Newark, New Jersey - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
My wife likes this soup so much she wanted it for Thanksgiving. as an addional dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VITOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The first time I made the soup it was great. The second time my wife purchased diced prosciutto and I used that in place of the ham. My wife, (who is not a soup fan) absolutly loved it and wants me to make it a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VITOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leanne

Dad's Escarole and Bean Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I recently made this soup and it was delicious!!! This is my first time eating or making escarole/bean soup. I don't know how to make a recipe without "doctoring" it up, so I made a few changes because I can't help myself. I only added maybe 3/4 cup of fresh diced tomatoes because I had them on hand from making pizza. I used organic "Better than Boullion" instead of cubes because it has a deeper flavor than cubes. While sauteeing the onions and garlic, I also cubed and added a small smoked ham steak (figured it would be a good additive). It gave the soup a richer flavor - I am glad I did that. With some fresh garlic toast, it was definitely a hit in my house. I will definitely make it again - if I don't, my family may hurt me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

Baked Broccoli

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Ok, I totally had to improvise since I was out of olive oil (i know, crazy). The cooking method is what impressed me, I rarely consider the oven when cooking veggies. It came great, really awesome, I will definitely use this recipe again...I may even follow it exactly when I have some olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Tasted great and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VITOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Everyone loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VITOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as instructed but I used Andes Creme De Menthe Baking Chips only because I already had them in the house. When spreading the chocolate with a toothpick these chips become marbleized with green and brown. They were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monacr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Bake these cookies for my niece and nephew and they loved it. Had no problem in bake them at all. Will actually do these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latinochef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Great recipe, everyone who tasted it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VITOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meat Loaf

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was very good. I misunderstood the recipe and this a round meatloaf that was the size of the crock which made thin. Next time I will make a thicker round loaf set in the middle of the crock. It was very very moist but yet held together. I would definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monacr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Melt-In-Your-Mouth Meat Loaf

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was very good. I misunderstood the recipe and this a round meatloaf that was the size of the crock which made thin. Next time I will make a thicker round loaf set in the middle of the crock. It was very very moist but yet held together. I would definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monacr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blackout

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This is a can't miss recipe! I added personal "touches" by adding: squash, zucchini, red & green pepper & onion. I ALWAYS prepare the kabobs and marinade overnights before GRILLING them. We steam some broccoli and rice for "sides" to complete things. UmUm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

The Best Meatballs

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Similar to why my Italian grandmother and mother make. I use Italian Bread Crumbs and instead of water, I use milk. It binds better. I do not fry my meatballs but I do bake them "semi done" in the oven on a rack for 17-19 minutes, depending on how big they are. I use some immediately and freeze the rest. Always have meatballs ready this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Made as written except I added onions and yellow peppers. Also added beef bouilion to the water/cornstarch mixture. It was okay. Nothing spectacular. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lady t

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fiber One® Chocolate-Peanut Butter Haystack Pie with Peanut Butter Cream Filling

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Very good recipe! Yummy and timeless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenCanCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KarenCanCook

Fiber One® Chocolate-Peanut Butter Haystacks

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Very good recipe! Yummy and timeless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenCanCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Butternut Squash Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Excellent, hot and filling soup for a cold day. Very flavorful. Made it several times with raving reviews from my family. I substituted maple syrup in place of the sugar, and red pepper flakes in place of the jalepeno pepper. In addition, a couple cloves will give this a nice smoky flavor. You can also use a scotch bonnet (half-a whole one is too much) in place of the jalepeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenCanCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I use NJ Longhots instead of jalapeno's and wrap in Applewood Smoked bacon....DELISH!! also good wrapped with Prosciutto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belleza66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This cornbread is fantastic! Don't change the recipe, don't change a thing. It is dense, moist, and just flat-out awesome! Good with barbecue, chili, soul food, and a great complement to coffee in the morning. I made it for Christmas and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Beef Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
After reading the reviews I added 3 cloves of garlic, about 1/2 cup of onions, and parsley flakes. Tasted great. It was so much like a cheese burger pie I had some of it with ketchup. Add the spices you like to personalize the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VITOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States