Paterson, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This recipe is excellent, but I made one change only for health reasons. There is a MASSIVE amount of sodium in 1/2 cup of soy sauce. Even the lower-sodium variety is still VERY high in sodium and not to be eaten in such quantities if you have high blood pressure, heart issues, etc. Instead of the 1/2 cup soy sauce the recipe called for, I used only 1/8th cup lower-sodium soy sauce & added sodium-free chicken broth (you could even use water) to bring the total amount to the 1/2 cup called for. Soy sauce is very strongly flavored and pungent, and you won't miss what's been omitted. Now I can eat this without fear of having a stroke, and it really is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This was the fattiest, saltiest (a TABLESPOON of salt???), most unusual alfredo recipe I've ever made, and it made WAY more than 8 servings. There was enough to feed 20 people! One 16 oz. box of pasta is 8 servings, but by the time you get done adding all the cheese, onion, chicken, sour cream, mushrooms, and tomatoes, it makes much more. In addition, I've never, ever seen a recipe for alfredo that includes tomatoes, let alone colby and monterey jack cheeses. I would never make this again, nor would I recommend it, particularly if you're watching calories, fat, sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

Chicken with Herb Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I liked the recipe but I had to thicken it for my taste. It was too runny as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
It's no WONDER there are so many comments indicating that the finished product is too salty, given that the pasta is cooked in SALTED water, there is 1 cup SALTED butter, garlic SALT, SALT to taste, and SALTY hard Italian cheeses like Parmesan & Romano. Do I see a salty pattern emerging here? Cooking the pasta without salt, using unsalted butter, garlic POWDER instead of garlic salt, and no additional salt from the shaker will help considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Excellent, flavorful recipe, and not a canned "cream of" ________ soup in sight, yay! I did add an extra can of tuna, and I used baby early peas. Neither changes the recipe substantially. Thank you for a REAL recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

Amish Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Oh my GOODNESS, this is delicious! I followed it almost exactly except for using mayo (didn't have Miracle Whip) and reduced sugar to 1/2 cup. It's creamy & sweet, as it's supposed to be, but with a slight tang from the mustard & vinegar, and the vegetables give it a wonderful crunch. Best macaroni salad I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

Cream Soup Base

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Do NOT use bullion cubes! Use chicken broth/stock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

Peanut Butter Fudge Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
My neighbors, an elderly married couple, get free peanut butter every month through a food program for seniors. They can only use so much, & I get the extra jars. I found this recipe while looking for a way to use up all this PB, and my neighbors, my mom and I thought the finished cake was absolutely delicious; very moist and flavorful! Like another reviewer stated, my cake took longer to bake than indicated; about 40 minutes (glass 13x9 pan, and I always use an oven thermometer to verify the temp), versus the 20-25 minutes indicated in the recipe. Also, as other reviewers recommended, I microwaved the PB to liquify it for easy spreading, Finally, I put the cake in the fridge for a while after PB was applied to allow it to harden. This made for easy spreading of the frosting. Pay no attention to this recipe's detractors...it IS spectacular and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Fastest, easiest, and most delicious shrimp recipe EVER. 30 minutes, start to finish. The only thing I did differently was add panko bread crumbs to the top before baking. The tender shrimp with the light crunch of the crumbs really made this dish a stand-out, and one I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

Creamed Cabbage

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I've had other creamed vegetables before, but never made it myself, and never thought of creaming cabbage. Sauteeing the cabbage in just a teaspoon each of olive oil and butter (in a non-stick pan) improves the flavor DRAMATICALLY over simply steaming it. I added a sliced onion & 2 shredded carrots as well. Traditionally, a roux is made by melting butter over medium heat, adding flour, then cooking and stirring constantly for a minute or so over medium heat (this gets rid of the "raw" flour taste that throwing all ingredients together at once causes), then adding milk, half-and-half or cream, and stirring until thickened and bubbly. Any type of cheese can be added. I had smoked gouda and some cheddar on hand, so used those. I really loved this recipe, and it definitely inspired me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

Yummy Baked Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
"Yummy" doesn't quite capture the flavor. "Uninspired" & "dry" definitely do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

