spectacular. I could see this working with strawberries, almonds, the al fresco blueberry sausage...so many possibilities! This was quick and easy to prepare and very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Salad with Spinach & Feta Chicken Sausage

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I am a Greek salad FANATIC and I loved the twist of adding sausage. I couldn't find the Greek (darn) but used the sundried tomato and it was a nice substitute. This was a quick, healthy, low cal lunch, and it was even tasty with just vinegar (which is how I prefer my salads).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Fabulous and Easy Guacamole

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Though this was definitely not your typical guacamole, we enjoyed it. I made it as specified, but felt it still needed the finely minced cilantro, a bot more garlic, onion (rather than shallot) and jalapeno that I had already prepared for my regular guacamole recipe, so I added that as well and felt it took it to the next level. I also added a bit of lime juice to help stifle browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Brown Spanish Rice

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I thought this was a great quick base recipe. I made it as specified, but used a can of diced tomatoes with habaneros. After I tasted the finished product, I added a bit more salt, a bit of hot sauce, and some garlic and onion powder and a couple sprays of faux butter spray to keep it moist and it was a nice accompaniment to our tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Corn Bread Veggie Bake

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I opted to use a can of corn and add some leftover diced ham. My husband just wasn't a fan of the texture, but the taste was good, after a couple additions like salt/pepper/garlic powder, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wild Rice and Ham Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe. My 8 yr old daughter not so much but she is picky on any type of casserole because combining foods together is just not her thing. I told her some of the ingredients and she bailed. I think this is a great recipe to combine leftovers. I doubled the recipe and used a 26oz can of mushroom soup, only 1/3 cup of mayo even though it called for 2 cups and 1 TbL of mustard. 1/2 the casserole is gone so a good adult recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcosta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili Rick's

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This recipe was the bomb! I made it as a dish in my home and to share with a family that had some medical issues. It was eaten up by the other family and mine! Very rich chili and contest worthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcosta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
THIS WAS VERY GOOD. BE CAUTIOUS WITH THE SALT BECAUSE THE PARM CHEESE IS SALTY. I DIDNT ADD PARSLEY BUT IT WAS STILL YUMMY. I WILL BE MAKING THIS AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Fiber One® Chocolate-Peanut Butter Haystacks

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
quick, easy, and fairly guilt free!! I love that you can easily customize with almond butter, cashew butter, white chocolate, dark chocolate, etc etc. The possibilities for mix in's are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta Primavera with Italian Turkey Sausage

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I thought this was delicious. I added more cheese, another 1/4 of a cup and used regular sausage which I think gave it more flavor. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Steve's Bourbon Buffalo Wing Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This was amazing! I made Buffalo style wings for the first time ever (came out awesome, btw! ; ) ) and I had to include this recipe on the side because I am a fan of Jim Beam Black bourbon! I doubled the ingredients and it gave me plenty left over to store in the fridge for future use! It was fantastic! I got many compliments Superbowl Sunday (Giants Fan)! I love HOT stuff, but I didn't taint this recipe. I guess you could experiment to kick up the heat. Enjoy, we sure did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Kristen Kelley

Spinach Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This wasn't bad by any means, but with the ingredients, I thought it would have much more flavor. To aid with the aforementioned sticking to the sides of the slow cooker, I thoroughly sprayed the sides and bottom, and sprayed again after I put the pasta and sauce into the slow cooker. Then midway through, I opened the lid (a no no, I know) and sprayed the sides a bit more. This actually made the sides brown up quite nicely and it was the tastiest part of the casserole, in my opinion! It didn't stick whatsoever. We added parmesan on top, which helped, but next time I would play with the spices I added, and perhaps some fresh garlic and onion would help as well as parmesan all added to the sauce. I did make it slightly healthier by using nonfat greek yogurt in place of the sour cream and spraying the pasta with cooking spray rather than mixing with oil. I also used nonfat cottage cheese. I may add fat free cheddar and/or jack cheese to come up with a spin on mac and cheese, or perhaps even play with the idea of adding bbq shredded pork and cheddar to the mix. This is a great base to build upon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Fettucine Alfredo

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
We really enjoyed this. As others noted that the lemon was a bit much, I used a small squirt (maybe a teaspoon). I also added a bit of my pasta cooking water, swapped dried chives for basil (since my husband prefers) and added a sprinkle of garlic powder to the evaporated milk. I also left out the olive oil (less calories) and used faux butter no calorie spray (example; promise or i can't believe it's not butter). For a low cal recipe, this didn't taste light at all and I have found my new base recipe for all kinds of alfredo dishes, which I had previously had to eliminiate from our rotation because of the butter laden calories of my traditional recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Easy Fettucine Alfredo

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
We really enjoyed this. As others noted that the lemon was a bit much, I used a small squirt (maybe a teaspoon). I also added a bit of my pasta cooking water, swapped dried chives for basil (since my husband prefers) and added a sprinkle of garlic powder to the evaporated milk. I also left out the olive oil (less calories) and used faux butter no calorie spray (example; promise or i can't believe it's not butter). For a low cal recipe, this didn't taste light at all and I have found my new base recipe for all kinds of alfredo dishes, which I had previously had to eliminiate from our rotation because of the butter laden calories of my traditional recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States