Toms River - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Kristen Kelley

HERDEZ® Hot Chipotle Mocha

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Not really a fan of spicy chocolate but this came together very quickly and is much much cheaper than buying a mocha from a chain. The only change I made was using non dairy milk in place of the creamer, being that we're vegan, and making sure to use vegan friendly chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Grilled Guacamole

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Left out the sour cream, but loved the flavor that grilling the avocado gives to the guacamole. Next time I'm grilling the tomatoes and the jalapenos too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Tickety-Tock BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
It was simple and a quick way to dress up regular old bottled bbq sauce. Easy to add your own spin by adding in different types of vinegar or mustard, using a different bbq sauce base, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Becca's Chicken-Fried Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Had about 8 thin cut boneless chops wanting to braise with peppers and balsamic vinegar, DW halted that and requested my fried chops, her favorite. Well who am I to say no to my love. In an effort to get away from traditional Italian breaded I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. Let me just say that supper was a big hit. Only thing I did different was to use ritz crackers cause no saltines and added a little herbs di Provence to the flour with s&p. Made some peppered country gravy with the cooking oil and flour to make a rue and used some chicken stock and milk. DW says this is a keeper for sure. Chops were tender and juicy, didn't even need a knife with just the right amount of crispness. Note to others, be sure you have enough oil this more like deep frying your chops should almost float and be sure of temp. I used 3/4 inches of oil at setting 7 on electric range and they were perfect golden brown. Thank you for sharing recipe, I just sorry didn't get pics, will post next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Beef cooked in Pasta Sauce The Italian Way.

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I have not personally made this exact recipe but reading it, it merits my highest rating for an Italian style pot roast based on ingredients and cooking technique. I have my own version but would not hesitate to try this. Bottom round, Rump roast, or Chuck roasts are well suited to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagi scottati con pomodori (blanched asparagus with tomatoes)

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Made for supper last night as a side totally awesome. I did however do my own thing but kept the basic recipe. I like to snap my asparagus by holding ends and bending them till they break so as to remove the tough section. I did braise with julienne carrots for about ten minutes then drained but put into a cast iron skillet and arranged for presentation. I then topped with chopped Roma tomatoes, a blend of fresh grated Parmesan, Asiago, Romano cheeses, some fresh homemade Queso cheese that I had and a little and some grated mozzarella. Seasoned with a little salt and pepper and oregano drizzled with olive oil and put in broiler to just melt cheese then topped with some fresh snipped cilantro. Absolutely wonderful accompaniment to any dish. If anyone does not like asparagus you got to try this, you will be converted. Great change from the lemon & garlic and grilled, baked etc. Will be making this again and again for sure. Thank you Cari for the recipe. Your recipe in Italian contorno di asparagi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Asparagus Side Dish

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Made for supper last night as a side totally awesome. I did however do my own thing but kept the basic recipe. I like to snap my asparagus by holding ends and bending them till they break so as to remove the tough section. I did braise with julienne carrots for about ten minutes then drained but put into a cast iron skillet and arranged for presentation. I then topped with chopped Roma tomatoes, a blend of fresh grated Parmesan, Asiago, Romano cheeses, some fresh homemade Queso cheese that I had and a little and some grated mozzarella. Seasoned with a little salt and pepper and oregano drizzled with olive oil and put in broiler to just melt cheese then topped with some fresh snipped cilantro. Absolutely wonderful accompaniment to any dish. If anyone does not like asparagus you got to try this, you will be converted. Great change from the lemon & garlic and grilled, baked etc. Will be making this again and again for sure. Thank you Cari for the recipe. Your recipe in Italian contorno di asparagi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Light Delight Sauza®-Rita

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Made mine even lighter by making a simple syrup out of stevia and water rather than sugar. Light and crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Sweet Bourbon Ham

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This was better than expected, don't change a thing except maybe double the sauce/glaze for extra. I used a cooked/smoked ham shank that was on sale and wondered what to do different and found this recipe. I will be making this again that's for sure. I doubled the glaze recipe and heated in sauce pan to cook off alcohol then added to pan for last 10 minutes to thicken. Note: be careful to not let it all boil over and do not taste before hand or bourbon and pepper will knock you socks off. just let it cook down and you will end up with the most flavorful thick sauce you can imagine. Have photos to come as soon as I figure out how to do it. Thanks Amydanielle1 for the recipe. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ladyfingers

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Used this recipe for making Tiramisu and found it really easy and quick. I like other reviewers spread the batter on a jelly roll pan lined with parchment paper and cut to size with a pizza cutter. Also because I was pressed for time. Tip: lightly grease the pan with butter or shortening it helps the paper stay flat and does nothing to affect cooking. I made 2 batches in less than 1/2 hr. didn't think I would have enough cause I kept eating them and I was making a big dessert for a dinner party. Found them to be a little denser than the store bought but that is much better than eating and paying for air. The best compliment is when guests say OMG this is the best Tiramisu I ever had. I will be using this recipe from now on. I also make my own homemade Mascarpone cheese which helps because I don't need to take out a loan to buy it and it is so much better and not all that difficult. You can find my Tiramisu recipe as well as the Mascarpone recipe along with other cheeses that can be made at home with no special equipment or utensils at allrecipes.com/cook/grumpygrandpa. Happy cooking GG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

