Toms River - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Nikki's Steak Saltimbocca

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I made this the other night. I actually misread how much prosciutto to use and only used 1slice in each roll I made. We liked it that way because it cut back on the super salty taste that too much prosciutto can leave. I also needed to either cook it longer or pound it thinner. It was still raw in the middle. But overall, awesome AND easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Roasted Beet, Avocado and Granny Smith Apples Tower

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I agree that this definitely needs some sort of dressing, but did enjoy the freshness of the apple against the creaminess of the avocado and earthiness of the beet. Being vegan, I used a vegan aged raw cashew cheese which made this dish a fully raw vegan dish, which was nice. I make a sugar free fat free maple mustard vinaigrette that is to die for that was really nice atop this stack as well. My husband also had trouble deciding how to dig into this, as the previous reviewer mentioned. He picked it up and bit (LOL). I cut into it with a very sharp knife and fork, but fully expected it to collapse like Jenga (it did). But it still tasted nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Doggie Biscuits I

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Dogs loved these, and just used a "flax egg" instead of egg to make these vegan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Skillet Mac and Cheese & Kielbasa

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I made a couple tweaks too. In addition to using vegan cheese and making a roux and creating the cheese sauce that way, I subbed in vegan kielbasa (which I pre cooked in sauerkraut) and skipped the breadcrumbs. I love how versatile this recipe was, and it gave me so many ideas. Different cheeses, different proteins, added spices, etc. I never know what to do with kielbasa besides just grilling or cooking in sauerkraut. I never would've thought to put it in mac and cheese or to even serve it WITH mac and cheese. It's a nice jumping off point, and very kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Quick and simple and very easy to customize with your own spices, cheeses, and proteins. As a vegan, it's nice to be able to easily sub in vegan sausage or even crumbled tofu. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Excellent recipe! I did make some changes that I feel made this recipe more to my liking. First, I used about 12 Granny Smith apples in a 9 by 13 pan. I mixed the 1 cup sugar, 1 tablespoon flour, 1 tea. of cinnamon, and 1/2 cup of ground up walnuts in a bowl with the apples tossing to coat. Place apple mixture in pan WITHOUT adding any water. Juice forms when the apples are mixed together with the sugar mixture; therefore, I only poured the juice from the apples over top. Adding the water would have made it to watery. I also doubled the crumb topping place a layer in the middle of the apples and the rest on top. I have made many apple desserts in my lifetime and one important step in avoiding a watery apple dish is to allow it to stand a couple of hours before cutting in to it. This gives it time to firm up. Wonderful crisp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hazel9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Potatoes Madras

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Did this oil free. It was light but I wished I'd added more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Made this last night exactly as written. After 5 hours of cooking on low the meat was tough and WAY over cooked, almost like leather. It was completely inedible. What a waste of $$$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Kristen Kelley

Easy Coconut Rice and Black-Eyed Peas

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Quick and easy. I used this as a side with some vegan jamaican patties and callaloo and a rundown that I had all prepared from scratch so such a nice and easy side was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
We leave out the olive oil to make a fat free beans and rice and use brown rice rather than white. Quick and easy alternative to boiling dried beans or using a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Black Bean Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I chose to puree the soup for a smooth consistency and we loved it. I also added a bit of spice with some chipotles in adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy (vegan) Chicken and Yellow Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
We loved this recipe. I was short on time and this came together with minimal effort and a big payoff. sBeing vegan, I substituted Beyond Meat strips in place of chicken and for the cheese, used 1/4 cup nutritional yeast and just shy of 1/4 cup of vegan cheddar. I also used about a half can of fire roasted crushed tomatoes in place of fresh because I didn't have any fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cheesy Chicken and Yellow Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
We loved this recipe. I was short on time and this came together with minimal effort and a big payoff. sBeing vegan, I substituted Beyond Meat strips in place of chicken and for the cheese, used 1/4 cup nutritional yeast and just shy of 1/4 cup of vegan cheddar. I also used about a half can of fire roasted crushed tomatoes in place of fresh because I didn't have any fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Vanilla Ice Cream V

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Being vegan, this was a great recipe to use as a jumping off point. I used vegan heavy cream (mimicreme) and coconut milk. I used half monkfruit sweetener and half stevia because we don't do white sugar. Also added some vanilla bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Garlic Chicken and Zucchini

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This was so quick and easy. We're vegan, so I used Beyond Meat in place of the chicken, and vegan parmesan. This came together in a snap and is healthy and tastes good. Leftovers taste great cold after sitting in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

French Onion Soup from Birds Eye®

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This was quick but needed a bit more than what is written to kick it up. We're vegan so I used vegan "beef" broth and added some Braggs Liquid Aminos and soy sauce, plus some garlic. I also used vegan swiss on top of my whole wheat baguette slice. Nice for a quick lunch but add your own spin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

HERDEZ® Hot Chipotle Mocha

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Not really a fan of spicy chocolate but this came together very quickly and is much much cheaper than buying a mocha from a chain. The only change I made was using non dairy milk in place of the creamer, being that we're vegan, and making sure to use vegan friendly chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Grilled Guacamole

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Left out the sour cream, but loved the flavor that grilling the avocado gives to the guacamole. Next time I'm grilling the tomatoes and the jalapenos too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Tickety-Tock BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
It was simple and a quick way to dress up regular old bottled bbq sauce. Easy to add your own spin by adding in different types of vinegar or mustard, using a different bbq sauce base, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Becca's Chicken-Fried Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Had about 8 thin cut boneless chops wanting to braise with peppers and balsamic vinegar, DW halted that and requested my fried chops, her favorite. Well who am I to say no to my love. In an effort to get away from traditional Italian breaded I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. Let me just say that supper was a big hit. Only thing I did different was to use ritz crackers cause no saltines and added a little herbs di Provence to the flour with s&p. Made some peppered country gravy with the cooking oil and flour to make a rue and used some chicken stock and milk. DW says this is a keeper for sure. Chops were tender and juicy, didn't even need a knife with just the right amount of crispness. Note to others, be sure you have enough oil this more like deep frying your chops should almost float and be sure of temp. I used 3/4 inches of oil at setting 7 on electric range and they were perfect golden brown. Thank you for sharing recipe, I just sorry didn't get pics, will post next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpygrandpa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States