Yummy Baked Chicken Thighs in Tangy Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I used brown sugar instead of white, because I thought the molasses in the brown sugar would add a depth of flavor that the white sugar did not. I also used 2 tablespoons of honey mustard instead of the 1 teaspoon of regular yellow mustard. I had no A-1 steak sauce, but I suspect that just a "dash" (less than 1/8th teaspoon) in a recipe of this magnitude that calls for 3 lbs. of chicken and makes a TON of sauce won't be missed, and is probably just a plug for the A-1 sauce company. I have high blood pressure, so I left out the salt entirely and used only 1 tablespoon of butter (both changes drastically decreased the sodium content). These changes make this a lower-sodium recipe. The tangy flavors of the combined ingredients are so delicious, you won't miss the salt at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

Szechwan Shrimp

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
A delicious meal, with the following changes: I doubled the sauce as recommended by many reviewers, but the shrimp/scallions were completely overwhelmed by too much (albeit tasty) sauce. I recommend making the amount of sauce as written. Also, I used 12 oz. of raw shrimp rather than cooked; Pre-cooked are just too rubbery when they're added to a dish and cooked again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

Italian Dressing Mix

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
High blood pressure & other health issues require that I restrict sodium intake, so I left out virtually all the salt in this recipe. Instead of garlic salt, I used garlic powder. Instead of celery salt, I used celery seed, and omitted the 2 tablespoons of salt called for. I did, however, after everything was combined, add a few shakes of salt from the shaker, just a tiny amount. This is the most tasty dressing/dip mix I've ever had, and I don't have to worry about my health by eating it! Like another reviewer mentioned, it's good when combined with equal parts mayo & sour cream as a dip, as well as with oil & vinegar as a dressing. It's nice to be able to eat something so delicious without worrying that my blood pressure is going to skyrocket or that I will adversely affect my health...thanks, Debby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

Original Nestle® Toll House® Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I've been baking these cookies for 30+ years. They are always delicious and well-received. For anyone to rate them at only 1-2 stars tells me one thing: you have to take negative reviews of recipes with a grain of salt, especially if there aren't that many of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA
Photo by Mainerisms

Beefy Chinese Dumplings

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I just got done making these, and they are AWESOME! They are a bit time-consuming, but completely worth the additional effort. I used egg roll wrappers, cut them in half, then after putting the filling in, I simply folde it over, which means you only have to seal 3 sides and makes them a little easier to handle while assembling them. The boiling is necessary as it makes the dumplings tender, but after they were done boiling, I put as many as would fit into a non-stick pan with a little sesame oil and fried them lightly on both sides until slightly browned, which gave them a light crispiness, complementing the tenderness. I followed a recipe for teriyaki dipping sauce listed in LacyBelle's review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

Caribbean Holiday Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Sorry, we just didn't care for this recipe. Thank you for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

New York-Style Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I've loved all of Chef John's recipes so far, with the exception of this one. 1) there is more than enough butter in the graham crackers to prevent the crust from sticking so there is no need to grease the springform pan; 2) the graham cracker crust needs a soupçon of sugar; 3)IMHO, citrus ingredients have no place in cheesecake; 4) the addition of flour will produce a more "cakey" product and the addition of milk will produce a more creamy product, so they basically cancel each other out. In other words, you could omit both and you wouldn't notice the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

Frenchie's Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I used canola oil and cider vinegar, because I had those on-hand. I don't think those substitutions altered the flavor drastically. I did cut the sugar in half, and it was still very sweet, so I would recommend starting out with less sugar and adding to taste. I also omitted the salt because there is a lot of sodium in the ketchup, and I honestly didn't miss the added salt in the final result. This info may be useful for people on restricted sodium diets, like myself. This recipe has made me a convert from buying bottled French dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
You can tell this is an old recipe (that doesn't make it bad). Cans of tuna haven't been 6 ounces in a LONG time. I used extra fine noodles, omitted the celery and used frozen baby peas (personal preferences). The baby peas have a much brighter flavor and are not so mealy as mature peas. I like that this recipe didn't call for condensed soup, which has, unfortunately, become a casserole staple. LOVE the mushroom and onion in this. I used crushed potato chips as a topping, as I had no bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecatlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States