General Tsao's Chicken II

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
AWESOME!!!! I have been eating General Tao's since i can remember, I have had many versions some good and some bad all at Chinese restaurants. This recipe is got to be the best I had so far as I can remember. My local chinese favorite just lost my business (unless I need a plan B)I did not change a thing other than doubling up on the sauce as I had a bit more chicken and other than de-boning the thighs which is no big deal to do and making the chunks a little bigger 1" or so did not change a thing. I will add that DO NOT skip the double fry if you want the crispy coating that this dish is known for. Its what the restaurants do so they can tell you 20 minutes. I have used this method also for fresh french fried potatoes and other foods that can get mushy when fried. This is a definite winner in my book and a bi-weekly addition to our menu. Serve over sticky rice, the kind you get in the Chinese places. Mahatma is one kind just avoid the extra long enriched to me the texture is like little pellets. The soft rices hold more of the sauce. I you like General Tao chicken you have to try this recipe and make extras cause its just as good for the once a week leftovers buffet. Happy cooking GG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
these were absolutely great. we ate almost all of them and we are 3 filled an entire jelly roll pan full only difference I did was to toss the potatoes in butter rather than brush and sliced them about 1/8 thinner for a little more crisp and used packaged real bacon pieces other than that followed recipe and they were great will definitly be making these again. Thanks Michele for sharing. GG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin with Dijon Marsala Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Awesome! Made with 2 small tenderloins about a pound each. I did use a cast iron skillet and browned the meat seasoned with a little s&p 1st. once browned rubbed with dijon and returned to pan to make a crust and to have those great pan bits. removed the meat and lightly wiped out pan to remove the loose bits to keep the sauce creamy and not loose any of the good stuff. De-glazed pan with a bit of marsella and the butter, added chopped onions (what I had) put meat back in pan a put in oven to finish off. Mine was about 25mins. Removed meat to plate and let rest while making the sauce adding a little minced garlic with the butter (the italian in me) remove pan from heat for a minute to loose some heat then adding the wine then slowly stir in the cream and mustard bring back to heat and simmer till reduced. while sauce is cooking slice the meat and arrange on platter to make it pretty, when sauce is done pour down center of slices and garnish with some fresh snipped parsley or cilantro. This dish is amazingly good. Was skeptical about mustard but the combination of flavors is wonderful and subtle. This one goes in the keeper rotation. I strongly suggest using the smaller tenderloins as opposed to one big one as they don't require as long a cooking time reducing the chance of scorching and burning. This was great, thanks Koalagirl. Happy cooking all. GG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Best Cheese Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Used Johsonville Sausage and italian diced tomatoes in this and it was a nice change. Quick and easy but nothing super duper special. Veganizable with vegan sausage and vegan cheese and cream of mushroom soup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Sausage Stuffed Tomatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I added a little bit of cheese (vegan parm and vegan cream cheese) just for interest. Simple to customize with your own spices, too. I used the biggest grape tomatoes I could find so they could be cute little apps. As a vegan it's nice to be able to sub in vegan proteins and cheeses and have a great result when recipes are as simple and straighforward as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Garlic and Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Couldn't be more simple and easy to customize. We're vegan so when not preparing for meat eaters to test out - easy to substitute vegan cheeses and vegan sausage products too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fricassee

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Wanted to try something different. Well this is it. Read all the reviews and came to the conclusion people just do not follow instructions. Made as directed with the exception of qIuantity adjustments. I did not see anywhere where it said to add 1/2 cup of oil (reviews) My only issue is the rue which other comments may be referring to it was way to much oil. I have been making rue for a long time and have never did this ratio had to add an additional 3/4cup this recipe could stand 1/2 cup oil 1 1/4 cup flour. Also making rue parts a flavor as well as being a thickening agent and also takes lots of time to do properly. If all you want is a thickening then just use flour and water. A good rue is part of good cajon and creole cooking but this one falls short. Not going to get into specifics on rue's and use search rue on site or google. Also just used 2Tbs Tony Chacheres seasoning and omitted rest. Had plenty heat you can always add more. "Taste as you go ". Overall although not a traditional Fricassee this recipe is very good and will make again although it it not really geared to a beginner. If you are looking for something different I would recommend this in a minute. Just keep in mind your cooking knowledge. It can be spicy. I give 5 stars as an experienced cook. Have fun and happy cooking. GG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Classic Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is hands down one of the best beef stroganoff recipes I have had in a long time. I did use stew meat and just made sure to brown it good and let it rest a bit and simmered a little longer. Made recipe exactly as written but added an additional 3 Tbs. flour mixed in with some broth to tighten it up a little. The creme fraiche really seals the deal you don't have to go crazy to buy it. If you know you will make this then you can make your own. In a non reactive container mix 1cup heavy cream with 1Tbs of buttermilk or plain yogurt and cover loosely with plastic wrap. Leave out at room temp. around 72 degrees for 24 hours stir once and a while 8 hours or so but not necessary. Warming the cream a little will speed things up a little and it can be used in as little as 12 hours but will not have the consistency you may want. It can go as long as 36 hours I find 24 or so just right. Can be stored in tight container in frige for up to 10 days the cold will stop the fermentation and you Can make ahead. Also great for creamed recipes and potatoes. This recipe is a keeper for sure. I know I will be making it a part of the rotation. Serve over wide egg noodles its great. Be sure to make extra I bumped recipe to ten servings to have some leftovers for lunch you will be glad you did. Reheats well just slow simmer. Happy cooking, GG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Easy Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I like to flavor my TVP, we also like to add various pepper powders and cilantro of course. I also use chili tomatoes, not stewed and usually add much more cumin and chili powder to taste and throw in some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Easy Chili I

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
We are vegan so we used TVP instead and added more beans. I also love ground chipotle powder in here as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States